DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to claims filed 08/03/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the first and second lines read as “One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to:”. It is unclear if applicant included an extra colon and intended for the limitation to read as “One or more processors, comprising circuitry to:”. Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim 3 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Specifically, claim 3 is a duplicate of the last limitation of claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 6, 6, 1, 5, 6, 6, 9, 8, 9, 8, 11, 9, 9, 9, 19, 10, 14, and 20, respectively, of copending application 18/214,449 (hereafter ‘449) in view of Modukuri et al. Pub. No. US 20210286752 A1 (hereafter Modukuri) as exemplified in the table below.
Instant Application
18/214,449
1. (Currently Amended) One or more processors, comprising: circuitry to:
in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU):
cause information to be read from one or more physical memories
corresponding to the virtual memory address
and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and one or more GPUs;
and cause the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device.
1. (Currently Amended) One or more processors comprising: circuitry to,
in response to perform an application programming interface (API) call,
to cause information to be stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible to one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in storage of a NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes indicated by one or more parameters of the API.
Modukuri ¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to.”
6. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the information is stored using the one or more virtual memory addresses accessible by the one or more GPUs and one or more central processing units (CPUs), and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
2. (Previously Presented) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the arguments include one or more pointers to the virtual memory address
6. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the information is stored using the one or more virtual memory addresses accessible by the one or more GPUs and one or more central processing units (CPUs), and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Modukuri ¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to.”
3. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the API is to cause the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device
6. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the information is stored using the one or more virtual memory addresses accessible by the one or more GPUs and one or more central processing units (CPUs), and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
4. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the arguments include information indicating where prefetched data is to be prefetched in one of the one or more GPUs.
1. (Currently Amended) One or more processors comprising: circuitry to,
in response to perform an application programming interface (API) call,
to cause information to be stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible to one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in storage of a NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes indicated by one or more parameters of the API.
Modukuri ¶ [0055] teaches “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls. In at least one embodiment, at least one processor moves data based, at least in part, on an explicit prefetch (e.g., a CUDA cudaMemPrefetch).
5. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the arguments include information indicating where prefetched data is to be prefetched in the NUMA node
1. (Currently Amended) One or more processors comprising: circuitry to,
in response to perform an application programming interface (API) call,
to cause information to be stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible to one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in storage of a NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes indicated by one or more parameters of the API.
5. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1, wherein the API call is to cause the information to be prefetched to a memory of a host NUMA node specified by one or more of one or more parameters.
6. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein causing the information to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device comprises copying the information to the physical memory of the destination device.
6. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the information is stored using the one or more virtual memory addresses accessible by the one or more GPUs and one or more central processing units (CPUs), and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Examiner’s Note: storing information implies copying
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
7. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein causing the information to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device comprises moving the information to the physical memory of the destination device.
6. (Currently Amended) The one or more processors of claim 1,
wherein the information is stored using the one or more virtual memory addresses accessible by the one or more GPUs and one or more central processing units (CPUs), and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Examiner’s Note: storing information implies moving
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
8. (Currently Amended) A system, comprising:
one or more graphics processor units (GPUs); and one or more processors to:
in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU):
cause information to be read from physical memories corresponding to the
virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs;
and cause the information to be prefetched at a physical memory of the destination device.
8. A system, comprising:
one or more processors to receive
Examiners Note: see two paragraphs below, which shows the destination device being a NUMA node
cause information
Modukuri ¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to.”
virtual memory addresses accessible one or more (NUMA) nodes and
9. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8, wherein the information is stored using virtual addresses accessible to one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs, and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
9. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the destination device comprises one or more of the NUMA nodes.
8. A system, comprising:
one or more processors to receive
cause informationone or more (NUMA) nodes and indicated NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes.
10. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the arguments include information indicating a size of data that is to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device.
9. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the information is stored using virtual addresses accessible to one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs, and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Modukuri ¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to.”
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
11. (Previously Presented) The system of claim 8,
wherein the arguments include an identifier of a particular NUMA storage of the one or more NUMA storages.
8. A system, comprising:
one or more processors to receive an application programming interface (API) call including one or more parameters indicating at least a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node and in response to the API call,
cause information stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible one or more (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in the indicated NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes.
12. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the API is to cause the information to be read from a physical memory of a NUMA node associated with the one or more CPUs.
11. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the API call is to cause the information to be prefetched to the NUMA node that includes a central processing unit.
Modukuri ¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to.”
13. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address are
further accessible by a plurality of NUMA nodes.
9. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the information is stored using virtual addresses accessible to one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs, and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
8. A system, comprising: one or more processors to receive an application programming interface (API) call including one or more parameters indicating at least a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node and in response to the API call,
cause information stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible one or more (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in the indicated NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes.
14. (Currently Amended) A method, comprising:
receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU);
causing, in response to the API call, information to be read from one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs;
and causing the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device.
14. (Currently Amended) A method, comprising:
in response to an application programming interface (API) call,
Modukuri ¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to.”
causing information stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in storage of a NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes indicated by one or more parameters of the API.
9. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8, wherein the information is stored using virtual addresses accessible to one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs, and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
16. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 14,
wherein causing the information to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device comprises copying the information to the physical memory of the destination device.
9. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the information is stored using virtual addresses accessible to one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs, and the API call is to cause the information to be stored within a physical memory of the NUMA node.Examiner’s Note: storing information implies copying
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
17. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 14,
wherein the arguments include an identifier of a NUMA node indicating where the information is to be prefetched within
the NUMA node.
19. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 14,
wherein the information indicates the NUMA node to which the information is to be stored.
