DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the amendment and / or remarks filed on February 09, 2026. Claims 1 – 20 are pending and currently being examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (“wherein the detachable accessories are selected from the group comprising the track (612), webbing (1600), rope (1500), slots (612), power stickers (??), magnets (??), and buttons (1702)” as recited in Claim 16, lines 11 & 12) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, (“a blocking system (1800 & 1802) comprising a rod (??)” as recited in Claim 20, line 3) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 20, line 3 recites: “via a blocking system comprising a rod and slot,”.
The Specification filed on June 27, 2023, paragraph 036 on page 11 recites: “Figure 18 depicts an example of a slot with a blocking system (1800, 1802) that prevents accessories from being taken off unless the blocking system is released.”
The Specification filed on June 27, 2023 does NOT disclose, define, describe and / or identify “a rod”.
Therefore, the structural limitations as set forth in Claims 20, line 3 raises new matter situations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Number 6,626,342 B1) to Gleason in view of (China Number CN 209630122 U) to Chen and (U.S. Patent Number 10,561,225 B2) to Parekh.
Regarding claim 1, Gleason discloses the apparatus system with a convenient manufacturing and removable structure, comprising:
the body (10) with the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) and the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2), wherein the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) is removable and attachable (i.e. via (60 & 89) in Figures 1, 2 & 4) to the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2),
wherein the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) has the first inner layer (i.e. 1st Inner Front Panel Layer/surface of (20) in Figure 3), the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer/surface of (24) in Figure 2), the first outer layer (i.e. 1st Outer Front Layer/surface (24) in Figure 2) and the second outer layer (i.e. 2nd Outer Rear Layer/surface (20) in Figure 3) (See Figures 1, 2 & 3),
wherein the first outer layer (i.e. 1st Outer Front Layer/surface (24) in Figure 2) is configured to communicate with a user’s back, the second outer layer (i.e. 2nd Outer Rear Layer/surface (20) in Figure 3) is configured to attach to the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) by at least the pair of detachable accessories (i.e. via (60 & 89) in Figures 1, 2 & 4), wherein the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) is flexible,
wherein between the first inner layer (i.e. 1st Inner Front Panel Layer/surface of (20) in Figure 3) and the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer/surface of (24) in Figure 2) there is at least one layer of foam (54) (See Column 4, lines 27 – 31) (See Figure 3).
However, Gleason does not explicitly disclose the massaging apparatus system wherein the second massage back panel has at least one massage head.
Chen teaches wherein the second massage back panel (1) has at least one massage head (i.e. (17) within (9) in Figures 2, 4, 5 & 6) for massage performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the invention was effectively filed to make the second massage back panel has at least one massage head as taught by Chen with the apparatus system of Gleason because the motivation only requires a simple substitution one known apparatus system configuration for another to obtain predictable results.
However, Gleason does not explicitly disclose the massaging apparatus system wherein the control circuit having at least one cable connects to the at least one massage head.
Parekh teaches the massaging apparatus system (1000) wherein the control circuit (400) having at least one cable (See Figure 6) connects to the at least one massage head (210 & 310) (See Column 7, lines 48 – 55) (See Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the massaging apparatus system wherein the control circuit having at least one cable connects to the at least one massage head as taught by Parekh with the apparatus system of Gleason in order to provide regulating the speed or intensity of the massaging units.
Regarding claim 2, Gleason discloses wherein the detachable accessories (i.e. via (60 & 89) in Figures 1, 2 & 4) are selected from the group consisting of track, buckles, hook and loop, webbing, rope, straps, slots, power stickers, magnets, buttons, zippers (See Figures 2, 4 & 5).
Regarding claim 3, Gleason discloses wherein the detachable accessories (i.e. via (60 & 89) in Figures 1, 2 & 4) are flexible to achieve the effect that the user can fit the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1, 4 & 5) very closely to their own body.
Regarding claim 4, Gleason discloses wherein the flexible material (50) is stored between the first inner layer (i.e. 1st Inner Front Panel Layer of (20) in Figure 3) and the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer of (24) in Figure 2) of the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2).
In addition, Gleason as modified by Parekh discloses the control circuit (400) (See Figure 6).
Regarding claim 5, Gleason discloses the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1, 4 & 5) further comprising the shoulder strap (i.e. Left & Right (61, 62 & 63) in Figure 2) (See Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding claim 6, Gleason as modified by Parekh discloses further comprising the function control board (500) in communication with the control circuit (400) (See Figure 6).
Regarding claim 7, Gleason as modified by Parekh discloses wherein the function control board (500) is connected to the control circuit (400) by the cable (See Figure 6).
Regarding claim 9, Gleason as modified by Parekh discloses wherein the control circuit (400) is settled on the shoulder strap (320) (See Figure 6).
