DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 06/27/2023. Claims 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 and 20 are pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1-4, 7-11, 14-18 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding Claim 1:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 1 recites a method, which directs to a process and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 1 recites
determining a loss function based on the first training data, wherein the loss function defines a region of zero loss based on a minimum and a maximum of the first training data (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the loss function since the equation is given)
calculating, using the loss function, a loss of the ML model based on the prediction output (this limitation is a mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060])
calculating an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the correctness function since the equation is given)
determining a correctness function based on the first training data (this limitation is a mathematical concept since an equation is given for the correctness function within the specification [0066]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the correctness function since the equation is given)
Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 1 further recites additional elements of
obtaining a dataset that includes (i) first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems and (ii) second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it is mere data gathering, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)))
calculating, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
determining a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
updating the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
Therefore, claim 1 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 1 do not provide significantly more that the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
obtaining a dataset that includes (i) first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems and (ii) second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model is well understood, routine, and conventional. The court has ruled that “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” is recognized as a computer function that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional (buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
calculating, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
determining a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
updating the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Therefore, claim 1 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 2:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 2 recites a method, which directs to a process and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 2 is dependent on claim 1, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 1 can be applied to claim 2. Therefore, claim 2 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 2 further recites additional elements of
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 2 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 2 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 2 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 3:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 3 recites a method, which directs to a process and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 3 is dependent on claim 1, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 1 can be applied to claim 3. Therefore, claim 3 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 3 further recites additional elements of
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 3 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 3 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 3 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 4:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 4 recites a method, which directs to a process and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 4 recites
determining the loss function includes defining the region of zero loss between a lower bound based on the minimum of the first training data and an upper bound based on the maximum of the first training data (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the loss function since the equation is given)
Therefore, claim 4 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 4 does not recite any additional elements, therefore claim 4 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Since there are no additional elements, claim 4 does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination. Therefore, claim 4 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 7:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 7 recites a method, which directs to a process and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 7 is dependent on claim 1, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 1 can be applied to claim 7. Therefore, claim 7 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 7 further recites additional elements of
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 7 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 7 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 7 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 8:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 8 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 8 recites
determining a loss function based on the first training data, wherein the loss function defines a region of zero loss based on a minimum and a maximum of the first training data (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the loss function since the equation is given)
determine a correctness function based on the first training data (this limitation is a mathematical concept since an equation is given for the correctness function within the specification [0066]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the correctness function since the equation is given)
calculating, using the loss function, a loss of the ML model based on the prediction output (this limitation is a mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060])
calculate an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the correctness function since the equation is given)
Therefore, claim 8 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 8 further recites additional elements of
a loss function circuitry (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it a generic computing component on which to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
a ML circuitry configured to implementing the ML model (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it a generic computing component on which to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
correctness function circuitry configured to determine a correctness function based on the first training data (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it a generic computing component on which to perform the abstract idea (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
receive a dataset that includes first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it is mere data gathering, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)))
receiving second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it is mere data gathering, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)))
calculating, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
the ML circuitry is configured to and update the ML model further based on the calculated accuracy (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
updating the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
Therefore, claim 8 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 8 do not provide significantly more that the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
a loss function circuitry uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
a ML circuitry configured to implementing the ML model uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
correctness function circuitry configured to determine a correctness function based on the first training data uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
receiving a dataset that includes first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems is well understood, routine, and conventional. The court has ruled that “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” is recognized as a computer function that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional (buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
receiving second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model is well understood, routine, and conventional. The court has ruled that “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” is recognized as a computer function that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional (buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
calculating, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
the ML circuitry is configured to and update the ML model further based on the calculated accuracy is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
