DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues as follows:
The invention of claim 1 pertains to a substrate safety system for use during a substrate recovery related procedure in a substrate evaluation system, in which sensed information from one or more regions associated with a substrate handling station is processed by an AI classifier to determine a recovery related status of the substrate and permit an appropriate response.
In contrast, the Hunter reference teaches optical inspection and process monitoring within semiconductor processing equipment, including detection of particles, defects, reflectivity, topography, orientation, and other process related conditions, with resulting routing or further inspection decisions. Hunter is thus directed to general process verification and substrate examination in a semiconductor processing tool, not to determining whether a substrate at a handling station should be recovered based on the substrate's physical relationship to one or more regions associated with that handling station.
The Koulierakis reference, in turn, teaches use of a prediction model or machine learning to determine a wafer inspection strategy, such as whether wafers should be inspected based on predicted compliance, defect probability, expected inspection cost, and related objectives. Koulierakis is therefore directed to inspection selection and metrology optimization, not to substrate safety during a recovery related procedure or to classification of a substrate at a handling station based on how the substrate covers one or more regions associated with that handling station.
While Applicants believe that claim 1 as originally presented is patentable over Hunter and Koulierakis, Applicants have amended claim 1 in the interest of expediting prosecution and further clarifying the above-described differences between the presently claimed invention and the cited references.
As amended, claim 1 more clearly recites a recovery-status determination system for substrate safety during a substrate recovery related procedure. The amendments now require that the AI classification be based on coverage parameters corresponding to how the substrate covers one or more regions associated with the substrate handling station, the regions being positioned so that a properly positioned and unbroken substrate obscures part of the regions while leaving part of the handling station visible, and further require determination of at least one recovery related status comprising one or more of broken, misplaced, absent, and properly placed.
These limitations make clear that claim 1 is concerned with whether and how substrate recovery should proceed based on the substrate's physical relationship to the handling station, which is different in purpose and operation from Hunter's optical inspection and process- monitoring techniques and from Koulierakis's inspection-strategy and metrology-optimization techniques[.]
Applicants respectfully assert that neither Hunter nor Koulierakis, alone or in combination, teaches the claimed subject matter. In particular, Hunter does not teach a substrate safety system in which recovery related status is determined from coverage parameters associated with predefined regions positioned so that a properly positioned and unbroken substrate obscures part of the regions while leaving part of the handling station visible.
Nor does Koulierakis teach using coverage of regions associated with a substrate handling station to classify a substrate as broken, misplaced, absent, or properly placed; instead, Koulierakis addresses machine-learning-based wafer inspection strategy and quality prediction.
Thus, even if one were to combine the general inspection teachings of Hunter with the machine-learning teachings of Koulierakis, the resulting combination still would not teach or suggest the presently claimed substrate safety system.
Applicant’s Response at pp. 8-9 (emphasis added).
Applicant initially states the purpose of the claimed invention (i.e., “for use during a substrate recovery related procedure in a substrate evaluation system”) and then argues that Hunter and Koulierakis have different objectives (i.e., “optical inspection and process monitoring …directed to general process verification and substrate examination in a semiconductor processing tool” in the case of Hunter and “to determine a wafer inspection strategy” in the case of Koulierakis). However, these arguments are not persuasive because they are generally directed to the purpose of the claimed features, rather than to structural differences. In addition, although different terminology is used (evaluation and recovery vs. inspection and verification), based on the claim scope, the examiner is not convinced that the purpose of the claimed invention and the modified system of Hunter and Koulierakis is not the same, which is to identify problems in substrate/wafer processing.
Applicant then argues (summarizing) that the claims have been amended to reflect “how the substrate covers one or more regions associated with the substrate handling station” and that the amendments are now “concerned with whether and how substrate recovery should proceed based on the substrate's physical relationship to the handling station.” Applicant then argues that Hunter does not teach “recovery related status is determined from coverage parameters …” and Koulierakis does not teach “using coverage of regions associated with a substrate handling station to classify a substrate.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed below, the combined teaching of Hunter and Koulierakis discloses the claimed coverage of one or more regions and the claimed recovery related status. Please note that some of the analysis has been modified to reflect Applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: “a classification process” should be “the classification process.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the AI process” should be “the classification process.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 1, claim element “control unit” uses the generic placeholder “unit” followed by the function “trigger a substrate recovery related procedure.” The written description discloses that the structure to perform the claimed function is control unit 20. See, e.g., Specification at par. [0046]. Accordingly, “control unit” will be interpreted as “control unit 20” and equivalents. Similar analysis applies to claims 11 and 20.
