DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
The claims are directed towards an induction cooking apparatus [paras. 1-4], wherein the written description describes a method of manufacturing the apparatus such that the apparatus is capable of adapting to different household/domestic rated voltages used in different countries [paras. 5-7: “Since different rated voltages are used for each country, the specifications of heating coils are set to correspond to the rated voltage when manufacturing induction heating apparatuses… One aspect of the disclosure provides a method of manufacturing an induction heating apparatus capable of adapting to a rated voltage without changing a circuit configuration. One aspect of the disclosure provides an induction heating apparatus capable of adapting to a rated voltage without changing a circuit configuration.”], wherein the written description clearly redefines claim terms [para. 56: “The terms, such as “~ part”, “~ device”, “~block”, “~member”,”~ module”, and the like may refer to a unit for processing at least one function or act. For example, the terms may refer to at least process processed by at least one hardware, such as field-programmable gate array (FPGA)/ application specific integrated circuit (ASIC), software stored in memories, or processors.”]:
“node” is used by the claims to indicate an electrical coupling portion [i.e., a portion of a circuit for connecting electrical components, e.g., pins of electrical components, mounting holes/vias of circuit boards; fig. 4; para. 90: “The resonant circuit 2 may include a first node N1, a second node N2, a third node N3, and a fourth node N4.”]
“power supply module” is used by the claims to indicate a conventional power supply [i.e., connection to an AC power supply (e.g., a domestic grid supply of a rated voltage of either 100V-120V or 220V-240V) and components for converting the AC power (e.g., a rectifier); fig. 4; paras. 74-78: “Referring to FIG. 4, a resonant circuit 2 may include a power supply module 20. The power supply module 20 may include a power supply ES and a rectifier 210. The power supply ES is an AC power supply ES, and may provide a power supply ES corresponding to a rated voltage. For example, the power supply ES may be an alternating current (AC) power supply having a first rated voltage, or an AC power supply having a second rated voltage. In this case, the first rated voltage and the second rated voltage are different from each other, and satisfy a condition that the first rated voltage is less than the second rated voltage. For example, the first rated voltage may correspond to a range of 100V to 120V, and the second rated voltage may correspond to a range of 220V to 240V, but examples of the first rated voltage and the second rated voltage are not limited thereto.”]
“bypass part” is used by the claims to indicate two portions of the circuit that are configured to allow coupling of conventional electrical components thereto (i.e., to each portion), specifically including therebetween (i.e., between the two portions) [i.e., two nodes/terminals of the circuit; para. 94: “The first, second, or third bypass part B1, B2, or B3 may refer to a part electrically separating two nodes on a circuit board.”; and the conventional practice of electrically connecting two nodes/terminals of a circuit; para. 112: “Since the resonant circuit 2 according to an embodiment includes the first bypass part B1, the second bypass part B2, and the third bypass part B3, the manufacturer of the induction heating apparatus 1 may manufacture the induction heating apparatus 1 satisfying different rated voltage conditions by coupling appropriate electronic elements to the first bypass part B1, the second bypass part B2, and the third bypass part B3. Notably, the manufacturer can manufacture the induction heating apparatus 1 without changing the underlying circuitry of the resonant circuit 2.”]
Regarding the bypass part allowing the coupling of appropriate electronic elements without changing the underlying circuitry, the applicant is advised that it has been held by the courts that the mere fact that a given structure is integral does not preclude its consisting of various elements, and that constructing a formerly integral structure in various portions involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(V.)(C.). In this case, e.g., a PHOSITA it would consider it desirable to be able to replace damaged components.
“switching element” is used by the claims to indicate conventional semiconductor switches [fig. 4; para. 84: “The first switching element SW1 and the second switching element SW2 may be implemented as a three-terminal semiconductor device switch having a fast response speed so as to be turned on/off at a high speed. For example, the first switching element SW1 and the second switching element SW2 may be provided as a bipolar junction transistor (BJT), a metal-oxide-semiconductor field effect transistor (MOSFET), an insulated gate bipolar transistor (IGBT) or a thyristor.”].