updating the ML model based on the calculated loss is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Therefore, claim 8 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 9:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 9 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 9 is dependent on claim 8, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 8 can be applied to claim 9. Therefore, claim 9 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 9 further recites additional elements of
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 9 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 9 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 9 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 10:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 10 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 10 is dependent on claim 8, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 8 can be applied to claim 10. Therefore, claim 10 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 10 further recites additional elements of
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 10 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 10 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 10 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 11:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 11 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 11 recites
the loss function circuitry is configured to define the region of zero loss between a lower bound based on the minimum of the first training data and an upper bound based on the maximum of the first training data (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the loss function since the equation is given)
Therefore, claim 11 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 11 does not recite any additional elements, therefore claim 11 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Since there are no additional elements, claim 11 does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination. Therefore, claim 11 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 14:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 14 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 14 is dependent on claim 8, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 8 can be applied to claim 8. Therefore, claim 14 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 14 further recites additional elements of
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 14 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 14 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 14 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 15:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 15 recites a computing device, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 15 recites
determine a loss function based on the first training data, wherein the loss function defines a region of zero loss based on a minimum and a maximum of the first training data (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the loss function since the equation is given)
calculate, using the loss function, a loss of the ML model based on the prediction output (this limitation is a mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060])
calculate an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the correctness function since the equation is given)
determine a correctness function based on the first training data (this limitation is a mathematical concept since an equation is given for the correctness function within the specification [0066]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the correctness function since the equation is given)
Therefore, claim 15 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 15 further recites additional elements of
obtain a dataset that includes (i) first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems and (ii) second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it is mere data gathering, which is an insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(g)))
calculate, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
determine a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
update the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
Therefore, claim 15 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements of claim 15 do not provide significantly more that the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
obtain a dataset that includes (i) first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems and (ii) second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model is well understood, routine, and conventional. The court has ruled that “Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data” is recognized as a computer function that is well‐understood, routine, and conventional (buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
calculate, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
determine a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical solution because it amounts to mere instruction to apply (see MPEP 2106.05(f)))
update the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy is an instruction to apply to perform the abstract idea and cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(f))
Therefore, claim 15 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 16:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 16 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 16 is dependent on claim 15, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 15 can be applied to claim 16. Therefore, claim 16 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 16 further recites additional elements of
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 16 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 16 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 16 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 17:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 17 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 17 is dependent on claim 8, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 8 can be applied to claim 17. Therefore, claim 10 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 17 further recites additional elements of
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 17 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 17 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 17 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 18:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 18 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Claim 18 recites
determining the loss function includes defining the region of zero loss between a lower bound based on the minimum of the first training data and an upper bound based on the maximum of the first training data (this limitation is mathematical concept since an equation is given for the loss function within the specification [0060]. This limitation is also a mental process since a human can mentally calculate the loss function since the equation is given)
Therefore, claim 18 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 18 does not recite any additional elements, therefore claim 18 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Since there are no additional elements, claim 18 does not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination. Therefore, claim 18 is subject-matter ineligible.
Regarding Claim 20:
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 1:
Claim 20 recites a system, which directs to a machine and is one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 1:
Since claim 20 is dependent on claim 15, the Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis from claim 15 can be applied to claim 15. Therefore, claim 20 recites an abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2A Prong 2:
Claim 20 further recites additional elements of
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval (this element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it directs to a field of use limitation in which to apply a judicial exception (see MPEP 2106.05(h)))
Therefore, claim 20 is not integrated into a practical application.
Subject Matter Eligibility Analysis Step 2B:
The additional elements in claim 20 do not provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself, taken alone and in combination because
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval specifies a field of use limitation to perform the abstract idea an cannot provide significantly more (see MPEP 2106.05(h))
Therefore, claim 20 is subject-matter ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s)1, 4, 8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian et al. (US 20220114489 A1) (hereafter referred to as Kurian) in view of Kokkinis et al. (US 20210089967 A1) (hereafter referred to as Kokkinis) in further view of Vapnik et al. (The Nature of Statistical Learning Theory) (hereafter referred to as Vapnik).
Regarding Claim 1:
Kurian teaches
obtaining a dataset that includes … (ii) second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model (Kurian, page 1, paragraph 0001, “determining measurement data from a first sensor; determining approximations of ground truths based on a second sensor; and training the machine-learning method based on the measurement data and the approximations of ground truths”. Examiner notes that the measurement data from Kurian is being mapped the second training data and according to FIG. 3, Computer system 300 is being mapped to the prediction sensing system).
