DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 11-26 in the reply filed on March 19, 2026 is acknowledged. In addition, applicant canceled claims 27-30, the Group II invention, and added new claims 31-34, which were further amended to align with the Group I invention. The examiner is in agreement and the restriction requirement has been vacated and an action as to the merits for claims 11-26 and 31-34 follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 7,992,805 B2(Chen).
As to claim 11, Chen ‘805 discloses a nozzle structure comprising a main body comprising a cavity, see marked up Fig. 2; a front cover plate, see marked up Fig. 2, connected to a front end of the main body and comprising a plurality of spray holes 145, the plurality of spray holes spaced apart from each other and disposed on the front cover plate, see marked up Fig. 2, and Figs. 4A and 4B; a pipe body connected to a rear end of the main body and configured to be connected to a spray pipe, see marked up Fig. 1; wherein the plurality of the spray holes is distributed along a length direction of the front cover plate, see Fig. 4A. See Figs. 1-4B and col. 2, line 44 through col. 5, line 41.
As to claim 12, where at least one spray hole of the plurality of sprays holes is obliquely disposed on the front cover, see Figs 2, 4A and 4B, and wherein at least one spray hole extends towards an edge of the front cover plate along a rear-to-front direction of the front cover plate, see Figs 2, 4A and 4B.
As to claim 15, see guiding ramp in marked up Fig. 2.
Claims 11-15, 21, 22 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 1,818,388 (Farley).
As to claim 11, Farley ‘388 discloses a nozzle structure comprising a main body 6 comprising a cavity, see marked up Fig. 3; a front cover plate 28, see Figs. 2 and 3, connected to a front end of the main body and comprising a plurality of spray holes 31, the plurality of spray holes spaced apart from each other and disposed on the front cover plate, see Figs. 1-3; a pipe body 11 connected to a rear end of the main body at 27 and configured to be connected to a spray pipe 12, see Fig. 3; wherein the plurality of the spray holes is distributed along a length direction of the front cover plate, see Fig. 1. See Figs. 1-4 and page 1, line 35 through page 2, line 35.
As to claim 12, where at least one spray hole of the plurality of sprays holes is obliquely disposed on the front cover, see Figs 2, and Fig. 3, and wherein at least one spray hole extends towards an edge of the front cover plate along a rear-to-front direction of the front cover plate, see Figs. 1 and 3.
As to claim 13, see the length of the front cover plate 28 being greater than a width of the front cover plate and wherein the plurality of spray holes are substantially arranged in a straight or in a curved line, see Figs. 1 and 2.
As to claim 14, see wherein a length, corresponding to the length of the front cover plate, of the cavity increases in a rear- to-front direction of the cavity, see Fig. 3.
As to claim 15, see guiding ramp in marked up Fig. 3.
As to claim 21, Farley ‘388 a spray pipe assembly comprising a nozzle structure comprising a main body 6 comprising a cavity, see marked up Fig. 3; a front cover plate 28, see Figs. 2 and 3, connected to a front end of the main body and comprising a plurality of spray holes 31, the plurality of spray holes spaced apart from each other and disposed on the front cover plate, see Figs. 1-3; a pipe body 11 connected to a rear end of the main body at 17 and a spray pipe 12 comprising a front end removably connected to a rear end of the pipe, see Fig. 4 and positioning pin 17; wherein the plurality of the spray holes is distributed along a length direction of the front cover plate, see Fig. 1. See Figs. 1-4 and page 1, line 35 through page 2, line 35.
As to claim 22, see positioning pin 17 for the spray pipe 12 and wherein the positioning pin 17 is removably connected to an assembly mechanism 37 of the pipe body 11.
