DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2019/0024931 A1) and in view of Hiraki (US 2016/0245566 A1).
In regards to claim 1, Suzuki teaches a control assembly (30, 26) for a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (see abstract and figs. 1-2), the control assembly comprising: a thermostat (26, 30); a sensor (99) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (paragraph 38);
a blower (7f, 5f);
a blower motor (motors of fans 7f, 5f, see paragraph 34) configured to turn the blower to generate an air flow (fan 7f operated to generate airflow, see paragraph 23 and figs. 4-5) comprising outside air (all air includes/originates from outside air including air flow by fans 5f and 7f); and
a controller (30) configured to:
receive, via the thermostat, a call for heating or cooling a space conditioned by the HVAC system (controller 30 receives operational signal based on the manipulation/command from operation unit 26, see paragraph 26; wherein temperature settings and air-conditioning operations with operation of fan7f are set by the operation unit 26, see paragraph 31 and fig. 1);
operate, based on the call, the blower motor (motor of fan 7f, see paragraph 34) to cause the blower (7f) to circulate a first flow of the air flow across a coil (airflow across heat exchanger 7 by operation of fan 7f) of the HVAC system and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2) for a first time period (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67; Also see clock unit 30a for clocking operation time of fan 7f, paragraph 26) based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see cooling or heating operations where fan 7f is operated, paragraph 19);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (detection signal from refrigerant leak sensor 99 received by the controller 30, see paragraphs 25, 38); and
operate, based on the feedback, the blower motor to cause the blower to circulate a second flow of the air flow across the coil of the HVAC system and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2) for a second time period (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7) based on a detected leak mode of the HVAC system (fan 7f operation based on refrigerant leak, see paragraph 48), wherein the detected leak mode differs (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48) from the normal operating mode (fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54); wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises outside air (because all air originates as outside air, at least a portion of the second air flow would also contain outside air). In addition, Suzuki teaches that the controller is configured to block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system during the detected leak mode (by turning off the main source power, see fig. 5; wherein turning off main source power stops operation of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 41, 48).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly that for a second time period the compressor is blocked.
Hiraki teaches a sensor (6) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38); and a controller (5) configured to:
operate a blower (fan 4) to cause a blower to circulate a first airflow across a coil (8) of the HVAC system based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see fig. 2 and paragraph 37);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38 and step S1, fig. 4);
operate the blower (blower operation at step S2, see fig. 4 and paragraph 50) to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system (see fig. 2) for a second time period (see fan operation for specific time period at step S5, fig. 4) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45); and
block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period (control unit 5 stops the compressor operation at step S2 for the specified time period at step S5, fig. 4 and paragraph 50) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45; steps S2 and S5 depend upon and follow the start of the operation of fig. 4 and follow the step S1 of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to operate the blower to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system for a second time period in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode and block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period in response to initiating the detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode based on the teachings of Hiraki for the advantage of diffusing the refrigerant in the air while preventing the compressor from pumping the refrigerant to the refrigerant leak spot (see paragraph 52, Hiraki).
In regards to claim 2, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first time period based on the normal operating mode (fan 7f operation during normal/first operation mode, see paragraph 48) includes a start time corresponding to activation of the blower motor (starting fan 7f operation in the normal operation, see paragraph 43) and an end time corresponding to the call of the thermostat being satisfied (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation till the end of normal operation or end of fan operation with the second manipulation, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67).
In regards to claim 5, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the second time period concludes with the detected leak mode being cleared (second time period of 10hrs is sufficient for the amount of sealed refrigerant in the air-conditioning, see paragraph 39, which implies that the second time period ends with the leak mode being cleared, see paragraphs 48-50 and 61).
In regards to claim 6, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the coil corresponds to an evaporator coil (evaporator heat exchanger 7, see paragraphs 19, 28 and figs. 1, 3-4).
In regards to claim 8, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller is configured to operate, based on the feedback (based on leak detection by sensor 99),
the blower motor to cause the blower to circulate the second flow of the air flow across the coil of the HVAC system for:
the second time period based on the detected leak mode (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, see figs. 5-76); and
after a delay period subsequent to the second time period (a gap of time period between 7hrs and 13hrs, see figs. 5-6), a third time period based on the detected leak mode (operation of fan 7f for additional 3hrs or 10hrs after the delay under the forced operation mode based on leak detection, see figs. 5-7 and paragraphs 48-50).