calculating, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data (Kurian, page 2, paragraph 0038, “To train a (artificial) neural network to learn the mapping f(x)=y, where x may denote the input signal and y may denote the target signal, the cross entropy between the network prediction f(x) and the target variable y may be minimized”. Examiner notes that “the input signal (i.e. the measurement data, for example input radar signal)” (Kurian, page 2, paragraph 37) is mapped to the second training data)
calculating, using the loss function, a loss of the ML model based on the prediction output (Kurian, page 3, paragraph 0048, “the afore mentioned cross entropy (or cross entropy loss)”)
updating the ML model based on the calculated loss and accuracy (Kurian, page 3, paragraph 0057, “the machine-learning method may be trained based on the measurement data and the approximations of ground truths, wherein approximations of ground truths of lower-approximation quality have a lower effect on the training than approximations of ground truths of higher-approximation quality”)
Kurian does not teach, but Kokkinis does teach
obtaining a dataset that includes (i) first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems… (Kokkinis, page 6, paragraph 0063, “training data for many individual source-sensor pairs can be produced and therefore the technology allows the expansion of the feature domain and obtaining of features that are tailored to the multi-sensor environment that one is encountering”)
Kurian and Kokkinis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they both obtain data through a system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Kurian to obtain the first training data through multiple sensors. Doing so is advantageous because “there is a need for creating intelligent training dictionaries that enable the rapid and useful convergence of iterative machine learning techniques. An exemplary embodiment presents new methods to improve training dictionaries by taking into account multi-sensor and multi-resolution information that is available in many applications” (Kokkinis, page 2, paragraph 0014).
Kurian and Kokkinis does not teach, but Vapnik further teaches
determining a loss function based on the first training data, wherein the loss function defines a region of zero loss based on a minimum and a maximum of the first training data (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes that the loss is 0 when |y - f(x,a)| <= ε. Figure 6.1 also shows that there is a region where the loss is 0, which contains a minimum and maximum.
determining a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes if |y - f(x,a)| <= ε, then output is 0 , which means it is within the region of zero loss. If not, then the output is |y - f(x,a)| - ε, which means it is not within the region of zero loss.
calculating an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function and updating the ML model further based on the calculated accuracy (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes if |y - f(x,a)| <= ε, then output is 0 , which means it is within the region of zero loss. If not, then the output is |y - f(x,a)| - ε, which means it is not within the region of zero loss.
Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian and Kokkinis by using the ε-insensitive loss function from Vapnik as the loss function from Kurian and Kokkinis. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of the ε-insensitive loss function to calculate loss. Therefore, applying Vapnik’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 4:
Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches
determining the loss function includes defining the region of zero loss between a lower bound based on the minimum of the first training data and an upper bound based on the maximum of the first training data (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes that the loss is 0 when |y - f(x,a)| <= ε. Figure 6.1 also shows that there is a region where the loss is 0, which contains a minimum and maximum.
Based on claim 1, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik are analogous and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the prior arts.
Regarding Claim 8:
Kurian teaches
a loss function circuitry… (Kurian, Figure 2, Examiner notes that the training circuit is where the machine learning model lies, which is where the loss function is being used)
an ML circuitry… (Kurian, Figure 2, Examiner notes that the training circuit is where the machine learning model lies)
the ML includes (i) receiving second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model (Kurian, page 1, paragraph 0001, “determining measurement data from a first sensor; determining approximations of ground truths based on a second sensor; and training the machine-learning method based on the measurement data and the approximations of ground truths”. Examiner notes that the measurement data from Kurian is being mapped the second training data and according to FIG. 3, Computer system 300 is being mapped to the prediction sensing system).
(ii) calculating, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data (Kurian, page 2, paragraph 0038, “To train a (artificial) neural network to learn the mapping f(x)=y, where x may denote the input signal and y may denote the target signal, the cross entropy between the network prediction f(x) and the target variable y may be minimized”. Examiner notes that “the input signal (i.e. the measurement data, for example input radar signal)” (Kurian, page 2, paragraph 37) is mapped to the second training data)
the loss function circuitry is further configured to calculate, using the loss function, a loss of the ML model based on the prediction output (Kurian, page 3, paragraph 0048, “the afore mentioned cross entropy (or cross entropy loss)”)
the ML circuitry is configured to update the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy(Kurian, page 3, paragraph 0057, “the machine-learning method may be trained based on the measurement data and the approximations of ground truths, wherein approximations of ground truths of lower-approximation quality have a lower effect on the training than approximations of ground truths of higher-approximation quality”)
Kurian does not teach, but Kokkinis does teach
loss function circuitry configured to (i) receive a dataset that includes first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems… (Kokkinis, page 6, paragraph 0063, “training data for many individual source-sensor pairs can be produced and therefore the technology allows the expansion of the feature domain and obtaining of features that are tailored to the multi-sensor environment that one is encountering”)
Kurian and Kokkinis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they both obtain data through a system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Kurian to obtain the first training data through multiple sensors. Doing so is advantageous because “there is a need for creating intelligent training dictionaries that enable the rapid and useful convergence of iterative machine learning techniques. An exemplary embodiment presents new methods to improve training dictionaries by taking into account multi-sensor and multi-resolution information that is available in many applications” (Kokkinis, page 2, paragraph 0014).
