DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 10-15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quartrini et al. (CN 102529616 A) in view of Polster (11,155,129), Jagob (DE 3228646 A1), Morgan (2,770,155), Bourassa et al. (2,718,165), Peugeot (FR 2074694) and Caithness (GB 1451888; as previously applied to claims 4-6 and 10-15).
Regarding claim 1, Quartrini discloses a tire changing machine comprising: a drive shaft (see objections above) assembly (104) configured to receive a wheel rim for rotation about an axis; a clamping mechanism (300) configured to releasably engage said drive shaft assembly to secure said wheel rim to said drive shaft assembly; a plurality of tools (202/203) configured to mount a tire on said wheel rim and to demount said tire from said wheel rim; wherein said clamping mechanism includes an annular wheel cone (321) seated on an upper axial end of a tubular spindle assembly (310) sized for placement within a central bore of said drive shaft assembly, said annular wheel cone having a conical surface configured to engage a surface of said wheel rim, and a handle assembly (323) affixed to said upper axial end of said tubular spindle assembly, said handle assembly configured to transfer an applied rotational torque to said spindle assembly; and a set of externally threaded portions (312) contained within said spindle assembly and seated for radial displacement within a bore in said tubular spindle, said threaded portions configured to engage, in a first radially displaced position, at least one spiral channel (internal threads 107 of axial bore 108) formed into an inner surface of the axial/central bore of said drive shaft assembly, and to withdraw radially within said spindle assembly in a second position, said externally threaded portions responsive to axial displacement of a push rod (331) within said spindle assembly to transition between said first and second positions.
However, Quartrini fails to specifically disclose an input selector(s) for operation of the tools, or that the spiral channel (internal thread of the drive shaft assembly) engaging/disengaging structure of the spindle may include ball bearings.
Regarding the input selector, Polster discloses a very similar machine, also having a plurality of tools for performing different mounting/dismounting operations on a tire, and teaches that the machine includes at least one input selector (110a/b and 154) configured for operation by a human operator to direct operation of said plurality of tools during a tire service procedure for said wheel assembly secured by said clamping mechanism. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide similar input selectors to the machine of Quartrini, to allow for similar manual operation and control of the tools of the machine, as is very well known in the art.
Regarding the ball bearings and push rod structure, each of Jagob, Morgan and Bourassa (all provided merely for teachings of advantages of ball threads over the standard threads disclosed by Quartrini) disclose a linear clamping mechanism, having a spiral channel, effectively forming threads, for actuation of the linear clamp in axial directions, as a result of rotation of a spindle that is positioned within an axial bore, and that a set of ball bearings engage the spiral channel. Jagob discloses that the ball bearings, known as ball screws, are known in various technologies, have simple production and can be easily adjusted (paragraph 5 of English translation) and are capable of absorbing large clamping forces (paragraph 8). Morgan specifically discloses that the ball bearing interaction with the channel provides advantages over threaded screw and nut configurations that are more commonly applied to such linear clamping means (Col. 1, lines 20-24), to prevent retrograde movement once rotation is stopped (effectively securing the clamp in place) and also allowing for substantially greater loads to be sustained (Col. 1, lines 50-67), thus providing advantages over the respective engaging threads taught by Quartrini. Additionally, Bourassa teaches that the ball bearing structure provides mechanical advantage to the clamping mechanism, which may be modified to provide specific mechanical advantage depending on the needs of the device (Col. 1, lines 31-65). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to replace the engaging/disengaging structure of the spindle of Quartrini with a set of ball bearings, as taught by Jagob, Morgan and Bourassa, due to the teaching of such structure being applicable in place of traditional threads of similar linear clamping means, to absorbing large clamping forces, allowing for greater securing of the wheel during operations that are known in the art to place large loads on the wheel, to prevent retrograde movement once positioned, effectively maintaining the clamping force during operations on the wheel, and for providing desired mechanical advantages. Further, Peugeot discloses a similar ball thread mechanism having an internally “threaded” outer shaft (C’), spindle assembly (5a) and push rod (21) that more closely resemble the configuration of Quartrini, and therefore would obviously be relied upon to modify the structure of Quartrini to adapt to the ball thread mechanisms taught by Jagob, Morgan and Bourassa. Peugeot further discloses that the spindle comprises a set of ball bearings (7) seated for radial displacement within a plurality of spiral-spaced radial bores (8a), said set of ball bearings configured to engage, in a first position (as shown in Fig. 4), the at least one spiral channel (6a) formed into the inner surface of a central bore, and to withdraw radially within said spindle assembly in a second position (when plunger 16 is pressed), said ball bearings responsive to the axial displacement of the push rod within said spindle assembly to transition between said first and second positions. Additionally (addressing the new limitations added to claim 1, that are similar to previously examined claim 4), Peugeot discloses that the push rod is axially located within said spindle assembly, said push rod having an upper axial end (16) extending axially beyond said upper axial end of said spindle assembly and a lower axial end defining a cylinder (20) contained coaxially within a lower axial end of said spindle assembly, said cylinder having a recess (15a) in an outer surface arranged in a spiral-spaced configuration.