In regards to claim 9, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first time period differs from the second time period (fan 7f operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode and before the force operation, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54; and fan 7f operation in a forced and second operation mode for a second period, see figs. 5-6 and paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 10, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the sensor is configured to detect a concentration of the refrigerant leaked from a refrigerant circuit of the HVAC system into air (see refrigerant concentration detection unit 99, paragraph 38), and the controller is configured to initiate the detected leak mode in response to determining that the concentration exceeds a threshold value (forced operation of operating the indoor fan 7f in the second operation mode initiated at step S3 based on refrigerant concentration exceeding a threshold value at step S2, see paragraphs 52-54 and fig. 7).
In regards to claim 11, Suzuki teaches a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (see abstract and figs. 1-2) configured to condition an interior space (conditioned air supplied to the indoor space via outlet 113, see paragraph 30-31), comprising:
a coil (refrigerant tube within evaporator heat exchanger 7, see figs. 1 and 3-4);
a blower assembly comprising a blower (7f, 5f) and a blower motor (motors of fans 7f, 5f, see paragraph 34) configured to turn the blower to generate an air flow (fan 7f operated to generate airflow, see paragraph 23 and figs. 4-5) comprising outside air (all air includes/originates from outside air including air flow by fans 5f and 7f); and
a control assembly (30, 26) comprising:
a sensor (99) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (paragraph 38); and a controller (30) configured to:
operate, based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see cooling or heating operations where fan 7f is operated, paragraph 19; and normal operation mode or first operation mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67), the blower assembly (blower fan 7f and motor, see figs. 1, 3-5 and paragraph 34) to circulate a first flow of the air flow across the coil (airflow across heat exchanger 7 by operation of fan 7f; fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67; Also see clock unit 30a for clocking operation time of fan 7f, paragraph 26) and then toward the interior space (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (detection signal from refrigerant leak sensor 99 received by the controller 30, see paragraphs 25, 38); and
initiate, based on the feedback, a detected leak mode (initiating a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48 and fig. 7); and
operate, during and/or based on the detected leak mode (fan 7f operation based on refrigerant leak detection and forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48), the blower assembly to circulate a second flow of the air flow across the coil of the HVAC system (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7) and then toward the interior space (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2), wherein the detected leak mode differs (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48) from the normal operating mode in the blower assembly operation time, blower assembly operation speed or both (fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54); wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises outside air (because all air originates as outside air, at least a portion of the second air flow would also contain outside air). In addition, Suzuki teaches that the controller is configured to block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system during the detected leak mode (by turning off the main source power, see fig. 5; wherein turning off main source power stops operation of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 41, 48).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly that for a second time period the compressor is blocked.
Hiraki teaches a sensor (6) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38); and a controller (5) configured to:
operate a blower (fan 4) to cause a blower to circulate a first airflow across a coil (8) of the HVAC system based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see fig. 2 and paragraph 37);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38 and step S1, fig. 4);
operate the blower (blower operation at step S2, see fig. 4 and paragraph 50) to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system (see fig. 2) for a second time period (see fan operation for specific time period at step S5, fig. 4) in response to and during a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48; fan operating during the process of fig. 4) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45); and
block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period during the detected leak mode (control unit 5 stops the compressor operation at step S2 for the specified time period at step S5, fig. 4 and paragraph 50, where step S5 belongs to the detected leak mode of fig. 4) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45; steps S2 and S5 depend upon and follow the start of the operation of fig. 4 and follow the step S1 of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to operate the blower to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system for a second time period in response to initiating and during a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode and block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period in response to initiating and during the detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode, where second time period entirely falls within the detected leak mode, based on the teachings of Hiraki for the advantage of diffusing the refrigerant in the air while preventing the compressor from pumping the refrigerant to the refrigerant leak spot (see paragraph 52, Hiraki).
In regards to claims 12 and 13, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses a thermostat (26, 30); and wherein the controller (30) is configured to:
receive, from the thermostat, a call for heating or cooling the interior space (controller 30 receives operational signal based on the manipulation/command from operation unit 26, see paragraph 26; wherein temperature settings and air-conditioning operations with operation of fan7f are set by the operation unit 26, see paragraph 31 and fig. 1); and
initiate the normal operating mode (normal or first operation mode initiated by controller 30) in response to the call for heating or cooling (in response to first manipulation from operating unit 26) and based on the normal operating mode, operate the blower assembly to circulate the first flow of the air flow across the coil until the call is satisfied (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67); and
operate the blower assembly to circulate the second flow of the air flow for a predefined time period or until the detected leak mode is cleared based on the detected leak mode (second time period of 10hrs is sufficient for the amount of sealed refrigerant in the air-conditioning, see paragraph 39, which implies that the second time period ends with the leak mode being cleared, see paragraphs 48-50 and 61; Also fan 7f operated for predefined 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7).