In claim 1, claim element “sensing unit” uses the generic placeholder “unit” followed by the function “generate sensed information.” The written description discloses that the structure to perform the claimed function is sensing unit 40. See, e.g., Specification at pars. [0042], [0056], [0068] and [0070]. Accordingly, “sensing unit” will be interpreted as “sensing unit 40” and equivalents. Similar analysis applies to claims 11 and 20.
In claim 1, claim element “artificial intelligence (AI) processing unit” uses the generic placeholder “unit” followed by the function “apply a classification process on the sensed information to determine at least one recovery related status of the substrate.” The written description discloses that the structure to perform the claimed function is AI processing unit 50. See, e.g., Specification at par. [0046]. Accordingly, “artificial intelligence (AI) processing unit” will be interpreted as “AI processing unit 50” and equivalents. Similar analysis applies to claims 11 and 20.
In claim 1, claim element “response unit” uses the generic placeholder “unit” followed by the function “respond to the recovery related status of the substrate.” The written description discloses that the structure to perform the claimed function is response unit 60. See, e.g., Specification at pars. [0044] and [0046]. Accordingly, “response unit” will be interpreted as “response unit 60” and equivalents. Similar analysis applies to claims 11 and 20.
In claim 8, claim element “illumination unit” uses the generic placeholder “unit” followed by the function “illuminate the one or more regions.” The written description discloses that the structure to perform the claimed function is illumination unit 60. See, e.g., Specification at pars. [0041] and [0068]-[0069]. Accordingly, “illumination unit” will be interpreted as “illumination unit 60” and equivalents. Similar analysis applies to claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 6, 12 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 2, 6, 12, and 16 recite subject matter that is substantially identical to features recited in their respective base claims. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 7,012,684 to Reginald Hunter (“Hunter”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0058166 to Koulierakis et al. (“Koulierakis”).
Regarding claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
A substrate safety system (Hunter discloses that “the invention relates to a method and apparatus for inspection of substrates to identify process and handling related defects and conditions.” See, e.g., Hunter at col.1:14-17.) comprising:
a control unit configured to trigger a substrate recovery related procedure (Hunter discloses that “the processing system controller 102 can be instructed by the PMC 86 to transfer the substrate to a particular location for eventual disposition, cleaning or further inspection.” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 7:55-59. Thus, Hunter discloses a “control unit configured to trigger a substrate recovery related procedure.”);
a sensing unit configured to generate sensed information that is indicative of one or more regions that are associated with a substrate handling station of a substrate evaluation system, during an execution of the substrate recovery related procedure (Hunter discloses an optical inspection sub-system (OIS) 150 and substrate detection system 1400 that read on the claimed “sensing unit” as discussed below. Hunter discloses that “the processing system 100 includes an inspection platform 135 for particle detection …[that] could be expanded to include OISs 150 on the FI 104, and elsewhere on the processing system 100 [(“a substrate handling station of a substrate evaluation system”)]. See, e.g., Hunter at Col. 7:55-59. Hunter further discloses that the OIS can be part of a “dedicated inspection/metrology chamber to provide process monitoring” (“a substrate handling station of a substrate evaluation system”). See, e.g., Hunter at col. 19:36-38. Hunter discloses that the chamber 114 can include a support member 1306 (“a substrate handling station of a substrate evaluation system”) to receive and support a substrate 37. Note that the support member 1306 is not labeled in Figs. 13A-C but see 1106 in Fig 12C for context. The surface of the support member 1306 will correspond to “one or more regions.” Hunter further discloses that the OIS 150 includes a scan assembly 1325 with a receiver 58 and a transmitter 56 (“generate sensed information that is indicative of one or more regions”). See, e.g., Hunter at col. 19:13-15 and Figs. 13A-13C. In addition, Hunter discloses “a substrate detection system 1400 comprising two or more sensors that detect the substrate.” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 20:16-17, Fig. 14 and Fig. 12A-12C. The location of the sensors 1410A and 1410B are also “indicative of one or more regions that are associated with a substrate handling station of a substrate evaluation system” because they indicate the position of the substrate 37 (and/or blade 48) on the support member 1306. See, e.g., Hunter at col. 20:14-54 and Fig. 14. Thus, OIS 150 in combination with the substrate detection system 1400 correspond to the claimed “sensing unit.”),
wherein the one or more regions are positioned such that, when the substrate is properly positioned and not broken, the substrate obscures at least part of the one or more regions and an uncovered portion of the substrate handling station remains visible within the one or more regions (As seen in Figs. 13A-C, when the substrate 37 is positioned on support member 1306. portions of the support member 1306 are covered by the substrate 37 and portions of the support member 1106 will remain visible. Hunter at Figs. 13A-C.);
a response unit configured to respond to the recovery related status of the substrate (Hunter discloses that “[i]f the PMC 86 detects a condition being monitored (e.g., a contaminated substrate), the user may be alerted by a warning message displayed on a display unit (not shown) [and/or] … the processing system controller 102 can be instructed by the PMC 86 to transfer the substrate to a particular location for eventual disposition, cleaning or further inspection.” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 7:47-55; see also col. 22:24-61.),