“inductor element” is used by the claims to indicate an inductor [i.e., an element having inductance; fig. 6; para. 117: “In this case, the inductor element L may refer to an element having inductance.”]
“jumper element” is used by the claims to indicate a conventional electrical connection [i.e., electrically conductive wire/trace/cable; para. 117: “The jumper element J may refer to an element for electrically connecting nodes at both ends of the bypass part. For example, the jumper element J can include a conductive wire and/or conductive jumper cable. The conductive wire and/or conductive jumper cable can include, for example, a metal, a metal alloy, a nonmetal conductive material (e.g., graphite), or a combination thereof.”]
“visual indicator” is used by the claims to indicate conventional markings [i.e., symbols arranged on a surface for guiding the manufacturing process, e.g., to indicate to a person assembling the circuit which components should be attached; fig. 9; paras. 146-156: “FIG. 9 is a diagram illustrating an example of the appearance of a printed circuit board on which a resonant circuit is formed according to an embodiment…The visual indicators ID1 and ID2 may include letters, figures, symbols, numbers, or a combination thereof…The present disclosure may prevent mistakes in designing the resonant circuit 2 when the manufacturer of the induction heating apparatus 1 is a person rather than a machine.”]
“voltage detector” is used by the claims to indicate a conventional voltage sensor [para. 165: “Any component (e.g., a voltage sensor) capable of detecting an input voltage may be employed as the voltage detector VD without limitation. In addition, the location of the voltage detector VD may be provided without limitation as long as it is a location capable of detecting the input voltage.”]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji (JP 2020053137 A) in view of Youngho (KR 20210060952 A).
Regarding claim 1,
Shoji discloses:
An induction heating apparatus [electromagnetic induction heating device 100; para. 0008: “To achieve the above objectives, the electromagnetic induction heating device of the present invention comprises a heating coil for inductively heating an object to be heated…”; see annotated fig. 1 below] comprising:
a circuit configuration [fig. 1; para. 0010: “Figure 1 shows the power control characteristics of the electromagnetic induction heating device.”] including:
a first node [see fig. 1 showing a right hand end of inductor 41 (i.e., a pin of the inductor) as a first node electrically connected to switching element 5a and switching element 5b], a second node [see fig. 1 showing an upper end of switching element 5a (i.e., a pin of the semiconductor switch) as a second node electrically connected to diode 6a], a third node [see fig. 1 showing a third node electrically connected to diode 6a, diode 6b, and heating coil 11], and a fourth node [see fig. 1 showing a right end of heating coil 11 as a fourth node electrically connected by wire to capacitor 13a, and capacitor 13b];
a power supply module having a first terminal and a second terminal [see fig. 1 showing rectifier circuit 2 as the power supply module, the rectifier circuit 2 having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to a chopper inductor 41; para. 0012];
a first bypass part formed between the first terminal and the first node [see fig. 1 showing the first terminal and the first node, wherein the first terminal and the first node are each configured to allow for electrical connections, and thus allows for coupling of an electrical component therebetween];
a second bypass part formed between the first node and the second node [see fig. 1 showing the first node and the second node, wherein the first node and the second node are each configured to allow for electrical connections, and thus allows for coupling of an electrical component therebetween];
a third bypass part formed between the first node and the third node [see fig. 1 showing the first node and the third node, wherein the first node and the third node are each configured to allow for electrical connections, and thus allows for coupling of an electrical component therebetween];
a first switching element connected to the second node and the third node [switching element 5a];
a second switching element connected to the third node and the second terminal [switching element 5b]; and
a heating coil connected between the third node and the fourth node [heating coil 11],
wherein according to a rated voltage of the power supply module [the rated voltage of a commercial AC power source; para. 0008: “…rectifying the AC voltage of a commercial AC power source…”],
one of an inductor element and a first jumper element is configured to be connected to the first bypass part [see fig. 1 showing inductor 41 and wire electrically connecting the first terminal and the first node], and
a second jumper element [i.e., wire/trace] is configured to be connected to
the third bypass part [see fig. 1, showing the first node electrically connected to the third node by wire/trace, i.e., a parallel connection of the switching elements 5a/5b (relative to the power supply].
