Detailed Notice
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 9/30/2026 has entered prosecution.
Claim 8 has entered the record.
The amendment to Claim 1 has been entered.
Claims 1-8 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Applicant refers to “ANAB” but does not define this acronym anywhere. Attention is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kirkpatrick (US 20160004152 A1) in view of Tyler et. al “Removal of Organic Contamination from Graphene with a Controllable Mass-Selected Argon Gas Cluster Ion Beam” J. Phys. Chem. C 2015, 119, 31, 17836–17841.
Regarding Claim 1-3, 5-7, Kirkpatrick teaches a method for treating the surface of a substrate to reduce defects using an accelerated neutral beam (i.e. ANAB) derived from a gas cluster ion beam [0001]. Kirkpatrick teaches a method according to Fig. 3 shown below.
Kirkpatrick teaches that a processing apparatus comprises a beamline chamber (#1107) for enclosing an ionizer, an accelerator region, and a work-piece processing region [0050]. Kirkpatrick teaches that the system is held at approximately 0.8 pascal-cm, which is understood to be a reduced pressure [0050]. Kirkpatrick teaches that a neutral beam comprises Argon [0058]. Kirkpatrick teaches that gas cluster ions are formed by a gas cluster ion beam (GCIB, #1128), where it is understood that the gas cluster ions are composed of Ar gas [0050]. Kirkpatrick teaches an exemplary acceleration voltage of 30 kV to accelerate the GCIB [0050], but also discloses that the acceleration voltage may be from 3 kV to 70 kV [0022]. Kirkpatrick teaches that a neutral beam (#1314) is formed from the energetic dissociated components of the GCIB which is then used to irradiate the workpiece (#1160) which is placed on (understood to be mounted to) the workpiece holder (#1162) [0050]. Kirkpatrick teaches that a deflection plate is used in the path of the GCIB in order to deflect the ionized portion of the GCIB into a deflection plate, resulting in a beam with a current of zero, meaning there all charge has been removed from the beam [0050]. Kirkpatrick teaches that the neutral ion beam is a fully dissociated neutral monomer beam [0028]. Kirkpatrick demonstrates that a neutral beam may be used to more finely etch a surface than a conventional charged ion beam is capable of (GCIB) [0056-0059 and Fig. 5C and 5D].
However, Kirkpatrick does not teach that the accelerated beam of neutral atoms targets and purifies a graphene product by the removal of contaminants using the beam path.
Tyler teaches a method of purifying graphene, understood to be a 2D lattice material, using mass selected argon ion-beam clusters to remove surface contaminants [abstract]. Tyler teaches that graphene has contamination layers which degrade the performance of the material, such as the polymers substrates used to produce and transfer the graphene layers [Pg. 1, Col 1., Para. 2]. Tyler teaches that Ar plasma has been used to clean graphene, but that the ionized radiation exposes the graphene to electromagnetic radiation, free radicals, excited state atoms, monoatomic ions, radical species, and free electrons with broad energy distribution [Pg. 2, Col. 1, Para. 1]. In contrast, gas cluster ion sources have been more recently used in order to find conditions which provide sufficient energy for removing contaminants without damaging the structure of the graphene layers [Pg. 2, Col. 1, Para. 1]. Tyler teaches the use of a variety of kinetic energies of the Ar cluster ion beam (see Fig. 2 and caption for Fig. 2), wherein GCIB was shown useful for removing contaminants from the graphene surface, although no conditions were found in which the contaminants were removed and the graphene was left pristine [Conclusion, Pg. 5, Para. 1.]. Thus, Tyler teaches a need for a different method to clean graphene that produces a more pristine cleaning product.
Prior to the filing of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the treatment of graphene by a gas-cluster ion beam, as per Tyler, could be improved by the substitution of the accelerated neutral beam device, as per Kirkpatrick, for the GCIB of Tyler in order that one would arrive at a method for removing contaminants from a graphene surface with a finer degree of control and resulting in less structural damage to the graphene with a reasonable expectation of success. As shown above, the combination of Kirkpatrick in view of Tyler teaches to all the required steps of the instant claimed process. Accordingly, as the courts have held that a method which discloses all the steps but is silent as to additional properties is understood to inherently teach those steps, the rejection here is maintained (see MPEP 2112.02 I).
Regarding Claim 4, Kirkpatrick teaches that the step of promoting fragmentation features increasing the range of velocities of ions in the accelerated gas cluster ion beam [0010].
Regarding Claim 8, Kirkpatrick in view of Tyler teaches to Claim 1.
However, Kirkpatrick in view of Tyler does not teach that the graphene used as the material to be etched is grown on a Cu layer with a polymer over the graphene, layer, then removed from the Cu layer and placed on a silicon dioxide substrate and then subjected to ANAB etching.
Tyler discloses the use of CVD grown graphene, where graphene is grown on Cu, a PMMA layer is spun onto the grown graphene, and then the graphene is transferred to a quartz substrate (e.g. silicon dioxide) prior to exposure to the etching method [Pg 2, Col. 2, Para. 2].
Prior to the filing of the present invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have used the CVD-growth and transfer method disclosed by Tyler as the graphene substrate to be etched in method for purifying a substrate surface by ANAB etching, as per Kirkpatrick in view of Tyler, to yield the predictable result of obtaining a purified graphene product.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Kirkpatrick in view of Tyler does not disclose the claimed invention, as Tyler states that there were no examples wherein a completely undamaged product was obtained. This is not compelling as the scope of these arguments are not commensurate with the claimed subject matter. That is, as the combination of Kirkpatrick in view of Tyler teaches to the method of Claim 1, if there is differentiating subject matter which would distinguish the instant application from the prior art, specifically with respect to the cluster sizes, as is argued, applicant is advised to incorporate those supposed differences into the claims. Further, applicant is advised that the use of ANAB, as per Kirkpatrick, to the graphene material and substrate, as per Tyler, is the basis of the rejection. Kirkpatrick is modified to use the graphene of Tyler as a substrate to be cleaned, which is improved by the use of ANAB, for which the combination thus discloses the instant invention.
Applicant has provided an affidavit supplying supplemental arguments and explanation to the differences in the prior art to the instant invention. Examiner wants to sincerely thank the applicant, as this is an uncommonly useful degree of detail and information which will help serve to obtain the best results during prosecution. Applicant explains that the ANAB method disclosed by the combination of Kirkpatrick in view of Tyler does not disclose conditions in which the process would “eliminate graphene damage during cleaning”. This is not compelling for a two reasons.
First, the arguments being made within the affidavit are not commensurate with the scope of the instant claims, as the detail which is being argued here that acts as the differentiating elements between the instant work and the prior art are not articulated within the claim scope. Specifically, if the detail regarding the specific gas clusters generated are necessary and supposed to be differentiating, then this should be provided in the claim language. However, it will be noted that much of the provided information in this affidavit is not within the instant specification. Attention should be taken.
Second, applicant argues that the ANAB experiments they had done used ANAB cluster energies of 5 eV per atom or lower, corresponding to an accelerating voltage of 5 kV. As shown in the rejection, Kirkpatrick discloses the use of this acceleration voltage during the formation of the GCIB, and further teaches “A Neutral Beam apparatus can provide well focused, accelerated, intense neutral monomer beams with particles having energies in the range of from about 1 eV to as much as a few thousand eV” [0027]. Accordingly, it is unclear how the system of Kirkpatrick would not produce the same result as the ANAB system of Kirkpatrick teaches the same energy per particle as the argument that the applicant is making.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHANAEL JASON. DOWNES
Examiner
Art Unit 1794
/NATHANAEL JASON DOWNES/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/BRIAN W COHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759