DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claim set submitted on 27 JUNE 2023 is acknowledged and considered. In the claim set, Claims 1-20 are presented and are considered on the merits below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 JUNE 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 JUNE 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 JUNE 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification/Abstract
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The currently submitted abstract consists of 1 sentence, about 14 words.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Figure 1(c) and 2 , character 910. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,605,805 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant invention is directed towards a device while the ‘805 patent is directed towards a method, the device is described verbatim in the method in ‘805. The structural features of the device are described in the method, in which steps b-d of the method are generically claimed. Step a of the method merely claims providing the device.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “temperature control element that maintains the sample…” in Claim 20.
An ‘element’ does not connotate any particular structure. The specification does not provide any description of what an ‘element’ is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In the instant claim in element (ii), it recites ‘on its respective sample surface’, however, a sample surface is not yet positively claimed on each plate yet. To overcome this rejection Examiner suggests ‘(ii) each of the plates has a sample surface, a sample contact area…’
Claims 2-20 depend direct or indirectly from Claim 1 and are also rejected under 112(b).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the mobile communication device". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “element that maintains the sample…” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of that maintains the sample deposited between the two plates at a temperature that facilitates the survival and/or division of the microorganisms is performed by the “element”. There is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to maintain the sample deposited between the two plates. The use of the term “facilitates” is not adequate structure for performing the maintaining function because it does not describe a particular structure for the function and does not provide enough description for one of ordinary skill in the art to understand which brightening structure or structures perform(s) the claimed function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of “maintains the sample deposited between the two plates at a temperature that facilitates the survival and/or division of the microorganisms” . The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHOU, WO 2017/048871 A1 .
The applied reference has a common inventors and assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference CHOU discloses a device for examining drug effects on microorganisms, at least Figure 1, page 21, comprising:
a first plate, a second plate, and spacers, at least Figure 1, pages 24-25, wherein
(i) the plates are movable relative to each other into different configurations, including an open configuration and a closed configuration, at least Figure 1, pages 24-25;
(ii) each of the plates has, on its respective sample surface, a sample contact area for contacting a sample, wherein the sample comprises a microorganism to be analyzed, at least Figure 1, pages 24-25, and
(iii) one or both of the plates comprise the spacers that are fixed to the respective sample contact area, the spacers have a predetermined substantially uniform height, and at least one of the spacers is inside the sample contact area, wherein in the open configuration, the two plates are partially or entirely separated apart, the spacing between the plates is not regulated by the spacers, and the sample is deposited on one or both of the plates; wherein in the closed configuration, which is configured after deposition of the sample in the open configuration, at least part of the sample is compressed by the two plates into a layer of substantially uniform thickness, and the thickness of the layer is confined by the sample contact surfaces of the plates and is regulated by the plates and the spacers, at least Figure 1, at least Figure 1, pages 24-25, 28.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a system.
Regarding Claim 2, the CHOU reference discloses a system for examining drug effects on microorganisms, comprising:(a) a device of claim 1, see Rejection of Claim 1 above and Claim 68 of CHOU; (b) an imager, comprising a camera and a light source for imaging the microorganism in the layer, page 32, 128-129, Claim 68 of CHOU; and (c) a processor, comprising electronics, signal processors, hardware and software for receiving and processing the images and identifying and analyzing the microorganisms in the images, page 23, 131, Claim 68 of CHOU.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a system.
