DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment filed on 11/20/2025 has been received and entered. Application No. 18/214,927 Claims 1-17 are now pending. Claims 1, 8, 9, 13, 15 & 16 have been amended. Claim 17 is new.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment necessitated new grounds of rejection for newly added claim 17.
This action is made final in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 9-13, 15 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM et al. (U.S. Pub 2020/0403949) hereinafter Kim, in view of Sutherland et al. (U.S. Pat 10,484,313) hereinafter Suther, in view of Bhogal et al. (U.S. Pub 2009/0313085) hereinafter Bhogal.
As per Claim 1, Kim teaches An information processing system that performs information processing related to chat-type communication among a plurality of users, the information processing system comprising: one or more processors programmed to acquire sent content that is sent from a first user in a chat, and (Fi. 3C, ¶68 wherien the query message 331 may include query content input from the first user and may include an answer function 332 for creating an answer message to the query content wherien if the user receives the query message 331 and selects the answer function 332, a user interface for receiving the answer content may be provided)
generate a reply content from a second user with respect to the sent content, (Fig. 3D, ¶69, ¶70 wherein If the second user inputs answer content through the answer function 332 included in the query message 331, an answer message 351 to the query message 331 may be forwarded to the server 340 and the answer message 351 may be displayed in the chatroom 1 in association with the query message 331.)
wherein a first option associated with a destination in a virtual space displayed via an electronic device of the second user, and (Fig. 6, ¶74, ¶75, ¶78 wherein the first screen 610 represents an example in which a forwarded query message 611 is displayed in the chatroom 3. The query message 611 may include a user interface for viewing other answer messages created for the corresponding query message 611. For example, referring to a first box 612 indicated with dotted lines on the first screen 610, a link “view other answers” for displaying other answer messages created for the query message 611 is set)
the destination is determined based on the sent content. (Fig. 6, ¶78 wherien In response to a selection from the user on the link “view other answers,” the first screen 610 of the chatroom 3 may be switched to the second screen 620 and answer messages 621 and 622 created for the query message 611 may be displayed. The second user may verify the answer messages 621 and 622 that are already created for the query message 611 regardless of creating an answer to the query message 611, or to create the answer to the query message 611. Also, the second user may recommend contents of the answer messages 621 and 622. Even in this case, a most recommended message, for example, the answer message 622 to the query message 611, may be displayed to be distinguished from other answer messages, for example, the answer message 621 to the query message 611.)
However, Kim does not explicitly teach generate a plurality of options related to reply content from a user with respect to the sent content, the plurality of options include a first option associated with a destination in a virtual space, the plurality of options includes a second option associated with the destination in the virtual space, the second option being displayed differently from the first option.
Suther teaches teach automatically generate a plurality of options related to reply content for selection by a user with respect to the sent content, (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 21-33, Col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue. In some instances, these user interface elements 113 can be rendered as separate user interface elements 113. In other instances, the issues may be presented as a sub-elements of a single user interface element (e.g., as options in a list of options, etc.) wherien wherein a subsequent rendering of the user interface 103 on the display 106 of the client device 109 in response to a user selecting an issue from the issues previously presented in the user interface 103. As shown in Fig 1 the sent content is from the “messaging assistant customer service” allows for the automatic generation of reply content (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) wherein the user selects issue 2 as shown in Fig. 2 )
the plurality of options include a first option associated with a destination in a virtual space, the plurality of options includes a second option associated with the destination in the virtual space, (Fig. 1, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, col. 2 lines 21-33, Col. 2 lines 54-67, col. 9 lines 20-43 wherein proceeding to box 1006, the chat bot 809 sends a first response to the client application 819. The first response can include a message and a list of options that a user can select. The individual options in the list of options can reflect child nodes of or branches from the current node in the decision tree 816 wherein Moving on to box 1009, the chat bot 809 receives a first reply from the client application 819. The first reply can include an identifier of an option selected by the user of the client application 819. In response, the chat bot selects an appropriate child node of the currently selected node within the decision tree 816, wherein the child node corresponds to the option selected by the user wherein wherien the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue. wherien the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue. Examiner interprets the issues to be different options associated with the destination in the virtual space/resolution of issues by relying on the chat bot/human help. )
the second option being displayed differently from the first option. (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 21-33, Col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue. Examiner interprets issues 1, 2 and 3 be inclusive of a second option that is displayed differently from the first option as shown in Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of decision tree navigation through text messages of Suther with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim because Suther teaches an improved decision tree guiding an artificially intelligent service agent's conversation by allowing for a user to navigate a decision tree or a similarly modeled workflow in a bi-directional manner. Should a user change his or her mind about a response provided to a message from an artificially intelligent service agent (e.g., a “chat bot”), the user can delete or otherwise cancel his or her response. This allows for the user to arbitrarily change the path the user wishes to follow through a decision tree without having to restart from the beginning. In the following discussion, a general description of the system and its components is provided, followed by a discussion of the operation of the same. (col. 2 lines 3-20)
Kim as modified previously taught the destination and the virtual space. However, Kim does not explicitly teach the destination being a virtual destination for a virtual avatar of the second user in the virtual space, and the destination is determined based on the send content that is sent from the first user in the chat.