Shoji, in the embodiment of the heating device of figure 1, similar to the arrangement shown in instant figures 6 and 13, discloses the switching elements arranged in a parallel connection. Shoji also discloses an alternative example in figures 5 and 11, similar to the arrangement shown in instant figures 7 and 14, wherein the switching elements are arranged in a series connection.
Examiner notes that it has been held that the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See MPEP 2134(II.).
However, although Shoji describes the conventional practice of converting a commercial AC power supply, Shoji does not disclose the apparatus of figure 1 is capable of adapting to different household/domestic rated voltages. Specifically, Shoji does not disclose, wherein according to the rated voltage of the power supply module:
the second jumper element is configured to be connected to one selected from the second bypass part and the third bypass part.
Youngho, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a power conversion device comprising conventional switches [switches S1-1, S1-2, S2-1, S2-2 of switching circuit 140; fig. 6] capable of supplying stable power to a load regardless of different magnitudes of AC voltage supplied [para. 0001; para. 0040: “…For example, the input power (10) may be an AC power of 120[Vrms], an AC power of 240 [Vrms]…”] according to a measurement of the input voltage [para. 0073: “Meanwhile, the power conversion device (100) may further include a voltage sensor (160) connected to the output terminal of the input power source (10) to measure the voltage of the input power source (10). The voltage sensor (160) can provide a measured value (Vin) to the control unit (150), and the control unit (150) can control the switching circuit (140) according to the measured value (Vin).”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the induction heating apparatus of Shoji by including structure for adapting to different supplied rated voltages, specifically according to a measurement of the rated voltage the power supply module, as taught by Youngho, since this would supply stable power to the heating coil.
Regarding the limitation requiring the second jumper element be configured to be connected to one selected from the second bypass part and the third bypass part:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide means for adjusting the connection arrangement of the switching elements, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(V.)(D.). In this case, since Shoji discloses the need for both a parallel and a series connection, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to incorporate conventional electrical components enabling either arrangement, thus the inclusion of a second jumper element connected to the second bypass part would have been obvious.
Regarding limitations to the arrangement/placement of conventional circuit components (e.g., inductors, diodes, capacitors, switches, etc.), in view of Shoji evidencing that these components yield predictable results at least in an inductive heating process, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04(VI.)(C.). In this case, selecting the arrangement of any capacitors, inductors, switches, jumpers, diodes, relative to an inductive heating coil and the corresponding switching element driver, would have been an obvious matter of design choice as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., according to the desired heat response of the heating coil, according to supplied voltages, according to the parameters of electrical components in the circuit.
Regarding claim 2, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 1.
Shoji as modified by Youngho discloses:
wherein the rated voltage is a first rated voltage or a second rated voltage, and the first rated voltage is lower than the second rated voltage [Youngho discloses a first rated voltage of 120V and a second rated voltage of 240V; para. 0079: “More specifically, the input power (10) may be an AC voltage of a first size or an AC voltage of a second size that is twice the first size. For example, the input power supply (10) may be an AC voltage of 120[Vrms] or an AC voltage of 240[Vrms].”].
Regarding claim 3, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 2.
Shoji as modified by Youngho discloses:
wherein in response to the rated voltage being the first rated voltage, the inductor element is configured to be connected to the first bypass part, and the second jumper element is configured to be connected to the third bypass part from between the first node and the third node [i.e., a parallel arrangement of switching elements, see Shoji fig. 1].
In this case, selecting a particular arrangement of switching elements according to a supplied rated voltage would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., according to the desired heat response of the heating coil, according to the parameters of electrical components in the circuit.
Regarding claim 4, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 2.
Shoji as modified by Youngho discloses:
wherein in response to the rated voltage being the second rated voltage, the first jumper element is configured to be connected to the first bypass part, and the second jumper element is configured to be connected to the second bypass part from between the first node and the second node [i.e., a series arrangement of switching elements, see Shoji fig. 5, wherein a wire/trace connects the upper pin of switching element 5a (i.e., the second node) to the output of the rectifier (i.e., the first terminal)].