However, Gleason as modified by Parekh does not explicitly disclose the function control board (500) settled on the shoulder strap (320) (See Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the function control board (500) settled on the shoulder strap (320), since it has been held that re-arranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 10, Gleason discloses wherein the flexible material (50) (i.e. Flexible Plastic) (See Column 4, lines 9 – 13) (See Figure 3).
However, Gleason does not explicitly disclose selected from the group consisting of metal, elastic fabric, foamy material, neoprene, rubber, silica, leather, leatherette, synthetic.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the flexible material selected from the group consisting of metal, elastic fabric, foamy material, neoprene, rubber, silica, leather, leatherette, synthetic, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 11, Gleason discloses further comprising the pair of accessories (92) (i.e. Water Bottles) that have the blocking system (i.e. Zippers and / or other Fastening Means of (88)), wherein the blocking system (i.e. Zippers and / or other Fastening Means of (88)) prevents the accessories (92) (i.e. Water Bottles) from being taken off unless the blocking system (i.e. Zippers and / or other Fastening Means of (88)) is released (See Column 5, lines 43 – 50).
Regarding claim 12, Gleason discloses wherein the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) has more accessories (i.e. via (135, 136, 142 & 144) in Figures 1, 2 & 4) for the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) to attach to and configured for users to select the most suitable position (See Column 6, lines 65 – 67) & (See Column 7, lines 1 – 13).
In addition, Gleason as modified by Chen discloses the second massage back panel (1) for massaging.
Regarding claim 13, Gleason as modified by Chen discloses further comprising the foam material (12) with the thickness (See Figure 3) and attached between the first inner layer (11) and the massage head (17) (See Figures 3, 4, 5 & 6).
However, Gleason as modified by Chen does not explicitly disclose at least 1mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the thickness of at least 1mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Gleason as modified by Chen discloses further comprising the foam material (i.e. Sponge (12) in Figure 3) with the thickness attached between the massage apparatus (9) and the massage head (17).
However, Gleason as modified by Chen does not explicitly disclose at least 1mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the thickness of at least 1mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 15, Gleason discloses the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) is flexible to achieve the effect that the user can fit the body (10) very closely to their own body.
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Number 6,626,342 B1) to Gleason, (China Number CN 209630122 U) to Chen and (U.S. Patent Number 10,561,225 B2) to Parekh as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2015 / 0089903 A1) to Carey.
Regarding claim 8, Gleason as modified by Parekh discloses wherein the function control board (500) is on the body (100) (See Figure 6).
However, Gleason as modified by above does not explicitly disclose fixed on the body with the rigid material base to keep it firmly in place.
Carey teaches the function control board (8) is fixed on the body (1) with the rigid material base (7) to keep it firmly in place (See Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the control board fixed on the body with the rigid material base to keep it firmly in place as taught by Carey with the apparatus system of Gleason because the motivation only requires a simple substitution of one known equivalent bag configuration for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim(s) 16, 17, 18 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Number 6,626,342 B1) to Gleason in view of (U.S. Patent Publication Number 2017 / 0231370 A1) to Crimaldi et al., (China Number CN 209630122 U) to Chen and (U.S. Patent Number 10,561,225 B2) to Parekh.
Regarding claim 16, Gleason discloses the massaging apparatus system, comprising,
the body (10) including the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) and the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) removably attachable to the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2), the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) including:
the first inner layer (i.e. 1st Inner Front Panel Layer of (20) in Figure 3);
the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer of (24) in Figure 3);
at least one layer of flexible material (50) (See Column 4, lines 9 – 13) (See Figures 3 & 4) disposed between the first inner layer (i.e. 1st Inner Front Panel Layer of (20) in Figure 3) and the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer of (24) in Figure 2);
the first outer layer (i.e. 1st Outer Front Layer (24) in Figure 2) configured for contact with an associated user; and
the second outer layer (i.e. 2nd Outer Rear Layer (20) in Figure 3) attached to the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) by at least the pair of detachable accessories (i.e. via hook & loop fasteners / VELCRO™ (60 & 89) in Figures 1, 2 & 4) (See Column 7, lines 28 – 38).
However, Gleason does not explicitly disclose selected from the group comprising the track, webbing, rope, slots, power stickers, magnets, and buttons.
Crimaldi et al., teaches wherein the detachable accessories are magnets (See Paragraph 0028).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the magnets as taught by Crimaldi with the apparatus system of Gleason in order to provide quick and reliable active mounting system connection and release between the bag and the harness (See Paragraph 0028).
However, Gleason lacks and does not explicitly teach at least one massage head disposed on the second inner layer.
Chen teaches at least one massage head (i.e. (17) within (9) in Figures 2, 4, 5 & 6) disposed on the second inner layer (13) (i.e. Electric Heating Layer) (See Figures 2, 3, 4, 5, & 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make at least one massage head disposed on the second inner layer as taught by Chen with the apparatus of Gleason because the motivation only requires a simple substitution of one known apparatus system configuration for another to obtain predictable results.