Bhogal teaches the destination being a virtual destination for a virtual avatar of the second user in the virtual space, and the destination is determined based on the send content that is sent from the first user in the chat. (Fig. 1, ¶50 wherein the owner can send a message to the invited parties to tell them that he or she is requesting them to evaluate his or her products if the evaluation invitation does not include an image or video of the owner, then the evaluator would need to track down the owner. The evaluator would search for the owner avatar, and invite him or her to teleport to the evaluator's location. Then the evaluator would give the owner avatar the evaluation right away)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of interactive product evaluation and service within a virtual universe of Bhogal with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim as modified because Bhogal teaches an improved facility for a virtual universe resident (i.e., a user or avatar that uses the virtual universe) to invite other members of the virtual universe to evaluate their virtual product items wherein providing a medium to an avatar that is on-line in a virtual universe to evaluate the virtual universe product; and receiving an evaluation of the virtual universe product from the avatar (¶3, ¶4)
As per Claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further programmed to, when a first response based on the first option is made, automatically execute movement-related processing to the destination associated with the first option, and (Fig. 2, Col. 2 lines 54-67 wherein a subsequent rendering of the user interface 103 on the display 106 of the client device 109 in response to a user selecting an issue from the issues previously presented in the user interface 103; as taught by Suther)
the movement-related processing includes at least one of (i) processing that causes movement to the destination in the virtual space and (ii) processing that outputs a display that enables movement to the destination in the virtual space.(Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue; as taught by Suther)
As per Claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein the one or more processors generate a link to the destination. (Fig. 6, ¶74, ¶75, ¶78 wherein the query message 611 may include a user interface for viewing other answer messages created for the corresponding query message 611 wherein a link “view other answers” for displaying other answer messages created for the query message 611 is set; as taught by Kim)
As per Claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein a plurality of the first options is generated with respect to the sent content, and (Fig. 1, col. 2 lines 21-33 wherien the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue.; as taught by Suther)
at least one of the plurality of the first options is generated based on at least one of first parameters from among (i) the electronic device of the second user, (ii) an item in the virtual space possessed by the second user, (iii) a status of the second user, and (iv) a relationship between the second user and the first user. (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue wherien An issue can have multiple sub-issues if there are multiple options for resolving the issue. For example, a user that wishes to return an item can resolve the issue by having the item replaced, having the purchase amount refunded, etc. Examiner interprets Issue 2 to be related to an item purchased /possessed by the user; as taught by Suther)
As per Claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein each of the plurality of options is associated with a first value of a second parameter or a second value of the second parameter different from the first value. .(Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue wherien an issue can have multiple sub-issues if there are multiple options for resolving the issue. For example, a user that wishes to return an item can resolve the issue by having the item replaced, having the purchase amount refunded, etc. ; as taught by Suther)
As per Claim 10, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further programmed to, when a first response based on the first option is made, acquire a predetermined item associated with the first option or attach the predetermined item to the virtual avatar in the virtual space. (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered (issue 2.1, issue 2.2) that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue wherien An issue can have multiple sub-issues if there are multiple options for resolving the issue. For example, a user that wishes to return an item can resolve the issue by having the item replaced, having the purchase amount refunded, etc.; as taught by Suther)