Kurian and Kokkinis does not teach, but Vapnik further teaches
loss function circuitry configured to … (ii) determine a loss function based on the first training data, wherein the loss function defines a region of zero loss based on a minimum and a maximum of the first training data (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes that the loss is 0 when |y - f(x,a)| <= ε. Figure 6.1 also shows that there is a region where the loss is 0, which contains a minimum and maximum.
correctness function circuitry configured to determine a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes if |y - f(x,a)| <= ε, then output is 0 , which means it is within the region of zero loss. If not, then the output is |y - f(x,a)| - ε, which means it is not within the region of zero loss.
the correctness function circuitry is configured to calculate an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function and updating the ML model further based on the calculated accuracy (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes if |y - f(x,a)| <= ε, then output is 0 , which means it is within the region of zero loss. If not, then the output is |y - f(x,a)| - ε, which means it is not within the region of zero loss.
Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian and Kokkinis by using the ε-insensitive loss function from Vapnik as the loss function from Kurian and Kokkinis. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of the ε-insensitive loss function to calculate loss. Therefore, applying Vapnik’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 11:
Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the system of claim 8 and further teaches
to determine the loss function, the loss function circuitry is configured to define the region of zero loss between a lower bound based on the minimum of the first training data and an upper bound based on the maximum of the first training data (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes that the loss is 0 when |y - f(x,a)| <= ε. Figure 6.1 also shows that there is a region where the loss is 0, which contains a minimum and maximum.
Based on claim 8, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik are analogous and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the prior arts.
Regarding Claim 15:
Kurian teaches
the computing device including a processing device configured to execute instructions stored in memory (Kurian, page 4, paragraph 0078, “FIG. 3 shows a computer system 300 with a plurality of computer hardware components configured to carry out steps of a computer-implemented method for path planning according to various embodiments. The computer system 300 may include a processor 302, a memory 304, and a non-transitory data storage 306.)
obtaining a dataset that includes … (ii) second training data obtained using a prediction sensing system configured to implement the ML model (Kurian, page 1, paragraph 0001, “determining measurement data from a first sensor; determining approximations of ground truths based on a second sensor; and training the machine-learning method based on the measurement data and the approximations of ground truths”. Examiner notes that the measurement data from Kurian is being mapped the second training data and according to FIG. 3, Computer system 300 is being mapped to the prediction sensing system).
calculating, using the ML model, a prediction output based on the second training data (Kurian, page 2, paragraph 0038, “To train a (artificial) neural network to learn the mapping f(x)=y, where x may denote the input signal and y may denote the target signal, the cross entropy between the network prediction f(x) and the target variable y may be minimized”. Examiner notes that “the input signal (i.e. the measurement data, for example input radar signal)” (Kurian, page 2, paragraph 37) is mapped to the second training data)
calculating, using the loss function, a loss of the ML model based on the prediction output (Kurian, page 3, paragraph 0048, “the afore mentioned cross entropy (or cross entropy loss)”)
updating the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy (Kurian, page 3, paragraph 0057, “the machine-learning method may be trained based on the measurement data and the approximations of ground truths, wherein approximations of ground truths of lower-approximation quality have a lower effect on the training than approximations of ground truths of higher-approximation quality”)
Kurian does not teach, but Kokkinis does teach
obtaining a dataset that includes (i) first training data obtained using two or more ground truth sensing systems… (Kokkinis, page 6, paragraph 0063, “training data for many individual source-sensor pairs can be produced and therefore the technology allows the expansion of the feature domain and obtaining of features that are tailored to the multi-sensor environment that one is encountering”)
Kurian and Kokkinis are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they both obtain data through a system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to have modified Kurian to obtain the first training data through multiple sensors. Doing so is advantageous because “there is a need for creating intelligent training dictionaries that enable the rapid and useful convergence of iterative machine learning techniques. An exemplary embodiment presents new methods to improve training dictionaries by taking into account multi-sensor and multi-resolution information that is available in many applications” (Kokkinis, page 2, paragraph 0014).
