Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Amendments submitted on 10/6/26 include amendments to the claims. Claims 1, 2, 6-12, 14 are pending. Claims 1, 2, 6, 8, 10-12, 14 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/6/26 have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive. However, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Jarvis et al. (US5330102A) and Takizawa et al. (US20080060689).
Priority
Based on the amendments to the claims submitted on 10/6/26, the disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Nos. 17/520,807 and 16/717,140, provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. Therefore, the previous rejection of priority, in the office action of 7/9/26, for claims 1-2, 6-11 is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 6, 8 and 12 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Biskamp (US1823583A) in view of Jarvis et al. (US5330102A).
Regarding claims 2, 8 and 12, Biskamp teaches a countertop apparatus capable of carrying out washing operations on items and accessories including baby bottles and articles (see page 1, lines 1-8), the countertop apparatus comprising: a washing chamber 1 with an interior configured to receive the items (see figure 1, page 1, lines 73-80); the washing chamber 1 including a cover 24 (see figure 1, page 2, lines 26-40); a supply water reservoir 47/53/54 in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber 1, the supply water reservoir 47/53/54 being capable of containing the water sufficient for the washing operations, and being removably attached to the apparatus (see page 2, line 105 – page 3, line 4, figures 1, 4, 10, 11); a rack 6/10 configured to be positioned below at least a portion of the cover 24, the rack 6/10 capable of receiving the accessories (see page 1, line 81 – page 2, line 18, figure 1); a manifold 41/42 in fluid communication with the supply water reservoir 47/53/54, the manifold 41/42 including sprayers 43 capable of directing at least some of the water upwardly into at least one of the baby bottles during washing operations, wherein the water necessary for washing operations is able to be initially contained within the supply water reservoir 47/53/54, and wherein the washing operations are complete when the supply water reservoir is empty (see figures 1, 10, 11, page 2, lines 19-34, 79 – page 3, line 4). Biskamp does not teach a center sprayer connected to the manifold and extending upwardly toward the cover. Jarvis et al. teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and that a center sprayer 30, 32 in fluid communication with the manifold 26 and extending upwardly toward the top of the washing chamber, the central sprayer 30, 32 extending above the sprayers (see nozzle openings) disposed in the manifold 26, the center sprayer 30, 32 being adapted to direct water upwardly into the washing chamber to wash at least one of the articles; thereby allowing for greater spray coverage of upper areas of the washing chamber (see column 2, lines 15-53, figure 1). Since both Biskamp and Jarvis et al. teach spray cleaning apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a center sprayer may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for greater spray coverage of upper areas of the washing chamber, as shown to be known and conventional by Jarvis et al. Biskamp does not explicitly teach the washing of baby bottles. However, since all of the structural requirements of the claims are taught and the system by Biskamp is capable of carrying out washing operations on baby bottles, the particular choice of items to be cleaned is a matter of intended use, and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Biskamp does not explicitly teach that the supply water reservoir is sized to contain the water sufficient for washing operations. However, this is a matter of intended use since the amount of water needed for washing operations depends on the particular nature of the item to be washed as well as the desired type and extent of washing; and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 6, Biskamp and Jarvis et al. together teach the limitations of claim 2. Biskamp also teaches a lower rack 6 and an upper rack 10 positioned within the interior of the washing chamber 1, the lower rack 6 capable of supporting baby bottles and the upper rack 10 capable of supporting the articles (see page 1, line 81 – page 2, line 18, figure 1).
Claims 1, 7 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Biskamp (US1823583A) in view of Jarvis et al. (US5330102A) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Bryan (GB2260483A).