As per Claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further programmed to execute movement-related processing to the destination associated with the first option for which the first response is made when attachment or acquisition of the predetermined item is realized, and (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue wherien An issue can have multiple sub-issues if there are multiple options for resolving the issue. For example, a user that wishes to return an item can resolve the issue by having the item replaced, having the purchase amount refunded, etc. Examiner interprets Issue 2 to be related to an item purchased /possessed by the user; as taught by Suther)
the movement-related processing includes at least one of (i) processing that causes movement to the destination in the virtual space and (ii) processing that outputs a display that enables movement to the destination in the virtual space. .(Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue; as taught by Suther)
As per Claim 12, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein the predetermined item is determined based on the sent content. (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered (issue 2.1, issue 2.2) that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue wherien An issue can have multiple sub-issues if there are multiple options for resolving the issue. For example, a user that wishes to return an item can resolve the issue by having the item replaced, having the purchase amount refunded, etc. wherein the predetermined item is an item related to a purchase that requires a refund; as taught by Suther)
As per claim 13, the rejection of claim 2 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein the electronic device of the second user has a constant connection mode that maintains a state of being connected to a network, and (Fig. 1, ¶55, ¶56 wherein the network environment may include a plurality of electronic devices 110, 120, 130, and 140, a plurality of servers 150 and 160, and a network 170 wherein Each of the plurality of electronic devices 110, 120, 130, and 140 may be a fixed terminal or a mobile terminal that is configured as a computer apparatus. For example, the plurality of electronic devices 110, 120, 130, and 140 may be a smartphone, a mobile phone, a navigation device, a computer, a laptop computer, a digital broadcasting terminal, a personal digital assistant (PDA), a portable multimedia player (PMP), a tablet PC, and the like. For example, although FIG. 1 illustrates a shape of a smartphone as an example of the electronic device 110, the electronic device 110 used herein may refer to one of various types of physical computer apparatuses capable of communicating with other electronic devices 120, 130, and 140, and/or the servers 150 and 160 over the network 170 in a wireless or wired communication manner; as taught by Kim)
during the constant connection mode, the one or more processors automatically determine one of the plurality of options related to the reply content with respect to the sent content, and automatically make a second response based on the one of the plurality of options. (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 54-67 wherien the user has previously selected that he or she would like help with “Issue 2.” In response, the user interface 103 has been updated to reflect a new message asking the user to select a sub-issue. A new set of user interface elements 203 are rendered that allow a user to select an individual sub-issue wherien An issue can have multiple sub-issues if there are multiple options for resolving the issue. For example, a user that wishes to return an item can resolve the issue by having the item replaced, having the purchase amount refunded, etc.; as taught by Suther)
Claim 15 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 15 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to Claim 1; therefore, Claim 16 is rejected under the same rationale as Claim 1.
Claim(s) 4 & 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Suther in view of Bhogal as applied to claims 2 & 3 above, and further in view of WILLIS et al. (U.S. Pub 2023/0188482) hereinafter Will.
As per Claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified previously taught generate the link. However, Kim as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors generate the link according to a type of the electronic device from among a plurality of types of electronic devices.