Regarding Claim 3, the reference CHOU discloses a system for examining drug effects on microorganisms, at least Figure 1, page 21, Claim 68 of CHOU, comprising:(a) a device of claim 1, see Rejection of Claim 1 above; (b) a mobile communication device, Claim 68 of CHOU, comprising: (i) an imager that comprises one or a plurality of cameras for imaging the microorganisms in the sample, page 32, 128-129, Claim 68 of CHOU; (ii) a processor that comprises electronics, signal processors, hardware and software for receiving and/or processing the image of the microorganisms and for remote communication, page 23, 131, Claim 68 of CHOU; and (c) a light source from either the mobile communication device or an external source, wherein the light source is configured to provide illumination to the sample for imaging with the cameras, page 23, 29, 131, Claim 68 of CHOU.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 4: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, one or more test reagents that, upon contacting the sample, are dissolved and diffuses in the sample, page 49, 50-52, Embodiment 7, 8 and 11. ; Claim 5; wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, a control zone and an experimental zone, wherein the experimental zone comprises one or more test reagents that, upon contacting the sample, are dissolved and diffuses in the sample, and wherein the control zone comprises no such test reagents, page 49, 50, 51, Figure 10-12; Claim 6: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein the height of the spacers is equal to or less than an average dimension of the microorganisms, page 6 and 62-69. ; Claim 7: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein the height of the spacers is in the range of 75% to 125% of an average dimension of the microorganisms, page 6 and 62-69. ; Claim 8: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plates is transparent, page 27. ; Claim 9: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, a dye that, upon contacting the sample, is dissolved in the sample and stains the microorganisms, page 171. Examiner Note: The instant claim language is directed towards the material worked upon or to be added to onto the device and does not structurally define the invention. Thus, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). ; Claim 10: wherein the device of claim 8, wherein the dye is fluorescently labeled, page 28, 38, 134. ; Claim 11: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, reagents that facilitate the survival and/or division of the microorganism, Figure 10-12, pages 141-142.; Claim 12: wherein the system of claim 2, further comprising :a housing configured to hold the sample and to be mounted to the mobile communication device, page 29.; Claim 13: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the imager is configured to acquire a series of images of the microorganism at discrete time points, Claim 11 of CHOU, page 32. ; Claim 14: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to receive and analyze the series of images, identify and count the microorganism in a first area of each of the images, page 23-24, 32.; Claim 15: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the imager is configured to acquire a video that comprises a series of images of the microorganisms over a first time period, page 140. ; Claim 16: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to receive and analyze the video, identify and track at least a portion of the microorganisms in the video, and evaluate changes of the tracked microorganisms over at least a portion of the first time period, page 140.; Claim 17: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the housing comprises optics for facilitating the imaging and/or signal processing of the sample by the mobile communication device, and a mount configured to hold the optics on the mobile communication device, Claims 70-72 of CHOU.; Claim 18: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the mobile communication device is configured to communicate a test result with a medical professional, a medical facility or an insurance company, page 38-39. ; Claim 19: wherein the system of claim 3, wherein the mobile communication device is a mobile phone, page 28, -29, 38-39. ; and Claim 20: wherein the system of claim 2, further comprising a temperature control element that maintains the sample deposited between the two plates at a temperature that facilitates the survival and/or division of the microorganisms, page 190-191, 194.
Claims 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by METZGER, US Patent 9,657,327.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a device.
Regarding Claim 1, the reference METZGER discloses a device for examining drug effects on microorganisms, Figure 1A-L, Figure 3A-F, comprising:
a first plate, a second plate, and spacers, Figure 3A-F, Column 15 line 24-Column 16 line 2, Column 56 line 51-58, wherein (i) the plates are movable relative to each other into different configurations, including an open configuration and a closed configuration, Column 4 line 8-14; (ii) each of the plates has, on its respective sample surface, a sample contact area for contacting a sample, wherein the sample comprises a microorganism to be analyzed, Column 15 line 24-67, detection surfaces 520, and (iii) one or both of the plates comprise the spacers that are fixed to the respective sample contact area, the spacers have a predetermined substantially uniform height, Figure 1A-D, and at least one of the spacers is inside the sample contact area, Figure 1A-D, wherein in the open configuration, the two plates are partially or entirely separated apart, the spacing between the plates is not regulated by the spacers, and the sample is deposited on one or both of the plates; wherein in the closed configuration, which is configured after deposition of the sample in the open configuration, at least part of the sample is compressed by the two plates into a layer of substantially uniform thickness, and the thickness of the layer is confined by the sample contact surfaces of the plates and is regulated by the plates and the spacers, Figure 1A-L, 3A-F.
Applicant’s invention is directed towards a system.
Regarding Claim 2, the reference METZGER discloses a system for examining drug effects on microorganisms, comprising:(a) a device of claim 1, see Rejection to Claim 1 above; (b) an imager, comprising a camera and a light source for imaging the microorganism in the layer, Column 63 line 8-46, Column 64 line 35-58; and (c) a processor, comprising electronics, signal processors, hardware and software for receiving and processing the images and identifying and analyzing the microorganisms in the images, Column 64 line 35-58, Column 34 line 53-64.
Applicant’s invention is directed to a system.
