DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1 This action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/10/2025. Claims 1-3, 8-10, and 15 have been amended, and claims 4 and 11 are cancelled. Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-15 remain rejected.
Response to Arguments
2 Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1, 8, and 15 filed on 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 USC § 103 regarding that the prior art does not teach the following “…reconstructing a 3d image model from the 2D image frames; determining a mapping between the 2D image frames and the 3D image model; and providing the 3D image model and the mapping as the 3D reconstructed representation…and use the attention maps to sample colors of the 3D image model instead of the 2D image frames…”. Most of the limitations were taken from claim 4 (and by extension claim 11), and these particular claims were cancelled. This argument has been considered but are moot due to new grounds of rejection.
3 Regarding arguments to claims 2-3, 5-7, 9-10, and 12-14, they directly/indirectly depend on independent claims 1, 8, and 15 respectively. Applicant does not argue anything other than independent claims 1, 8, and 15. The limitations in those claims, in conjunction with combination, was mostly previously established as explained, with a few claims being adjusted to connect with the changes of the independent claims.
4 Claims 4 and 11 have been cancelled by the applicant as mentioned previously, therefore they will not be reviewed further.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
6 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
7 Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12-13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over N. Li, F. Chang and C. Liu, "Spatial-Temporal Cascade Autoencoder for Video Anomaly Detection in Crowded Scenes," in IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, vol. 23, pp. 203-215, 2021, doi: 10.1109/TMM.2020.2984093 (hereinafter Li) in view of Burton et al. (US 20170280130 A1) and Lodato et al. (US 20180350134 A1).
8 Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a method for generating a 3D attention model from use of a trained classifier configured to generate an attention map from 2D image frames and a 3D reconstruction process configured to generate a 3D reconstructed representation from the 2D image frames ([Section III] reciting “The proposed method is based on a cascade classifier, called ST-CaAE, which is established based on two spatial-temporal autoencoders…”; [Section III. A] reciting “Multiple state-of-the-art works [16], [39], [42], [51] have split each video frame into many fixed-size non-overlapping image patches or video cuboids for local anomalies detection. Inspired by these methods, we collect raw 3D video cuboids from video frames utilizing a sliding window with size w×h×t, where w and h are the width and height of the sliding window, respectively, and t is the temporal depth (the number of patches at the same spatial location in continuous frames that are stacked together to construct a raw video cuboid) … In order to obtain the gradient cuboids, we first employ the method in [16] to calculate the magnitude of the 3D gradient at each pixel within each video frame to construct its 3D gradient map.”; [Section III. B] reciting “Four 3D deconvolutional layers (corresponding to each 3D convolutional layer) are stacked to form the reconstruction part, which rebuilds the input cuboid from the latent vector z.”), the method comprising:
for an input of the 2D image frames: creating, through the 3D reconstruction process, the 3D reconstructed representation using the 2D image frames after data collection of an inspection process ([Section I] reciting “We adopt a popular two-stream network that employs 3D gradient and optical flow maps for appearance and motion anomaly detection, respectively.”; [Section III. A] reciting “In order to obtain the gradient cuboids, we first employ the method in [16] to calculate the magnitude of the 3D gradient at each pixel within each video frame to construct its 3D gradient map. The 3D gradient map of each frame has three channels. The first and second channel include the values in the horizontal and vertical dimensions of the video, respectively; these describe the external pose or shape of an object. The third channel records values from the temporal dimension of the video; this channel characterizes the appearance changing of objects with time. Then, we apply the sliding window mentioned above to the 3D gradient maps to produce gradient cuboids.”), wherein the 3D reconstruction process comprises:
the 3D reconstructed representation associated; with the mapping to the 2D image frames ([Section III. A] reciting “In order to obtain the gradient cuboids, we first employ the method in [16] to calculate the magnitude of the 3D gradient at each pixel within each video frame to construct its 3D gradient map. The 3D gradient map of each frame has three channels. The first and second channel include the values in the horizontal and vertical dimensions of the video, respectively; these describe the external pose or shape of an object. The third channel records values from the temporal dimension of the video; this channel characterizes the appearance changing of objects with time. Then, we apply the sliding window mentioned above to the 3D gradient maps to produce gradient cuboids.”);
executing the trained classifier on the 2D image frames to generate attention maps of the 2D image frames ([Section III] reciting “The proposed method is based on a cascade classifier, called ST-CaAE, which is established based on two spatial-temporal autoencoders…”; [Section III A.] reciting “The extracted gradient and optical flow cuboids are input to the two-stream ST-CaAE, which automatically extracts high-level spatial-temporal features from the video sequences.”);
9 Li does not explicitly teach reconstructing a 3D image model from the 2D image frames; determining a mapping between the 2D image frames and the 3D image model; and providing the 3D image model and the mapping as the 3D reconstructed representation, … projecting the attention maps of the 2D image frames to the 3D reconstructed representation based on the mapping to the 2D image frames and use the attention maps to sample colors of the 3D image model instead of the 2D image frames; and storing the 3D attention model comprising the associated 3D attention maps and the 3D reconstructed representation.