Will teaches wherein the one or more processors generate the link according to a type of the electronic device from among a plurality of types of electronic devices. (¶40 wherien server 102 generates links to chatbot galleries having arbitrary property-value pairs to support serving chatbot galleries based on different context parameters (e.g., according to device type, geography, past behavior, etc.). )
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of facilitating chat-based application interactions of Will with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim as modified because Will teaches a mechanism to increase revenue, improve customer retention, and achieve other important objectives by enabling a central repository/platform for the deployment, promotion, and management of chatbots in disparate contexts such as over non-conformed cellular networks or messaging applications. The solution presented herein further enables tracking of user interactions associated with deployed chatbots to provide data useful for optimization of business objectives, such as promotional or advertising success through click tracking, interaction tracking, and conversion tracking. (¶4)
As per Claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified further teaches wherein the first option includes a message, a text, a symbol, or an image representing or suggesting a first electronic device type configured to be connected to a network, and (Fig. 6, ¶74, ¶75, ¶78 wherein the first screen 610 represents an example in which a forwarded query message 611 is displayed in the chatroom 3. The query message 611 may include a user interface for viewing other answer messages created for the corresponding query message 611. For example, referring to a first box 612 indicated with dotted lines on the first screen 610, a link “view other answers” for displaying other answer messages created for the query message 611 is set; as taught by Kim; Fig. 6, ¶74, ¶75, ¶78 wherein the first screen 610 represents an example in which a forwarded query message 611 is displayed in the chatroom 3. The query message 611 may include a user interface for viewing other answer messages created for the corresponding query message 611. For example, referring to a first box 612 indicated with dotted lines on the first screen 610, a link “view other answers” for displaying other answer messages created for the query message 611 is set; as taught by Suther)
However, Kim as modified does not explicitly teach the one or more processors further determine whether the first electronic device type has been used, when the first response based on the first option is made, and execute the movement-related processing when it is determined that the first electronic device type has been used.
Will teaches the one or more processors further determine whether the first electronic device type has been used, when the first response based on the first option is made, and (Fig. 3, ¶66 wherien a particular chatbot may not be available on a platform based on a context of a client device accessing the chatbot such as a network the client device is operating on, the client device type, an operating system version of the client device, whether the chatbot initiation is triggered via a website or an application, or a location of the client device. In various embodiments, the one or more fallback methods are specific to each chatbot and/or each network. For example, server 102 may store configuration information associated with a first chatbot including a first fallback method of making a chatbot available via SMS and may store configuration information associated with a second chatbot including a second fallback method of redirection to a website and/or mobile application. In various embodiments, server 102 utilizes the one or more fallback methods in the event that a chatbot is unavailable given the context of a client device attempting to access the chatbot.)
execute the movement-related processing when it is determined that the first electronic device type has been used. (Fig. 4, ¶70 wherien server 102 may identify, based on the indication received in step 410, a chatbot and an invocation method associated with the chatbot and the network. For example, server 102 may perform a lookup in a data structure such as a database using a chatbot identifier and/or a network identifier to identify the invocation method. In various embodiments, the invocation method is specific to a context of a client device such as a network the client device is operating on, the client device type, an operating system version of the client device, whether the chatbot initiation is triggered via a website or an application, or a location of the client device. In some embodiments, step 420 includes determining that an invocation method is not available for a client device based on the context of the client device and determining a fallback method.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of facilitating chat-based application interactions of Will with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim as modified because Will teaches a mechanism to increase revenue, improve customer retention, and achieve other important objectives by enabling a central repository/platform for the deployment, promotion, and management of chatbots in disparate contexts such as over non-conformed cellular networks or messaging applications. The solution presented herein further enables tracking of user interactions associated with deployed chatbots to provide data useful for optimization of business objectives, such as promotional or advertising success through click tracking, interaction tracking, and conversion tracking. (¶4)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Suther in view of Bhogal in view of Will as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Kotsopoulos et al. (U.S. Pub 2023/0004260) hereinafter Kot.
As per Claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the first option includes the image, and the image includes a stamp of the chat.
Kot teaches wherein the first option includes the image, and the image includes a stamp of the chat. (Fig. 7, Fig. 8 , ¶102, ¶103 wherien one or more of the personalized media content items. An example of an item selection user interface, included in diagrammatic representation 700, is shown in FIG. 7. FIG. 7 illustrates the text input “HELLO” in area 710 and presentations 720 of the personalized media content items, which are avatars wherien a chat messaging user interface, in which a personalized avatar incorporating the text input “HELLO” is included in area 810)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of hybrid search system for customizable media of Kot with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim as modified because Kot teaches an improved messaging system that provides avatars configured to incorporate textual phrases and to permit a user to personalize an avatar by specifying the text to be incorporated into the presentation of the avatar. Avatars that can be personalized by specifying the text to be incorporated into an avatar are referred to as customizable avatars, for the purposes of this description. An avatar that has been configured to incorporate text provided by a user is referred to as a personalized avatar. A personalized avatar that integrates user-provided input, such as letters, words, phrases, and expressions, can be overlaid on top of media content items (such as photos or videos), can be included in chat messages, can be stored for future use. (¶19)
Claim(s) 8 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Suther in view of Bhogal as applied to claims 1 & 13 above, and further in view of KIM (U.S. Pub 2023/0031018) hereinafter Kim2.