In regards to claim 14, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that the sensor is configured to detect a concentration of the refrigerant leaked from a refrigerant circuit of the HVAC system into air (see refrigerant concentration detection unit 99, paragraph 38), and the controller is configured to initiate the detected leak mode in response to determining that the concentration exceeds a threshold value (forced operation of operating the indoor fan 7f in the second operation mode initiated at step S3 based on refrigerant concentration exceeding a threshold value at step S2, see paragraphs 52-54 and fig. 7).
In regards to claims 16 and 17, Suzuki teaches one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions thereon (at least CPU, ROM, RAM, see paragraph 26 and fig. 7) that when executed by one or more processor (controller 30), are configured to cause the one or more processor to:
receive, via a thermostat (26, 30), a call for heating or cooling a space conditioned (controller 30 receives operational signal based on the manipulation/command from operation unit 26, see paragraph 26; wherein temperature settings and air-conditioning operations with operation of fan7f are set by the operation unit 26, see paragraph 31 and fig. 1) by a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (see abstract and figs. 1-2);
initiate a normal operating mode (normal or first operation mode initiated by controller 30) in response to the call for heating or cooling (in response to first manipulation from operating unit 26);
operate a blower assembly (blower fan 7f and motor, see figs. 1, 3-5 and paragraph 34) to circulate a first air flow across a coil of the HVAC system and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2) until the call is satisfied based on the normal operating mode (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67);
receive, via a refrigerant concentration sensor (99), feedback indicative of a concentration of a refrigerant leaked from a refrigerant circuit of the HVAC system into air (see refrigerant concentration detection unit 99, paragraph 38);
initiate a detected leak mode based on the feedback indicating that the concentration is greater than a threshold value (forced operation of operating the indoor fan 7f in the second operation mode initiated at step S3 based on refrigerant concentration exceeding a threshold value at step S2, see paragraphs 52-54 and fig. 7); and
operate, based on the detected leak mode (fan 7f operation based on refrigerant leak detection and forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48), the blower assembly to circulate a second air flow comprising outside air (all air includes/originates from outside air including air flow by fans 5f and 7f); across the coil of the HVAC system (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7) and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2), wherein the detected leak mode differs (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48) from the normal operating mode in at least one operational aspect such as speed, corresponding to the blower assembly (fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54); wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises outside air (because all air originates as outside air, at least a portion of the second air flow would also contain outside air). In addition, Suzuki teaches that the controller is configured to block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system during the detected leak mode (by turning off the main source power, see fig. 5; wherein turning off main source power stops operation of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 41, 48).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly that compressor is blocked such that blower is operated during leak mode and compressor is not operated during leak mode.
Hiraki teaches a sensor (6) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38); and a controller (5) configured to:
operate a blower (fan 4) to cause a blower to circulate a first airflow across a coil (8) of the HVAC system based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see fig. 2 and paragraph 37);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38 and step S1, fig. 4);
operate the blower (blower operation at step S2, see fig. 4 and paragraph 50) to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system (see fig. 2) for a second time period (see fan operation for specific time period at step S5, fig. 4) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45); and
block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period (control unit 5 stops the compressor operation at step S2 for the specified time period at step S5, fig. 4 and paragraph 50) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45; steps S2 and S5 depend upon and follow the start of the operation of fig. 4 and follow the step S1 of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to operate the blower to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system for a second time period in response to initiating and during a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode and block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period in response to initiating and during the detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode, where second time period entirely falls within the detected leak mode, based on the teachings of Hiraki for the advantage of diffusing the refrigerant in the air while preventing the compressor from pumping the refrigerant to the refrigerant leak spot (see paragraph 52, Hiraki).
In regards to claim 18, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that the operational aspect includes an amount of time for operating the blower assembly (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation till the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67; however, fan 7f is operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours with a pause/delay during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7).
In regards to claim 19, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses displaying on a user interface (display unit) a refrigerant leak alert based on the detected leak mode (see paragraph 54); or transmit, to a user device, the refrigerant leak alert based on the detected leak mode (this is an alternate limitation).