In this case, selecting a particular arrangement of switching elements according to a supplied rated voltage would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., according to the desired heat response of the heating coil, according to the parameters of electrical components in the circuit.
Regarding Shoji’s chopper inductor 41, Examiner notes that it has been held by the courts that the omission of an element if the function of the element is not desired requires only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(II.)(A.).
Regarding claim 5, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 1.
Shoji also discloses:
further comprising:
a first capacitor connected between the second node and the fourth node [fig. 1: capacitor 13a]; and
a second capacitor connected to the fourth node and the second terminal [fig. 1: capacitor 13b].
Regarding claim 6, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 5.
Shoji as modified by Youngho discloses:
wherein the circuit configuration selectively includes a third capacitor configured to connect the second node to the second terminal according to the rated voltage of the power supply module [see Shoji figs. 1, 5: smoothing capacitor 44].
In this case, selecting a third capacitor according to a supplied rated voltage would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., according to the desired heat response of the heating coil, according to the parameters of electrical components in the circuit (e.g., according to the effects of a smoothing capacitor; Shoji para. 0008).
Regarding claim 7, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 6.
Shoji as modified by Youngho discloses:
wherein in response to the rated voltage being the first rated voltage, the circuit configuration includes the third capacitor, and in response to the rated voltage being the second rated voltage greater than the first rated voltage, the circuit configuration excludes the third capacitor.
In this case, selecting a particular arrangement of capacitors according to a supplied rated voltage would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., according to the desired heat response of the heating coil, according to the parameters of electrical components in the circuit.
Regarding Shoji’s smoothing capacitor 44 as the third capacitor excluded from the circuit configuration, it has been held by the courts that the omission of an element if the function of the element is not desired requires only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(II.)(A.).
Regarding claim 10, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 1.
Shoji further discloses:
wherein the power supply module includes a rectifier connected to an alternating current (AC) power supply [fig. 1: rectifier circuit 2], and
a direct current (DC) voltage rectified by the rectifier is applied to the first terminal [para. 0012: “This rectifier circuit 2 outputs a rectified DC voltage obtained by rectifying the commercial AC voltage.”].
Regarding claim 14,
Shoji teaches:
An induction heating apparatus [electromagnetic induction heating device 100; para. 0008: “To achieve the above objectives, the electromagnetic induction heating device of the present invention comprises a heating coil for inductively heating an object to be heated…”; see annotated fig. 1 above] comprising:
a first node [see fig. 1 showing a right hand end of inductor 41 (i.e., a pin of the inductor) as a first node electrically connected to switching element 5a and switching element 5b], a second node [see fig. 1 showing an upper end of switching element 5a (i.e., a pin of the semiconductor switch) as a second node electrically connected to diode 6a], a third node [see fig. 1 showing a third node electrically connected to diode 6a, diode 6b, and heating coil 11], and a fourth node [see fig. 1 showing a right end of heating coil 11 as a fourth node electrically connected by wire to capacitor 13a, and capacitor 13b];
a power supply module having a first terminal and a second terminal [see fig. 1 showing rectifier circuit 2 as the power supply module, the rectifier circuit 2 having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to a chopper inductor 41; para. 0012];
an inductor element connected to the first terminal and the first node [inductor 41];
a first switching element connected to the second node and the third node [switching element 5a];
a second switching element connected to the third node and the second terminal [switching element 5b];
a heating coil connected between the third node and the fourth node [heating coil 11];
a first capacitor connected to the second node and the fourth node [fig. 1: capacitor 13a];
a second capacitor connected to the fourth node and the second terminal [fig. 1: capacitor 13b];
a third capacitor connected to the second node and the second terminal [fig. 1 smoothing capacitor 44];
Shoji, in the embodiment of the heating device of figure 1, similar to the arrangement shown in instant figures 6 and 13, discloses the switching elements arranged in a parallel connection. Shoji also discloses an alternative example in figures 5 and 11, similar to the arrangement shown in instant figures 7 and 14, wherein the switching elements are arranged in a series connection.