As per Claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified previously taught the plurality of options. However, Kim as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of options includes (i) the first option which accompanies a change in status of the second user and (ii) a third option which does not accompany the change in status of the second user.
Kim2 teaches wherein the plurality of options includes (i) the first option which accompanies a change in status of the second user and (ii) a third option which does not accompany the change in status of the second user. (Fig. 1, ¶58, ¶59, ¶60 wherein the user may see that two new messages are received from Brown in the chat room list of the instant messaging application wherein the user may select (122) “Send waiting message” or “Hide”, “Mute notification”, “Fix chat room” and “Delete” wherein the waiting message includes I’m driving or I’m in a meeting…etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of managing messages on instant messaging application of Kim2 with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim as modified because Kim2 teaches an improved methods and/or apparatuses for managing messages on an instant messaging application, and more particularly, to methods and apparatuses for sending a waiting message and maintaining the new message as an unread message in a situation in which it is not possible to check a received new message or to continue a conversation in response to the new message. (¶2)
As per Claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified previously taught the constant connection more. However, Kim as modified does not explicitly teach the one or more processors automatically make the second response when the second user is in a predetermined state.
Kim2 teaches wherein during the constant connection mode, (¶66 wherein the plurality of user terminals 210_1, 210_2, and 210_3 may communicate with the information processing system 230 through the network 220. The network 220 may be configured to enable communication between the plurality of user terminals 210_1, 210_2, and 210_3 and the information processing system 230. )
the one or more processors automatically make the second response when the second user is in a predetermined state. (¶29 wherien in a situation in which it is not possible to check a received new message or to continue a conversation in response to the new message, the status of the user can be notified to the counterpart by automatically sending a waiting message.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of managing messages on instant messaging application of Kim2 with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim as modified because Kim2 teaches an improved methods and/or apparatuses for managing messages on an instant messaging application, and more particularly, to methods and apparatuses for sending a waiting message and maintaining the new message as an unread message in a situation in which it is not possible to check a received new message or to continue a conversation in response to the new message. (¶2)
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Suther in view of Bhogal as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blackstock et al. (U.S. Pat 11,069,103) hereinafter Black.
As per Claim 17, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference; Kim as modified previously taught the second option , the second user. However, Kim as modified does not explicitly teach wherein movement-related processing is automatically executed when a second response based on the second option is made only when a device condition related to the electronic device of the second user is satisfied.
Black teaches wherein movement-related processing is automatically executed when a second response based on the second option is made only when a device condition related to the electronic device of the second user is satisfied. (Fig. 1, Fig. 2, Fig. 5A-5C, col. 4, lines 20-50, col. 10 lines 50-67, col. 11 lines 1-30 wherien Some embodiments may include one or more wearable devices, such as a pendant with an integrated camera that is integrated with, in communication with, or coupled to, a client device 102 wherien the avatar may be generated in conjunction with a media content item wherien user avatars involved in a conversation (e.g., an electronic group chat) are displayed along the top of the chat interface window, and presented on the display screens of the computing devices of the users in the chat wherien the facial expressions and other features of the users may change dynamically as the conversation progresses and as the users' moods are reassessed by the system wherien the appearance of the avatars generated by the system and presented on the display screens of the users' devices may further be modified based on actions taken by the respective users during a conversation. For example, a user may select an option within the group chat displayed in FIGS. 5A-5C to change the user's status from “online” to “away” or “do not disturb.” In response, the system may modify the avatar corresponding to the user from displaying the user's avatar above the top line of the chat window (in FIG. 5A) to showing the user's avatar “hiding” below the top line of the chat window in a contracted state. The contracted state could also be shown in response to the user not participating in the chat for a predetermined period of time, muting the group conversation the user is involved in, or other actions. Other representations, such as showing the avatar turning his/her back could also be used to indicate a user is unavailable, or not participating, in a conversation)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the teaching of customized user interface for electronic communication of Black with the teaching of providing answer message to query message of Kim as modified because Black teaches and improved functionality of electronic messaging software and systems by providing a customized display of avatars corresponding to users exchanging electronic communications, such as short message service (SMS) or multimedia service (MMS) texts and emails. The appearance of the displayed avatars may be dynamically altered based on the actions taken by the users, as well as based on the content of the messages between the users or information from other sources. (Abstract)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to newly added claim 17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection wherien Black is relied upon to teach the following limitation “wherein movement-related processing is automatically executed when a second response based on the second option is made only when a device condition related to the electronic device of the second user is satisfied”.
