DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The cooling flow path (61) of OKUHATA is an internal surface of the housing (10) as broadly claimed (see Fig. 3 and para [0038]) and the discharge hole (19), into which the sealing cap (80) is inserted, is in contact with the cooling unit (60) at a lower end of the cooling flow path (61) (see Fig. 2 and para [0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-11, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by OKUHATA (US 20200212755).
Regarding claim 1, OKUHATA discloses a cooling structure comprising:
a housing (10) having a cooling channel (61) defined in the housing through which a coolant flows; and
a sealing cap (80) fitted to a hole (19) of the housing (10) to seal the hole (19), wherein the sealing cap (80) comprises a blocking member configured to be in contact with an internal surface of the housing (10) (see annotated inset, Fig. 2, below).
Regarding claim 3, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 1, wherein the blocking member is band-shaped and is provided on one surface of the sealing cap (80) (see inset, Fig. 2, above).
Regarding claim 6, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 1, wherein the sealing cap (80) is press-fitted into the housing (10)(see para [0083]).
Regarding claim 7, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 1, wherein the hole (19) is configured for demolding when the housing (10) is cast. (The hole is so configured as broadly claimed. “The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)” MPEP 2213.I.)
Regarding claim 8, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 1, wherein the cooling channel (61) comprises a plurality of channel portions spaced apart from each other and extending in the housing (10) in in various directions (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 8, wherein the hole (19) is provided between adjacent ones (i.e. 61c and 63, among others) of the channel portions.
Regarding claim 10, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 9, wherein the sealing cap (80) comprises a blocking member positioned between adjacent ones of the channel portions in the hole (19), and wherein the blocking member is disposed in the sealing cap (80) to be in contact with an internal surface of the housing (10) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 1, wherein the housing (10) is a part of an in-wheel motor of a vehicle (see para [0089]).
Regarding claim 17, OKUHATA discloses a motor (1) comprising: a stator (30) including a housing (10) including a cooling channel (61) and a hole (19) being in fluid communication with the cooling channel (61), wherein a coolant flows through the cooling channel (61); and a sealing cap (80) fitted to the hole (19), wherein the sealing cap (80) includes a blocking member (horizontal portion) configured to be in contact with an internal surface of the housing (10), the blocking member protruding from a portion of the sealing cap (80) (see annotated inset, Fig. 2, above).
Regarding claim 19, OKUHATA discloses the motor of claim 17, wherein the sealing cap (80) is press-fitted into the housing (10)(see para [0083]).
Regarding claim 20, OKUHATA discloses the motor of claim 17, further comprising a rotor (30) configured to rotate with respect to the stator (30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUHATA in view of ANDERSSON.
Regarding claim 4, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 1.
However, OKUHATA does not disclose the blocking member comprises a rubber material.
ANDERSSON discloses a sealing system in a stator cooling system for electric machines made of rubber (70) (see para [0041]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the cooling system of OKUHATA with the blocking member comprising a rubber material similar to ANDERSSON.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a secure, leak-proof seal (see para [0041]).
Regarding claim 18, OKUHATA discloses the motor of claim 17.
However, OKUHATA does not disclose the blocking member is formed of rubber, and the sealing cap (80) is formed of steel.
ANDERSSON discloses a sealing system in a stator cooling system for electric machines made of a combination of steel (60) and rubber (70) (see para [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the cooling system of OKUHATA with the blocking member is formed of rubber, and the sealing cap (80) is formed of steel, similar to ANDERSSON.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide support for a sealing system and provide a secure, leak-proof seal, as taught by ANDERSSON (see para [0040]-[0041]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKUHATA in view of BIRCH (US 5220233), and further in view of KIM (US 20170302137).
Regarding claim 5, OKUHATA discloses the cooling structure of claim 1. However, OKUHATA does not disclose the sealing cap and the housing are formed of a steel material.
BIRCH discloses a cooling system for an electrical machine with coolant passages, the stator being made of steel (see abstract).
KIM discloses a cooling system for an electrical machine with coolant passages and a fixing member made of steel (see para [0044]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the cooling system of OKUHATA with the sealing cap and the housing are formed of a steel material, similar to KIM and BIRCH.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a sealing cap and housing with similar thermal coefficients of expansion as taught by KIM (see para [0044]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834