Regarding Claim 3, the reference METZGER discloses a system for examining drug effects on microorganisms, comprising:(a) a device of claim 1, see Rejection to Claim 1 above; (b) a mobile communication device comprising: (i) an imager that comprises one or a plurality of cameras for imaging the microorganisms in the sample, Column 63 line 8-46, Column 64 line 35-58; (ii) a processor that comprises electronics, signal processors, hardware and software for receiving and/or processing the image of the microorganisms and for remote communication, Column 64 line 35-58, Column 34 line 53-64; and (c) a light source from either the mobile communication device or an external source, wherein the light source is configured to provide illumination to the sample for imaging with the cameras, Column 64 line 35-58.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 4: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, one or more test reagents that, upon contacting the sample, are dissolved and diffuses in the sample, Figure 1A-L, 3A-F, Column 13 line 7-20.; Claim 5: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, a control zone and an experimental zone, wherein the experimental zone comprises one or more test reagents that, upon contacting the sample, are dissolved and diffuses in the sample, and wherein the control zone comprises no such test reagents, Figure 1A-L, 3A-F, see different distinct detection surfaces 520, Column 34 line 33-43.; Claim 6: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein the height of the spacers is equal to or less than an average dimension of the microorganisms, Column 15 line 14-23, Column 30 line 8-35.; Claim 7: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein the height of the spacers is in the range of 75% to 125% of an average dimension of the microorganisms, Column 15 line 14-23, Column 30 line 8-35.; Claim 8: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein at least one of the plates is transparent, Column 64 line 35-64, detector, lenses, illuminators implies that at least part of the plate is transparent for detection.; Claim 9: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, a dye that, upon contacting the sample, is dissolved in the sample and stains the microorganisms, Figure 1-A-L, 3A-F, Column 25 line 14-44, Column 26 line 45-67, Column 33 line 45-67. Examiner Note: The instant claim language is directed towards the material worked upon or to be added to onto the device and does not structurally define the invention. Thus, “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935). ; Claim 10: wherein the device of claim 8, wherein the dye is fluorescently labeled, Column 8 line 42-50, Column 25 line 27-31. ; Claim 11: wherein the device of claim 1, wherein one or both of the plates comprise, on the respective sample contact area, reagents that facilitate the survival and/or division of the microorganism, Column 30 line 9-35, Column 42 line 7-26, Column 48 line 62-Column 49 line 6. ; Claim 12: wherein the system of claim 2, further comprising: a housing configured to hold the sample and to be mounted to the mobile communication device, Figure 2B, Column 9 line 7-23. ; Claim 13: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the imager is configured to acquire a series of images of the microorganism at discrete time points, Column 42 line 27-45, Claim 1.; Claim 14: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to receive and analyze the series of images, identify and count the microorganism in a first area of each of the images, Claim 1.; Claim 15: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the imager is configured to acquire a video that comprises a series of images of the microorganisms over a first time period, Column 42 line 27-45. ; Claim 16: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to receive and analyze the video, identify and track at least a portion of the microorganisms in the video, and evaluate changes of the tracked microorganisms over at least a portion of the first time period, Column 42 line 27-45, Claim 1. ; Claim 17: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the housing comprises optics for facilitating the imaging and/or signal processing of the sample by the mobile communication device, and a mount configured to hold the optics on the mobile communication device, Column 33 line 5-18, Column 34 line 8-33.; Claim 18: wherein the system of claim 2, wherein the mobile communication device is configured to communicate a test result with a medical professional, a medical facility or an insurance company, Column 48 line 1-4. ; Claim 19: wherein the system of claim 3, wherein the mobile communication device is a mobile phone, Column 34 line 53-64, Column 45 line 24-30, Column 48 line 1-4. ; Claim 20: wherein the system of claim 2, further comprising a temperature control element that maintains the sample deposited between the two plates at a temperature that facilitates the survival and/or division of the microorganisms, Column 31 line 1-4, Column 32 line 1-18, Column 68 line 64-Column 69 line 2.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. EP 0 961 110 A2 to BERNDT, submitted on the IDS on 28 JUNE 2023, discloses a device for examining microorganisms, [0001], comprising: a first plate, Figure 2, 3; a second plate, Figure 2, 3; and spacers, Figure 2, 3; wherein (i) the plates are movable relative to each other into different configurations, including an open configuration and a closed configuration, Figure 3; (ii) each of the plates has, on its respective sample surface, a sample contact area for contacting a sample, wherein the sample comprises a microorganism to be analyzed, Figure 3, and (iii) one or both of the plates comprise the spacers that are fixed to the respective sample contact area, the spacers have a predetermined substantially uniform height, and at least one of the spacers is inside the sample contact area, wherein in the open configuration, the two plates are partially or entirely separated apart, the spacing between the plates is not regulated by the spacers, and the sample is deposited on one or both of the plates, Figure 1-16; wherein in the closed configuration, which is configured after deposition of the sample in the open configuration, at least part of the sample is compressed by the two plates into a layer of substantially uniform thickness, and the thickness of the layer is confined by the sample contact surfaces of the plates and is regulated by the plates and the spacers, Figure 1-16.
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797