DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0377648 (Zhang).
With regards to claim 1, ‘648 Zhang discloses a z-axis accelerometer comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-16, a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) sensor (e.g. entire sensor as illustrated in Figures 4,6) comprising a MEMS layer 106,402 (e.g. proof mass 106 along with platform 402 forms this MEMS layer in Figures 4,6; paragraph [0047]) including a fixed portion 109 (e.g. anchor; paragraph [0047]) and a proof mass 106 (e.g. teeter-totter proof mass; paragraph [0047]) wherein the proof mass moves in response to an external excitation (e.g. z-axis acceleration; paragraph [0010]); a substrate layer 111 (e.g. substrate; paragraph [0047]) located beneath the MEMS layer including a first plurality of sense electrodes 108A,404A (e.g. electrodes; paragraph [0047]) located directly next to each other under a first portion (e.g. left-side portion of proof mass) of the proof mass, and a second plurality of sense electrodes 108B,404B (e.g. electrodes; paragraph [0047]) located directly next to each other under a second portion (e.g. right-side portion of proof mass) of the proof mass; the first portion of the proof mass and the second portion of the proof mass each move normal to the MEMS layer (e.g. z-axis; paragraph [0047]), and the first portion in a first direction (e.g. +z axis direction in teeter-totter accelerometer) and the second portion in a second direction (e.g. -z axis direction in teeter-totter accelerometer) opposite the first direction; processing circuitry 105 (e.g. circuitry; paragraph [0051]; Figure 8) configured to determine an asymmetric deformation pattern of the substrate layer (e.g. deformation of the substrate; paragraphs [0046],[0047]; Figure 6) relative to one of the first portion of the proof mass or the second portion of proof mass based on a comparison of signals received from one of the first plurality of sense electrodes or the second plurality of sense electrodes (e.g. paragraphs [0047],[0051]), and adjust an output from the MEMS sensor based on the determined asymmetric deformation pattern (e.g. output of accelerometer is adjusted based on signal from the electrodes in order to reduce or eliminate offset drift; paragraphs [0046],[0047],[0056]). (See, paragraphs [0047] to [0059]).
With regards to claim 8, ‘648 Zhang further discloses the external excitation is acceleration, Coriolis, magnetic, barometric pressure, or sound pressure (e.g. acceleration; paragraphs [0021],[0025]).
With regards to claim 9, ‘648 Zhang further discloses the processing circuitry 105 measures the external excitation based on the signals received from the first plurality of sense electrodes and second plurality of sense electrodes such that the processing circuitry further determines an offset of the measured external excitation based on the asymmetric deformation pattern. (See, paragraphs [0046],[0047],[0051]).
With regards to claim 10, ‘648 Zhang further discloses the processing circuitry 105 modifies the measured external excitation based on the offset. (See, paragraphs [0046],[0047], [0051]).
With regards to claim 11, ‘648 Zhang further discloses the processing circuitry 105 determines a sensitivity of the measured external excitation based on the asymmetric deformation pattern. (See, paragraphs [0009],[0046],[0047],[0051]).
With regards to claim 12, ‘648 Zhang further discloses the processing circuitry 105 modifies the measured external excitation based on the sensitivity. (See, paragraphs [0009],[0046],[0047],[0051]).
With regards to claim 13, ‘648 Zhang further discloses the processing circuitry 105 receives each of the signals from the first plurality of sense electrodes and each of the signals from the second plurality of sense electrodes separately, and maps sense gaps in different locations of the proof mass based on the signals received from the first plurality of sense electrodes and the second plurality of sense electrodes. (See, paragraphs [0009],[0046],[0047], [0051],[0054],[0055]).
With regards to claim 17, ‘648 Zhang further discloses the first plurality of sense electrodes 108A,404A has a first polarity (e.g. zneg; paragraph [0052]), and the second plurality of sense electrodes 108B,404B has a second polarity (e.g. zpos; paragraph [0052]) such that the second polarity being opposite the first polarity. (See, paragraphs [0052] to [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0377648 (Zhang) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2014/0251011 (Zhang et al.).
With regards to claim 2, ‘648 Zhang does not disclose tilt sense electrodes located on an upper surface of the substrate layer such that the tilt sense electrodes are associated with the fixed portion of the MEMS layer.