In view of Koulierakis:
an artificial intelligence (AI) processing unit configured to apply a classification process on the sensed information to determine at least one recovery related status of the substrate (Hunter discloses that the OIS scans the surface of the substrate to detect obstructions (“sensed information”). See, e.g., Hunter at col. 19:39-48. Hunter does not explicitly disclose use of an AI processing unit to apply a classification process on the sensed information. However, in the same field of endeavor, substrate inspection in semiconductor processing (and thus analogous art), Koulierakis discloses that its system identifies defects on a substrate (“sensed information”) and uses machine learning (“artificial intelligence (AI) processing unit configured to apply a classification process”) to predict wafer quality such as OK or Not-OK (“recovery related status of a substrate”). See, e.g., Koulierakis at pars. [0031] and [0046]-[0048]. Note that in the modified system of Hunter and Koulierakis, the sensed information will be based on scan assembly 1325 with a receiver 58 and a transmitter 56 and substrate detection system 1400. It would have been obvious and one skilled in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the machine learning procedure of Koulierakis into the system of Hunter in order to “holistically improve the overall performance (for example a classification or performance metric such as ROC AUC (receiver-operating characteristic area under curve)) while minimizing wafer yield loss and customer engineering OPEX.” See, e.g., Koulierakis at par. [0048]. Because both Hunter and Koulierakis relate to inspection of substrates, there would have been a reasonable chance of success. See MPEP § 2143.I.G.),
the at least one recovery related status comprising one or more of broken, misplaced, absent, and properly placed, wherein the classification process is based on one or more coverage parameters related to coverage of the one or more regions by the substrate (Hunter discloses that “output [of the sensors 1410A and 1410B] may be used to determine the presence, position, and velocity of the substrate.” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 20:26-28. In addition, Hunter discloses that the OIS 150 can detect and map “any substrate damage or defect, such as chips or fractures ….” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 22:32-38. Thus, in the modified system of Hunter and Koulierakis, the recovery status of OK will be based on a properly placed substrate with no defects and a recovery status of not OK will be based on broken (e.g., chips or fractures), misplaced, or absent substrate.).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the recovery related status of the substrate is selected between a broken substrate, a misplaced substrate, an absent substrate and a properly placed substrate (Hunter discloses that “output [of the sensors 1410A and 1410B] may be used to determine the presence, position, and velocity of the substrate.” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 20:26-28. In addition, Hunter discloses that the OIS 150 can detect and map “any substrate damage or defect, such as chips or fractures ….” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 22:32-38.).
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the response unit is configured to respond by requesting an execution of a manual unloading of the substrate from the substrate handling station (Hunter discloses that “[i]f the PMC 86 detects a condition being monitored (e.g., a contaminated substrate), the user may be alerted by a warning message displayed on a display unit (not shown). See, e.g., Hunter at col. 7:47-55.). Thus, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious a manual unloading of the substrate.)
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the response unit is configured to respond by requesting an execution of a substrate evaluation system controller unloading of the substrate from the handling station (Hunter discloses that “[i]f the PMC 86 detects a condition being monitored (e.g., a contaminated substrate) … the processing system controller 102 can be instructed by the PMC 86 to transfer the substrate to a particular location for eventual disposition, cleaning or further inspection.” See, e.g., Hunter at col. 7:47-55.).
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the response unit is configured to respond by sending an indication that a recovery of the substrate is not necessary (Koulierakis discloses that its system identifies defects on a substrate and uses machine learning to predict wafer quality such as OK or Not-OK (“respond by sending an indication that a recovery of the substrate not necessary” (i.e., not-OK)). See, e.g., Koulierakis at pars. [0031] and [0046].).
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the Al processing unit is configured to apply a classification process to determine the substrate recovery related status (Koulierakis discloses that its system identifies defects on a substrate and uses machine learning to predict wafer quality such as OK or Not-OK (“apply a classification process to determine the substrate recovery related status”). See, e.g., Koulierakis at pars. [0031], [0046]-[0048], and [0051].).
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claim 6, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the Al processing unit is trained to apply the classification process based on one or more coverage parameters related to a coverage of each one of the one or more regions by the substrate (Koulierakis discloses “[i]t is proposed to use a machine learning strategy for prediction of wafer quality (e.g., rework decision) based on available per-wafer data (e.g., pre-processing data).” See, e.g., Koulierakis at par. [0046].