Claims 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Hiraki as applied to claims 2 and 1 above respectively and further in view of Asanuma (US 2020/0049384 A1).
In regards to claim 3, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 2 and further discloses a sensor (91) configured to detect a temperature in the space conditioned by the HVAC system (by detecting temperature of indoor air sucked from the indoor space, see paragraph 25), wherein the controller is configured to: receive, via the sensor, additional feedback indicative of the temperature in the space (signal from sensor 91 output to the controller 30, see paragraph 25); and control the indoor unit (1) based on the suction air temperature signal (see paragraph 25).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly teach identifying end of call of thermostat cycle based on temperature feedback.
Asanuma teaches a controller (30) configured to identify, based on an indoor temperature feedback with respect to the preset temperature, the end time corresponding to the call of the cooling operation being satisfied (end of the cooling operation is determined based on the indoor temperature falling below the preset temperature, see paragraph 79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to identify, based on the additional feedback, the end time corresponding to the call of the thermostat being satisfied based on the teachings of Asanuma in order to establish specific ending time for cooling/heating operations based on the comfort of the occupants of the indoor space.
In regards to claim 4, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the second time period corresponds to a pre-defined time period (see predefined 3hrs, 7hrs and 10hrs within 16hrs or 23hrs for the force operation, figs. 5-6 and paragraph 39).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly teach that the first time period depends on temperature in the space.
Asanuma teaches a controller (30) configured end the first time period of cooling operation based on an indoor temperature feedback with respect to the preset temperature (ending time of the cooling operation is determined based on the indoor temperature falling below the preset temperature, see paragraph 79).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to set the first time period or the end time of the first time period of cooling operation based on the additional feedback of an indoor temperature with respect to the preset temperature based on the teachings of Asanuma in order to establish specific ending time for cooling/heating operations based on the comfort of the occupants of the indoor space.
Claims 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Hiraki as applied to claims 1, 11 and 16 above respectively and further in view of Delgoshaei (US 2018/0259235 A1).
In regards to claims 21-23, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claims 1, 11 and 16 except the air flow being a mixture of the outside air and return air.
Delgoshaei discloses an HVAC system (see figs. 1-2) with a blower (fan 102, 260), a blower motor (motor 262) and a controller and processor (controller 120 with zone controllers, processor and memory, see paragraph 12-13 and fig. 1) configured to operate the blower (fan 102, see fig. 1) to generate first/second airflow comprising a mixture of outside air (outside air via duct 215) and return air (via return duct 210; mixture of outside air and return air supplied to the fan 260 to be supplied to the conditioned indoor space 101, see fig. 2 and paragraph 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to operate the blower to circulate a first/second airflow, comprising a mixture of outside air and return air, across the coil of the HVAC system to the indoor space based on the teachings of Delgoshaei in order to dilute the leaked refrigerant within the indoor space by introducing fresh outside air and to conserve energy of the HVAC system to maintain temperature and humidity within the indoor space by mixing the outdoor and indoor return air.
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 8-14, 16-19 and 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2019/0024931 A1) and in view of Hiraki (US 2016/0245566 A1) and further in view of Chen (US 2016/0178229 A1).
In regards to claims 1 and 21, Suzuki teaches a control assembly (30, 26) for a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (see abstract and figs. 1-2), the control assembly comprising: a thermostat (26, 30); a sensor (99) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (paragraph 38); and a controller (30) configured to:
receive, via the thermostat, a call for heating or cooling a space conditioned by the HVAC system (controller 30 receives operational signal based on the manipulation/command from operation unit 26, see paragraph 26; wherein temperature settings and air-conditioning operations with operation of fan7f are set by the operation unit 26, see paragraph 31 and fig. 1);
operate, based on the call, a blower motor (motor of fan 7f, see paragraph 34) to cause a blower (7f) to circulate a first air flow across a coil (airflow across heat exchanger 7 by operation of fan 7f) of the HVAC system and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2) for a first time period (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67; Also see clock unit 30a for clocking operation time of fan 7f, paragraph 26) based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see cooling or heating operations where fan 7f is operated, paragraph 19);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (detection signal from refrigerant leak sensor 99 received by the controller 30, see paragraphs 25, 38); and
operate, based on the feedback, the blower motor to circulate a second air flow across the coil of the HVAC system and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2) for a second time period (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7) based on a detected leak mode of the HVAC system (fan 7f operation based on refrigerant leak, see paragraph 48), wherein the detected leak mode differs (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48) from the normal operating mode (fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54); wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises outside air (because all air originates as outside air, at least a portion of the second air flow would also contain outside air); and a portion of the second air flow comprises return air (indoor fan 7f is located within the indoor unit 1, where indoor air is recirculated over heat exchanger coil 7, by the indoor fan 7f, therefore, at least a part of the airflow over the heat exchanger coil 7 is return air, see figs. 1-4; paragraphs 31, 14 and 23). In addition, Suzuki teaches that the controller is configured to block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system during the detected leak mode (by turning off the main source power, see fig. 5; wherein turning off main source power stops operation of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 41, 48).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly that for a second time period the compressor is blocked.
