DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to applicant’s election submitted May 12, 2026, claims filed October 6, 2023 wherein claims 3-4, 6, 11, 17, 21, 22, 27, 29, 35, 39, 41-43, 48-49, 52, 54-55, 57, 62, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 80, 86, 89-90, 92, 99, 103-105, 107 were preliminarily amended, and claims 5, 7-10, 12-16, 18-20, 23-26, 28, 31-34, 37, 38, 40, 44-47, 51, 53, 56, 58-61, 63-67, 69, 71, 74-77, 79, 82-85, 88, 91, 93-98, 100-102, 108-126 were canceled and are examined herein. This application claims benefit of provisional application 63/355,975 filed 06/27/2022.
Claims 1-4, 6, 11, 17, 21, 22, 27, 29, 30, 35, 36, 39, 41-43, 48-50, 52, 54, 55, 57, 62, 68, 70, 72, 73, 78, 80, 81, 86, 87, 89, 90, 92, 99 and 103-107 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and claimed compound 101, which has the following structure:
in the reply filed on May 12, 2026 is acknowledged. The compound includes the chiral variant recited by instant claim 41 (compound 107). The elected species read on claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21, 22, 27, 35, 36, 39, 41, 48-50, 52, 54, 55, 57, 68, 70, 72, 73, 78, 86, 87, 89, 90, 92, and 99. In order to facilitate compact prosecution, the search was expanded to the additional species
110 (encompasses achiral variant 104) which is encompassed by claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21, 22, 27, 35, 36, 39, 41, 48-50, 52, 54, 55, 57, 68, 70, 72, 73, 78, 86, 87, 89, 90, 92, and 99.
Claims 103-107 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 12, 2026.
Claims 11, 29-30, 42-43, 62, 80, 81 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 12, 2026.
Thus claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, 41, 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89, 90, 92, and 99 read on the elected species and are examined herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 49-50, 87, 89, 92, and 99 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 49-50, the phrase “a residue of a second compound” should read “a residue of the second compound”.
Claim 87 has a forward slash (\) after the period.
In claim 89 the acronym EDA should be defined.
In claims 90 and 92 The phrase “the compound is selected from” should read “the conjugate is selected from” for consistency.
In claim 99 the phrase “comprising the compound” should read “comprising the conjugate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, 41, 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89-90, 92, and 99 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burke (Mol. Cancer Ther., 2017, IDS filed October 6, 2023) in view of Maderna (WO 2020/252043, cited on PTO-892) and Viricel (WO 2022/207699, cited on PTO-892).
Regarding claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, 41, 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89-90, 92, and 99: Burke teaches antibody-drug conjugates (ADC) with incorporation of PEG polymer side chains in beta-glucuronidase-cleavable monomethylauristatin E (MMAE) linker to provide homogeneous DAR 8 conjugates with decreased plasma clearance and increased antitumor activity in xenograft models relative to a non-PEGylated control (abstract). A lead PEGylated glucuronide-MMAE linker was identified incorporating a self-stabilizing maleimide and a PEG12 side chain emerged from these efforts, enabling highly potent, homogeneous DAR 8 conjugates and is under consideration for future ADC programs (abstract). Burke teaches the optimization of the drug linker in ADCs is a routine practice in the art to modify clearance and uptake properties (i.e. result effective, abstract, pg. 116, col. 2, paras. 2-3). Burke teaches the following compounds
wherein m can be 2, 4, 8, 12, or 24, and n = 1 (pg. 119, figure 2). Burke additionally teaches modifications the maleimidocaproyl group as demonstrated in figure 1
(pg. 117). Burke teaches the glucuronic linker system represents a hydrophilic alternative to val-cit dipeptide (pg. 117, col. 1, para. 1). Burke teaches the maleimide group is to be conjugated to reducible native antibody cysteine disulfides (i.e. residue of an antibody, pg. 116, col. 2, para. 2, pg. 117, figure 1). Burke teaches glucuronide linker systems has been used to mitigate aggregation issues with lipophilic payloads like camptothecins (pg. 117, col. 1, para. 1). Burke tests the ADCs in PBS solution (i.e. aqueous solution, composition in a carrier, pg. 118, col. 2, para. 2).