Kurian and Kokkinis does not teach, but Vapnik further teaches
determining a loss function based on the first training data, wherein the loss function defines a region of zero loss based on a minimum and a maximum of the first training data (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes that the loss is 0 when |y - f(x,a)| <= ε. Figure 6.1 also shows that there is a region where the loss is 0, which contains a minimum and maximum.
determining a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes if |y - f(x,a)| <= ε, then output is 0 , which means it is within the region of zero loss. If not, then the output is |y - f(x,a)| - ε, which means it is not within the region of zero loss.
calculating an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function and updating the ML model further based on the calculated accuracy (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes if |y - f(x,a)| <= ε, then output is 0 , which means it is within the region of zero loss. If not, then the output is |y - f(x,a)| - ε, which means it is not within the region of zero loss.
Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian and Kokkinis by using the ε-insensitive loss function from Vapnik as the loss function from Kurian and Kokkinis. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of the ε-insensitive loss function to calculate loss. Therefore, applying Vapnik’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 18:
Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the system of claim 15 and further teaches
determining the loss function includes defining the region of zero loss between a lower bound based on the minimum of the first training data and an upper bound based on the maximum of the first training data (Vapnik, page 182-183)
Examiner notes that the loss is 0 when |y - f(x,a)| <= ε. Figure 6.1 also shows that there is a region where the loss is 0, which contains a minimum and maximum.
Based on claim 15, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik are analogous and it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the prior arts.
Claim(s) 2, 7, 9, 14, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik in view of Arandjelović et al. (Look, Listen, and Learn) (hereafter referred to as Arandjelović).
Regarding Claim 2, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the method of claim 1, Arandjelović does teach
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor (Arandjelović, page 2, paragraph 2.1, “To tackle the AVC task, we propose the network structure ... It has three distinct parts: the vision and the audio subnetworks which extract visual and audio features, respectively, and the fusion network which takes these features into account to produce the final decision on whether the visual and audio signals correspond”. Examiner notes that since visual features are taken, there is a camera system. There is also “the L3-Net audio subnetwork trained on Flickr-SoundNet is used to extract features from 1 second audio clips” (Arandjelović , page 4, paragraph 3.3), which shows that the audio sensor is part of the prediction system. In page 3, Figure 2 illustrates both the visual and audio parts of the network).
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Arandjelović are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating a camea and audio system from Arandjelović into the machine learning framework from Kurian. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of using multiple different sensors. Therefore, applying Arandjelović’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 7, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the method of claim 1, Arandjelović does teach
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval (Arandjelović, page 2, paragraph 2.1, “To tackle the AVC task, we propose the network structure ... It has three distinct parts: the vision and the audio subnetworks which extract visual and audio features, respectively, and the fusion network which takes these features into account to produce the final decision on whether the visual and audio signals correspond”. Examiner notes that since visual features are taken, there is a camera system. There is also “the L3-Net audio subnetwork trained on Flickr-SoundNet is used to extract features from 1 second audio clips” (Arandjelović , page 4, paragraph 3.3), which shows that the audio sensor is part of the prediction system. In page 3, Figure 2 illustrates both the visual and audio parts of the network).
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Arandjelović are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating a camea and audio system from Arandjelović into the multiple ground truth sensing systems from Kurian and Kokkinis. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of using multiple different sensors. Therefore, applying Arandjelović’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 9, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the system of claim 8, Arandjelović does teach
the ground truth sensing systems include at least one of a camera system, a radar system, and a photocell system and the prediction sensing system includes at least one audio sensor (Arandjelović, page 2, paragraph 2.1, “To tackle the AVC task, we propose the network structure ... It has three distinct parts: the vision and the audio subnetworks which extract visual and audio features, respectively, and the fusion network which takes these features into account to produce the final decision on whether the visual and audio signals correspond”. Examiner notes that since visual features are taken, there is a camera system. There is also “the L3-Net audio subnetwork trained on Flickr-SoundNet is used to extract features from 1 second audio clips” (Arandjelović , page 4, paragraph 3.3), which shows that the audio sensor is part of the prediction system. In page 3, Figure 2 illustrates both the visual and audio parts of the network).