Hiraki teaches a sensor (6) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38); and a controller (5) configured to:
operate a blower (fan 4) to cause a blower to circulate a first airflow across a coil (8) of the HVAC system based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see fig. 2 and paragraph 37);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38 and step S1, fig. 4);
operate the blower (blower operation at step S2, see fig. 4 and paragraph 50) to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system (see fig. 2) for a second time period (see fan operation for specific time period at step S5, fig. 4) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45); and
block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period (control unit 5 stops the compressor operation at step S2 for the specified time period at step S5, fig. 4 and paragraph 50) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45; steps S2 and S5 depend upon and follow the start of the operation of fig. 4 and follow the step S1 of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to operate the blower to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system for a second time period in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode and block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period in response to initiating the detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode based on the teachings of Hiraki for the advantage of diffusing the refrigerant in the air while preventing the compressor from pumping the refrigerant to the refrigerant leak spot (see paragraph 52, Hiraki).
Suzuki is silent about an outside air duct system to introduce outside air.
However, Chen discloses a vent (116) through which outside air is supplied to the indoor space (outside air supplied to air supply system 102, see paragraphs 10, 29, and fig. 5), wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises return air and outside air (fan 114 circulates air over the evaporator coils 126 during refrigerant leak mitigation, where a portion of the air is return air re-introduced through duct 112, see figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 29; and a portion of the outside air supplied to the supply system 102 via vent 116, during refrigerant leak detection and mitigation, see fig. 5; paragraphs 8-10, 29; and claims 4, 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC control system of Suzuki as modified to provide a second air flow in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system, where at least a portion of the second air flow comprises outside air and an additional portion of the second air flow comprises return air and the second air flow is directed across the coil of the HVAC system based on the teachings of Chen in order to protect the occupants of the indoor space and suppress flammability of the refrigerant/air mixture by expediting refrigerant dilution with introduction of increased amounts of fresh outside air and indoor return air (see paragraph 25 and claim 13, Chen).
In regards to claims 11 and 22, Suzuki teaches a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (see abstract and figs. 1-2), comprising:
a coil (refrigerant tube within evaporator heat exchanger 7, see figs. 1 and 3-4);
a blower assembly comprising a blower (7f, 5f) and a blower motor (motors of fans 7f, 5f, see paragraph 34) configured to turn the blower to generate an air flow (fan 7f operated to generate airflow, see paragraph 23 and figs. 4-5) comprising outside air (all air includes/originates from outside air including air flow by fans 5f and 7f); and
a control assembly (30, 26) comprising:
a sensor (99) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (paragraph 38); and a controller (30) configured to:
operate, based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see cooling or heating operations where fan 7f is operated, paragraph 19; and normal operation mode or first operation mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67), a blower assembly (blower fan 7f and motor, see figs. 1, 3-5 and paragraph 34) to circulate a first air flow across the coil (airflow across heat exchanger 7 by operation of fan 7f; fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67; Also see clock unit 30a for clocking operation time of fan 7f, paragraph 26);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (detection signal from refrigerant leak sensor 99 received by the controller 30, see paragraphs 25, 38); and
initiate, based on the feedback, a detected leak mode (initiating a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48 and fig. 7); and
operate, during and/or based on the detected leak mode (fan 7f operation based on refrigerant leak detection and forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48), the blower assembly to circulate a second air flow across the coil of the HVAC system (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7) and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2), wherein the detected leak mode differs (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48) from the normal operating mode in the blower assembly operation time, blower assembly operation speed or both (fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54); wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises return air, outside air and/or a mixture of outside air and a return air (because all air originates as outside air, therefore, at least a portion of the second air flow would also contain outside air; Also indoor fan 7f is located within the indoor unit 1, where indoor air is recirculated over heat exchanger coil 7, by the indoor fan 7f, therefore, at least a part of the airflow over the heat exchanger coil 7 is return air, see figs. 1-4; paragraphs 31, 14 and 23). In addition, Suzuki teaches that the controller is configured to block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system during the detected leak mode (by turning off the main source power, see fig. 5; wherein turning off main source power stops operation of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 41, 48); and wherein the detected leak mode differs from the normal operating mode in the blower assembly operation time, the blower assembly operation speed, or both (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48; Also see fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly that for a second time period the compressor is blocked.
