DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed January 23, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 13 have been amended and claims 4, 10-11, and 14 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12-13, and 15-20 remain pending in the application. The 112(d) rejections of claims 4 and 14, previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed October 24, 2025, have been rendered moot.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, filed January 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kang et al. (US 2023/0359252 A1).
Applicant’s argument, filed January 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 13 under 35. U.S.C. 102(a)(1) has been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the combined teachings of Kang et al. (US 2023/0359252 A1) and Baek (US 2022/0129046 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the thickness direction of the base” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner will interpret this limitation as “a thickness direction of the base.” In line 9, the limitation “a thickness direction of the base” is recited. Examiner will interpret this as “the thickness direction of the base.”
Claims 2-3 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 1.
Claims 5-9 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 5 depends on claim 4, which has been cancelled. Claims 6-9 are rejected based on their dependence to claim 5. Claim 12 depends on claim 10, which has been canceled. Examiner will assume that claim 5 depends on claim 3 and claim 12 depends on claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2023/0359252 A1), hereinafter Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Kang teaches a hinge (hinge structures 300a and 300b), comprising:
a base (stopper 360);
a supporting plate (support portion 350), movably disposed on the base (360) along a thickness direction of the base (along the y-axis; see paragraphs 0119-0120)
a first rotating assembly (first bracket 311 and first arm portion 321) and a second rotating assembly (second bracket 312 and arm portion 322), each of the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) being rotatably disposed on the base (360) between an unfolded position (shown in Figs. 10A and 12A) and a folded position (shown in Figs. 10B and 12B), and at least one of the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) directly fitting with the supporting plate (350) to move the supporting plate (350) in the thickness direction of the base (from paragraph 0118: “The support portion 350 may move in an upper direction (e.g., the +y direction of FIG. 5) by means of the first arm rib 321b constructed in one region of the first arm portion 321 and the second support rib 322b constructed in one region of the second arm portion 322.”),
wherein one of the base and the supporting plate (350) comprises a first guiding part (protrusion region 351), the other of the base (360) and the supporting plate comprises a second guiding part (through-hole 360c), and the first guiding part (351) is fitted with the second guiding part (360c; from paragraph 0119: “[A] protrusion region 351 of the support portion 350 may be inserted in a lower direction of the stopper 360 by passing through the through-hole 360c.”);
one of the first guiding part (351) and the second guiding part is a guiding post extending in the thickness direction (351 is a post extending in the y-direction), the other of the first guiding part and the second guiding part (360c) is a guiding hole (360c is a through-hole), and the guiding post is fitted in the guiding hole (see paragraph 0119).
Kang does not explicitly disclose that through-hole 360c has an oblong shape. Although in Fig. 9 is does appear as slightly oblong, at least when compared to the hole on shaft bracket 335. Regardless, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use an oblong guiding hole since Applicant has not disclosed that the use of an oblong guiding hole solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as long as the shape of the guiding hole corresponds to the shape of the guiding post.
Regarding claim 2, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Kang further teaches the hinge according to claim 1, wherein the base (360) has a support side (side of 360 towards the -y direction) opposite in the thickness direction and a back side (side of 360 towards the +y direction) opposite in the thickness direction, wherein at least one of the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) brings the supporting plate (350) to move toward the support side (-y direction) along the thickness direction when the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) rotate from the unfolded position to the folded position (see Figs. 10A-B and 12A-B), and at least one of the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) brings the supporting plate (350) to move toward the back side (+y direction) along the thickness direction when the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) rotate from the folded position to the unfolded position (see Figs. 10A-B and 12A-B).
Regarding claim 3, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Kang further teaches the hinge according to claim 2, further comprising a first rotating member (321) and a second rotating member (322), the first rotating member (321) being rotatably disposed on the base (360) and connected with the first rotating assembly (from paragraph 0094: “[T]he first bracket 311 and the first arm portion 321 may be coupled through a first fixing portion 323.”), the second rotating member (322) being rotatably disposed on the base (360) and connected with the second rotating assembly (from paragraph 0096: “[T]he second bracket 312 and the second arm portion 322 may be coupled through a second fixing portion 324.”), and at least one of the first rotating member (321) and the second rotating member (322) being connected with the supporting plate (350), wherein at least one of the first rotating member (321) and the second rotating member (322) brings the supporting plate (350) to move toward the support side (-y direction) along the thickness direction when the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) rotate from the unfolded position to the folded position (see Figs. 10A-B and 12A-B), and the at least one of the first rotating member (321) and the second rotating member (322) brings the supporting plate (350) toward the back side (+y direction) along the thickness direction when the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) rotate from the folded position to the unfolded position (see Figs. 10A-B and 12A-B).
Regarding claim 5, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as stated above. Kang further teaches the hinge according to claim 3, wherein the at least one of the first rotating member (321) and the second rotating member (322) comprises:
a rod body (first shaft 331) rotatably disposed on the base (360) and connected with a corresponding one of the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly; and
an eccentric part disposed on the rod body (see Figs. 6A-7 showing an end of first shaft 331 having an eccentric shape), spaced from a rotating axis of the rod body (rotation axis L3) in a radial direction of the rod body, and connected with the supporting plate (connected to support portion 350 via first auxiliary member 363; support portion 350 and first auxiliary member 363 could also together be considered “the supporting plate”).