Examiner notes that it has been held that the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See MPEP 2134(II.).
However, although Shoji describes the conventional practice of converting a commercial AC power supply, Shoji does not disclose the apparatus of figure 1 is capable of adapting to different household/domestic rated voltages. Specifically, Shoji does not explicitly disclose:
a first switch selectively connecting the first node to the second node;
a second switch selectively connecting the first node to the third node;
a voltage detector configured to detect an output voltage of the power supply module; and
a controller configured to control the first switch and the second switch based on a magnitude of the voltage detected by the voltage detector.
Youngho, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a power conversion device comprising conventional switches [switches S1-1, S1-2, S2-1, S2-2 of switching circuit 140; fig. 6] capable of supplying stable power to a load regardless of different magnitudes of AC voltage supplied [para. 0001; para. 0040: “…For example, the input power (10) may be an AC power of 120[Vrms], an AC power of 240 [Vrms]…”] according to a measurement of the input voltage by a voltage detector received by a controller [para. 0073: “Meanwhile, the power conversion device (100) may further include a voltage sensor (160) connected to the output terminal of the input power source (10) to measure the voltage of the input power source (10). The voltage sensor (160) can provide a measured value (Vin) to the control unit (150), and the control unit (150) can control the switching circuit (140) according to the measured value (Vin).”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the induction heating apparatus of Shoji by including structure for adapting to different supplied rated voltages, specifically according to a measurement of the rated voltage the power supply module, as taught by Youngho, since this would supply stable power to the heating coil.
Regarding the limitation requiring a first switch selectively connecting the first node to the second node and a second switch selectively connecting the first node to the third node:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide means for adjusting the connection arrangement of the switching elements, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(V.)(D.). In this case, since Shoji discloses the need for both a parallel and a series connection, a PHOSITA would have been motivated to incorporate conventional electrical components enabling either arrangement, thus the inclusion of a second jumper element connected to the second bypass part would have been obvious.
Regarding limitations to the arrangement/placement of conventional circuit components (e.g., inductors, diodes, capacitors, switches, etc.), in view of Shoji evidencing that these components yield predictable results at least in an inductive heating process, since it has been held by the courts that a change in shape or configuration, without any criticality in operation of the device, is nothing more than one of numerous shapes that one of ordinary skill in the art will find obvious to provide based on the suitability for the intended final application. See MPEP 2144.04(VI.)(C.). In this case, selecting the arrangement of any capacitors, inductors, switches, jumpers, diodes, relative to an inductive heating coil and the corresponding switching element driver, would have been an obvious matter of design choice as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., according to the desired heat response of the heating coil, according to supplied voltages, according to the parameters of electrical components in the circuit.
Regarding claim 15, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 14.
Shoji as modified by Youngho discloses:
wherein the controller is configured to:
open the first switch and close the second switch based on the magnitude of the voltage detected by the voltage detector being smaller than a reference value; and
close the first switch and open the second switch based on the magnitude of the voltage detected by the voltage detector being greater than the reference value.
In this case, in view of Youngho teaching controlling the switches according to the measurements of the voltage sensor, selecting a particular threshold value as the reference value would have been an obvious matter of design choice according to the requirements of the given application, e.g., according to desired tolerances, according to desired heating response, according to parameters of electrical components.
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji (JP 2020053137 A) in view of Youngho (KR 20210060952 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Britton (US 20100155106 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 1.
Although both Shoji and Young describe conventional semiconductor components, Shoji as modified by Youngho does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the circuit configuration is formed on a printed circuit board (PCB).
Britton, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the conventional practice of forming circuits on a PCB [paras. 0002-5: “Aspects of the present disclosure relate to printed circuit boards and testing of the same. More particularly, aspects may involve a method and apparatus for intentionally differentiating a portion of a printed circuit board to create an optical indicator on the board when a component may be missing or improperly mounted on the board… Printed circuit boards, for example, may include anywhere from a few surface-mounted components to tens of thousands of such components on a single board. Further, as the demand for smaller and smaller computing devices has increased, surface-mounted components on printed circuit boards have begun to decrease in size beyond that of normal human vision.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to form the circuit configuration on a PCB, since Britton teaches this allows mass production, wherein tens of thousands of components may be mounted on a single board [paras. 0002-5].