Hiraki teaches a sensor (6) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38); and a controller (5) configured to:
operate a blower (fan 4) to cause a blower to circulate a first airflow across a coil (8) of the HVAC system based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see fig. 2 and paragraph 37);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38 and step S1, fig. 4);
operate the blower (blower operation at step S2, see fig. 4 and paragraph 50) to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system (see fig. 2) for a second time period (see fan operation for specific time period at step S5, fig. 4) in response to and during a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48; fan operating during the process of fig. 4) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45); and
block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period during the detected leak mode (control unit 5 stops the compressor operation at step S2 for the specified time period at step S5, fig. 4 and paragraph 50, where step S5 belongs to the detected leak mode of fig. 4) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45; steps S2 and S5 depend upon and follow the start of the operation of fig. 4 and follow the step S1 of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to operate the blower to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system for a second time period in response to initiating and during a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode and block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period in response to initiating and during the detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode, where second time period entirely falls within the detected leak mode, based on the teachings of Hiraki for the advantage of diffusing the refrigerant in the air while preventing the compressor from pumping the refrigerant to the refrigerant leak spot (see paragraph 52, Hiraki).
Suzuki is silent about an outside air duct system to introduce outside air.
However, Chen discloses a vent (116) through which outside air is supplied to the indoor space (outside air supplied to air supply system 102, see paragraphs 10, 29, and fig. 5), wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises a mixture of return air and outside air (fan 114 circulates air over the evaporator coils 126 during refrigerant leak mitigation, where a portion of the air is return air re-introduced through duct 112, see figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 29; and a portion of the outside air supplied to the supply system 102 via vent 116, during refrigerant leak detection and mitigation, see fig. 5; paragraphs 8-10, 29; and claims 4, 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC control system of Suzuki as modified to provide a second air flow in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system, where at least a portion of the second air flow comprises a mixture of return air and outside air and the second air flow is directed across the coil of the HVAC system based on the teachings of Chen in order to protect the occupants of the indoor space and suppress flammability of the refrigerant/air mixture by expediting refrigerant dilution with introduction of increased amounts of fresh outside air and indoor return air (see paragraph 25 and claim 13, Chen).
In regards to claims 16, 17 and 23, Suzuki teaches one or more tangible, non-transitory, computer readable media storing instructions thereon (at least CPU, ROM, RAM, see paragraph 26 and fig. 7) that when executed by one or more processor (controller 30), are configured to cause the on or more processor to:
receive, via a thermostat (26, 30), a call for heating or cooling a space conditioned (controller 30 receives operational signal based on the manipulation/command from operation unit 26, see paragraph 26; wherein temperature settings and air-conditioning operations with operation of fan7f are set by the operation unit 26, see paragraph 31 and fig. 1) by a heating, ventilation, and/or air conditioning (HVAC) system (see abstract and figs. 1-2);
initiate a normal operating mode (normal or first operation mode initiated by controller 30) in response to the call for heating or cooling (in response to first manipulation from operating unit 26);
operate a blower assembly (blower fan 7f and motor, see figs. 1, 3-5 and paragraph 34) to circulate the first air flow across a coil of the HVAC system and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2) until the call is satisfied based on the normal operating mode (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67);
receive, via a refrigerant concentration sensor (99), feedback indicative of a concentration of a refrigerant leaked from a refrigerant circuit of the HVAC system into air (see refrigerant concentration detection unit 99, paragraph 38);
initiate a detected leak mode based on the feedback indicating that the concentration is greater than a threshold value (forced operation of operating the indoor fan 7f in the second operation mode initiated at step S3 based on refrigerant concentration exceeding a threshold value at step S2, see paragraphs 52-54 and fig. 7); and
operate, based on the detected leak mode (fan 7f operation based on refrigerant leak detection and forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48), the blower assembly to circulate a second air flow across the coil of the HVAC system (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7) and then toward the space conditioned by the HVAC system (conditioned air supplied to indoor space, see paragraphs 30-34, via air outlet 113, see fig. 2), wherein the detected leak mode differs (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48) from the normal operating mode in at least one operational aspect such as speed, corresponding to the blower assembly (fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54); wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises outside air and an additional portion of the second air flow comprises return air (indoor fan 7f is located within the indoor unit 1, where indoor air is recirculated over heat exchanger coil 7, by the indoor fan 7f, therefore, at least a part of the airflow over the heat exchanger coil 7 is return air, see figs. 1-4; paragraphs 31, 14 and 23; In addition, because all air originates as outside air, at least a portion of the second air flow would also contain outside air). In addition, Suzuki teaches that the controller is configured to block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system during the detected leak mode (by turning off the main source power, see fig. 5; wherein turning off main source power stops operation of the air conditioner, see paragraphs 41, 48); and wherein the detected leak mode differs from the normal operating mode in the at least one operational aspect corresponding to the blower assembly (fan 7f operates in a forced and second operation mode, see paragraph 48; Also see fan operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54).