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Arandjelović are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating a camea and audio system from Arandjelović into the machine learning framework from Kurian. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of using multiple different sensors. Therefore, applying Arandjelović’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 14, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the system of claim 8, Arandjelović does teach
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval (Arandjelović, page 2, paragraph 2.1, “To tackle the AVC task, we propose the network structure ... It has three distinct parts: the vision and the audio subnetworks which extract visual and audio features, respectively, and the fusion network which takes these features into account to produce the final decision on whether the visual and audio signals correspond”. Examiner notes that since visual features are taken, there is a camera system. There is also “the L3-Net audio subnetwork trained on Flickr-SoundNet is used to extract features from 1 second audio clips” (Arandjelović , page 4, paragraph 3.3), which shows that the audio sensor is part of the prediction system. In page 3, Figure 2 illustrates both the visual and audio parts of the network).
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Arandjelović are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating a camea and audio system from Arandjelović into the multiple ground truth sensing systems from Kurian and Kokkinis. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of using multiple different sensors. Therefore, applying Arandjelović’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 20, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the system of claim 15, Arandjelović does teach
(i) the two or more ground truth sensing systems are configured to visually detect an object in a first time interval and (ii) the prediction sensing system is configured to detect audio features associated with the object in the first time interval (Arandjelović, page 2, paragraph 2.1, “To tackle the AVC task, we propose the network structure ... It has three distinct parts: the vision and the audio subnetworks which extract visual and audio features, respectively, and the fusion network which takes these features into account to produce the final decision on whether the visual and audio signals correspond”. Examiner notes that since visual features are taken, there is a camera system. There is also “the L3-Net audio subnetwork trained on Flickr-SoundNet is used to extract features from 1 second audio clips” (Arandjelović , page 4, paragraph 3.3), which shows that the audio sensor is part of the prediction system. In page 3, Figure 2 illustrates both the visual and audio parts of the network).
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Arandjelović are considered analogous to the claimed invention because all of them determines a loss based on datasets. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating a camea and audio system from Arandjelović into the multiple ground truth sensing systems from Kurian and Kokkinis. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of using multiple different sensors. Therefore, applying Arandjelović’s technique would yield the predictable result of calculating the loss between datasets (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Claim(s) 3, 10, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik in view of Kun et al. (US 20120143363 A1) (hereafter referred to as Kun).
Regarding Claim 3, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the method of claim 1, Kun does teach
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data (Kun, page 1, paragraph 0018, “the apparatus comprises: an audio stream dividing section for dividing the input audio stream into a series of slices; a feature extracting section for extracting short-term features and long-term features for each slice; and classifying section for obtaining a classification result of the input audio stream based on the extracted short-term features and the long-term features.)
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Kun are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they deal with audio data. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating the apparatus from Kun to machine learning model from Kurian. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of detecting features from audio data. Therefore, applying Kun’s technique would yield the predictable result of detecting features from a stream of audio data (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 10, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the system of claim 8, Kun does teach
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data (Kun, page 1, paragraph 0018, “the apparatus comprises: an audio stream dividing section for dividing the input audio stream into a series of slices; a feature extracting section for extracting short-term features and long-term features for each slice; and classifying section for obtaining a classification result of the input audio stream based on the extracted short-term features and the long-term features.)
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Kun are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they deal with audio data. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating the apparatus from Kun to machine learning model from Kurian. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of detecting features from audio data. Therefore, applying Kun’s technique would yield the predictable result of detecting features from a stream of audio data (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Regarding Claim 17, Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik teaches the system of claim 15, Kun does teach
the ML model is configured to detect features in an audio stream of data (Kun, page 1, paragraph 0018, “the apparatus comprises: an audio stream dividing section for dividing the input audio stream into a series of slices; a feature extracting section for extracting short-term features and long-term features for each slice; and classifying section for obtaining a classification result of the input audio stream based on the extracted short-term features and the long-term features.)
Kurian, Kokkinis, Vapnik and Kun are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they deal with audio data. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Kurian, Kokkinis and Vapnik by incorporating the apparatus from Kun to machine learning model from Kurian. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have known to apply the known technique of detecting features from audio data. Therefore, applying Kun’s technique would yield the predictable result of detecting features from a stream of audio data (MPEP 2141 (III)(D) Applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results).
Response to Arguments
One page 7, Applicant argues:
First, Applicant submits that, as the Supreme Court has cautioned, "describing the claims at such a high level of abstraction and untethered from the language of the claims all but ensures that the exceptions to § 101 swallow the rule." Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354 (citing Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 US 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012)). This is because, at some level, all inventions "embody, use, reflect, rest upon, or apply laws of nature, natural phenomena, or abstract ideas." Id. Thus, simply reciting that an abstract idea is allegedly present or recited by limitations in a claim is insufficient to establish that the claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea under the test set forth in Alice Corp. (See also MPEP § 2106.04(II)(1), citing Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The 'directed to' inquiry, therefore, cannot simply ask whether the claims involve a patent-ineligible concept, because essentially every routinely patent-eligible claim involving physical products and actions involves a law of nature and/or natural phenomenon")). Examiners should accordingly be careful to distinguish claims that recite an exception (which require further eligibility analysis) and claims that merely involve an exception (which are eligible and do not require further eligibility analysis).
