DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office Action is considered to be fully responsive to the communications filed on 07/22/2026. Claims 1-3, 6, 10-12, 15, and 19-21 are currently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 6-8, filed 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 6, 10-12, 15, and 19-21 under 35 U.S.C 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to specify that the message is “at least one of a registration message or a configuration update message”, and that the parameter information is “carried in the at least one of the registration message or the configuration update message”, where independent claims 10 and 19 are also amended in a similar way such that they contain analogous subject matter. Applicant argues on pages 6-8 of Remarks that Chun does not teach these features of the claims, stating that “Chun does not disclose that the various configurations contained in SIB2 (mapped to the claimed “configuration update message”) carry the barring parameters contained in SIB2”. This argument is however moot, as the claim language does not require this to be true. The claim language, as it is written, requires that there is a configuration update message (the SIB2 is the configuration update message) which “carries parameter information” (the SIB2 includes barring parameters, which is the parameter information). Thus, Chun teaches this claim limitation as it is written. Applicant then goes on to argue that “Chun does not disclose that its SIB2 contains a registration message carrying parameter information or a configuration update message carrying parameter information based on which a duration of a first timer is determined”. Again Examiner disagrees with this opinion, as Chun does teach this feature, and a claim mapping is provided below. Chun clearly shows that the SIB2 includes configurations, which means that the SIB2 is a “configuration update message” by the plain meaning of the words. Given that the SIB2 (configuration update message) contains the barring parameters (parameter information) which are used to control the timer (parameter information used for the timer), Chun does indeed teach this feature. Applicant then argues on page 7 of Remarks that “as is well understood by those skilled in the art, a registration message or a configuration update message is a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message exchanged between a core network and a User Equipment (UE)”. Examiner however disagrees with this opinion, as the claimed terms “registration message” and “configuration update message” are simply broad terms which can have multiple interpretations as to their meaning even within the art. If Applicant believes this to differentiate the claimed invention from prior art, Applicant is encouraged to amend the claim language to reflect this assertion that the “registration message or the configuration update message” is actually a NAS message (so long as there is sufficient support in the instant Specification for such an amendment). For these reasons, claims 1-3, 6, 10-12, 15, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103. For more details about any of the above mentioned, please see the Claim Rejections section below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 10-11, and 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chun (US 20220070815 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chun discloses
A network-changing method, performed by a terminal, comprising ([0007] UE switches from first PLMN (network-changing) to a second PLMN):
during reception of services from a first network, determining that access to a second network is necessary ([0007] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message and selects a second PLMN to connect to (determines access to a second network is necessary));
receiving at least one of a registration message or a configuration update message sent by the first network, wherein the least one of the registration message or the configuration update message carries parameter information ([0443]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] a UE is informed of a configuration via a SIB2 message (configuration update message is received), where SIB2 contains barring parameter for PLMNs (configuration update message carrying parameter information) as well as various different configurations (configuration update message));
determining a duration of a first timer based on the parameter information carried in the at least one of the registration message or the configuration update message ([0443]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters that are included in SIB2 (carried in the configuration update message) are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred);
starting the first timer, wherein the duration of the first timer for the terminal is different from durations of the first timer for at least some other terminals that need to access the second network ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] access check for national roaming process includes starting Tbarring timer, where the Tbarring timer is a duration of a randomly drawn number (not identical duration)); and
attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer ([0007] UE sends a registration request to the second PLMN based on the disaster related message; [0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the second PLMN is not barred, and the UE can then gain access to the second PLMN (attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer)).
Regarding claim 2, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 1, wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises ([0007] UE switches from first PLMN (network-changing) to a second PLMN):
finding that a disaster occurs in the first network and that the second network provides services normally ([0007]-[0008] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message (finding that a disaster occurs in the first network) and selects a second PLMN to connect to, sends registration request to the second PLMN, and receives a response from that second PLMN (second network provides services normally)).
Regarding claim 6, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 5, wherein the parameter information comprises at least one of the following: a random value within a predetermined range, identification information of the terminal, priority information of the terminal, subscription information of the terminal, location information of the terminal, or a service type of the terminal ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] barring parameter is a random value with a predetermined range).