The compound of Burke differs from the elected compound 101 in the active drug (MMAE vs exatecan), the conjugating group (maleimide vs cyclooctyne), and the number of carbons joining the conjugating group and the PEG linker (i.e. PEG-connecting group,
vs
). The compound of Burke differs from the elected compound 110 in the active drug (MMAE vs exatecan) and the conjugating group (maleimide vs cyclooctyne).
Maderna teaches 5H-Pyrrolo[3,2-d]pyrimidine-2,4-diamino compounds, and/or antibody conjugates thereof; and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compounds and/or conjugates; methods of producing the compounds and/or conjugates; and methods of using the compounds, conjugates and compositions for therapy (pg. 1, para. 0001). Maderna teaches the following antibody drug conjugate
(pg. 108, third compound down). Maderna teaches an additional compound which incorporates a PEGylated side chain to the conjugating group
wherein a methyl amide serves as the branching point (pg. 191, para. 00520). Maderna generally teaches the eliminator group can differ in structure
(pg. 48, para. 00161). Maderna generally teaches the following conjugating groups which facilitate conjugation of the payloads to an antibody include
and
(pg. 54, para. 00181). Maderna teaches conjugation can be formed through a formed through a strain-promoted [3+2] alkyne-azide cycloaddition (SP AAC) reaction:
(pgs. 54-55, para. 00183).
Additionally, Viricel teaches compounds that are ligand-drug conjugates which when bound to an antibody or antibody fragment are known as antibody-drug-conjugates (abstract, pg. 1, lines 15-25). Viricel teaches the ligand units and drug units are joined via a synthetic linker, which may comprise spacers, connectors, and enzyme-sensitive cleavable moieties (pg. 1, lines 16-20). Said linker may orthogonally bear any moiety that can improve the LDC performance, such as storage stability, plasmatic stability or pharmacokinetics properties (pg. 1, lines 15-22). Viricel teaches MMAE and exatecan are known alternative drug compounds for antibody drug conjugate systems
(pg. 43, scheme 1.2.1, pg. 45, scheme 1.2.2).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Burke by modifying the PEG-connecting group length to a single carbon and substituting the conjugating group with the cyclooctyne moiety as taught by Maderna as well as substituting MMAE with exatecan as taught by Viricel and arrive at elected compound 101. It would also have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of Burke by substituting the conjugating group with the cyclooctyne moiety as taught by Maderna as well as substituting MMAE with exatecan as taught by Viricel and arrive at elected compound 110. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to modify connector length with a reasonable expectation of success as modification of linker lengths is a known result effective variable, and connector lengths of one carbon are taught in the art of ADCs (See MPEP 2144.05 (II)). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to substitute MMAE with exatecan with a reasonable expectation of success as the art demonstrates camptothecins are commonly used in ADCs, and exatecan is a known alternative to MMAE. Wherein both compounds are known drug molecules to be incorporated into ADCs, it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP 2144.06 (II)).
Double Patenting
Claims 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89, 90, 92, and 99 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,144,869 (cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patented claims teach the following antibody conjugate
wherein n2 is 1 (claim 10). The patented claims teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the conjugate and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 20).
Claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claim of U.S. Patent No. 12,144,869 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89, 90, 92, and 99 above in view of Maderna (WO 2020/252043, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As discussed above, the patented claims teach the antibody conjugate described above.
They do not explicitly teach the unconjugated compound as recited by instant claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, and 41.
However, Maderna teaches 5H-Pyrrolo[3,2-d]pyrimidine-2,4-diamino compounds, and/or antibody conjugates thereof; and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compounds and/or conjugates; methods of producing the compounds and/or conjugates; and methods of using the compounds, conjugates and compositions for therapy (pg. 1, para. 0001). Maderna teaches the following antibody drug conjugate
(pg. 108, third compound down). Maderna teaches an additional compound which incorporates a PEGylated side chain to the conjugating group
wherein a methyl amide serves as the branching point (pg. 191, para. 00520). Maderna generally teaches the eliminator group can differ in structure
(pg. 48, para. 00161). Maderna generally teaches the following conjugating groups which facilitate conjugation of the payloads to an antibody include
and
(pg. 54, para. 00181). Maderna teaches conjugation can be formed through a formed through a strain-promoted [3+2] alkyne-azide cycloaddition (SP AAC) reaction:
(pgs. 54-55, para. 00183).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the conjugate of the patented claims to retro synthetically arrive at the unconjugated compound as taught by Maderna. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to further conjugate with other antibodies and the patented claims teach the compound to be conjugated with antibodies.