Here, Applicant's claims at most merely involve an exception and can only be alleged to recite an abstract idea when considered at too high a level of abstraction. Therefore, Applicant's claims are in fact not directed to a judicial exception. For example, claim 1 recites, inter alia, 7 executing various steps using a processor, including steps related to using a machine learning (ML) model.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the claims provide an improvement to a technology or technical field, Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) states use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Using a processor does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
Examiner notes further that the Applicant provides a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art and, thus, cannot provide an improvement (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
On page 8, Applicant argues:
Second, the claims do not recite any mathematical formula, equation, calculation, or mathematical relationship. Instead, the claims recite specific, processor-implemented steps for training, using, and updating an ML model that merely involve the use of a loss function. In other words, claim 1 is not limited simply to the recitation of a mathematical concept and requires determining a loss function, calculating a prediction output using the ML model, and calculating a loss of the ML model. These limitations do not set forth mathematics "as such." At most, these limitations may involve calculations using the loss function, but the MPEP makes clear that a claim does not recite a mathematical concept if it is merely based on or involves a mathematical concept rather than expressly reciting one. MPEP § 2106.04(a); see also Thales Visionix, Inc. v. United States, 850 F.3d 1343, 1348-49 (Fed. Cir. 2017).
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the claims are not directed to any mathematical formula, equation, calculation, or mathematical relationship, Examiner respectfully disagrees. In this case, calculating a loss of the ML model requires the use of a loss function. As stated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(B), a claim that recites a numerical formula or equation will be considered as falling within the “mathematical concepts” grouping. The loss function is a mathematical formula used to measure the error between a model’s prediction and the actual ground truth, which was given in paragraph [0060].
On page 8-9, Applicant argues:
Third, Applicant respectfully submits that the mere possibility that a limitation can be performed as a mental step (i.e., by a human) is insufficient to establish that a claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea. Applicant respectfully submits that executing various steps in the manner recited, when read in combination with other features of the claims, is not a judicial exception, but instead corresponds to non-excepted subject matter that is not and cannot be practically performed in the human mind and thus is not a "mental process." MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III). This is especially true in the context of performing complex computations and processing. As clarified in a recent memo ("Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. § 101," United States Patent and Trademark Office (August 4, 2025)):
The mental process grouping is not without limits. Examiners are reminded not to expand this grouping in a manner that encompasses claim limitations that cannot practically be performed in the human mind. The MPEP and the AI-SME Update provide examples of claim limitations that cannot be practically performed in the human mind. Claim limitations that encompass AI in a way that cannot be practically performed in the human mind do not fall within this grouping.
(Emphasis added).
Moreover, the recent Appeals Review Panel's decision in Exparte Desjardins (ARP 2025) confirms the Office's current policy: AI/ML innovations are not categorically abstract and cannot be reduced to "mere algorithms" or "mathematical concepts." The ARP vacated a PTAB § 101 rejection after finding that machine-learning improvements constitute technological improvements to computer functionality when the claims specify how the model is trained, structured, or used to produce a technical result. The instant application falls precisely within these types of machine- learning improvements. Additionally, the Panel criticized the practice of stripping AI-related claims down to high-level generalities and reiterated that eligibility turns on whether the claim, in combination, improves computer performance or another technical field-a principle fully aligned with Alice Step 2 and MPEP §§ 2106.04(d) and 2106.05(a)-(c). In the instant action, the present claims recite specific, machine-implemented steps that cannot be practically performed in the human mind and, as a whole, are eligible without any further eligibility analysis.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the claims constitute technological improvements to computer functionality when the claims specify how the model is trained, structured, or used to produce a technical result, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Examiner notes that the Applicant provides a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art and, thus, cannot provide an improvement (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
On page 9, Applicant argues:
Fourth, even if, arguendo, the claims can be considered to recite a judicial exception, these claims integrate the alleged judicial exception into a practical application. "[A] claim that recites a judicial exception is not directed to that judicial exception, if the claim as a whole integrates the recited judicial exception into a practical application of that exception." MPEP j 2106.04()(A)(2). This is because integrating the judicial exception into a practical application will "apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claim is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception." MPEP § 2106.04(d).