Modukuri ¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, a file system, block system, object system, or key-value store system, either in an operating system or a standalone driver, performs a read-ahead operation to accomplish prefetching using an implementation similar to that of transfers initiated with cuFile-based API calls.”
14. (Currently Amended) A method, comprising: in response to an application programming interface (API) call, causing information stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in storage of a NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes indicated by one or more parameters of the API.
18. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 14,
wherein the arguments include a range of virtual memory addresses.
10. (Currently Amended) The system of claim 8,
wherein the one or more indicators one or more parameters include information that indicates a range of memory accessible to one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs.
19. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 14,
wherein the destination device comprises the NUMA node
or one or more of the GPUs.
14. (Currently Amended) A method, comprising:
in response to an application programming interface (API) call, causing information stored using one or more virtual memory addresses accessible one or more non-uniform memory access (NUMA) nodes and one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) to be stored in storage of a NUMA node of the one or more NUMA nodes indicated by one or more parameters of the API.
Modukuri ¶ [0075] states “In at least one embodiment, API reads data into GPU memory using dynamic data transfer routing. Modukuri ¶ [0049] states “a first graphics processing unit (GPU) 128, designated at GPU 0, is coupled with third PCIe switch 124, and a second GPU 130, designated as GPU 1,”
20. (Previously Presented) A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause one or more processors to at least perform the method of claim 14.
20. (Original) A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to at least perform the method of claim 14.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘449 covers the majority the scope of the instant application using identical or synonymous terms. For example, indicators and parameters are interpreted as the same. Other identical features include having virtual memory be accessible by NUMA nodes and GPUs, storing information, and parameters indicating a NUMA node.
Regarding claims 14, 16, and 18, the claims are rejected because of identical or similar language to claims 9, 9, and 10 of ‘449, respectively. They are not patentably distinct as they only differ in statutory category of invention.
Regarding claims 1-20, ‘449 does not cover the scope related to reading information. However, Modukuri teaches reading information. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the storing of information of ‘449 with the reading of information of Modukuri. Modukuri states that APIs can read or write data (¶ [0071] states “In at least one embodiment API includes APIs for operations such as read or write of data”). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this simple substitution, with a reasonable expectation of success, as this would merely substitute storing, or writing, information with reading information. The results of reading information instead of writing information would have been predictable and obvious that information could either be read or written.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, ‘449 does not cover the scope related to the arguments including a pointer and a size. However, Modukuri teaches these arguments. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the pointer and size parameter of Modukuri with the API of storing information of ‘449. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to provide more information related to the memory being read so that the function has more utility. The results of using these parameters would have been predictable and obvious, namely that a range of memory could be specified for each read operation.
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 14, 16, and 17, ‘449 does not cover the scope of prefetching data. However, Modukuri teaches prefetching data. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prefetching of data of Modukuri with the API of strong information of ‘449. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because one of ordinary skill in the art recognizes the performance benefits of prefetching data.
Regarding claim 19, ‘449 does not cover the scope a destination device of multiple GPUs. However, Modukuri teaches an environment with multiple GPUs. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the environment of multiple GPUs of Modukuri with the API of storing data of ‘449. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the performance benefits of having multiple GPUs execute in parallel and accelerate specific GPU workloads.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the NUMA nodes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of compact prosecution, it is interpreted that the system comprises one or more NUMA nodes.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the one or more GPUs" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The claim recites “a graphics processing unit (GPU)” in line 4 but the claim is absent of a plurality of GPUs. Therefore, “the […] or more GPUs” does not have antecedent basis. For the purposes of compact prosecution, it is interpreted that the method can be performed with one or more GPUs.
Claim 19 has a similar issue when reciting “one or more of the GPUs.” For the purposes of compact prosecution, it is interpreted that the method can be performed with one or more GPUs.
Claims 15-20 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modukuri et al. Pat. No. US 20210286752 A1 (hereafter Modukuri) in view of Roberts Pat. No. US 20220342568 A1 (hereafter Roberts) and further in view of Dugast et al. Pat. No. US 20220050722 A1 (hereafter Dugast).
With regard to claim 1, Modukuri teaches one or more processors, comprising: circuitry to (¶ [0053] states “an application (e.g., running on first CPU 102, second CPU 104, first GPU 128, and/or second GPU 130) sends an IO function call (e.g., specifying a read or write operation) via an API (e.g., running on first CPU 102, second CPU 104, first GPU 128, and/or second GPU 130)”):
in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to. In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0071] states “In at least one embodiment, an API performs dynamic data transfer routing from a first hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, Serial Attached SCSI (SAS), FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral) to a second hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, SAS, FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral).” ¶ [0172] states “When performing graphics operations, an effective address 1693 generated by a graphics processing engine is translated to a real address by MMU 1639” and ¶ [0179] states “one or more MMU(s) 1720A-1720B provide for virtual to physical address mapping for graphics processor 1710”. Examiner’s Note: the “effective address” is interpreted to be similar to the “virtual address”. Modukuri teaches a MMU mapping between virtual and physical memory of a graphics processor, so memory addresses can either be virtual or physical. The file descriptor and the offset together represent a destination device because both are used to determine where data should be written to):
cause information to be read from one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and one or more GPUs (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to. In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0078] states “an API (e.g., running on first CPU 202 or second CPU 204) receives a function call from an application to transfer a set of data (e.g., a write call) from first GPU 228 (e.g., from a source memory) to second set of storage devices 297.” See FIG. 1a. Examiner’s Note: devPtr points to an address of a device pointer to read from. GPUs are an example device in system 100);
and cause the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0078] states “In at least one embodiment, an API (e.g., running on first CPU 202 or second CPU 204) receives a function call from an application to transfer a set of data (e.g., a write call) from first GPU 228 (e.g., from a source memory) to second set of storage devices 297.” ¶ [0204] states “include an MMU 1945 that is configured to map virtual addresses into physical addresses.”).
