Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the French Republic on 06/27/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the FR 2206398 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “2d” within Fig.7 and “2c” within Fig.12.
Claim Objections
Claim objected to because of the following informalities:
Within claim 5, line 5: “an height” should be “a height”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the cable" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites “wherein, in the first position, the additional platform is” after reciting within claim 1 that it is the “at least one shrouding movable between a first position and a second position,” (line 10), and “in the second position the at least one shrouding allows access to the moving device from the platform and the at least one shrouding forms an additional platform…and wherein the additional platform is arranged on the second side of the running path” (lines 17-21). These limitations within claim 1 describe the “additional platform” as being the result of the at least one shrouding being in the second position. Therefore, the limitations within claim 2 are unclear when referencing the additional platform in the first position. Examiner recommends changing this limitation to “in the first position, the at least one shrouding”. This rejection likewise applies to claims 3 and 8-10.
Claims 4-7 are likewise rejected due to their dependency upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofer (EP 1405779 A1).
Regarding claim 1: Hofer teaches a terminal of an aerial transportation installation provided with at least one carrier vehicle, the terminal comprising:
- a moving device configured to drive the at least one carrier vehicle in the terminal, the moving device defining a running path of the at least one carrier vehicle in the terminal, the moving device comprising a plurality of moving parts designed to move said at least one carrier vehicle in the terminal (apparent from Fig.1);
- a platform arranged on a first side of the running path, the platform being configured to allow an operator to move alongside the moving device and to enable him/her to perform maintenance operations on the moving device (1: Fig.2);
- at least one shrouding (top of 5; Fig.2) device and prevent access to the moving device from the platform (5 covering drive wheels Fig.2),
Hofer teaches the claimed invention except for the top of the shrouding being separable into a second position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the top of shrouding separable into a second position, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C).
Regarding claim 2: Hofer further teaches the terminal according to claim 1 wherein, in the first position, the additional platform is at least partially arranged on the first side with respect to the running path (steps of 5; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 3: Hofer further teaches the terminal according to claim 2 wherein, in the first position, the additional platform is arranged mainly on the first side with respect to the running path (steps of 5; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 8: Hofer further teaches the terminal according to claim 1 wherein, in the first position, the additional platform forms the at least one shrouding (5 covering drive wheels; Fig.2).
Regarding claim 10: Hofer further teaches a method for performing maintenance of a terminal of an aerial transportation installation comprising the following steps:
- providing a terminal according to claim 1 (Fig.2);
- moving the additional platform (5; Fig.2) from the first position (Fig.2)
Hofer teaches the claimed invention except for the top of the shrouding being separable into a second position. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the top of shrouding separable into a second position, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofer and Coudurier et al. (US 20090050012 A1).
Regarding claim 9: Hofer teaches the terminal according to claim 1 including the additional platform (5; Fig.2) in a first position (Fig.2). Hofer does not teach the additional platform being mounted rotatable into a second position.
However, Coudurier teaches the use of a hinged platform being mounted rotatable into a second position (31; Fig.2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the terminal of Hofer to include the additional platform having a hinge to rotate the platform to improve access to the terminal components underneath for effective maintenance with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to teach the combination of limitations recited in the dependent claims 4-7.
More specifically, the prior art fails to teach in the second position, the additional platform is arranged in a space designed to be occupied by the grip as claimed within claim 4. There is no suggestion to modify the terminal of Hofer to include an obstructing platform and combining this feature would change the principal of operation of the reference.
The prior art fails to teach a roof panel and wherein the roof panel defines a supplementary platform designed to support the operator, the supplementary platform being offset from the additional platform in a first direction perpendicular to the running path of said at least one carrier vehicle, the supplementary platform being located at a lower height than an height of the additional platform and offset to arrange the additional platform between a plurality of wheels forming the plurality of moving parts and supplementary platform so that the additional platform forms a work surface as claimed within claim 5. It would require an improper level of hindsight to combine these features in the specific orientation with the prior art as claimed.
Further, the prior art fails to teach wherein the additional platform is formed by a first plate and a second plate, the second plate being fitted movable with respect to the first plate, the second plate being fitted movable between a protection position and a retracted position, wherein in the protection position the second plate extends upwards from the first plate and wherein in the retracted position the second plate is pressing against the first plate as claimed within claim 7. It would require an improper level of hindsight to combine these features in the specific orientations with the prior art as claimed.
Conclusion
/HEAVEN R BUFFINGTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615