10 Burton teaches reconstructing a 3D image model from the 2D image frames ([Abstract] reciting “…and providing a set of validated 2D image frames to a three-dimensional (3D) reconstruction system to generate a 3D model of at least a portion of the physical scene.”;\
determining a mapping between the 2D image frames and the 3D image model; and providing the 3D image model and the mapping as the 3D reconstructed representation ([0016] reciting “Furthermore, as discussed herein, candidate 2D image frames may be intelligently selected from the plurality of image frames 114 of the 2D video 112 based on selection criteria including a feature count criteria, a pose criteria, and an image quality criteria. A set of 2D image frames that is validated as meeting such criteria may be used to generate a three-dimensional (3D) model of the physical scene 106 and/or objects within the physical scene 106, such as the person 110.”; Various 2D image frames of the 2D video may be computer analyzed to determine whether the 2D image frame provides suitable information and has sufficient photographic quality to define the physical scene in the 3D model.).
11 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Li) to incorporate the teachings of Burton to provide a method that can use the 2d image frames that are provided from Li to create a 3d model from various mappings. Doing so would allow the generation of physical scenes containing pose and image quality criteria as stated by Burton ([0004] recited).
12 Li in view of Burton does not explicitly teach projecting the attention maps of the 2D image frames to the 3D reconstructed representation based on the mapping to the 2D image frames and use the attention maps to sample colors of the 3D image model instead of the 2D image frames; and storing the 3D attention model comprising the associated 3D attention maps and the 3D reconstructed representation.
13 Lodato teaches projecting the attention maps of the 2D image frames to the 3D reconstructed representation based on the mapping to the 2D image frames and use the attention maps to sample colors of the 3D image model instead of the 2D image frames ([0023] reciting “The metadata may include information associated with the 3D scene, such as information about the plurality of capture devices, that is usable by the rendering system to project the 2D color data and depth data into a virtual 3D space to produce virtual representations of the 3D scene in the virtual 3D space such that the projected data may be used by the rendering system to render a view of the virtual 3D space”; [0025] reciting “In certain examples, the rendering system may determine an accumulation region and accumulate and blend only primitives or fragments that are located within the accumulation region.”; [0085] reciting “Rendering facility 102 may generate an image view of the virtual 3D space from an arbitrary viewpoint within the virtual 3D space by accumulating partial 3D meshes projected into the virtual 3D space and blending color samples for the partial 3D meshes to form the image view of the virtual 3D space.”; [0091] reciting “Because rendering facility 102 may accumulate partial 3D meshes 1202 that have overlapping sections associated with common 3D coordinates in virtual 3D space 504, rendering facility 102 may select multiple primitives or samples, from multiple partial 3D meshes 1202, for a common 3D coordinate in virtual 3D space 504 to be mapped to a common 2D coordinate of the image view 1302 as represented in the frame buffer.”); and storing the 3D attention model comprising the associated 3D attention maps and the 3D reconstructed representation ([0046] reciting “Storage facility 104 may further include any other data as may be used by rendering facility 102 to form an image view of a virtual representation of a 3D scene in a virtual 3D space from an arbitrary viewpoint within the virtual 3D space as may serve a particular implementation.”).
14 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Li in view of Burton) to incorporate the teachings of Lodato to provide a method that can project various 2d to 3d related content that function similarly to attention maps that can get specific partials, to use them for sampling colors for 3d related material, and to store them using the actual attention maps that were taught by Li in view of Burton. Doing so would generate an image view of the virtual 3D space from an arbitrary viewpoint within the virtual 3D space by accumulating partial 3D meshes projected into the virtual 3D space and blending color samples for the partial 3D meshes to form the image view of the virtual 3D space as stated by Lodato ([0085] recited).
15 Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Burton and Lodato teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the trained classifier is trained against labeled 2D image frames classified as normal or anomalous and configured to output a classification for an input 2D image frame as normal or anomalous and the attention map indicating defects in the 2D image frames labeled as anomalous by the trained classifier (Li; [Section III. A] reciting “Based on the fusion of the appearance and motion anomaly scores, the unnecessary normal cuboids are removed, and the suspicious anomalous cuboids are identified. In stage 2, similarly, the related gradient and optical flow cuboids of suspicious anomalous cuboids are extracted and input to the ST-CAE in the two streams to calculate the appearance and anomaly scores of each local patch in the suspicious anomalous cuboids using the reconstruction error based strategy.”; [Section I] reciting “We adopt a popular two-stream network that employs 3D gradient and optical flow maps for appearance and motion anomaly detection, respectively.”).
16 Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Burton and Lodato teaches the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the executing the trained classifier comprises: for the input of a 2D image frame from the 2D image frames: generating the attention map for the 2D image frame and an anomaly score (Li; [Section III]; reciting “Then, the gradient and optical flow cuboids are input to the ST-AAE in the two streams to obtain the appearance and motion anomaly scores using Gaussian distribution. Based on the fusion of the appearance and motion anomaly scores, the unnecessary normal cuboids are removed, and the suspicious anomalous cuboids are identified.”); and
weighing the generated attention map with the anomaly score (Li; [Section III. B; 2) “Training Strategy of ST-AAE”] reciting “In order to detect anomalous cuboids in the testing stage, our proposed deep model ST-AAE first attempts to train the distribution of generated codes z of normal cuboids to approach the prior p(z) … To ensure that the encoder is able to confuse the discriminator, Steps 5 and 7 update the weights of the encoder by maximizing the probability that the latent space vector z (generated by the encoder) is sampled from the prior distribution p(z).”).