Although Modukuri teaches prefetching data using an method similar to cuFile-based API calls (¶ [0055]), Modukuri does not explicitly teach causing information to be prefetched in the cuFileWrite call. Additionally, although Modukuri describes translating between effective and physical memory addresses (¶ [0179]), Modukuri does not explicitly teach the virtual memory addresses corresponding with devices.
However, in an analogous art, Roberts teaches in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address)”):
cause information to be read from one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and one or more GPUs (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address).” ¶ [0027] states “As used herein, a virtual memory address can comprise an abstracted memory address used on a host system that maps to one or more memory-side memory addresses (e.g., physical or actual memory addresses) of a memory sub-system”)
and cause the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter” and “In doing so, the processor function can prefetch data from a source memory location, which corresponds to the source memory address and is associated with a current memory tier, to a target memory location, which corresponds to a target memory address and is associated with the target memory tier.” ¶ [0027] states “As used herein, a virtual memory address can comprise an abstracted memory address used on a host system that maps to one or more memory-side memory addresses (e.g., physical or actual memory addresses) of a memory sub-system, where the one or more memory-side memory addresses correspond to one or more memory locations on one or more memory devices of the memory sub-system.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the virtual memory address and the prefetching of memory of Roberts with the cuFileWrite function of Modukuri. As a result, the device pointer of Modukuri is a source virtual memory address and the function causes information to be prefetched. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to “facilitate movement or migration of data across memory tiers while avoiding the overhead of operating system invocation (e.g., via API calls), page table manipulation, use of translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or page table walks, which are otherwise needed by conventional technologies to facilitate copying, moving, or swapping data across through support of an operating system of a host system” (¶ [0014]).
Modukuri and Roberts do not explicitly teach a NUMA node destination device.
However, in an analogous art, Dugast teaches in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0039] states “For example, memory pool 302 can provide a local memory pool (to the processors that execute process A and B) with a highest data access rate (e.g., read and/or write rate), but have a smallest size (e.g., amount of data that can read or written) and largest cost relative to memory pools 304 and 306. Memory pool 302 can represent a first non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node.” ¶ [0040] states “A second NUMA node can represent a different NUMA domain than that of the first NUMA node.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the NUMA node of Dugast with the information transfer of Modukuri and the virtual source memory address and prefetching of Roberts. As a result, the API of Modukuri includes a parameter devPtr that refers to either a GPU memory or a NUMA storage. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of optimizing data placement for performance benefits (Dugast ¶ [0002] states “Frequently accessed memory pages can be stored in local memory of a compute node whereas less frequently accessed memory pages can be stored in a more distant memory pool. Memory pools have different latency characteristics relative to a compute node whereby the compute node can write or read from some memory pools faster than other memory pools”). Improving performance and resource utilization also contributes to meeting service level agreements (Dugast ¶ [0017]). Further, Roberts ¶ [0013] provides additional motivation to use NUMA nodes stating “For example, data movement/migration/placement across memory tiers often involves a software application invoking the operating system (e.g., via Application Program Interface (API) calls), manipulating page table, using translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or walking a page table. An existing example of this is non-uniform memory access (NUMA), which when supported by an operating system (e.g., LINUX) permits a software application to use calls to the operating system to specify a preference for allocated memory to reside locally or remotely relative to a central processing unit (CPU).”
With regard to claim 2, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the one or more processors of claim 1. Roberts additionally teaches wherein the arguments include one or more pointers to the virtual memory address (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter.” Examiner’s Note: the source virtual memory address is itself a pointer).
With regard to claim 3, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the one or more processors of claim 1. Roberts additionally teaches wherein the API is to cause the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter” and “In doing so, the processor function can prefetch data from a source memory location, which corresponds to the source memory address and is associated with a current memory tier, to a target memory location, which corresponds to a target memory address and is associated with the target memory tier.” ¶ [0027] states “As used herein, a virtual memory address can comprise an abstracted memory address used on a host system that maps to one or more memory-side memory addresses (e.g., physical or actual memory addresses) of a memory sub-system, where the one or more memory-side memory addresses correspond to one or more memory locations on one or more memory devices of the memory sub-system.”).
With regard to claim 4, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the one or more processors of claim 1. Modukuri additionally teaches wherein the arguments include information indicating where prefetched data is to be prefetched in one of the one or more GPUs (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to. In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0071] states “In at least one embodiment, an API performs dynamic data transfer routing from a first hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, Serial Attached SCSI (SAS), FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral) to a second hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, SAS, FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral).” Examiner’s Note: The file descriptor and offset is information describing where data is to be stored. Data can be stored in a GPU).
Roberts additionally teaches wherein the arguments include information indicating where prefetched data is to be prefetched in one of the one or more GPUs (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter. Depending on the embodiment, the tier parameter can comprise a 3-bit field that can specify a memory tier between 0-7. In doing so, the processor function can prefetch data from a source memory location, which corresponds to the source memory address and is associated with a current memory tier, to a target memory location, which corresponds to a target memory address and is associated with the target memory tier”).
With regard to claim 6, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the one or more processors of claim 1. Modukuri additionally teaches wherein causing the information to be prefetched at the physical memory of the destination device comprises copying the information to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, API allocates additional memory as part of data transfer operations (e.g., read/write operations such as cuFileRead or cuFileWrite).” ¶ [0110] states “performing data transfer includes one or more copy operations.”).