Finally, regarding the claimed plurality of discrete radially oriented recesses, Caithness discloses another similar releasable ball thread mechanism, and teaches that a linearly actuated control rod (11; in this case a cylinder, but having identical function to the second end of the push rod of Peugeot) for user actuation to release the engagement of the ball bearings as needed may have a plurality of radially oriented recesses (12) arranged in a spiral-spaced configuration (to correspond to the position of the ball bearings along the threaded member 5), which allows the ball bearings to enter the bores in a disengaged position, and would be understood to anyone of ordinary skill in the art to be easier to manufacture than the continuously extending, and much longer, single helical recesses taught by Peugeot, due to the spaced recesses being circular bores that may be drilled or machined much faster and easier than a helical recess that is internal or external to a similar actuator or push rod. Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to replace the single radial helical recess of Peugeot, with individual discrete radial recesses that are spiral-spaced, as taught by Caithness.
Regarding claim 2, Quartrini further discloses that said annular wheel cone is releasably secured to said handle assembly, coaxial with said spindle assembly (English language translation paragraph 43 indicates that the frusto-conical portion is removable for different sizes, as seen between Figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 3, Quartrini discloses that the springs (334) on the externally threaded portions bias the externally threaded portions to the first position (paragraph 50) and Peugeot also discloses that the push rod is spring- biased towards a first axial position in which said ball bearings are displaced to said first position, which will effectively maintain the clamping mechanism in the first/engaged position to maintain a locked state unless actuated by a user to the second/release state. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide a similar spring, as taught by Peugeot, to the push rod of Quartrini, when providing the ball bearings to the locking assembly in place of the externally threaded portions, as discussed above, such that said ball bearings in are each radially displaced from said discrete radially oriented recesses and into said first positions.
Regarding new claim 19, Quartrini, as modified primarily by Peugeot and Caithness, as discussed above for claim 1, will function such that a second axial position of said push rod aligns said radially oriented recesses with said spiral-spaced bores to seat each of said ball bearings in said second position partially within an associated radially oriented recess.
Regarding claim 5, Quartrini, as modified primarily by Peugeot and Caithness, as discussed above for claim 1, will function such that an external surface of said cylinder member is configured to displace said ball bearings radially outward towards said first position when said push rod is displaced to said first axial position.
Regarding claim 10, Quartrini, as modified primarily by Peugeot and Caithness, as discussed for claim 1, will provide the tire changing machine as claimed, with the push rod located axially within said hollow spindle assembly and terminating at a first end axially outward of said handle assembly, as taught by Peugeot and Polster (discussed for claim 1), and the cylindrical member at a second end, being biased to axially translate between the first and second positions as claimed.
Regarding claim 11, Quartrini further discloses that the central bore of the drive assembly Includes a wheel receiving flange (M) coaxial with the central bore. Further, Peugeot and Jagob teach the at least one spiral channel recessed into the inner surface of said central bore, in place of the internally threaded bore of Quartrini, with the channel configured to receive at least a portion of each of said ball bearings when said push rod and said cylindrical member are in said first axial position with said ball bearings in said second position at least partially protruding radially outward from said associated radial bores in said hollow spindle assembly, as discussed for claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the annular cone of Quartrini is configured to seat against an edge of a wheel rim center bore.