Regarding claim 6, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as stated above. Kang
further teaches the hinge according to claim 5, wherein the at least one of the first rotating member (321) and the second rotating member further comprises a first connecting part (363), the first connecting part (363) extends along the radial direction of the rod body (331), one end of the first connecting part (363) is connected with the rod body (331), and the other end of the first connecting part (363) is connected with the eccentric part (end of 331; see Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 7, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as stated above. Kang further teaches the hinge according to claim 5, wherein
the rotating axis of the rod body (L3) is adjacent to the support side (-y direction) relative to the eccentric part (end of 331) in the thickness direction when the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) are located in the unfolded position (see Fig. 6A); and/or
the eccentric part (end of 331) is adjacent to the support side (-y direction) relative to the rotating axis of the rod body (L3) in the thickness direction when the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) are located in the folded position (see Fig. 6C).
Regarding claim 8, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 5 as stated above. Kang
further teaches the hinge according to claim 5, wherein
the eccentric part is an eccentric post (the end of 331 can be considered an eccentric post, it has an oval shape with a small length); or
the eccentric part is an eccentric hole, the supporting plate has a second connecting part, and the second connecting part is fitted in the eccentric hole.
Regarding claim 9, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 8 as stated above. Kang
further teaches the hinge according to claim 8, wherein the first rotating member (321) and the second rotating member (322) are spaced along a first direction (x-axis as shown in Fig. 5), the first direction is one of a width direction and a length direction of the base, wherein the eccentric part is an eccentric post (the end of 331 can be considered an eccentric post), the supporting plate comprises a guiding hole extending along the first direction (hole in auxiliary member 363), and the eccentric post (end of 331) is movably fitted in the guiding hole along the first direction (see Figs. 6A-C).
Regarding claim 12, Kang teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Kang lacks a specific teaching that the first guiding part is plural and the plurality of the first guiding parts are spaced along a second direction, the second guiding part is plural and the plurality of the second guiding parts are spaced along the second direction, wherein the plurality of the first guiding parts are fitted with the plurality of the second guiding parts in one-to-one correspondence, and the second direction is one of a width direction and a length direction of the base.
Kang discloses the claimed invention except that there is only a single first guiding part and a single second guiding part. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to provide plural first guiding parts and plural second guiding parts spaced along a second direction since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Doing so would provide more stable movement of the supporting plate.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang in view of Baek et al. (US 2022/0129046 A1), hereinafter Baek.
Kang teaches an electronic device (electronic device 101), comprising:
a hinge (300a and 300b) comprising:
a base (360);
a supporting plate (350);
a first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and a second rotating assembly (312 and 322), each of the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) being rotatably disposed on the base (360) between an unfolded position (shown in Figs. 10A and 12A) and a folded position (shown in Figs. 10B and 12B), and at least one of the first rotating assembly (311 and 321) and the second rotating assembly (312 and 322) directly fitting with the supporting plate (350) to move the supporting plate (350) in a thickness direction of the base (from paragraph 0118: “The support portion 350 may move in an upper direction (e.g., the +y direction of FIG. 5) by means of the first arm rib 321b constructed in one region of the first arm portion 321 and the second support rib 322b constructed in one region of the second arm portion 322.”);
wherein one of the base and the supporting plate (350) comprises a first guiding part (351), the other of the base (360) and the supporting plate comprises a second guiding part (360c), and the first guiding part (351) is fitted with the second guiding part (360c; from paragraph 0119: “[A] protrusion region 351 of the support portion 350 may be inserted in a lower direction of the stopper 360 by passing through the through-hole 360c.”);
one of the first guiding part (351) and the second guiding part is a guiding post extending in the thickness direction (351 is a post extending in the y-direction), the other of the first guiding part and the second guiding part (360c) is a guiding hole (360c is a through-hole), and the guiding post is fitted in the guiding hole (see paragraph 0119).
Kang does not explicitly disclose that through-hole 360c has an oblong shape. Although
in Fig. 9 is does appear as slightly oblong, at least when compared to the hole on shaft bracket 335. Regardless, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use an oblong guiding hole since Applicant has not disclosed that the use of an oblong guiding hole solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. It appears that the invention would perform equally well as long as the shape of the guiding hole corresponds to the shape of the guiding post.
Kang lacks a specific teaching that a wire arrangement with a middle part thereof in its extending direction connected with the supporting plate of the hinge and located between the supporting plate and the base in the thickness direction of the base.
Baek discloses a wire arrangement (wiring members 470 and 480) with a middle part thereof in its extending direction (x-axis as shown in Fig. 4B) connected with a supporting plate (hinge plate assembly 440) of a hinge (hinge module 460) and located between the supporting plate (440) and a base (hinge cover 450) in a thickness direction of the base (see Fig. 11 showing flange of reinforcing member 1011 underneath plate 441 and above support member 431; support member 431 sits above base 450 as shown in Fig. 14A).
Kang and Baek are considered to be analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the present application, to modify the device taught by Kang to include a wire arrangement with a middle part in its extending direction between the supporting plate and the base. Doing so would provide wiring to run/power a display. Placing the wiring between the supporting plate and the base would protect the wiring assembly from damage during the folding and unfolding of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 15, Kang does not disclose a first housing having a first inclined face nor a second housing having a second inclined face. Further, as stated above, Kang does not disclose a wire arrangement.
Baek discloses a first support dummy (1411) having a first inclined face and a second support dummy (1412) having a second inclined face (see Fig. 15A). The wire arrangement of Baek has first (fixing portions 471 and 481) and second (fixing portions 472 and 482) ends disposed on the first and second inclined faces (see Fig. 15A). However, the overall hinge structure of Baek, specifically the supporting plate (hinge plate assembly 440) and base (hinge cover 450), is very different that of Kang (support portion 350 and stopper 360). It is not obvious how one of ordinary skill in that art would incorporate the dummy structure taught by Baek into the electronic device of Kang, considering that the base of Kang (360) requires a specific shape in order for its support plate (350) to function as intended.
Claims 16-20 depend, either directly or indirectly, on claim 15 and would be allowable for at least the reasons stated above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.T.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841