Roberts additionally teaches wherein causing the information to be prefetched at the physical memory of the destination device comprises copying the information to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter.”)
With regard to claim 7, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the one or more processors of claim 1. Modukuri additionally teaches wherein causing the information to be prefetched at the physical memory of the destination device comprises moving the information to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, API allocates additional memory as part of data transfer operations (e.g., read/write operations such as cuFileRead or cuFileWrite).”).
Robert additionally teaches wherein causing the information to be prefetched at the physical memory of the destination device comprises moving the information to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter.”)
With regard to claim 8, Modukuri teaches a system, comprising (¶ [0048] states “FIG. 1A is a block diagram illustrating a computer system 100):
one or more graphics processor units (GPUs) (¶ [0049] states “In at least one embodiment, a first graphics processing unit (GPU) 128, designated at GPU 0, is coupled with third PCIe switch 124, and a second GPU 130, designated as GPU 1, is coupled with fourth PCIe switch 126.”);
and one or more processors to (¶ [0048] states “computer system 100 includes a first central processing unit (CPU) 102 in a first CPU socket, designated as CPU Socket 0, and a second CPU 104 in a second CPU socket, designated as CPU Socket 1.”):
in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to. In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0071] states “In at least one embodiment, an API performs dynamic data transfer routing from a first hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, Serial Attached SCSI (SAS), FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral) to a second hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, SAS, FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral).” ¶ [0172] states “When performing graphics operations, an effective address 1693 generated by a graphics processing engine is translated to a real address by MMU 1639” and ¶ [0179] states “one or more MMU(s) 1720A-1720B provide for virtual to physical address mapping for graphics processor 1710”. Examiner’s Note: the “effective address” is interpreted to be similar to the “virtual address”. Modukuri teaches a MMU mapping between virtual and physical memory of a graphics processor, so memory addresses can either be virtual or physical. The file descriptor and the offset together represent a destination device because both are used to determine where data should be written to):
cause information to be read from one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to. In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0078] states “an API (e.g., running on first CPU 202 or second CPU 204) receives a function call from an application to transfer a set of data (e.g., a write call) from first GPU 228 (e.g., from a source memory) to second set of storage devices 297.” See FIG. 1a. Examiner’s Note: devPtr points to an address of a device pointer to read from. GPUs are an example device in system 100);
and cause the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0078] states “In at least one embodiment, an API (e.g., running on first CPU 202 or second CPU 204) receives a function call from an application to transfer a set of data (e.g., a write call) from first GPU 228 (e.g., from a source memory) to second set of storage devices 297.”).
Although Modukuri teaches prefetching data using an method similar to cuFile-based API calls (¶ [0055]), Modukuri does not explicitly teach causing information to be prefetched in the cuFileWrite call. Additionally, although Modukuri describes translating between effective and physical memory addresses (¶ [0179]), Modukuri does not explicitly teach the virtual memory addresses corresponding with devices.
However, in an analogous art, Roberts teaches in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address)”):
cause information to be read from one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address).” ¶ [0027] states “As used herein, a virtual memory address can comprise an abstracted memory address used on a host system that maps to one or more memory-side memory addresses (e.g., physical or actual memory addresses) of a memory sub-system”)
and cause the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter” and “In doing so, the processor function can prefetch data from a source memory location, which corresponds to the source memory address and is associated with a current memory tier, to a target memory location, which corresponds to a target memory address and is associated with the target memory tier.” ¶ [0027] states “As used herein, a virtual memory address can comprise an abstracted memory address used on a host system that maps to one or more memory-side memory addresses (e.g., physical or actual memory addresses) of a memory sub-system, where the one or more memory-side memory addresses correspond to one or more memory locations on one or more memory devices of the memory sub-system.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the virtual memory address and the prefetching of memory of Roberts with the cuFileWrite function of Modukuri. As a result, the device pointer of Modukuri is a source virtual memory address and the function causes information to be prefetched. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to “facilitate movement or migration of data across memory tiers while avoiding the overhead of operating system invocation (e.g., via API calls), page table manipulation, use of translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or page table walks, which are otherwise needed by conventional technologies to facilitate copying, moving, or swapping data across through support of an operating system of a host system” (¶ [0014]).
Modukuri and Roberts do not explicitly teach a NUMA node destination device.
However, in an analogous art, Dugast teaches in response to receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0039] states “For example, memory pool 302 can provide a local memory pool (to the processors that execute process A and B) with a highest data access rate (e.g., read and/or write rate), but have a smallest size (e.g., amount of data that can read or written) and largest cost relative to memory pools 304 and 306. Memory pool 302 can represent a first non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node.” ¶ [0040] states “A second NUMA node can represent a different NUMA domain than that of the first NUMA node.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the NUMA node of Dugast with the information transfer of Modukuri and the virtual source memory address and prefetching of Roberts. As a result, the API of Modukuri includes a parameter devPtr that refers to either a GPU memory or a NUMA storage. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of optimizing data placement for performance benefits (Dugast ¶ [0002] states “Frequently accessed memory pages can be stored in local memory of a compute node whereas less frequently accessed memory pages can be stored in a more distant memory pool. Memory pools have different latency characteristics relative to a compute node whereby the compute node can write or read from some memory pools faster than other memory pools”). Improving performance and resource utilization also contributes to meeting service level agreements (Dugast ¶ [0017]). Further, Roberts ¶ [0013] provides additional motivation to use NUMA nodes stating “For example, data movement/migration/placement across memory tiers often involves a software application invoking the operating system (e.g., via Application Program Interface (API) calls), manipulating page table, using translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or walking a page table. An existing example of this is non-uniform memory access (NUMA), which when supported by an operating system (e.g., LINUX) permits a software application to use calls to the operating system to specify a preference for allocated memory to reside locally or remotely relative to a central processing unit (CPU).”