Applicant argues with respect to amended claim 1, on page 8 of the Remarks that “The combination of teachings from the cited art would not have rendered obvious the combination of claimed features. Specifically, the rejection acknowledges that Kim and Sutherland fail to disclose associating any automatically generated option with a virtual destination for a virtual avatar. Instead, the rejection newly cites Bhogal for disclosing a virtual world in which avatars evaluate virtual products. Specifically, the rejection cites Figure 1 and 1 [0050] of Bhogal for describing that an evaluator (an avatar that wants to evaluate a virtual product) can invite the product owner avatar to teleport to the evaluator's location. According to the rejection, Kim's chatroom would be modified to display Bhogal's teleportation invitation sent to a virtual product owner for purposes of allowing the evaluating avatar to evaluate the virtual product. As such, the virtual product owner would correspond to the claimed "second user" (i.e., the user that would reply to the invitation) according to the rejection. It would not have been obvious for the virtual product owner (second user) to be automatically provided with two different moving type reply options, let alone two different reply options "displayed differently" from each other (as claimed) and being associated with the same destination in the virtual space (as claimed). In other words, it would not have been obvious to provide the virtual product owner with two different invitation reply options from the evaluating avatar for teleporting to the same virtual destination, let alone to display those two invitation reply options differently from each other. Accordingly, withdrawal of the rejections is respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Additionally, Examiner points to newly cited portions of Suther, in addition to previously cited portions of Suther to address the newly added limitations. Examiner points to Fig. 1, Fig. 9, Fig. 10, col. 2 lines 21-33, Col. 2 lines 54-67, col. 9 lines 20-43 for teaching wherein proceeding to box 1006, the chat bot 809 sends a first response to the client application 819. The first response can include a message and a list of options that a user can select. The individual options in the list of options can reflect child nodes of or branches from the current node in the decision tree 816 wherein Moving on to box 1009, the chat bot 809 receives a first reply from the client application 819. The first reply can include an identifier of an option selected by the user of the client application 819. In response, the chat bot selects an appropriate child node of the currently selected node within the decision tree 816, wherein the child node corresponds to the option selected by the user wherein wherien the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue. wherien the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation and based on the broad claim language, one can argue that the issues to be different options associated with the destination in the virtual space/resolution of issues by relying on the chat bot/human help and therefore teaches the limitation reciting the plurality of options include a first option associated with a destination in a virtual space, the plurality of options includes a second option associated with the destination in the virtual space.
Additionally, Examiner points to Suther Fig. 1, Fig. 2, col. 2 lines 21-33, Col. 2 lines 54-67 for teaching the user interface 103 shows a message asking a user to select an issue the user would like addressed or for which the user is seeking assistance. The user interface 103 also contains a plurality of user interface elements 113 from which the user can select an issue (e.g., “Issue 1,” “Issue 2,” and “Issue 3”) or type of issue. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation and based on the broad claim language, one can argue that issues 1, 2 and 3 be inclusive of a second option that is displayed differently from the first option as shown in Fig. 1. Therefore, the combination of the cited prior art does teach the argued limitations above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-Form 892 for listed of cited references.
Inquiry
/ANGIE BADAWI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179