Regarding claim 1, Biskamp teaches a countertop apparatus capable of carrying out washing operations on items and accessories including baby bottles and articles (see page 1, lines 1-8), the countertop apparatus comprising: a washing chamber 1 with an interior configured to receive the items (see figure 1, page 1, lines 73-80); the washing chamber 1 including a cover 24 (see figure 1, page 2, lines 26-40); a supply water reservoir 47/53/54 in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber 1, the supply water reservoir 47/53/54 being capable of containing the water sufficient for a washing operation, and being removably attached to the apparatus (see page 2, line 105 – page 3, line 4, figures 1, 4, 10, 11); a lower rack 6 and an upper rack 10 positioned within the interior of the washing chamber 1, the lower rack 6 capable of supporting baby bottles and the upper rack 10 capable of supporting the articles (see page 1, line 81 – page 2, line 18, figure 1); a manifold 41/42 in fluid communication with the supply water reservoir 47/53/54, the manifold 41/42 including sprayers 43 capable of directing the water upwardly into at least one of the baby bottles during washing operations, wherein the water necessary for washing operations is able to be initially contained within the supply water reservoir 47/53/54, and wherein the washing operations are complete when the supply water reservoir is empty (see figures 1, 10, 11, page 2, lines 19-34, 79 – page 3, line 4). Biskamp does not teach a center sprayer connected to the manifold and extending upwardly toward the cover. Jarvis et al. teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and that a center sprayer 30, 32 in fluid communication with the manifold 26 and extending upwardly toward the top of the washing chamber, the center sprayer 30, 32 being adapted to direct fluid upwardly into the washing chamber to wash at least one of the articles; thereby allowing for greater spray coverage of upper areas of the washing chamber (see column 2, lines 15-53, figure 1). Since both Biskamp and Jarvis et al. teach spray cleaning apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a center sprayer may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for greater spray coverage of upper areas of the washing chamber, as shown to be known and conventional by Jarvis et al. Biskamp does not teach a heater. Bryan teaches a washing machine (see abstract) and that a heater 24 may be included in the system so as to provide steam and a sterilizing effect (see page 5, figure 2). Since both Biskamp and Bryan teach washing machines it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a heater may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for the production of steam and sterilization of the items to be cleaned, as shown to be known and conventional by Bryan. Biskamp does not teach that the heating element is disposed in the washing chamber. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the heating element may be disposed in the washing chamber so as to provide the expected heating of the washing chamber and the maintenance of the steam and sterilization effect therein. Furthermore, it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Biskamp does not explicitly teach the washing of baby bottles. However, since all of the structural requirements of the claims are taught and the system by Biskamp is capable of carrying out washing operations on baby bottles, the particular choice of items to be cleaned is a matter of intended use, and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Biskamp does not explicitly teach that the supply water reservoir is sized to contain the water necessary for washing operations. However, this is a matter of intended use since the amount of water needed for washing operations depends on the particular nature of the item to be washed as well as the desired type and extent of washing; and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Regarding claim 7, Biskamp and Jarvis et al. together teach the limitations of claim 2. Biskamp does not teach a heating element. Bryan teaches a washing machine (see abstract) and that a heating element 24 may be included in the system so as to provide steam and a sterilizing effect (see page 5, figure 2). Since both Biskamp and Bryan teach washing machines it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a heater may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for the production of steam and sterilization of the items to be cleaned, as shown to be known and conventional by Bryan. Biskamp does not teach that the heating element is disposed in the washing chamber. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that the heating element may be disposed in the washing chamber so as to provide the expected heating of the washing chamber and the maintenance of the steam and sterilization effect therein. Furthermore, it has been determined that the rearrangement of parts constitutes an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 14, Biskamp teaches a countertop apparatus capable of carrying out washing operations on items and accessories including baby bottles and articles (see page 1, lines 1-8), the countertop apparatus comprising: a washing chamber 1 with an interior configured to receive the items (see figure 1, page 1, lines 73-80); the washing chamber 1 including a cover 24 (see figure 1, page 2, lines 26-40); a supply water reservoir 47/53/54 in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber 1, the supply water reservoir 47/53/54 being capable of containing the water necessary for the washing operations, and being removably attached to the apparatus (see page 2, line 105 – page 3, line 4, figures 1, 4, 10, 11); a rack 6/10 configured to be positioned below at least a portion of the cover 24, the rack 6/10 capable of receiving the accessories (see page 1, line 81 – page 2, line 18, figure 1); a manifold 41/42 in fluid communication with the supply water reservoir 47/53/54, the manifold 41/42 including sprayers 43 capable of directing at least some of the water upwardly toward at least one of the baby bottles during washing operations, wherein the water necessary for washing operations is able to be initially contained within the supply water reservoir 47/53/54, and wherein once the washing operations are complete when the supply water reservoir is empty (see figures 1, 10, 11, page 2, lines 19-34, 79 – page 3, line 4). Biskamp does not teach a center sprayer connected to the manifold and extending upwardly toward the cover. Jarvis et al. teaches a dishwasher (see abstract) and that a center sprayer 30, 32 connected to the manifold 26 and extending upwardly toward the top of the washing chamber, the center sprayer 30, 32 being adapted to direct water upwardly into the washing chamber to wash at least one of the articles; thereby allowing for greater spray coverage of upper areas of the washing chamber (see column 2, lines 15-53, figure 1). Since both Biskamp and Jarvis et al. teach spray cleaning apparatuses it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a center sprayer may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for greater spray coverage of upper areas of the washing chamber, as shown to be known and conventional by Jarvis et al. Biskamp does not teach a heater. Bryan teaches a washing machine (see abstract) and that a heater 24 may be included in the system so as to provide steam and a sterilizing effect (see page 5, figure 2). Since both Biskamp and Bryan teach washing machines it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a heater may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for the production of steam and sterilization of the items to be cleaned, as shown to be known and conventional by Bryan. Biskamp does not explicitly teach the washing of baby bottles. However, since all of the structural requirements of the claims are taught and the system by Biskamp is capable of carrying out washing operations on baby bottles, the particular choice of items to be cleaned is a matter of intended use, and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Biskamp does not explicitly teach that the supply water reservoir is sized to contain the water necessary for washing operations. However, this is a matter of intended use since the amount of water needed for washing operations depends on the particular nature of the item to be washed as well as the desired type and extent of washing; and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim 10 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Biskamp (US1823583A) in view of Jarvis et al. (US5330102A) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Takizawa et al. (US20080060689).