Regarding claim 9, Shoji in view of Youngho and Britton discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 8.
Shoji as modified by Youngho and Britton, specifically Britton discloses:
wherein the PCB includes at least one visual indicator for guiding a method of manufacturing the induction heating apparatus corresponding to the rated voltage [para. 0020: “To assist in the detection of a missing component on the PCB 100, the visible color or non-visible differentiation indicator 110 may be applied to the PCB 100 underneath the expected placement of the surface-mounted components of the PCB such that the indicator be noticeable when the component is missing.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include at least one visual indicator, since Britton teaches assists in the detection of a missing component [para. 0020].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji (JP 2020053137 A) in view of Youngho (KR 20210060952 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kornrumpf (US 3697716 A).
Regarding claim 11, Shoji in view of Youngho discloses the induction heating apparatus of claim 1.
However, Shoji as modified by Youngho does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second terminal is connected to a ground node.
Kornrumpf, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a terminal of a rectifier connected to ground [figs. 4, 7: rectifier 13].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the induction heating apparatus of Shoji and Youngho such that the second terminal is connected to a ground node, since Korn teaches this improves user safety [col. 7, lines 41-50: “The extremely practical effect of providing a continuous ground of high integrity by using the power distribution system neutral, and positioning the induction heating coil in the inverter circuit to connect directly to the grounded neutral, is that there is less danger of electrical leakage current through the user to ground. Further, high frequency leakage is minimized since the high frequency system ground is common to the direct voltage ground.”].
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shoji (JP 2020053137 A).
Regarding claim 13,
Shoji discloses:
An induction heating apparatus [electromagnetic induction heating device 100; para. 0008: “To achieve the above objectives, the electromagnetic induction heating device of the present invention comprises a heating coil for inductively heating an object to be heated…”; see annotated fig. 1 above] comprising:
a first node [see fig. 1 showing a right hand end of inductor 41 (i.e., a pin of the inductor) as a first node electrically connected to switching element 5a and switching element 5b], a second node [see fig. 1 showing an upper end of switching element 5a (i.e., a pin of the semiconductor switch) as a second node electrically connected to diode 6a], a third node [see fig. 1 showing a third node electrically connected to diode 6a, diode 6b, and heating coil 11], and a fourth node [see fig. 1 showing a right end of heating coil 11 as a fourth node electrically connected by wire to capacitor 13a, and capacitor 13b];
a power supply module having a first terminal and a second terminal [see fig. 1 showing rectifier circuit 2 as the power supply module, the rectifier circuit 2 having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to a chopper inductor 41; para. 0012];
a first jumper element connecting the first terminal to the first node [see fig. 1, showing a wire/trace connecting the first terminal to the first node, via chopper inductor 41];
Regarding Shoji’s chopper inductor 41, Examiner notes that it has been held by the courts that the omission of an element if the function of the element is not desired requires only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(II.)(A.).
a first switching element connected to the second node and the third node [switching element 5a];
a second switching element connected to the third node and the second terminal [switching element 5b];
a heating coil connected between the third node and the fourth node [heating coil 11];
a first capacitor connected to the second node and the fourth node [fig. 1: capacitor 13a]; and
a second capacitor connected to the fourth node and the second terminal [fig. 1: capacitor 13b].
Shoji, in the embodiment of the heating device of figure 1, similar to the arrangement shown in instant figures 6 and 13, discloses the switching elements arranged in a parallel connection. Shoji also discloses an alternative example in figures 5 and 11, similar to the arrangement shown in instant figures 7 and 14, wherein the switching elements are arranged in a series connection.
Examiner notes that it has been held that the fact that an inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See MPEP 2134(II.).