With regard to claim 9, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the system of claim 8. Dugast additionally teaches wherein the destination device comprises one or more of the NUMA nodes (¶ [0039] states “For example, memory pool 302 can provide a local memory pool (to the processors that execute process A and B) with a highest data access rate (e.g., read and/or write rate), but have a smallest size (e.g., amount of data that can read or written) and largest cost relative to memory pools 304 and 306. Memory pool 302 can represent a first non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node”. ¶ [0040] states “A second NUMA node can represent a different NUMA domain than that of the first NUMA node”. Examiner’s Note: the environment can have a plurality of NUMA nodes. Processes can access NUMA nodes to read or write information).
With regard to claim 10, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the system of claim 8. Modukuri additionally teaches wherein the arguments include information indicating a size of data that is to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write”).
Roberts additionally teaches wherein the arguments include information indicating a size of data that is to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter”)
With regard to claim 12, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the system of claim 8. Dugast additionally teaches wherein the API is to cause the information to be read from a physical memory of a NUMA node associated with the one or more CPUs (¶ [0039] states “For example, memory pool 302 can provide a local memory pool (to the processors that execute process A and B) with a highest data access rate (e.g., read and/or write rate), but have a smallest size (e.g., amount of data that can read or written) and largest cost relative to memory pools 304 and 306. Memory pool 302 can represent a first non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node”. ¶ [0040] states “A second NUMA node can represent a different NUMA domain than that of the first NUMA node”. ¶ [0026] states “A memory pool node 150 can include a network or fabric interface 152, processors 154 (e.g., CPUs, GPUs, accelerators, and so forth).” ¶ [0043] states “Memory management unit (MMU) 310 can perform virtual-to-physical memory address translation.” Examiner’s Note: memory pools provide memory to processors that execute processes A and B. Processors are either CPUs, GPUs, accelerators, and so forth.).
With regard to claim 13, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the system of claim 8. Roberts additionally teaches wherein one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address are further accessible by a plurality of NUMA nodes (¶ [0017] states “The source memory address, the target memory address, or both can be a virtual memory address, which can be translated by the hardware processor of the host system into one or more memory addresses (e.g., intermediate memory addresses) used by the memory sub-system with one or more memory instructions (of an embodiment) sent from the host system to the memory sub-system, where the one or more memory addresses received by the memory sub-system can be mapped to one or more memory locations (e.g., physical memory locations) on one or more memory devices of the memory sub-system.” ¶ [0013] states “data movement/migration/placement across memory tiers often involves a software application invoking the operating system (e.g., via Application Program Interface (API) calls), manipulating page table, using translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or walking a page table. An existing example of this is non-uniform memory access (NUMA)”).
Dugast additionally teaches wherein one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address are further accessible by a plurality of NUMA nodes (¶ [0026] states “A memory pool node 150 can include a network or fabric interface 152, processors 154 (e.g., CPUs, GPUs, accelerators, and so forth), and memory pool resources 156 (e.g., memory, persistent memory, storage, and/or cache)” and “one or more of memory pool nodes 150-0 to 150-N can be coupled to network interface 106 using a network interface and one or more switches or routers.” Examiner’s Note: memory pool resources are physical storages and are accessible to the NUMA node).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the memory pool nodes of Dugast with the physical memory addresses corresponding to virtual memory addresses of Roberts and the API of Modukuri. As a result, NUMA nodes access the physical storages that correspond to virtual memory addresses by translating between virtual and physical memory. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to “facilitate movement or migration of data across memory tiers while avoiding the overhead of operating system invocation (e.g., via API calls), page table manipulation, use of translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or page table walks, which are otherwise needed by conventional technologies to facilitate copying, moving, or swapping data across through support of an operating system of a host system” (¶ [0014]).
With regard to claim 14, Modukuri teaches a method, comprising (¶ [0076] states “API receives a write function call (e.g., cuFileWrite) and performs dynamic data transfer routing based, at least in part, on received write function call.”):
receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to. In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0071] states “In at least one embodiment, an API performs dynamic data transfer routing from a first hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, Serial Attached SCSI (SAS), FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral) to a second hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, SAS, FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral).” ¶ [0172] states “When performing graphics operations, an effective address 1693 generated by a graphics processing engine is translated to a real address by MMU 1639” and ¶ [0179] states “one or more MMU(s) 1720A-1720B provide for virtual to physical address mapping for graphics processor 1710”. Examiner’s Note: the “effective address” is interpreted to be similar to the “virtual address”. Modukuri teaches a MMU mapping between virtual and physical memory of a graphics processor, so memory addresses can either be virtual or physical. The file descriptor and the offset together represent a destination device because both are used to determine where data should be written to);
causing, in response to the API call, information to be read from one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and the one or more GPUs (¶ [0076] states “cuFileWrite is specified as: ssize_t cuFileWrite(CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read from, size is a size in bytes to write, and offset is an offset in a file to write to. In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0078] states “an API (e.g., running on first CPU 202 or second CPU 204) receives a function call from an application to transfer a set of data (e.g., a write call) from first GPU 228 (e.g., from a source memory) to second set of storage devices 297.” See FIG. 1a. Examiner’s Note: devPtr points to an address of a device pointer to read from. GPUs are an example device in system 100.);
and causing the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0076] states “In at least one embodiment, based on cuFileWrite call, API writes specified bytes from device memory into a file descriptor using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0078] states “In at least one embodiment, an API (e.g., running on first CPU 202 or second CPU 204) receives a function call from an application to transfer a set of data (e.g., a write call) from first GPU 228 (e.g., from a source memory) to second set of storage devices 297.”).
