DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 24 June 2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-4 have been amended, claims 5-15 are cancelled, and claims 16-18 are newly added. Claims 1-4 and 16-18 currently stand pending in the application.
The amendments to the claims are sufficient to overcome the previous claim objections, which are accordingly withdrawn. However, further claim objections as necessitated by the current claim amendments are presented below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
The priority date is 29 June 2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: improper antecedence and grammar. Appropriate correction is required. The following amendments are suggested:
Claim 2 / line 4: “into [[a]] the plate opening.”
Claim 4 / line 3: “and the distal respective leg,”
Claim 16 / line 4: “at a distal end”
Claim 17 / line 2: “gripping end portion”
Claim 17 / line 3: “a tab located at [[a]] the distal end of each of the two legs,”
Claim 17 / lines 4-5: “and outwardly [[at]] to a chamfer end”
Claim 18 / line 4: “two legs”
Claim 18 / lines 9-10: “the proximal handle end portion”
Claim 18 / lines 11-12: “proximate to the proximal handle end portion, wherein a dimension of the cross section is larger than a dimension of the gap.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(2) as anticipated by U.S. Patent No. US 8,523,862 to Murashko, Jr. (hereinafter, “Murashko”).
As to claim 1, Murashko discloses a hands free drill guide comprising: a handle having a proximal handle end portion (portion of 12a proximal to the gap 42), FIG. 4, a distal gripping end portion (46, 48), and a longitudinal through-passage (60) extending along a longitudinal axis between the proximal handle end portion and the distal gripping end portion (col. 5 / lines 1-5), FIGS. 5 and 8, wherein the distal gripping end portion includes two legs (46, 48) extending along either side of the through-passage (col. 5 / line 60 – col. 6 / line 11); a tab (protruding lip at tip 38) located at a distal end of each leg (col. 6 / lines 1-5), FIG. 8, wherein the tab includes: an outer radial chamfer (angled surface extending proximally and outwardly from the distal face of tip 38), FIG. 8, configured to allow each leg to bias inwardly toward the other leg when the distal gripping end portion of the guide is inserted into a plate opening (interpreted as language of intended use; the chamfer is fully capable of allowing each leg to bias inwardly toward the other leg as the chamfer slides along and into the plate opening to push its respective leg inwardly, due to the gap 42), wherein the chamfer extends vertically at a chamfer end (vertically extending outer radial surface of the lip adjacent the angled surface of the chamfer) to a radial groove (groove proximal to and defining the lip at 38), FIG. 8; and a convex radial portion (convex portion of 12a above the radial groove) extending above and radially outwardly from the groove, FIG. 8, wherein the tab on each leg is symmetrical with the tab on the other leg about the longitudinal axis, FIG. 8.
As to claim 2, Murashko discloses the hands free drill guide according to claim 1, wherein the legs are movable between a first position wherein the legs are parallel to each other, FIG. 4, and a second position, wherein the legs are biased toward each other during insertion into a plate (interpreted as language of intended use; the legs are fully capable of being biased toward each other during insertion into a plate by compressing across the gap 42).
As to claim 3, Murashko discloses the hands free drill guide according to claim 2, wherein a transverse slot (circular portion at proximal end of 42) is formed at a proximal end of each of the legs, FIG. 4, such that the slot allows the legs to bend toward each other at the proximal ends.
As to claim 4, Murashko discloses the hands free drill guide according to claim 3, further comprising a longitudinal trough (concavity of each leg) extending along an inner surface of each leg between the slot and the distal gripping end portion of the guide (each leg is concave along its length to form the longitudinal through-passage, FIGS. 6 and 8, such that a longitudinal trough extends along an inner surface of each leg including between the slot and the distal gripping end portion), wherein the trough is sized to accommodate a drill when the drill is inserted through the guide (interpreted as language of intended use; the trough is fully capable of accommodating a complementarily sized drill).
As to claim 16, Murashko discloses a hands free drill guide comprising: a proximal handle end portion (portion of 12a proximal to the gap 42), FIG. 4; two legs (46, 48) extending distally from the proximal handle end portion (col. 5 / line 60 – col. 6 / line 11), FIG. 4; a distal gripping end portion located at a distal end of each of the two legs, FIG. 8; a longitudinal through-passage (60) extending through the proximal handle end portion and the distal gripping end portion between the two legs (col. 5 / lines 1-5), FIGS. 5 and 8; and a transverse slot (circular portion at proximal end of 42) extending through the longitudinal through-passage in each of the two legs, the transverse slot having a perimeter defined by an arc of over 180 degrees, FIG. 4.
As to claim 17, Murashko discloses the hands free drill guide according to claim 16, wherein the distal gripping portion comprises: a tab (protruding lip at tip 38) located at a distal end of the two legs (col. 6 / lines 1-5), FIG. 8, the tab comprising an outer radial chamfer (angled surface extending proximally and outwardly from the distal face of tip 38), FIG. 8, extending proximally and outwardly at a chamfer end to a radial groove (groove proximal to and defining the lip at 38) formed in each of the two legs, FIG. 8.
As to claim 18, Murashko discloses a hands free drill guide comprising: a proximal handle end portion (portion of 12a proximal to the gap 42), FIG. 4; two legs (46, 48) extending distally from the proximal handle end portion (col. 5 / line 60 – col. 6 / line 11), FIG. 4, with a gap (42) separating the two leges from each other (col. 6 / lines 1-11, col. 6 / lines 39-40), FIG. 4; a distal gripping end portion located at a distal end of each of the two legs, FIG. 8; and a longitudinal through-passage (60) extending through the proximal handle end portion and the distal gripping end portion between the two legs (col. 5 / lines 1-5), FIGS. 5 and 8, wherein a transverse slot (circular portion at proximal end of 42) is formed at an intersection of the handle end portion and the two legs, FIG. 4, the transverse slot having a cross section (diameter of the circular portion at proximal end of 42) proximate to the handle end portion, wherein the cross section is larger than the gap, FIG. 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0220286 to Garvey et al. discloses a transverse slot 236, FIG. 6A, to allow legs 234 to reversibly deform inwards to allow the post to enter a bore having a smaller diameter opening (par. [0041]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRACY L KAMIKAWA/Examiner, Art Unit 3775