However, although Shoji discloses a jumper element connecting the first terminal to an upper portion of switching element 5a [see fig. 5 above], Shoji does not explicitly disclose:
a second jumper element connecting the first node to the second node;
Therefore, in view of Shoji teaching both parallel and series arrangements for the switching elements, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the induction heating apparatus of Shoji by including a second jumper element connecting the first node to the second node, since selecting the arrangement of any capacitors, inductors, switches, jumpers, diodes, relative to an inductive heating coil and the corresponding switching element driver, would have been an obvious matter of design choice as necessitated by the specific requirements of a given application, e.g., according to the desired heat response of the heating coil, according to supplied voltages, according to the parameters of electrical components in the circuit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Shoji (JP 2020053137 A).
Regarding claim 12,
Shoji teaches:
An induction heating apparatus [electromagnetic induction heating device 100; para. 0008: “To achieve the above objectives, the electromagnetic induction heating device of the present invention comprises a heating coil for inductively heating an object to be heated…”; see annotated fig. 1 above] comprising:
a first node [see fig. 1 showing a right hand end of inductor 41 (i.e., a pin of the inductor) as a first node electrically connected to switching element 5a and switching element 5b], a second node [see fig. 1 showing an upper end of switching element 5a (i.e., a pin of the semiconductor switch) as a second node electrically connected to diode 6a], a third node [see fig. 1 showing a third node electrically connected to diode 6a, diode 6b, and heating coil 11], and a fourth node [see fig. 1 showing a right end of heating coil 11 as a fourth node electrically connected by wire to capacitor 13a, and capacitor 13b];
a power supply module having a first terminal and a second terminal [see fig. 1 showing rectifier circuit 2 as the power supply module, the rectifier circuit 2 having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to a chopper inductor 41; para. 0012];
an inductor element connected to the first terminal and the first node [inductor 41];
a jumper element connecting the first node to the third node [see fig. 1 showing wire electrically connecting the first node to the third node];
a first switching element connected to the second node and the third node [switching element 5a];
a second switching element connected to the third node and the second terminal [switching element 5b];
a heating coil connected between the third node and the fourth node [heating coil 11];
a first capacitor connected to the second node and the fourth node [fig. 1: capacitor 13a];
a second capacitor connected to the fourth node and the second terminal [fig. 1: capacitor 13b]; and
a third capacitor connected to the second node and the second terminal [fig. 1 smoothing capacitor 44].
Regarding claim 16,
Shoji teaches:
An induction heating apparatus [electromagnetic induction heating device 100; para. 0008: “To achieve the above objectives, the electromagnetic induction heating device of the present invention comprises a heating coil for inductively heating an object to be heated…”; see annotated fig. 1 above] comprising:
a first node [see fig. 1 showing a right hand end of inductor 41 (i.e., a pin of the inductor) as a first node electrically connected to switching element 5a and switching element 5b], a second node [see fig. 1 showing an upper end of switching element 5a (i.e., a pin of the semiconductor switch) as a second node electrically connected to diode 6a], a third node [see fig. 1 showing a third node electrically connected to diode 6a, diode 6b, and heating coil 11], and a fourth node [see fig. 1 showing a right end of heating coil 11 as a fourth node electrically connected by wire to capacitor 13a, and capacitor 13b];
a power supply module having a first terminal and a second terminal [see fig. 1 showing rectifier circuit 2 as the power supply module, the rectifier circuit 2 having a first terminal and a second terminal, wherein the first terminal is coupled to a chopper inductor 41; para. 0012];
a first bypass part formed between the first terminal and the first node [see fig. 1 showing the first terminal and the first node, wherein the first terminal and the first node are each configured to allow for electrical connections, and thus allows for coupling of an electrical component therebetween];
a second bypass part formed between the first node and the second node [see fig. 1 showing the first node and the second node, wherein the first node and the second node are each configured to allow for electrical connections, and thus allows for coupling of an electrical component therebetween];
a third bypass part formed between the first node and the third node [see fig. 1 showing the first node and the third node, wherein the first node and the third node are each configured to allow for electrical connections, and thus allows for coupling of an electrical component therebetween]; and
a heating coil connected between the third node and the fourth node [heating coil 11].
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761