CTNF 18/214,595 CTNF 81008 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, 12, 15,16, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunoda (US 20250102590) in view of Sugawara (US 20220349947) and in further view of Saita (US 20230311694) . Regarding claim 1, Tsunoda teaches a power supply device (figure 4 [0048] defined as a battery system) comprising: a plurality of battery units connected in parallel and each including a secondary battery (figure 4 shows a plurality of battery units [0048] defined as sub-modules including a secondary battery, a battery cell connected in parallel) ; a plurality of temperature sensors to measure temperatures of the plurality of battery units (figure 4 shows the plurality of battery sub-modules including a temperature sensor, defined as a thermocouple) ; and a controller to control output currents from the plurality of battery units (figure 4 control circuit. [0050] discloses the battery module has an active cell balance controller (control device) for controlling a distribution of charge during charging and discharging) ; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to calculate, based on measurement results from the plurality of temperature sensors ([0048] discloses the calculation unit can acquire measurement data such as an output voltage, an output current, and a temperature of the battery via the BMU, and use the measurement data to perform a method for evaluating the soundness of the battery) , and to perform control to decrease the output current from one of the plurality of battery units ([0050] discloses the detection values are acquired by the detection unit, and then transmitted to the calculation unit as measurement data via the BMU. The battery module has an active cell balance controller (control device) for controlling a distribution of charge during charging and discharging based off this information) . Tsunoda does not explicitly teach output sustainable times during which the output currents are able to be output due to charge stored in the secondary batteries and control a decrease of output current based on a shortest output sustainable time. Sugawara teaches wherein a controller is configure to output sustainable times during which the output currents are able to be output due to charge stored in the secondary batteries (Figure 1 and paragraph [0045] discloses wherein the temperature sensing circuit 5 detects the temperature of the battery and sends the value, signal TDP, to Data Processing Circuit 13.[0054] discloses the Data Processing circuit 13, includes a predictive unit 13_1. [0063] discloses wherein the output current, defined as remaining discharge time is determined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda reference with the charging system of the Sugawara reference so as to reduce error in determining the remaining battery state. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sugawara reference in [0046] wherein error is reduced while determining the remaining battery state. Tsunoda and Sugawara suggest a system which determines the output sustainable times, or remaining discharging time based off a temperature measurement, but does not explicitly teach and control a decrease of output current based on a shortest output sustainable time. Saita teaches and control a decrease of output current based on a shortest output sustainable time (Saita discloses a system which controls batteries based on the remaining usable time. Paragraph [0077] discloses wherein the control unit 240 restricts the charging and discharging of the battery 12 based on the remaining usable time and the reference usable time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda and Sugawara references with the charging system of the Saita reference so that the amount of electric power output by the battery from the start of use to the end of the designated guaranteed period of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined guaranteed amount of electric power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Saita reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the battery power is controlled. PNG media_image1.png 507 667 media_image1.png Greyscale Tsunoda Figure 4 shows a parallel battery system with temperature sensors PNG media_image2.png 594 833 media_image2.png Greyscale Sugawara Figure 1 shows remaining discharge time calculation based on the value determined from battery temperature sensing circuit 5. PNG media_image3.png 626 676 media_image3.png Greyscale Saita figure 1 shows a system which adjusts charging based on remaining battery discharge time. Regarding claim 2, Tsunoda and Sugawara teach the power supply device according to Claim 1, but wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform control so that the output current from at least one of the battery units other than the battery unit with the shortest output sustainable time is increased. Saita teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform control so that the output current from at least one of the battery units other than the battery unit with the shortest output sustainable time is increased (Saita discloses a system which controls batteries based on the remaining usable time. Paragraph [0077] discloses wherein the control unit 240 restricts the charging and discharging of the battery 12 based on the remaining usable time and the reference usable time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda and Sugawara references with the charging system of the Saita reference so that the amount of electric power output by the battery from the start of use to the end of the designated guaranteed period of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined guaranteed amount of electric power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Saita reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the battery power is controlled. Regarding claim 3, Tsunoda and Sugawara teaches the power supply device according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform control to increase the output current from one of the battery units with a longest output sustainable time. Saita teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform control to increase the output current from one of the battery units with a longest output sustainable time (Saita discloses a system which controls batteries based on the remaining usable time. Paragraph [0077] discloses wherein the control unit 240 restricts the charging and discharging of the battery 12 based on the remaining usable time and the reference usable time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda and Sugawara references with the charging system of the Saita reference so that the amount of electric power output by the battery from the start of use to the end of the designated guaranteed period of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined guaranteed amount of electric power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Saita reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the battery power is controlled. Regarding claim 4, Tsunoda teaches the power supply device according to Claim 1, further comprising a plurality of current sensors to measure the output currents from the plurality of battery units (figure 1 shows current sensors within the battery sub-module units). Regarding claim 5, Tsunoda teaches the power supply device according to Claim 1, wherein the plurality of temperature sensors are operable to measure temperatures of the secondary batteries in the plurality of battery units (figure 1 shows temperature sensors within the battery sub-module units which measure temperature of the batteries). Regarding claim 12, Tsunoda teaches the power supply device according to Claim 5, wherein the secondary battery includes a plurality of battery cells; and the temperature sensor is operable to measure temperatures of the battery cells( figure 4 shows the plurality of battery sub-modules including a temperature sensor, defined as a thermocouple operable to measure temperatures) . Regarding claim 15, Tsunoda teaches a power supply device (figure 4 [0048] defined as a battery system) comprising: a plurality of battery units connected in parallel and each including a secondary battery (figure 4 shows a plurality of battery units [0048] defined as sub-modules including a secondary battery, a battery cell connected in parallel) ; a plurality of temperature sensors to measure temperatures of the plurality of battery units (figure 4 shows the plurality of battery sub-modules including a temperature sensor, defined as a thermocouple) ; and a controller to control output currents from the plurality of battery units (figure 4 control circuit. [0050] discloses the battery module has an active cell balance controller (control device) for controlling a distribution of charge during charging and discharging) ; wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform control a highest measurement result among measurement results from the plurality of temperature sensors ([0048] discloses the calculation unit can acquire measurement data such as an output voltage, an output current, and a temperature of the battery via the BMU, and use the measurement data to perform a method for evaluating the soundness of the battery) , and to increase the output current from at least one of battery units other than the battery unit with the highest measurement result ([0050] discloses the detection values are acquired by the detection unit, and then transmitted to the calculation unit as measurement data via the BMU. The battery module has an active cell balance controller (control device) for controlling a distribution of charge during charging and discharging based off this information) . Tsunoda does not explicitly teach to perform control to decrease the output current from one of the battery units with a highest measurement result among measurement results from the plurality of temperature sensors and to increase the output current from at least one of battery units other than the battery unit with the highest measurement result. Sugawara teaches determining an output current value of the battery based on the temperature sensors (Figure 1 and paragraph [0045] discloses wherein the temperature sensing circuit 5 detects the temperature of the battery and sends the value, signal TDP, to Data Processing Circuit 13.[0054] discloses the Data Processing circuit 13, includes a predictive unit 13_1. [0063] discloses wherein the output current, defined as remaining discharge time is determined). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda reference with the charging system of the Sugawara reference so as to reduce error in determining the remaining battery state. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Sugawara reference in [0046] wherein error is reduced while determining the remaining battery state. Tsunoda and Sugawara suggest a system which determines the output sustainable times, or remaining discharging time based off a temperature measurement, but does not explicitly teach and control a decrease of output current based on a shortest output sustainable time. Saita teaches perform control to decrease the output current from one of the battery units with a highest measurement result among measurement results from the plurality of temperature sensors and to increase the output current from at least one of battery units other than the battery unit with the highest measurement result (Saita discloses a system which controls batteries based on the remaining usable time. Paragraph [0077] discloses wherein the control unit 