Regarding claim 13 the annular wheel cone of Quartrini is disclosed to be interchangeable with at least one additional annular wheel cone having a different clinical surface configuration (having different sizes).
Regarding claim 14, Quartrini further discloses that said annular wheel cone is releasably secured to said handle assembly, coaxial with said spindle assembly (English language translation paragraph 43 indicates that the frusto-conical portion is removable for different sizes, as seen between Figs. 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 15, Quartrini, as modified primarily by Peugeot, as discussed for claims 1-4, will be spring biased towards said first axial position within said hollow spindle assembly, as discussed for claim three.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2 June 2026, with respect to the prior art rejections of claims 1-3, 5 and 10, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant first argues (pages 11-12 that the modification suggested by the examiner to modify the invention of Quartrini in view of the teachings of Jagob, Morgan, Bourassa and Peugeot would not make the claimed invention obvious as amended, suggesting that none of the secondary teaching use radially oriented recesses to receive the ball bearings in an inner cylinder. Additionally, the applicant suggests that the secondary references have inner and outer helical/spiral channels, as opposed to only the outer channel of the claimed invention, and that none of the secondary references teach a plurality of discrete recesses. However:
Each of Jagob, Morgan and Bourassa are only applied as teachings of the advantages of ball threads over standard threads, but are not relied upon for any specific teaching of structure to modify Quartrini.
Although Peugeot does define an internal channel (15a), as opposed to the claimed discrete recesses, the channel functions in the same manner as the recesses of the claimed invention, to allow the balls to shift radially inwardly into the channel (15a) and disengage the outer helical/spiral channel.
Finally, the Caithness reference is also applied, as previously applied to claims 4 and 10 (which previously introduced the plural recesses) as additional teaching that plural discrete recesses are also well known in the art of ball threads, as opposed to the internal channel (15a) of Peugeot.
The applicant then argues (first full paragraph of page 13) that the Caithness reference teaches individual recesses that allow the ball bearings to be displaced outwardly to disengage the helical/spiral channels, as opposed to the inward displacement of the claimed invention. However, based on the structure of Quartrini, having threads that are inwardly displaceable to disengage the threaded channel, and Peugeot, which also has ball bearings that are displaceable inwardly, the teaching of Caithness is relied upon for the teaching of individual recesses for each ball bearing, but does not need to be relied upon for any other modification to Quartrini, based on the more similar structure of Peugeot. Regardless, the concept of individual recesses on the push rod (or other actuator to control position of the ball bearings) would be applicable to Quatrini, even with internal helical/spiral channels of Caithness, in view of the external threaded channel(s) of Quartrini as a simple reversal or rearrangement of parts (see MPEP 2144.04, section VI, A and C).
Then the applicant next argues (page 14) that new claim 19 and amended claim 5 would overcome the previously applied prior art, effectively for the same reason that Caithness is argued immediately prior. Again, the examiner maintains that modifying the threaded engaging surfaces of Quartrini to be ball threads, as taught by the secondary references, considered as a whole, would result in the orientation of the helical/spiral channels, push rod cylinder and spindle assembly of Quartrini having the same functions as set forth in claims 5 and 19.
Finally, the applicant argues (page 15), regarding claim 10, that the combination of references fails to motivate or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace an inner spiral channel located on the cylindrical portion of the push rod with a plurality of discrete spiral spaced recesses. However, as discussed above, the Caithness references teaches a known alternative of individual spiral spaced recesses, having identical function to the channel (15a) of Peugeot, such that it would have been obvious to replace the single channel with plural recesses.
The amendments to claim 10 have overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) and 112(b).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of Corghi (10,132,720) and Gonzaga (2018/0222261) disclose wheel clamping mechanisms for a tire changing machine, having similar structure and function as the applicant’s claimed invention.
/BRYAN R MULLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723 25 June 2026