‘011 Zhang et al. discloses a tilt mode z-axis accelerometer comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-6B, a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) sensor 10 (e.g. accelerometer; paragraph [0027]) comprising a MEMS layer including a fixed portion (e.g. anchor region positioned on the substrate; paragraphs [0008],[0026]) and a proof mass 20 (e.g. a mass; paragraph [0027]) such that the proof mass moves in response to an external excitation (e.g. acceleration; paragraph [0027]); a substrate layer 21 (e.g. substrate; paragraph [0027]) located beneath the MEMS layer including a first plurality of sense electrodes 24 (e.g. stationary electrodes; paragraphs [0027],[0034]) associated with a first portion 20a (e.g. section; paragraph [0027]) of the proof mass and a second plurality of sense electrodes 28 (e.g. stationary electrodes; paragraphs [0027],[0034]) associated with a second portion 20b (e.g. section; paragraph [0027]) of the proof mass; the first portion of the proof mass and the second portion of the proof mass each move normal (e.g. z-axis; paragraph [0027]) to the MEMS layer such that the first portion in a first direction (e.g. - z-direction) and the second portion in a second direction (e.g. + z-direction) opposite the first direction (e.g. observed in Figure 1B); processing circuitry (e.g. ASIC; paragraphs [0030],[0032],[0035]); tilt sense electrodes 26 (e.g. electrode but not indicated in the disclosure of reference; Figures 1A,1B) located on an upper surface of the substrate layer such that the tilt sense electrodes are associated with the fixed portion of the MEMS layer (e.g. observed in Figures 1A,1B). (See, paragraphs [0034] to [0071]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing tilt sense electrodes located on an upper surface of the substrate layer such that the tilt sense electrodes are associated with the fixed portion of the MEMS layer as suggested by ‘011 Zhang et al. to the system ‘648 Zhang to have the ability to determine the tilting of the seismic mass even at different spring stiffness of spring elements. (See, paragraph [0014] of ‘011 Zhang et al.).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, ‘011 Zhang et al. does not disclose such parameters (receiving a measurement based on a distance between the tilt sense electrodes and the fixed portion of the MEMS layer, the processing circuitry compares the measurement to a threshold; and the processing circuitry determines the asymmetric deformation pattern based on the measurement exceeding the threshold) as in the claims. However, to have set such mathematical test characteristics like comparing a value to a threshold as in the claims are considered to have been a matter of optimization and mathematical calculation that would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claims 5, ‘011 Zhang et al. further discloses a first plurality of comparison 26 (e.g. paragraph [0034] indicated one or more stationary electrodes, so examiner is considering a few of the stationary electrodes as the first plurality of comparison electrodes - broadest interpretations) and a second plurality of comparison electrodes 28 (e.g. paragraph [0034] indicated one or more stationary electrodes, so examiner is considering a few of the stationary electrodes as the second plurality of comparison electrodes - broadest interpretations) such that the first plurality of comparison electrodes is located between the tilt sense electrodes and the first plurality of sense electrodes, and the second plurality of comparison electrodes is located between the tilt sense electrodes and the second plurality of sense electrodes.
With regards to claims 6 and 7, ‘011 Zhang et al. does not disclose such parameters (the processing circuitry determines the asymmetric deformation pattern based on a comparison of each of the signals received from the first plurality of sense electrodes, the first plurality of comparison electrodes, the second plurality of sense electrodes, and the second plurality of comparison electrodes; each of the comparison electrodes define a smaller surface area than the sense electrodes) as in the claims. However, to have set such mathematical and structural test characteristics like comparing a value to a threshold as in the claims are considered to have been a matter of optimization, choice possibilities, and mathematical calculation that would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
Claims 14-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0377648 (Zhang) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2018/0143218 (Enjalbert).
With regards to claim 14, ‘648 Zhang does not disclose the processing circuitry is configured to multiplex each of the signals received from the first plurality of sense electrodes and the second plurality of sense electrodes into a first multiplexed signal, corresponding to the first plurality of sense electrodes, and a second multiplexed signal, corresponding to the second plurality of sense electrodes such that the asymmetric deformation pattern is determined based on respective comparisons of portions of the first multiplexed signal and portions of the second multiplexed signal.
Enjalbert discloses a microelectromechanical sensor system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-19, a microelectromechanical system (MEMS) sensor 10 (e.g. acceleration sensor unit; paragraph [0070]) comprising a movable mass arranged between two stationary sense electrodes (e.g. paragraph [0070]; a process circuitry 20 (e.g. detector unit; paragraph [0070]) is configured to multiplex each of the signals received from the first plurality of sense electrodes and the second plurality of sense electrodes into a first multiplexed signal, corresponding to the first plurality of sense electrodes, and a second multiplexed signal, corresponding to the second plurality of sense electrodes such that the deformation pattern is determined based on respective comparisons of portions of the first multiplexed signal and portions of the second multiplexed signal (e.g. multiplexer circuit; paragraphs [0106], [0117] to [0119], [0131] to [0143]; Figure 13). (See, paragraphs [0067] to [0190]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the process circuity configured to multiplex each of the signals received from the first plurality of sense electrodes and the second plurality of sense electrodes into a first multiplexed signal, corresponding to the first plurality of sense electrodes, and a second multiplexed signal, corresponding to the second plurality of sense electrodes such that the deformation pattern is determined based on respective comparisons of portions of the first multiplexed signal and portions of the second multiplexed signal as suggested by Enjalbert to the system of ‘648 Zhang, to have the ability to selectively connect each electrode to a test voltage source to deflect the movable mass and to selectively connect the movable mass to a single one of the inputs of the process circuitry to detect the deflection of the movable mass. (See, Abstract of Enjalbert).
With regards to claim 15, Enjalbert further discloses in response to drive signals applied to each of the first plurality of sense electrodes and each of the second plurality of sense electrodes, the processing circuitry receives a multiplexed signal from the proof mass and determines the asymmetric deformation pattern based on the multiplexed signal, and wherein the of signals received from the first plurality of sense electrodes and the second plurality of sense electrodes are received via the multiplexed signal of the proof mass(e.g. paragraphs [0106], [0117] to [0119], [0131] to [0143]; Abstract; Figure 13).
With regards to claim 16, Enjalbert further discloses a multiplexing of the multiplexed signal is based on one of time, amplitude, phase, frequency, or orthogonal codes (e.g. time; paragraphs [0044],[0163]).
With regards to claim 18, the claim is directed to a method claim and is commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 1,14 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claim 19, the claim is directed to a method claim and is commensurate in scope with the above apparatus claims 1,14 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855