Regarding claim 10, Biskamp and Jarvis et al. together teach the limitations of claim 2. Biskamp does not teach a return water reservoir sized to contain the water within the supply water reservoir following washing operations, wherein the return water reservoir is removably attached to the apparatus, and in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber. Takizawa et al. teaches a washing machine (see abstract) and a return water reservoir 46 capable of containing the water within the supply water reservoir 14 following washing operations, wherein the return water reservoir 46 is removably attached to the apparatus, and in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber 20; allowing for the detachment of the return water reservoir 46 and the discharge of the water (see paragraphs [0043], [0052], [0062], figures 1, 2, 5-8). Since both Biskamp and Takizawa et al. teach washing machines it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a removable return water reservoir may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for the detachment of the return water reservoir and the drainage of the water, as shown to be known and conventional by Takizawa et al. Biskamp does not teach that the return water reservoir is sized to contain the water sufficient for washing operations. However, this is a matter of intended use since the amount of water needed for washing operations depends on the particular nature of the item to be washed as well as the desired type and extent of washing; and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Biskamp (US1823583A) in view of Jarvis et al. (US5330102A) and Bryan (GB2260483A) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Takizawa et al. (US20080060689).
Regarding claim 9, Biskamp, Jarvis et al. and Bryan together teach the limitations of claim 1. Biskamp does not teach a return water reservoir sized to contain the water within the supply water reservoir following washing operations, wherein the return water reservoir is removably attached to the apparatus, and in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber. Takizawa et al. teaches a washing machine (see abstract) and a return water reservoir 46 capable of containing the water within the supply water reservoir 14 following washing operations, wherein the return water reservoir 46 is removably attached to the apparatus, and in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber 20; allowing for the detachment of the return water reservoir 46 and the discharge of the water (see paragraphs [0043], [0052], [0062], figures 1, 2, 5-8). Since both Biskamp and Takizawa et al. teach washing machines it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a removable return water reservoir may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for the detachment of the return water reservoir and the drainage of the water, as shown to be known and conventional by Takizawa et al.
Regarding claim 11, Biskamp, Jarvis et al. and Bryan together teach the limitations of claim 1. Biskamp does not teach a return water reservoir sized to contain the water within the supply water reservoir following washing operations, wherein the return water reservoir is removably attached to the apparatus, and in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber. Takizawa et al. teaches a washing machine (see abstract) and a return water reservoir 46 capable of containing the water within the supply water reservoir 14 following washing operations, wherein the return water reservoir 46 is removably attached to the apparatus, and in fluid communication with the interior of the washing chamber 20; allowing for the detachment of the return water reservoir 46 and the discharge of the water (see paragraphs [0043], [0052], [0062], figures 1, 2, 5-8). Since both Biskamp and Takizawa et al. teach washing machines it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention that a removable return water reservoir may be included in the system by Biskamp so as to allow for the detachment of the return water reservoir and the drainage of the water, as shown to be known and conventional by Takizawa et al. Biskamp does not teach that the return water reservoir is sized to contain the water sufficient for washing operations. However, this is a matter of intended use since the amount of water needed for washing operations depends on the particular nature of the item to be washed as well as the desired type and extent of washing; and it has been determined that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Conclusion
/TINSAE B AYALEW/EXAMINER, Art Unit 1711