However, Suzuki does not explicitly that compressor is blocked such that blower is operated during leak mode and compressor is not operated during leak mode.
Hiraki teaches a sensor (6) configured to detect a refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38); and a controller (5) configured to:
operate a blower (fan 4) to cause a blower to circulate a first airflow across a coil (8) of the HVAC system based on a normal operating mode of the HVAC system (see fig. 2 and paragraph 37);
receive, via the sensor, feedback indicative of the refrigerant leaked from the HVAC system (see paragraph 38 and step S1, fig. 4);
operate the blower (blower operation at step S2, see fig. 4 and paragraph 50) to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system (see fig. 2) for a second time period (see fan operation for specific time period at step S5, fig. 4) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45); and
block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period (control unit 5 stops the compressor operation at step S2 for the specified time period at step S5, fig. 4 and paragraph 50) in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback (in response to initiating a detected leak mode of fig. 4, see refrigerant leak detected at step S1, fig. 4, based on the feedback from refrigerant leak detection sensor 6, see paragraph 48) and differing from the normal operating mode (refrigerant leak detected mode of fig. 4 is different from normal operation of the indoor unit of figs. 1-2, where compressor is operated, see paragraphs 41-45; steps S2 and S5 depend upon and follow the start of the operation of fig. 4 and follow the step S1 of fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have reprogrammed the controller of Suzuki to operate the blower to circulate a second airflow across the coil of the HVAC system for a second time period in response to initiating and during a detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode and block operation of a compressor of the HVAC system for the second time period in response to initiating and during the detected leak mode of the HVAC system based on the feedback and differing from the normal operating mode, where second time period entirely falls within the detected leak mode, based on the teachings of Hiraki for the advantage of diffusing the refrigerant in the air while preventing the compressor from pumping the refrigerant to the refrigerant leak spot (see paragraph 52, Hiraki).
Suzuki is silent about an outside air duct system to introduce outside air.
However, Chen discloses a vent (116) through which outside air is supplied to the indoor space (outside air supplied to air supply system 102, see paragraphs 10, 29, and fig. 5), wherein at least a portion of the second air flow comprises a mixture of return air and outside air (fan 114 circulates air over the evaporator coils 126 during refrigerant leak mitigation, where a portion of the air is return air re-introduced through duct 112, see figs. 5-6 and paragraphs 29; and a portion of the outside air supplied to the supply system 102 via vent 116, during refrigerant leak detection and mitigation, see fig. 5; paragraphs 8-10, 29; and claims 4, 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the HVAC control system of Suzuki as modified to provide a second air flow in response to initiating a detected leak mode of the HVAC system, where at least a portion of the second air flow comprises a mixture of return air and outside air and the second air flow is directed across the coil of the HVAC system based on the teachings of Chen in order to protect the occupants of the indoor space and suppress flammability of the refrigerant/air mixture by expediting refrigerant dilution with introduction of increased amounts of fresh outside air and indoor return air (see paragraph 25 and claim 13, Chen).
In regards to claim 2, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first time period based on the normal operating mode (fan 7f operation during normal/first operation mode, see paragraph 48) includes a start time corresponding to activation of the blower motor (starting fan 7f operation in the normal operation, see paragraph 43) and an end time corresponding to the call of the thermostat being satisfied (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation till the end of normal operation or end of fan operation with the second manipulation, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67).