240 restricts the charging and discharging of the battery 12 based on the remaining usable time and the reference usable time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda and Sugawara references with the charging system of the Saita reference so that the amount of electric power output by the battery from the start of use to the end of the designated guaranteed period of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined guaranteed amount of electric power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Saita reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the battery power is controlled. Regarding claim 16, Tsunoda teaches the power supply device according to Claim 15, further comprising a plurality of current sensors to measure the output currents from the plurality of battery units (figure 1 shows current sensors within the battery sub-module units). Regarding claim 17, Tsunoda teaches the power supply device according to Claim 15, wherein the plurality of temperature sensors are operable to measure temperatures of the secondary batteries in the plurality of battery units (figure 1 shows current sensors within the battery sub-module units). Regarding claim 20, Tsunoda teaches the power supply device according to Claim 17, wherein the secondary battery includes a plurality of battery cells; and the temperature sensor is operable to measure temperatures of the battery cells figure 4 shows the plurality of battery sub- modules including a temperature sensor, defined as a thermocouple measuring the temperature of the cells) . Claims 10, 11, 18 and 19 are is rejected are under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsunoda (US 20250102590) in view of Sugawara (US 20220349947) and in further view of Saita (US 20230311694) as applied to claim 15 and in further view of Juang (US 20220190607) Regarding claim 10, Tsunoda teaches the power supply device according to Claim 1, wherein and the controller includes a control circuit that is provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit (Figure 1 shows a control circuit defined as a control device in each battery subunit) . Tsunoda in view of Sugawara do not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current; and a control circuit controller connected to each of the plurality of battery units to instruct the corresponding control circuit to decrease the output current based on the output sustainable time. Saita teaches wherein a control circuit controller connected to each of the plurality of battery units to instruct the corresponding control circuit to decrease the output current based on the output sustainable time (Saita discloses a system which controls batteries based on the remaining usable time. Paragraph [0077] discloses wherein the control unit 240 restricts the charging and discharging of the battery 12 based on the remaining usable time and the reference usable time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda and Sugawara references with the charging system of the Saita reference so that the amount of electric power output by the battery from the start of use to the end of the designated guaranteed period of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined guaranteed amount of electric power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Saita reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the battery power is controlled. Juang wherein each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current (figure 1 shows a DCDC converter 106 provided to convert the discharged battery into output current). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda, Sugawara and Saita references with the charging system of the Juang reference in order to provide sufficient power to meet peak current demands. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Juang reference in paragraph [0049] wherein sufficient power is provided to meet peak current demands. PNG media_image4.png 566 530 media_image4.png Greyscale Juang Figure 1 shows a converter 106 within the battery system converting battery power within 102 to output power Regarding claim 11, Tsunoda and Sugawara teach the power supply device according to Claim 1, but do not explicitly teach each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current; and the controller includes a control circuit provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit. Juang teaches each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current (figure 1 shows a DCDC converter 106 provided to convert the discharged battery into output current) ; and the controller includes a control circuit provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit (figure 1 shows a DCDC converter 106 provided to convert the discharged battery into output current). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda, Sugawara and Saita references with the charging system of the Juang reference in order to provide sufficient power to meet peak current demands. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Juang reference in paragraph [0049] wherein sufficient power is provided to meet peak current demands Regarding claim 18, Tsunoda, and Sugawara teach the power supply device according to Claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current; and the controller includes a control circuit that is provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit, and a control circuit controller connected to each of the plurality of battery units to instruct the corresponding control circuit to decrease the output current based on the output sustainable time. Saita teaches wherein a control circuit controller connected to each of the plurality of battery units to instruct the corresponding control circuit to decrease the output current based on the output sustainable time (Saita discloses a system which controls batteries based on the remaining usable time. Paragraph [0077] discloses wherein the control unit 240 restricts the charging and discharging of the battery 12 based on the remaining usable time and the reference usable time). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda and Sugawara references with the charging system of the Saita reference so that the amount of electric power output by the battery from the start of use to the end of the designated guaranteed period of the vehicle is equal to or less than a predetermined guaranteed amount of electric power. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Saita reference in paragraph [0006] wherein the battery power is controlled. Tsunoda, Sugawara and Saita do not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current and the controller includes a control circuit that is provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit. Juang teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current (figure 1 shows a DCDC converter 106 provided to convert the discharged battery into output current) ; and the controller includes a control circuit that is provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit (figure 1 shows a DCDC converter 106 provided to convert the discharged battery into output current). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda, Sugawara and Saita references with the charging system of the Juang reference in order to provide sufficient power to meet peak current demands. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Juang reference in paragraph [0049] wherein sufficient power is provided to meet peak current demands. Regarding claim 19, Tsunoda, Sugawara and Saita teach the power supply device according to Claim 15, but does not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current; and the controller includes a control circuit provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit. Juang teaches wherein each of the plurality of battery units further includes a power conversion circuit to convert a current discharged from the secondary battery into the output current (figure 1 shows a DCDC converter 106 provided to convert the discharged battery into output current) ; and the controller includes a control circuit provided in each of the plurality of battery units to control the corresponding power conversion circuit (figure 1 shows a DCDC converter 106 provided to convert the discharged battery into output current). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging system of the Tsunoda, Sugawara and Saita references with the charging system of the Juang reference in order to provide sufficient power to meet peak current demands. The suggestion/motivation for combination can be found in the Juang reference in paragraph [0049] wherein sufficient power is provided to meet peak current demands . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6, 7, and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claims 6, 7, and 8, the current prior art does not disclose or suggest a battery system which estimates the time required for the temperature of the battery to reach a temperature threshold as a function of the output sustainable time determined. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Us 20110121781 A1 Scalable, Modular And Intelligent Power System Burke; Edmund David Et Al. Us 20210162867 A1 Power Supply Charging System Clay; Rodney L. Et Al. Us 20150185292 A1 Power Information Display Device, Power Information Display System And Power Information Display Method Doi; Misuzu Et Al. Us 20200350617 A1 Lithium Ion Secondary Battery System Endo; Motoki Us 20170256962 A1 Intermediate Storage Facility For Battery Units Elsen; Olaf Et Al. Us 20220123372 A1 Secondary Battery, Battery Pack Hara; Yasuaki Us 20160336614 A1 Cell, Cell Pack Hatta; Kazuhito Et Al. Us 20080290835 A1 Battery Pack Hayashi; Isao Us 20240055882 A1 Storage Battery Control Kiuchi; Masako Et Al. Us 20080007647 A1 Power Supply Identification Method Masuda; Isao Us 8344699 B2 Power Supply Control Method Oyobe; Hichirosai Et Al. Us 6232750 B1 Battery Charger Podrazhansky; Yury Et Al. Us 20220349947 A1 Semiconductor Device Sugawara; Yusuke Us 20150214576 A1 Non-Aqueous Electrolytic Solutionn Tsuda; Ryohei Et Al. Us 20130069598 A1 Lithium Ion Battery Tanaka; Akihide Et Al. Us 20230305587 A1 Diagnostic Data Thirumurthy; Nisha Et Al. Us 20200358303 A1 Portable Electrical Energy System Yang; Dezhong Et Al. Us 20140001863 A1 Supplying Emergency Power Zhang; Shanming Et Al. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEXIS B PACHECO whose telephone number is (571)272-5979. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00 - 5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Julian Huffman can be reached at 571-272-2147. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. ALEXIS BOATENG PACHECO Primary Examiner Art Unit 2859 /ALEXIS B PACHECO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 2 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 3 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 4 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 5 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 6 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 7 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 8 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 9 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 10 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 11 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 12 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 13 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 14 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 15 Art Unit: 2859 Application/Control Number: 18/214,595 Page 16 Art Unit: 2859