As to claim 31, Farley ‘388 discloses a method for assembling a spray pipe assembly, the method comprising: connecting a front cover plate 28 to a front end of a main body 6 comprising a cavity, wherein the front cover plate comprises a plurality of spray holes 31, and the plurality of spray holes is spaced apart from each other, disposed on the front cover plate, and distributed along a length direction of the front cover plate, see Fig. 1; connecting a pipe body 11, configured to be connected to a spray pipe 12, to a rear end of the main body at 27; connecting at least one guiding ramp, see marked up Fig. 3, to at least one wall of the cavity so as to guide water to flow from the pipe body towards the plurality of spray holes disposed on the front cover plate; and connecting a front end at 36 of the spray pipe to a rear end at 37 of the pipe body via an assembly mechanism 37, wherein the assembly mechanism is disposed at the rear end of the pipe body and configured to be connected to a positioning pin 17 of the spray pipe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7,992,805 B2(Chen).
As to claim 21, Chen ‘805 discloses a spray pipe assembly comprising a nozzle structure comprising a main body comprising a cavity, see marked up Fig. 2; a front cover plate, see marked up Fig. 2, connected to a front end of the main body and comprising a plurality of spray holes 145, the plurality of spray holes spaced apart from each other and disposed on the front cover plate, see marked up Fig. 2, and Figs. 4A and 4B; a pipe body connected to a rear end of the main body and a spray pipe comprising a front end connected to a rear end of the pipe, see marked up Fig. 1; wherein the plurality of the spray holes is distributed along a length direction of the front cover plate, see Fig. 4A, except for a spray pipe comprising a front end removably connected to a rear end of the pipe, see marked up Fig. 1. See Figs. 1-4B and col. 2, line 44 through col. 5, line 41. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the spray pipe comprising a front end removably connected to a rear end of the pipe, since it has been held that a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP 2144.04.V.C. The apparatus of Chen ‘805 would perform equally as well if the spray pipe is connected or removably connected to the pipe and would facilitate maintenance and cleaning of the apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-20, 23-26 and 32-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claims 16-20: The closest prior art being Chen ‘805 and Farley ‘388 did not separately or in combination teach or suggest a nozzle structure as claimed by the applicant, specifically a nozzle structure wherein a plurality of guiding ramps is disposed on the at least one wall of the cavity along a front-to- rear direction of the cavity, and wherein angles, with respect to a central axis of the pipe body, of two adjacent guiding ramps among the plurality of guiding ramps are different and a nozzle structure comprising an assembly mechanism disposed at a rear end of the pipe body and configured to be connected to a positioning pin of the spray pipe, wherein the assembly mechanism comprises a slot configured to be engaged with the positioning pin and comprises a guide groove configured to guide the positioning pin to slide towards the slot, wherein the guide groove is disposed at a rear end of the slot, and wherein the guide groove extends from the rear end of the pipe body to the slot, together in combination with the other claimed features of applicant’s invention.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claims 23-26: The closest prior art being Chen ‘805 and Farley ‘388 did not separately or in combination teach or suggest a spray pipe assembly as claimed by the applicant, specifically a spray pipe assembly wherein the assembly mechanism is disposed at the rear end of the pipe body, wherein the assembly mechanism comprises a slot configured to be engaged with the positioning pin and comprises a guide groove configured to guide the positioning pin to slide towards the slot, wherein the guide groove is disposed at a rear end of the slot, and wherein the guide groove extends from the rear end of the pipe body to the slot. , together in combination with the other claimed features of applicant’s invention.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter for claims 32-34: The closest prior art being Chen ‘805 and Farley ‘388 did not separately or in combination teach or suggest a method for assembling a spray pipe assembly as claimed by the applicant, specifically a method comprising the steps wherein connecting the at least one guiding ramp on the at least one wall of the cavity comprises: connecting a plurality of guiding ramps to the at least one wall of the cavity along a front-to-rear direction of the cavity; and tilting each of the plurality of guiding ramps at an angle with respect to a central axis of the pipe body, wherein angles, with respect to the central axis of the pipe body, of two adjacent guiding ramps among the plurality of guiding ramps are different, together in combination with the other method steps and claimed features of applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schaeffer ‘924 and Copeland ‘169 discloses a muzzle structure with a front cover plates with spray holes and Bowen ‘381 discloses a bidet with a front cover plate.
STEVEN J. GANEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN J GANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752