Although Modukuri teaches prefetching data using an method similar to cuFile-based API calls (¶ [0055]), Modukuri does not explicitly teach causing information to be prefetched in the cuFileWrite call. Additionally, although Modukuri describes translating between effective and physical memory addresses (¶ [0179]), Modukuri does not explicitly teach the virtual memory addresses corresponding with devices.
However, in an analogous art, Roberts teaches receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address)”):
causing, in response to the API call, information to be read from one or more physical memories corresponding to the virtual memory address and accessible by one or more central processing units (CPUs) and one or more GPUs (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address).” ¶ [0027] states “As used herein, a virtual memory address can comprise an abstracted memory address used on a host system that maps to one or more memory-side memory addresses (e.g., physical or actual memory addresses) of a memory sub-system”);
and causing the information to be prefetched to a physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter” and “In doing so, the processor function can prefetch data from a source memory location, which corresponds to the source memory address and is associated with a current memory tier, to a target memory location, which corresponds to a target memory address and is associated with the target memory tier.” ¶ [0027] states “As used herein, a virtual memory address can comprise an abstracted memory address used on a host system that maps to one or more memory-side memory addresses (e.g., physical or actual memory addresses) of a memory sub-system, where the one or more memory-side memory addresses correspond to one or more memory locations on one or more memory devices of the memory sub-system.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the virtual memory address and the prefetching of memory of Roberts with the cuFileWrite function of Modukuri. As a result, the device pointer of Modukuri is a source virtual memory address and the function causes information to be prefetched. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination to “facilitate movement or migration of data across memory tiers while avoiding the overhead of operating system invocation (e.g., via API calls), page table manipulation, use of translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or page table walks, which are otherwise needed by conventional technologies to facilitate copying, moving, or swapping data across through support of an operating system of a host system” (¶ [0014]).
Modukuri and Roberts do not explicitly teach a NUMA node destination device.
However, in an analogous art, Dugast teaches receiving an application programming interface (API) call comprising arguments including a virtual memory address and a destination device comprising a non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node or a graphics processing unit (GPU) (¶ [0039] states “For example, memory pool 302 can provide a local memory pool (to the processors that execute process A and B) with a highest data access rate (e.g., read and/or write rate), but have a smallest size (e.g., amount of data that can read or written) and largest cost relative to memory pools 304 and 306. Memory pool 302 can represent a first non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node.” ¶ [0040] states “A second NUMA node can represent a different NUMA domain than that of the first NUMA node.”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the NUMA node of Dugast with the information transfer of Modukuri and the virtual source memory address and prefetching of Roberts. As a result, the API of Modukuri includes a parameter devPtr that refers to either a GPU memory or a NUMA storage. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of optimizing data placement for performance benefits (Dugast ¶ [0002] states “Frequently accessed memory pages can be stored in local memory of a compute node whereas less frequently accessed memory pages can be stored in a more distant memory pool. Memory pools have different latency characteristics relative to a compute node whereby the compute node can write or read from some memory pools faster than other memory pools”). Improving performance and resource utilization also contributes to meeting service level agreements (Dugast ¶ [0017]). Further, Roberts ¶ [0013] provides additional motivation to use NUMA nodes stating “For example, data movement/migration/placement across memory tiers often involves a software application invoking the operating system (e.g., via Application Program Interface (API) calls), manipulating page table, using translational lookaside buffers (TLBs), or walking a page table. An existing example of this is non-uniform memory access (NUMA), which when supported by an operating system (e.g., LINUX) permits a software application to use calls to the operating system to specify a preference for allocated memory to reside locally or remotely relative to a central processing unit (CPU).”
With regard to claim 16, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the method of claim 14. Modukuri additionally teaches wherein causing the information to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device comprises copying the information to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0055] states “In at least one embodiment, API allocates additional memory as part of data transfer operations (e.g., read/write operations such as cuFileRead or cuFileWrite).” ¶ [0110] states “performing data transfer includes one or more copy operations.”).
Roberts additionally teaches wherein causing the information to be prefetched to the physical memory of the destination device comprises copying the information to the physical memory of the destination device (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter.”).
With regard to claim 18, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the method of claim 14. Roberts additionally teaches wherein the arguments include a range of virtual memory addresses (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter.” Examiner’s Note: source address and size indicate a range of virtual memory addresses).
With regard to claim 19, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the method of claim 14. Modukuri additionally teaches wherein the destination device comprises the NUMA node or one or more of the GPUs (¶ [0075] states “In at least one embodiment, cuFileRead is specified as: ssize_t cuFileRead (CUFileHandle fh, void *devPtr, size_t size, off_t offset), where fh is a file descriptor for a file, devPtr is a start address of a device pointer to read into, size is a size in bytes to read, and offset is an offset in a file to read from” and “In at least one embodiment, API reads data into GPU memory using dynamic data transfer routing.” ¶ [0071] states “In at least one embodiment, an API performs dynamic data transfer routing from a first hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, Serial Attached SCSI (SAS), FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral) to a second hardware component endpoint (e.g., a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, SAS, FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral).”).