Claims 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89, 90, 92, and 99 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,226,490 (cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The patented claims teach the following antibody conjugate
wherein n2 is 1 (claim 47). The patented claims teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising the conjugate and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 144).
Claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,226,490 (cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89, 90, 92, and 99 above in view of Maderna (WO 2020/252043, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As discussed above, the patented claims teach the antibody conjugate described above.
They do not explicitly teach the unconjugated compound as recited by instant claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, and 41.
However, Maderna teaches 5H-Pyrrolo[3,2-d]pyrimidine-2,4-diamino compounds, and/or antibody conjugates thereof; and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compounds and/or conjugates; methods of producing the compounds and/or conjugates; and methods of using the compounds, conjugates and compositions for therapy (pg. 1, para. 0001). Maderna teaches the following antibody drug conjugate
(pg. 108, third compound down). Maderna teaches an additional compound which incorporates a PEGylated side chain to the conjugating group
wherein a methyl amide serves as the branching point (pg. 191, para. 00520). Maderna generally teaches the eliminator group can differ in structure
(pg. 48, para. 00161). Maderna generally teaches the following conjugating groups which facilitate conjugation of the payloads to an antibody include
and
(pg. 54, para. 00181). Maderna teaches conjugation can be formed through a formed through a strain-promoted [3+2] alkyne-azide cycloaddition (SP AAC) reaction:
(pgs. 54-55, para. 00183).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the conjugate of the patented claims to retro synthetically arrive at the unconjugated compound as taught by Maderna. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to further conjugate with other antibodies and the patented claims teach the compound to be conjugated with antibodies.
Claims 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89, 90, 92, and 99 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of copending Application No. 18/824,772 (US 20250018054, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The copending claim teaches the following antibody conjugate wherein n2 can be 1
(claim 10). The copending claims teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising an antibody conjugate (claim 28).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, and 41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/824,772 (US 2025/0018054, cited on PTO-892) as applied to claims 48-50, 52, 54-55, 57, 68, 70, 72-73, 78, 86-87, 89, 90, 92, and 99 above in view of Maderna (WO 2020/252043, cited on PTO-892). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
As discussed above, the copending claims teach the antibody conjugate described above.
They do not explicitly teach the unconjugated compound as recited by instant claims 1-4, 6, 17, 21-22, 27, 35-36, 39, and 41.
However, Maderna teaches 5H-Pyrrolo[3,2-d]pyrimidine-2,4-diamino compounds, and/or antibody conjugates thereof; and pharmaceutical compositions comprising the compounds and/or conjugates; methods of producing the compounds and/or conjugates; and methods of using the compounds, conjugates and compositions for therapy (pg. 1, para. 0001). Maderna teaches the following antibody drug conjugate
(pg. 108, third compound down). Maderna teaches an additional compound which incorporates a PEGylated side chain to the conjugating group
wherein a methyl amide serves as the branching point (pg. 191, para. 00520). Maderna generally teaches the eliminator group can differ in structure
(pg. 48, para. 00161). Maderna generally teaches the following conjugating groups which facilitate conjugation of the payloads to an antibody include
and
(pg. 54, para. 00181). Maderna teaches conjugation can be formed through a formed through a strain-promoted [3+2] alkyne-azide cycloaddition (SP AAC) reaction:
(pgs. 54-55, para. 00183).
Taken together, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify the conjugate of the copending claims to retro synthetically arrive at the unconjugated compound as taught by Maderna. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had the motivation to do so with a reasonable expectation of success in order to further conjugate with other antibodies and the copending claims teach the compound to be conjugated with antibodies.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed in this action.
/SAMUEL L GALSTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1693