The claims received 3/6/2026 are entered. Claims 4 and 10-13 are withdrawn. Claim 5 is cancelled. Claims 14-15 are new.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4 and 10-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/27/2023.
Claim Interpretation
The term “expansion mechanism” of is not interpreted under §112f as the term is understood in the art to cover a broad class of structures that takes its name from the function performed, i.e. expansion. A term is not required to denote a specific structure of precise physical structure in order to avoid application of 35 U.S.C. §112(f). MPEP 2181(I)(A).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 2 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 2 lack a colon after “the first unit includes” and “the first unit further includes”, respectively. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 6-9, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 each recite “the adsorbent circulates in the first unit together with the refrigerant” however dependent claims 6-9, 14, and 15 all include a separator that separates the refrigerant and absorbent within the first unit. Thus the circulation together is not within the entirety of the first unit but rather a subset thereof. Because the claims limitations are incongruent the scope is not clear.
Claims 1 and 2 each recite “the adsorbent circulates in the first unit together with the refrigerant”. A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). It is unclear whether infringement … occurs when one creates a system that allows the step to occur, or whether infringement occurs when the step actually occurs. MPEP 2173.05(p) II.
The examiner notes in other instances the claims use phrases such as “that” and “in which” to distinguish that the element is configured to perform some function rather than setting forth the function. Note that claims 7-9 depend from claim 6 which recites “that” within “separator that separates”.
Claims 3, 14, and 15 recite “has not yet been” however the refrigeration cycle apparatus is a cycle in a closed loop form. The refrigerant has previously been compressed by the repeating closed loop cycle thus the phrase is not being used consistent with its accepted meaning. The examiner suggests using phrases such as “upstream” and “downstream” to denote relative position within the cycle.
Claims depending from a rejected claim are rejected due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feldman (WO96/35079).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Feldman discloses a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising:
a first unit (170 of figure 9) configuring a refrigeration cycle in which a refrigerant circulates; and
an adsorbent (“hydride particles” discussed throughout the disclosure) that adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant circulating in the first unit, wherein
the adsorbent adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant in accordance with a change in a pressure of the refrigerant circulating in the first unit (high and low pressure units shown in the figures),
the adsorbent is powder (abstract, 25:4, 28:27 all state the hydride is in powder form),
the adsorbent circulates in the first unit together with the refrigerant (page 21, line 25 to page 23, line 2),
the first unit includes:
a compressor (175) that compresses the refrigerant,
an expansion mechanism (180) that decompresses the refrigerant,
a first heat exchanger (174) in which the refrigerant compressed by the compressor is adsorbed by the adsorbent, and
a second heat exchanger (173) in which the refrigerant decompressed by the expansion mechanism (180) is desorbed from the adsorbent.
Regarding claim 3, Feldman discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the first unit further includes
a high-pressure region in which the refrigerant that has been compressed by the compressor and that has not yet been decompressed by the expansion mechanism flows (region between compressor 175 outlet and expansion valve 180 inlet), and
a low-pressure region in which the refrigerant that has been decompressed by the expansion mechanism and that has not yet been compressed by the compressor flows (region between expansion mechanism 180 outlet and compressor 175 inlet), and
the adsorbent adsorbs the refrigerant in the high-pressure region and desorbs the refrigerant in the low-pressure region (21:25 to 23:2).
Regarding claim 6, Feldman discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising:
a separator that separates the refrigerant circulating in the first unit and the adsorbent circulating in the first unit from each other, wherein
after being separated from the refrigerant by the separator, the adsorbent merges with the refrigerant compressed by the compressor or the refrigerant decompressed by the expansion mechanism.
Regarding claim 7, Feldman the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the separator (identified in annotated figure above) separates the refrigerant in the low-pressure region and the adsorbent from each other, and
the refrigeration cycle apparatus further comprises a pressurizer (176) that pressurizes the adsorbent separated from the refrigerant by the separator.