Dugast additionally teaches wherein the destination device comprises the NUMA node or one or more of the GPUs (¶ [0039] states “For example, memory pool 302 can provide a local memory pool (to the processors that execute process A and B) with a highest data access rate (e.g., read and/or write rate), but have a smallest size (e.g., amount of data that can read or written) and largest cost relative to memory pools 304 and 306. Memory pool 302 can represent a first non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node”. ¶ [0040] states “A second NUMA node can represent a different NUMA domain than that of the first NUMA node”. Examiner’s Note: the environment can have a plurality of NUMA nodes. Processes can access NUMA nodes to read or write information).
With regard to claim 20, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the method of claim 14. Modukuri additionally teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon a set of instructions, which if performed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to at least perform the method of claim 14 (¶ [0393] states “code (e.g., executable code or source code) is stored on a set of one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media having stored thereon executable instructions (or other memory to store executable instructions) that, when executed (i.e., as a result of being executed) by one or more processors of a computer system, cause computer system to perform operations described herein”).
Claim(s) 5, 11, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modukuri in view of Roberts and Dugast and further in view of Wagle et al. Pat. No. US 20160371194 A1 (hereafter Wagle).
With regard to claim 5, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the one or more processors of claim 1.
Dugast additionally teaches wherein the arguments include information indicating where prefetched data is to be prefetched in the NUMA node (¶ [0039] states “memory pool 302 can provide a local memory pool (to the processors that execute process A and B) with a highest data access rate (e.g., read and/or write rate), but have a smallest size (e.g., amount of data that can read or written) and largest cost relative to memory pools 304 and 306. Memory pool 302 can represent a first non-uniform memory access (NUMA) node”. ¶ [0064] states “Some examples utilize artificial intelligence (AI)-based technologies to detect memory access patterns per clustered pages for a workload and use this information to determine whether to pre-fetch data to nearer memory to the processor that executes the workload or migrate data to further memory away from the processor that executes the workload". Examiner’s Note: information is read from or written to a NUMA node. Information is also be prefetched to a NUMA node).
Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast do not explicitly teach an argument indicating where data is to be stored in the one or more NUMA storages.
However, in an analogous art, Wagle teaches wherein the arguments include information indicating where prefetched data is to be prefetched in one of the one or more NUMA storages (¶ [0033] states “As shown in FIG. 4, worker thread 405 calls “ALLOC_ON_NUMA_NODE (<0>)” to allocate memory addresses of memory 1124 (e.g., DRAM DIMMs) for use by cores 0, 4, 8 and 12. With reference to FIG. 1, memory 1124 and cores 0, 4, 8 and 12 are all located on the same node (i.e., node 0)”. Examiner’s Note: the ALLOC_ON_NUMA_NODE includes a parameter to specify which NUMA node to allocate memory on).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the indicator of a NUMA node of Wagle with the storing of prefetched data of Dugast and the API of Modukuri and virtual memory address and prefetching of Roberts. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of “[using] this information to determine whether to pre-fetch data to nearer memory to the processor that executes the workload or migrate data to further memory away from the processor that executes the workload" (¶ [0064]). Placement decisions are important to overcoming memory fragmentation and the associated remote access penalties of accessing memory within another NUMA node (Wagle ¶ [0025] states that “with multiple per-CPU allocators working on the memory (DRAM) of a single NUMA node, memory fragmentation or remote access penalties are possible” and ¶ [0027] states “preferred: Try to allocate on a node first”. By setting the policy to preferred, memory will be allocated on the same NUMA node that the thread is executing in).
With regard to claim 11, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the system of claim 8. Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast do not explicitly teach an argument including an identifier of a particular NUMA storage of the one or more NUMA storages.
However, in an analogous art, Wagle additionally teaches wherein the arguments include an identifier of a particular NUMA storage of the one or more NUMA storages (¶ [0033] states “As shown in FIG. 4, worker thread 405 calls “ALLOC_ON_NUMA_NODE (<0>)” to allocate memory addresses of memory 1124 (e.g., DRAM DIMMs) for use by cores 0, 4, 8 and 12. With reference to FIG. 1, memory 1124 and cores 0, 4, 8 and 12 are all located on the same node (i.e., node 0)”. Examiner’s Note: the ALLOC_ON_NUMA_NODE includes a parameter to specify which NUMA node to allocate memory on).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the indicator of a NUMA node of Wagle with the API of Modukuri, the accessing of NUMA nodes of Dugast, and the virtual memory addresses and prefetching of Roberts. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of “[using] this information to determine whether to pre-fetch data to nearer memory to the processor that executes the workload or migrate data to further memory away from the processor that executes the workload" (¶ [0064]). Placement decisions are important to overcoming memory fragmentation and the associated remote access penalties of accessing memory within another NUMA node (Wagle ¶ [0025] states that “with multiple per-CPU allocators working on the memory (DRAM) of a single NUMA node, memory fragmentation or remote access penalties are possible” and ¶ [0027] states “preferred: Try to allocate on a node first”. By setting the policy to preferred, memory will be allocated on the same NUMA node that the thread is executing in).
With regard to claim 17, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the method of claim 14. Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast do not explicitly teach an argument including an identifier of a particular NUMA storage of the one or more NUMA storages.
Roberts additionally teaches wherein the arguments include an identifier of a NUMA node indicating where the information is to be prefetched within the NUMA node (¶ [0020] states “BLOCK_PREFETCH(addr_src, size, tier) can represent a processor instruction with parameters addr_src, size, and tier, where the processor instruction causes generation of one or more memory instructions to a memory sub-system to prefetch (e.g., copy) data (e.g., data block), beginning at a source memory address (e.g., source virtual memory address) specified by a add_src parameter and having a size specified (e.g., in number of bytes) by a size parameter, to a target memory tier specified by a tier parameter.”).
