DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1, 2 and 5-15 in the reply filed on 14 September 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 3, 4 and 16-18 are withdrawn from consideration.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for inhibiting the activity of neurons of the insular cortex via TMS, focused ultrasound stimulation and "biofeedback", does not reasonably provide enablement for other various forms of suppression such as the application of pain (in the form of chronic pain, for example). The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. Thus, claim 1 encompasses subject matter far beyond that which is enabled by the specification as originally filed.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a method of treating a bowel disease in a murine model by applying TMS or FUS to inhibit neuronal activity in the murine model wherein the coordinates of the neurons are in the range of "mm" instead of "cm" ([0119]-[0120]), does not reasonably provide enablement for reducing an immune response in any subject by simply inhibiting neuronal activity in the subject, wherein the coordinates of the neurons are an order of magnitude greater than that of the murine model. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. The stated paragraphs above provide direction in terms of a murine model, however the claims cover a much greater range of unknown subjects with the recitation of "a subject". Further, as previously stated, the working examples given provide coordinates for a small subject, yet the claims provide coordinates that are an order of magnitude larger. And while the coordinates are given for a working example, for one of ordinary skill to infer how a user might go about adjusting coordinates to a different "subject," the specification does not provide any support for how one would arrive at such coordinates. While the specification discusses use of coordinate space algorithm and reference frame, it does not provide a working example and/or direction at how one might arrive at ascertaining the claimed coordinates with such a device/algorithm.
Claims 1, 2 and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 at line 2 recites the limitation "the activity". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear how such coordinates are attained, whether from a system configured to determine such coordinates or from a standard provided by a model, though the type of model also cannot by ascertained as claim 1 only recites such a model to be "a subject".
Claim 12 at line 2 recites the limitation " the activity, abundance or both of a CD8 T-cell…". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 at line 2 recites the limitation " the lamina propria". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 at line 2 recites the limitation " the intraepithelial layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 at line 2 recites the limitation " the intraepithelial layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 2 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because
the claimed invention is directed to a law of nature/natural phenomenon without significantly more. The claim recites the step of “inhibiting the activity of neurons of the insular cortex”. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because UV radiation, emitted by the sun, can impair/alter neuronal activity through multiple biological mechanisms. Moreover, certain bowel diseases are stress-related and it is well-regarded that exposure to the sun relieves stress, “thereby treating a bowel disease” as claimed. The aforementioned claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mishelevich (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0001096). Regarding claim 1, Mishelevich discloses a method for treating a bowel disease in a subject in need thereof, the method comprising inhibiting the activity of neurons of the insular cortex of said subject (via its down-regulation) [0648], thereby treating a bowel disease in the subject (wherein “treating” of the bowel disease is construed as Mishelevich’s teaching of the reduction of pain [0648]; [0667]).
Regarding claim 2, said neurons of the insular cortex are in coordinates: a) Medial Lateral (ML): (2.5)-(+4.5) cm; b) Anterior Posterior (AP): (3.0)-(-2.2) cm; and c) Dorsal Ventral (DV): (-1)-(+2) cm (Fig. 66 and [0667] teaches "whole head neuromodulation" to include that of the insula, thus all neuronal activity of the insular cortex would be affected).
Regarding claim 5, said activity of neurons of the insular cortex is modified by applying focused ultrasound stimulation (FUS) ([0503], [0525], [0526], [0648] and [0667]).
Regarding claim 8, said subject is afflicted with an immunodeficient disease (HIV [0662]).
Regarding claim 9, said subject is afflicted with an autoimmune disease (irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) [0270] and [0648]).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, said subject is afflicted with a functional gastrointestinal disorder (FGID) or a symptom thereof wherein said FGID is irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) [0270].
Regarding claim 12, said inhibiting the activity of neurons of the insular cortex comprises altering the activity, abundance or both of dendritic cells, as dendrites are a part of neurons ([0525] and [0667]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 7, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishelevich (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0001096). Regarding claims 6 and 7, while Mischelevich fails to disclose specifically that the subject is afflicted with Crohn's disease or ulcerative colitis (UC), Mischelevich makes treatment of such a subject obvious as Mischelevich discloses the treatment of irritable bowel syndrome (IBS) and the reduction of pain, wherein IBS can cause pain [0270].
Regarding claims 13 and 14, while Mischelevich does not disclose specifically reducing the number of: CD4 and CD45+ T cells and B cells in the intraepithelial layer/lamina propria of said subject, Mischelevich makes such obvious as Mischelevich discloses that inhibiting the activity of neurons of the insular cortex reduces pain ([0648] and [0667], which is a result of inflammatory response associated with CD4 and CD45+ T cells and B cells) and inhibiting the activity of neurons of the insular cortex and the treatment of pain may be related to disorders/diseases such IBS which has an origin in the GI, wherein the intraepithelial layer/lamina propria lies (which is where lymphocytes, such as CD4 are found) [0270].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 5-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12 and 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,724,119 to Rolls et al. While claim 1 of the patent does not explicitly disclose that the step of inhibiting the activity of neurons of the insular cortex treats bowel disease, Rolls et al. makes such obvious in light of patented claims 3, 4, 7 and 8 which teach use of the method in human subjects afflicted with Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, and functional gastrointestinal disorders such as irritable bowel syndrome (IBS).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0368719.
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791