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schukey (US 5,121,606).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Schukey discloses (refer to figure 4 unless otherwise noted) a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising:
a first unit (circuit of figure 4) configuring a refrigeration cycle in which a refrigerant circulates; and
an adsorbent (“metal powder” 2:47-58) that adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant circulating in the first unit, wherein
the adsorbent adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant in accordance with a change in a pressure of the refrigerant circulating in the first unit,
the adsorbent is powder (“metal powder” 2:47-58),
the first unit includes:
a compressor (1) that compresses the refrigerant,
an expansion mechanism (5) that decompresses the refrigerant,
a first heat exchanger (7) in which the refrigerant compressed by the compressor is adsorbed by the adsorbent, and
a second heat exchanger (2) in which the refrigerant decompressed by the expansion mechanism is desorbed from the adsorbent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, 9 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rebrovic (US 9,885,002) in view of Feldman (WO96/35079) or Schukey (US 5,121,606).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Rebrovic discloses (references are made to figure 3 unless otherwise noted) a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising:
a first unit (100) configuring a refrigeration cycle in which a refrigerant circulates; and
an adsorbent (2:44-45) that adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant circulating in the first unit, wherein
the adsorbent adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant in accordance with a change in a pressure of the refrigerant circulating in the first unit (1:33-40),
the adsorbent circulates in the first unit together with the refrigerant,
the first unit includes:
a compressor (112) that compresses the refrigerant,
an expansion mechanism (118) that decompresses the refrigerant,
a first heat exchanger (114) in which the refrigerant compressed by the compressor is adsorbed by the adsorbent, and
a second heat exchanger (120) in which the refrigerant decompressed by the expansion mechanism (118) from the adsorbent.
Rebrovic lacks that the adsorbent is powder. Feldman discloses utilizing a powder adsorbent that circulates within the unit (pages 23-24). Schukey discloses a powder adsorbent that circulates within the unit (“metal powder” 2:47-58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Rebrovic with a powder adsorbent in order to take advantage of the hydrogen/metal hydride refrigerant/adsorbent pairing, provide a high rate of heat exchange, and utilize widely available materials.
Regarding claim 3, Rebrovic discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the first unit further includes
a high-pressure region in which the refrigerant that has been compressed by the compressor and that has not yet been decompressed by the expansion mechanism flows (circuit from 112 to 118), and
a low-pressure region in which the refrigerant that has been decompressed by the expansion mechanism and that has not yet been compressed by the compressor flows (circuit from 118 to 112), and
the adsorbent adsorbs the refrigerant in the high-pressure region and desorbs the refrigerant in the low-pressure region.
Regarding claim 6, Rebrovic discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising:
a separator (121 or 113) that separates the refrigerant circulating in the first unit and the adsorbent circulating in the first unit from each other, wherein
after being separated from the refrigerant by the separator, the adsorbent merges with the refrigerant compressed by the compressor or the refrigerant decompressed by the expansion mechanism (refrigerant and co-fluid merge in 172).
Regarding claim 7, Rebrovic the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the separator (121) separates the refrigerant in the low-pressure region and the adsorbent from each other, and
the refrigeration cycle apparatus further comprises a pressurizer (111) that pressurizes the adsorbent separated from the refrigerant by the separator.
Regarding claim 9, Rebrovic discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 6, but lacks centrifugal separation.
In the previous office action on the merits the Examiner took Official Notice that centrifugal separation is old and well known. In his subsequent reply to this office action, the applicant did not traverse Examiner’s assertion of Official Notice with regard to these elements. Therefore the Official Notice statements by the Examiner regarding these elements are now taken as admitted prior art by Applicant. See MPEP §2144.03(C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Rebrovic with centrifugal separation in order to enhance separation of the fluid.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Rebrovic further discloses the first unit further includes a high-pressure region in which the refrigerant that has been compressed by the compressor and that has not yet been decompressed by the expansion mechanism flows, and a separator (113) that separates the refrigerant in the high-pressure region and the adsorbent from each other.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-7, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scaringe et al (US 5,582,020) in view of Feldman (WO96/35079) or Schukey (US 5,121,606).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Scaringe discloses (references are made to figures 2 or 3 in the alternative) a refrigeration cycle apparatus comprising:
a first unit configuring a refrigeration cycle in which a refrigerant circulates; and
an adsorbent (1:36-40) that adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant circulating in the first unit, wherein
the adsorbent adsorbs and desorbs the refrigerant in accordance with a change in a pressure of the refrigerant circulating in the first unit,
the adsorbent circulates in the first unit together with the refrigerant,
the first unit comprises:
a compressor (“vapor compressor”) that compresses the refrigerant,
an expansion mechanism (throttling valve”) that decompresses the refrigerant,
a first heat exchanger (“adsorber”) in which the refrigerant compressed by the compressor is adsorbed by the adsorbent, and
a second heat exchanger (“generator”) in which the refrigerant decompressed by the expansion mechanism is desorbed from the adsorbent.