However, Gleason lacks and does not explicitly disclose the control circuit connected to the at least one massage head via the cable.
Parekh teaches the control circuit (400) connected to the at least one massage head (210 & 310) via the cable (See Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the control circuit connected to the at least one massage head via the cable as taught by Parekh with the apparatus of Gleason in order to provide regulating the speed or intensity of the massaging units.
Regarding claim 17, Gleason discloses the cavity (22) disposed between the first inner layer (1st Inner Front Panel Layer of (20) in Figure 3) and the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer of (24) in Figure 2) of the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2).
Furthermore, Gleason as modified by Parekh discloses the control circuit (400) disposed between the layers of (320) (See Figures 1 & 6).
Regarding claim 18, Gleason as modified Parekh discloses further comprising the function control board (500) disposed on the first layer (100) in communication with the control circuit (400) (See Figure 6).
However, Gleason as modified by Parekh does not explicitly disclose outer layer.
It would have been to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the function control board disposed on the first outer layer, since it has been held that re-arranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 19, Gleason discloses further comprising the pair of accessories (92) (i.e. Water Bottles) that have the blocking system (i.e. Zippers and / or other Fastening Means of (88)) configured to prevent the accessories (92) (i.e. Water Bottles) from being detached (See Column 5, lines 43 – 48) (See Figure 2).
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (U.S. Patent Number 6,626,342 B1) to Gleason in view of (U.S. Patent Number 5,732,867) to Perkins et al., (China Number CN 209630122 U) to Chen and (U.S. Patent Number 10,561,225 B2) to Parekh.
Regarding claim 20, Gleason discloses the apparatus system, comprising, the body (10) including the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) and the second back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) removably attachable {i.e. via (60 & 89) & (135, 136, 142 & 144) in Figures 1, 2 & 4} to the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2), the second massage back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (12) in Figures 1 & 2) including:
the first inner layer (i.e. Inner Front Panel Layer of (20) in Figure 3);
the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer of (24) in Figure 2);
the first outer layer (i.e. 1st Outer Front Layer (24) in Figure 2) configured for contact with an associated user; and
the second outer layer (i.e. 2nd Outer Rear Layer of (20) in Figure 3) attached to the first back panel (i.e. Back Panel of (14) in Figure 2) by at least the pair of accessories (i.e. via (60 & 89) & (135, 136, 142 & 144) in Figures 1, 2 & 4).
However, Gleason lacks and does not explicitly disclose via the blocking system comprising the rod and slot.
Perkins et al., teaches the blocking system (See Figure 2) comprising the rod (22) and slot (24) (See Figures 1 & 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the blocking system comprising the rod and slot as taught by Perkins et al., with the apparatus system of Gleason for the purpose of providing quick and reliable latching.
However, Gleason lacks and does not explicitly disclose at least one massage head disposed on the second inner layer.
Chen teaches at least one massage head (i.e. (17) within (9) in Figures 2, 4, 5 & 6) disposed on the second inner layer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the invention was effectively filed to make at least one massage head disposed on the second inner layer as taught by Chen with the apparatus system of Gleason because the motivation only requires a simple substitution one known apparatus system configuration for another to obtain predictable results.
However, Gleason lacks and does not explicitly disclose the control circuit connected to the at least one massage head via the cable.
Parekh teaches the control circuit (400) to the at least one massage head (210 & 310) via the cable (i.e. See Column 7, lines 48 – 55) (See Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the invention was effectively filed to make the control circuit connected to the at least one massage head via the cable as taught by Parekh with the apparatus system of Gleason in order to provide regulating the speed or intensity of the massaging units.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding Claims 1 & 16 filed June 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, Gleason ‘342 does not disclose the frame section (50) is made from plastic, and not from foam.
Examiner disagrees, in response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, Gleason ‘342 indeed teaches the first inner layer (i.e. 1st Inner Front Panel Layer/surface of (20) in Figure 3) and the second inner layer (i.e. 2nd Inner Rear Panel Layer/surface of (24) in Figure 2) there is at least one layer of foam (54) (See Column 4, lines 27 – 31) (See Figure 3).
Furthermore, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Gleason ‘342 meets and satisfies the structural limitations as set forth in Claim 1.
Therefore, the §103 rejection is maintained.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16 & 20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(U.S. Patent Number 11,363,877 B2) to Wright et al., teaches wherein the detachable accessories (226A, 226B, 226C, 226D) (i.e. Male and / or Female Snaps, Hooks and / or Loops, and / or the like) (See Column 5, lines 33, 34 & 35) (See Figure 2).
/L.L.V/Examiner, Art Unit 3734
/NATHAN J NEWHOUSE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3734