In regards to claim 5, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the second time period concludes with the detected leak mode being cleared (second time period of 10hrs is sufficient for the amount of sealed refrigerant in the air-conditioning, see paragraph 39, which implies that the second time period ends with the leak mode being cleared, see paragraphs 48-50 and 61).
In regards to claim 6, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the coil corresponds to an evaporator coil (evaporator heat exchanger 7, see paragraphs 19, 28 and figs. 1, 3-4).
In regards to claim 8, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the controller is configured to operate, based on the feedback (based on leak detection by sensor 99),
the blower motor to circulate the second air flow across the coil of the HVAC system for:
the second time period based on the detected leak mode (fan 7f operated for 7hrs, see figs. 5-76); and
after a delay period subsequent to the second time period (a gap of time period between 7hrs and 13hrs, see figs. 5-6), a third time period based on the detected leak mode (operation of fan 7f for additional 3hrs or 10hrs after the delay under the forced operation mode based on leak detection, see figs. 5-7 and paragraphs 48-50).
In regards to claim 9, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the first time period differs from the second time period (fan 7f operation of normal/first operation mode and at different speed than second operation mode and before the force operation, see paragraphs 43-44 and 54; and fan 7f operation in a forced and second operation mode for a second period, see figs. 5-6 and paragraph 48).
In regards to claim 10, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that the sensor is configured to detect a concentration of the refrigerant leaked from a refrigerant circuit of the HVAC system into air (see refrigerant concentration detection unit 99, paragraph 38), and the controller is configured to initiate the detected leak mode in response to determining that the concentration exceeds a threshold value (forced operation of operating the indoor fan 7f in the second operation mode initiated at step S3 based on refrigerant concentration exceeding a threshold value at step S2, see paragraphs 52-54 and fig. 7).
In regards to claims 12 and 13, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses a thermostat (26, 30); and wherein the controller (30) is configured to:
receive, from the thermostat, a call for heating or cooling a space conditioned by the HVAC system (controller 30 receives operational signal based on the manipulation/command from operation unit 26, see paragraph 26; wherein temperature settings and air-conditioning operations with operation of fan7f are set by the operation unit 26, see paragraph 31 and fig. 1); and
initiate the normal operating mode (normal or first operation mode initiated by controller 30) in response to the call for heating or cooling (in response to first manipulation from operating unit 26) and based on the normal operating mode, operate the blower assembly to circulate the first air flow across the coil until the call is satisfied (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation to the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67); and
operate the blower assembly for a predefined time period or until the detected leak mode is cleared based on the detected leak mode (second time period of 10hrs is sufficient for the amount of sealed refrigerant in the air-conditioning, see paragraph 39, which implies that the second time period ends with the leak mode being cleared, see paragraphs 48-50 and 61; Also fan 7f operated for predefined 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7; wherein operation of fan 7f generates airflow across heat exchanger 7).
In regards to claim 14, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses that the sensor is configured to detect a concentration of the refrigerant leaked from a refrigerant circuit of the HVAC system into air (see refrigerant concentration detection unit 99, paragraph 38), and the controller is configured to initiate the detected leak mode in response to determining that the concentration exceeds a threshold value (forced operation of operating the indoor fan 7f in the second operation mode initiated at step S3 based on refrigerant concentration exceeding a threshold value at step S2, see paragraphs 52-54 and fig. 7).
In regards to claim 18, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses that the operational aspect includes an amount of time for operating the blower assembly (fan 7f operated from the beginning of normal operation till the end of normal operation or first mode, see paragraphs 43, 64, and 67; however, fan 7f is operated for 7hrs, or 3hrs or total 10 hours with a pause/delay during the forced operation based on refrigerant leak detection, see paragraphs 39, 43, 48-50; and figs. 5-7).
In regards to claim 19, Suzuki as modified teaches the limitations of claim 16 and further discloses displaying on a user interface (display unit) a refrigerant leak alert based on the detected leak mode (see paragraph 54); or transmit, to a user device, the refrigerant leak alert based on the detected leak mode (this is an alternate limitation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 11 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the previously mentioned teachings of the applied references in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the arguments and newly introduced in the claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Amended claims 21-23 are now rejected under 35 USC 103 obviousness rejection over Suzuki in view of Hiraki and further in view of Delgoshaei.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MERAJ A SHAIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763