Wagle additionally teaches wherein the arguments include an identifier of a NUMA node indicating where the information is to be prefetched within the NUMA node (¶ [0033] states “As shown in FIG. 4, worker thread 405 calls “ALLOC_ON_NUMA_NODE (<0>)” to allocate memory addresses of memory 1124 (e.g., DRAM DIMMs) for use by cores 0, 4, 8 and 12. With reference to FIG. 1, memory 1124 and cores 0, 4, 8 and 12 are all located on the same node (i.e., node 0)”. Examiner’s Note: the ALLOC_ON_NUMA_NODE includes a parameter to specify which NUMA node to allocate memory on).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the indicator of a NUMA node of Wagle with the API of Modukuri, the accessing of NUMA nodes of Dugast, and the virtual memory addresses and prefetching of Roberts. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the purpose of “[using] this information to determine whether to pre-fetch data to nearer memory to the processor that executes the workload or migrate data to further memory away from the processor that executes the workload" (¶ [0064]). Placement decisions are important to overcoming memory fragmentation and the associated remote access penalties of accessing memory within another NUMA node (Wagle ¶ [0025] states that “with multiple per-CPU allocators working on the memory (DRAM) of a single NUMA node, memory fragmentation or remote access penalties are possible” and ¶ [0027] states “preferred: Try to allocate on a node first”. By setting the policy to preferred, memory will be allocated on the same NUMA node that the thread is executing in).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modukuri in view of Roberts and Dugast and further in view of Eickemeyer et al. Pat. No. US 20170147493 A1 (hereafter Eickemeyer).
With regard to claim 15, Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast teach the method of claim 14. Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast do not explicitly teach a stream identifier.
However, in an analogous art, Eickemeyer teaches wherein the arguments include an identifier of one or more streams corresponding to the information (¶ [0027] states “As shown, the prefetch request 300 includes request data 305 and a confidence level 315. The request data 305 may specify information associated with the request, such as a data address, thread identifier, stream identifier, and a prefetch source.” Examiner’s Note: to create the request, the data address, thread identifier, stream identifier, and prefetch source are considered arguments to a function that creates the request).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the prefetch request with a stream identifier of Eickemeyer with the API with arguments of Modukuri, the accessing of NUMA nodes of Dugast, and the virtual memory address of Roberts. As a result, the API of Modukuri includes an argument that is the stream identifier of the prefetch request of Eickemeyer. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination “to optimize prefetch efficiency relative to current memory resource utilization and constraints. By assigning a confidence level to each prefetch request in a stream based on depth of the stream, the prefetcher prioritizes streams that are likely to benefit from prefetching and streams where prefetching does not result in much performance benefit. Accordingly, the prefetcher may adaptively adjust rates at which prefetching for a given stream occurs. In addition, the memory controller can determine, based on confidence level, prefetch requests to drop to conserve memory usage bandwidth” (¶ [0017]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, the amendments do not cause the claims to be patently distinct from application 18/214,449. Examiner maintains the Nonstatutory Double Patenting rejection of claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 19, and 20, see updated rejection above.
With regard to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 8, and 15, applicant argues that Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast do not teach the amendments related to a “destination device.” Applicant argues that Modukuri’s file descriptor and offset do not teach the “destination device” because the file descriptor and offset “only specifies a location within a file, not a device” (Page 7 of Applicant’s remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner interprets the file descriptor to identify a particular file or input/output structure. File descriptors can be used to identify a multitude of structures such as text files, binary files, pipes, or hardware devices. Therefore, examiner interprets the file descriptor and offset combination to be able to represent a destination device. In the context of Modukuri, this would include devices such as “a GPU, NIC, CPU, NVMe, SAS, FPGA, ASIC, smart storage, PCIe component, or any other suitable computing peripheral” (¶ [0071]). In the combination of Modukuri, Roberts, and Dugast, it would be obvious that the destination device would include a NUMA node because of performances benefits related to storing frequently data in closer NUMA nodes. Further detail and motivation are provided in the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 1.
Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 8, and 14.
Applicant additionally argues that “claims 2-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 16, and 18-20 are allowable at least for depending from an allowable independent claim” and “that at least some of claims 2-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 16, and 18-20 additionally recite patentable subject matter not taught or otherwise rendered obvious by Modukuri, Dugast, and Roberts individually or in combination” (Page 8 of Applicant’s remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Applicant’s arguments against dependent claims are thorough and complete, there are no separate arguments against the dependent claims. The arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons as the response to the arguments against the claims from which these claims depend.
Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection against dependent claims 2-4, 6, 7, 10, 12, 13, 16, and 18-20.
Applicant additionally argues that “claims 5, 9, 11, 15, and 17 are allowable at least for depending from an allowable independent claim” and “that at least some of claims 5, 9, 11, 15, and 17 additionally recite patentable subject matter not taught or otherwise rendered obvious by Modukuri, Dugast, Roberts, Wagle, and/or Eickemeyer individually or in combination” (Page 9 of Applicant’s remarks).
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Applicant’s arguments against dependent claims are thorough and complete, there are no separate arguments against the dependent claims. The arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons as the response to the arguments against the claims from which these claims depend.
Examiner maintains the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection against dependent claims 5, 9, 11, 15, and 170.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10268612 B1
teaches
Hardware Controller Supporting Memory Page Migration
/PETER LI YUAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2197
/BRADLEY A TEETS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2197