17 Regarding claim 5, Li in view of Burton and Lodato teach the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), further comprising providing a user interface configured to display the 2D image frames (Burton; [0046] reciting “At 322, all candidate 2D image frames of the 2D video have been analyzed without a sufficient number of 2D image frames to generate the 3D model being validated, accordingly, the method 300 optionally may include instructing the user to acquire additional 2D video to generate the 3D model.”; [0066] reciting “When included, display subsystem 506 may be used to present a visual representation of data held by storage machine 504. This visual representation may take the form of a graphical user interface (GUI).”);
the attention maps of the 2D image frames, the 3D reconstructed representation and the associated 3D attention maps (Lodato; [0101] reciting “Rendering facility 102 may output (e.g., write) the determined weighted average of the fragments to output buffer 1404 (e.g., in RGBA color model format as shown or in any other suitable format), which may be used to provide a display of the 2D image view on a display screen for viewing by a user associated with the display screen.”; [0130] reciting “To facilitate user 1608 in experiencing an image view of a virtual 3D space, media player device 1602 may include or be associated with at least one display screen (e.g., a head-mounted display screen built into a head-mounted virtual reality device or a display screen of a mobile device mounted to the head of the user with an apparatus such as a cardboard apparatus)”; [0084] reciting “Because the partial 3D meshes projected into the virtual 3D space produce partial virtual representations of a captured 3D scene (i.e., partial virtual reconstructions of one or more objects in the 3D scene)… The generated image view may be represented in any suitable way, including as data (e.g., data representative of fragments) mapped (e.g., rasterized) from 3D coordinates in virtual 3D space 504 to a set of 2D image coordinates in an image plane such that the data may be used to generate and output display screen data (e.g., pixel data) representative of the image view for display on a 2D display screen.”; [0153] reciting “…to display a perspective image view of the virtual 3D space that has been formed by the virtual reality content rendering system generating, accumulating, and blending partial 3D meshes as described herein.”).
18 Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Gomez teach the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), wherein the 2D image frames are extracted from a recording of an infrastructure inspection video comprising infrastructure undergoing the inspection process. ([Section III. A] reciting “Multiple state-of-the-art works [16], [39], [42], [51] have split each video frame into many fixed-size non-overlapping image patches or video cuboids for local anomalies detection. Inspired by these methods, we collect raw 3D video cuboids from video frames utilizing a sliding window with size w×h×t, where w and h are the width and height of the sliding window, respectively, and t is the temporal depth (the number of patches at the same spatial location in continuous frames that are stacked together to construct a raw video cuboid).”; [Section IV. C. “The UCSD Dataset”] reciting “The UCSD dataset was captured from a campus using a static camera.”; [See Figure 7 below]).
19 Claim(s) 8 and 15 has similar limitations as of claim 1, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
20 Claim 9 has similar limitations as of claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
21 Claim 10 has similar limitations as of claim 3, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
22 Claim 12 has similar limitations as of claim 5, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
23 Claim 13 has similar limitations as of claim 6, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
24 Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over N. Li, F. Chang and C. Liu, "Spatial-Temporal Cascade Autoencoder for Video Anomaly Detection in Crowded Scenes," in IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, vol. 23, pp. 203-215, 2021, doi: 10.1109/TMM.2020.2984093 (hereinafter Li) in view of Burton et al. (US 20170280130 A1) and Lodato et al. (US 20180350134 A1) as of claim 1, further in view of Bell et al. (US 20160055268 A1).
25 Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Burton and Lodato teach the method of claim 1 (see claim 1 rejection above), but does not explicitly teach wherein the 3D reconstruction process further utilizes 3D sensors to generate the 3D reconstructed representation.
26 Bell teaches wherein the 3D reconstruction process further utilizes 3D sensors to generate the 3D reconstructed representation ([0025] reciting “A 3D reconstruction system can employ 2D image data and/or depth data captured from 3D sensors (e.g., laser scanners, structured light systems, time-of-flight systems, etc.) to generate the 3D data (e.g., the 3D-reconstructed data).”).
27 It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method (taught by Li in view of Burton and Lodato) to incorporate the teachings of Bell to provide a way to utilize a 3d sensor(s) in order to generate or create the 3d reconstruction as taught by Li in view of Burton and Lodato. Doing so would have the 3d date to be generated to supplement missing data as stated by Bell ([0025] reciting).
28 Claim 14 has similar limitations as of claim 7, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 7.
Conclusion
29 Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
30 Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOHNNY TRAN LE whose telephone number is (571)272-5680. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thu: 7:30am-5pm; First Fridays Off; Second Fridays: 7:30am-4pm.
/JOHNNY T LE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614