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
an illumination unit that is configured to illuminate the one or more regions (Hunter discloses a light projection 58 (“illumination unit”). See, e.g., Hunter at Figs. 13A-C. In addition, sensors 1410A and 1410B sense a change in the respective optical path due to movement of blade 48, which renders obvious an illumination unit. See, e.g., Hunter at Col. 20:16-30.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the one or more regions are multiple regions and wherein the sensing unit comprises a plurality of sensors (Hunter discloses sensors 1410A and 1410B sensing different regions of the chamber. See, e.g., Hunter at Col. 20:16-30 and Fig. 14.).
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 1, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the substrate evaluation system comprises an additional substrate handling station (Hunter disclose a multiple substrate handling stations such as, e.g., factory interface 104, transfer chamber 110, process chambers 114, and service chambers 116. See, e.g., Hunter at Fig. 1A.).
wherein the sensing unit is configured to generate additional sensed information that is indicative of one or more additional regions that are associated with the additional substrate handling station (Hunter discloses that “the processing system 100 includes an inspection platform 135 for particle detection …[that] could be expanded to include [optical inspection sub-systems] OISs 150 on the FI 104, and elsewhere on the processing system” and that a “plurality of OISs 150 may be located anywhere on and/or coupled to the processing system 100 for process monitoring, for example within the factory interface 104, the transfer chamber 110, processing chamber 114, service chambers 116, and the like.” See, e.g., Hunter at Col. 6:41-42-49 and Col. 7:55-59.); and
wherein the Al processing unit is configured to apply the Al process on the sensed information and on the additional sensed information to determine the recovery related status of the substrate (Hunter discloses that “[t]he information received from each OIS 150 can then be processed to determine various conditions of substrates moving within the processing system 100.” See, e.g., Hunter at Col. 6:41-42-49. As discussed above in claim 1, Koulierakis discloses the use of machine learning on sensed information. Thus, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious the claimed “AI process.”).
Regarding claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
A method for enhancing a safety of a substrate, the method comprises: triggering, by a control unit, a substrate recovery related procedure; generating, by a sensing unit and during an execution of the substrate recovery related procedure, sensed information that is indicative of one or more regions that are associated with a substrate handling station of a substrate evaluation system; …..applying, by an artificial intelligence (AI) processing unit, a classification process on the sensed information to determine at least one recovery related status of the substrate ….; and responding to the at least one recovery related status of the substrate by a response unit (These elements are substantively the same as those recited in claim 1 and are therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 1.).
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the recovery related status of the substrate is selected between a broken substrate, a misplaced substrate, an absent substrate and a properly placed substrate (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 2 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 2.).
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the responding comprises requesting an execution of a manual unloading of the substrate from the substrate handling station (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 3 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 3.).
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the responding comprises requesting an execution of a substrate evaluation system controller unloading of the substrate from the handling station (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 4 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 4.).
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the responding comprises sending an indication that a recovery of the substrate is irrelevant (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 5 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 5.).
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the applying of the Al process comprises applying a classification process to determine the substrate recovery related status (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 6 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 6.).
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 16, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the Al processing unit is trained to apply the classification process based on one or more coverage parameters related to a coverage of each one of the one or more regions by the substrate (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 7 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 7.).
Regarding claim 18, which depends on claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
illuminating, by an illumination unit, the one or more regions (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 8 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 8.).
Regarding claim 19, which depends on claim 11, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
wherein the one or more regions are multiple regions and wherein the sensing unit comprises a plurality of sensors (This element is substantively the same as that recited in claim 9 and is therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 9.).
Regarding claim 20, Hunter in view of Koulierakis renders obvious:
A non-transitory computer readable medium for enhancing a safety of a substrate, the non-transitory computer readable medium stores instructions that once executed by substrate safety system, cause the substrate safety system to (Hunter discloses that the programs defining the functions of the embodiments can be stored on CD-ROM and DVD. See. e.g., Hunter at col. 22:64 to col. 33:5.):
trigger, by a control unit of the substrate safety system, a substrate recovery related procedure; generate, by a sensing unit of the substrate safety system, sensed information that is indicative of one or more regions that are associated with a substrate handling station of a substrate evaluation system ….; apply, by an artificial intelligence (Al) processing unit of the substrate safety system, a classification process on the sensed information to determine at least one recovery related status of the substrate; and respond to the at least one recovery related status of the substrate by a response unit of the substrate safety system (These elements are substantively the same as those recited in claim 1 and are therefore rendered obvious by Hunter in view of Koulierakis for the reasons given above in claim 1.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Korean Patent Application Publication No. KR102274693 to Kang Chang Su discloses a wafer centering and inspection system.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116