Regarding the adsorbent as a powder Scaringe discloses the use of metal hydrides in a liquid carrier (table 1 at column 9), but does not explicitly state that the metal hydride is in powder form. Feldman discloses utilizing a powder adsorbent that circulates within the unit (pages 23-24). Schukey discloses a powder adsorbent that circulates within the unit (“metal powder” 2:47-58). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Scaringe with a powder adsorbent in order to take advantage of the hydrogen/metal hydride refrigerant/adsorbent pairing, provide a high rate of heat exchange, and utilize widely available materials.
Regarding claim 3, Scaringe discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
the first unit further includes
a high-pressure region (from compressor outlet to throttle inlet) in which the refrigerant that has been compressed by the compressor and that has not yet been decompressed by the expansion mechanism flows, and
a low-pressure region (from throttle outlet to compressor inlet) in which the refrigerant that has been decompressed by the expansion mechanism and that has not yet been compressed by the compressor flows, and
the adsorbent adsorbs the refrigerant in the high-pressure region and desorbs the refrigerant in the low-pressure region.
Regarding claim 6, Scaringe discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising:
a separator (as shown in figure 2 the mixture separates at the generator) that separates the refrigerant circulating in the first unit and the adsorbent circulating in the first unit from each other, wherein
after being separated from the refrigerant by the separator, the adsorbent merges with the refrigerant compressed by the compressor or the refrigerant decompressed by the expansion mechanism (as shown in figure 2 the adsorbent and refrigerant mix after compression).
Regarding claim 7, Scaringe discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 6, wherein
the separator separates the refrigerant in the low-pressure region and the adsorbent from each other (the generator is in the low pressure region), and
the refrigeration cycle apparatus further comprises a pressurizer (“liquid pump”) that pressurizes the adsorbent separated from the refrigerant by the separator.
Regarding claim 9, Scaringe discloses the refrigeration cycle apparatus according to claim 6, but lacks centrifugal separation.
In the previous office action on the merits the Examiner took Official Notice that centrifugal separation is old and well known. In his subsequent reply to this office action, the applicant did not traverse Examiner’s assertion of Official Notice with regard to these elements. Therefore the Official Notice statements by the Examiner regarding these elements are now taken as admitted prior art by Applicant. See MPEP §2144.03(C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Scaringe with centrifugal separation in order to enhance separation of the fluid.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. As well as addressing the issues raised under §112(b) above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 8 describes that the separator separates refrigerant and adsorbent from each other in the high pressure region and a depressurizer that depressurizes the adsorbent. This is in addition to the expansion mechanism of claim 3.
While it is known to place a depressurizer and expansion mechanism in parallel, e.g. Yamanaka et al US 6,321,564 figure 13, the instant claim provides that the depressurizer depressurizes the adsorbent while the expansion mechanism decompresses refrigerant and further includes a separator to separate the adsorbent from the refrigerant. Moreover this is in the high pressure region where the adsorbent has adsorbed the refrigerant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Regarding Feldman, applicant makes particular arguments against figures 10 and 15. Figure 9 is relied upon above.
Regarding Schukey, applicant argues that the adsorption and desorption are opposite of the instant invention. In response, the claim does not make this distinction. As the cycle is a closed loop the refrigerant being adsorbed has been previously compressed. The refrigerant being desorbed has been previously decompressed. In other words the refrigerant is repeatedly undergoing compression and decompression during its use within the cycle.
Regarding Rebrovic and Scaringe applicant argues that said references do not utilize powder adsorbent. Feldman and Schukey are provided who both utilize a powder adsorbent that circulates through the heat pump.
Further regarding a powder a liquid suspension with powder is regarded as including powder in distinction from a solution in which a powder would be dissolved.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lugosch (US 9,612,043) – compression-adsorption heat cycle
Spauschus et al (US 6,073,454) – reduced pressure CO2 refrigeration system
Scaringe et al (US 5,826,436) – additive for improving vapor compression cycle
Bergmann et al (US 4,967,566) solution cycle
Mucic (US 4,918,945) binary solution circuit
Radermacher (US 4,724,679) non-azeotropic working fluid mixtures
Baker (US 2,307,380) solution cycle
Tanaka et al (US 2024/0019178) solution cycle
Samkhan (US 10,712,057) – centrifugal separation
Satheesh “Performance investigations of a single-stage metal hydride heat pump”
Lambert et al “A review of Solid-Vapor Adsorption heat pumps”
/CHRISTOPHER R ZERPHEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799