MPEP 2106.04(d)(I) identifies "a number of considerations as relevant to the evaluation of whether the claimed additional elements demonstrate that a claim is directed to patent-eligible subject matter." The analysis involves "evaluating a set of judicial considerations to determine if the claim is eligible." MPEP 2106.04(I). For example, one consideration is whether the claim provides an improvement to a technology or technical field. Here, using a processor to perform steps to determine a loss function based on first training data, calculate a prediction output using the ML model and based on second training data, calculating a loss of the ML model, and updating the ML model in the manner recited imposes meaningful limits on the claim. Accordingly, the claim recites specific improvements to a method for training an ML model.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the claims provide an improvement to a technology or technical field, Examiner respectfully disagrees. MPEP 2106.05(f)(2) states use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more. Using a processor does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more.
Examiner notes further that the Applicant provides a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art and, thus, cannot provide an improvement (MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
On page 10-11, Applicant argues:
The Examiner relies on Kurian to generally disclose calculating a loss of an ML module using a loss function, but acknowledges that Kurian does not disclose determining a loss function or a correction function of the kind recited in claim 1. Rather, the Examiner relies on Vapnik to make up for these deficiencies of Kurian. (Office Action, Pages 30-32). However, Applicant respectfully submits that Vapnik fails to disclose determining a correctness function based on the first training data, wherein the correctness function is configured to (i) output a first value in response to the prediction output being within a predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss and (ii) output a second value in response to the prediction output not being within the predetermined tolerance of the region of zero loss; calculating an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function; and updating the ML model based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy.
For example, the Examiner relies on formulas 6.5, 6.6, and 6.7 presented in Pages 182-183 of Vapnik to disclose a loss function outputting a loss equal to zero for values within a certain range and a nonzero loss for values outside of this range. The Examiner appears to rely on this same loss function to teach a correctness function, stating that:
Examiner notes if y - f(x,a) <= e, then output is 0, which means it is within the region of zero loss. If not, then the output is | y - f(x,a) | - e, which means it is not within the region of zero loss. (Office Action, Page 31).
In other words, the alleged "correctness function" is simply the same function as the loss function.
Applicant notes that claim 1 requires, in separate limitations, steps for (i) determining a loss function, (ii) determining a correctness function, (iii) calculating a loss of the ML model using the loss function, (iv) calculating an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function, and (v) updating the ML module based on the calculated loss and the calculated accuracy. In contrast, the relied upon combination of Kurian, Kokkinis, and Vapnik at best discloses using a loss function to determine a loss of an ML model and is absent of any teaching or suggestion of, in addition to calculating a loss of the ML model using a loss function, also determining a correctness function and calculating an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that claim 1 is allowable for at least the above reasons.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the prior art only discloses a loss function and does not disclose calculating a loss of the ML model using a loss function, also determining a correctness function and calculating an accuracy of the ML model using the correctness function, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that by broadest reasonable interpretation, the loss function and the correctness function will output a value that is either within the region of zero loss or not within the region of zero loss. The limitations do not provide enough to distinguish the difference between the loss function and the correctness function. Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation both the loss and correctness functions are the same, thus Vapnik teaches the limitations. Examiner respectfully directs the Applicant to the above 103 rejection.
On page 11, Applicant argues:
Claims 8 and 15 should be allowable for at least similar reasons. Dependent claims 2-4, 7, 9-11, 14, 16-18, and 20 ultimately depend from claims 1, 8, and 15 and should be allowable for at least similar reasons as claims 1, 8, and 15.
Regarding the Applicant’s argument that the dependent claims are allowable at least due
in part to their dependency on the independent claims, the Examiner respectfully disagrees and
notes the instant rejections and response to arguments regarding the independent claims above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Huan Song et al. (US 20210201159 A1) discloses training a machine learning system based on two sensor data. Keshwani et al. (US 20200410677 A1) discloses calculating a prediction accuracy of a convolutional neural network. Gfeller et al. (US 12165663 B2) discloses a machine learning model that takes audio data as input and determines a loss function between ground truth characteristics is filed within the grace period and is attached for it relevancy to the invention as a whole.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2148 /MICHELLE T BECHTOLD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2148