Regarding claim 10, Chun discloses
A terminal, comprising ([0012] UE):
A memory storing a computer program ([0012] UE comprises memory that stores instructions); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising ([0012] UE comprises processor connected to the memory configured to execute instructions):
during reception of services from a first network, determining that access to a second network is necessary ([0007] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message and selects a second PLMN to connect to (determines access to a second network is necessary));
receiving at least one of a registration message or a configuration update message sent by the first network, wherein the at least one or the registration message or the configuration update message carries parameter information ([0443]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] a UE is informed of a configuration via a SIB2 message (configuration update message is received), where SIB2 contains barring parameter for PLMNs (configuration update message carrying parameter information) as well as various different configurations (configuration update message));
determining a duration of a first timer based on the parameter information carried in the at least one of the registration message or the configuration update message ([0443]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters that are included in SIB2 (carried in the configuration update message) are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred);
starting the first timer, wherein the duration of the first timer for the terminal is different from durations of the first timer for at least some other terminals that need to access the second network ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] access check for national roaming process includes starting Tbarring timer, where the Tbarring timer is a duration of a randomly drawn number (not identical duration)); and
attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer ([0007] UE sends a registration request to the second PLMN based on the disaster related message; [0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the second PLMN is not barred, and the UE can then gain access to the second PLMN (attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer)).
Regarding claim 11, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises ([0012] UE):
finding that a disaster occurs in the first network and that the second network provides services normally ([0007]-[0008] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message (finding that a disaster occurs in the first network) and selects a second PLMN to connect to, sends registration request to the second PLMN, and receives a response from that second PLMN (second network provides services normally)).
Regarding claim 15, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 14, wherein the parameter information comprises at least one of the following: a random value within a predetermined range, identification information of the terminal, priority information of the terminal, subscription information of the terminal, location information of the terminal, or a service type of the terminal ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] barring parameter is a random value with a predetermined range).
Regarding claim 19, Chun discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the processor to perform operations comprising ([0012] UE comprises memory that stores instructions to be executed by a processor):
during reception of services from a first network, determining that access to a second network is necessary ([0007] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message and selects a second PLMN to connect to (determines access to a second network is necessary));
receiving at least one of a registration message or a configuration update message sent by the first network, wherein the at least one of the registration message or the configuration update message carries parameter information ([0443]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] a UE is informed of a configuration via a SIB2 message (configuration update message is received), where SIB2 contains barring parameter for PLMNs (configuration update message carrying parameter information) as well as various different configurations (configuration update message));
determining a duration of a first timer based on the parameter information carried in the at least one of the registration message or the configuration update message ([0443]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters that are included in SIB2 (carried in the configuration update message) are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred);
starting the first timer, wherein the duration of the first timer for the terminal is different from durations of the first timer for at least some other terminals that need to access the second network ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] access check for national roaming process includes starting Tbarring timer, where the Tbarring timer is a duration of a randomly drawn number (not identical duration)); and
attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer ([0007] UE sends a registration request to the second PLMN based on the disaster related message; [0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the second PLMN is not barred, and the UE can then gain access to the second PLMN (attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer)).
Regarding claim 20, Chun discloses
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises ([0012] UE comprises memory that stores instructions to be executed by a processor):
finding that a disaster occurs in the first network and that the second network provides services normally ([0007]-[0008] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message (finding that a disaster occurs in the first network) and selects a second PLMN to connect to, sends registration request to the second PLMN, and receives a response from that second PLMN (second network provides services normally)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (US 20220070815 A1), and further in view of 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0.
Regarding claim 3, Chun teaches The network-changing method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Chun does not explicitly teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network.
However, 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 does teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network ([Page 10] Section 5.3.3, [Fig. 5.3.3-1], and [Fig. 5.3.3-2] the UE returns to hPLMN by performing PLMN selection; [Page 15] Sections 5.8.1-5.8.3 UE returns to home network after disaster period).
Chun and 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE for disaster events. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to include the teachings of 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 where the UE returns to the home network when a disaster occurs. The rationale behind this would be to enhance user experience by minimizing the time gap between connection release and connection reestablishment ([Page 15] Section 5.8.1 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0).
Regarding claim 12, Chun teaches The terminal according to claim 10, as is described above.
Chun does not explicitly teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network.
However, 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 does teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network ([Page 10] Section 5.3.3, [Fig. 5.3.3-1], and [Fig. 5.3.3-2] the UE returns to hPLMN by performing PLMN selection; [Page 15] Sections 5.8.1-5.8.3 UE returns to home network after disaster period).
Chun and 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE for disaster events. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to include the teachings of 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 where the UE returns to the home network when a disaster occurs. The rationale behind this would be to enhance user experience by minimizing the time gap between connection release and connection reestablishment ([Page 15] Section 5.8.1 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0).
Regarding claim 21, Chun teaches The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, as is described above.
Chun does not explicitly teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network.
However, 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 does teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network ([Page 10] Section 5.3.3, [Fig. 5.3.3-1], and [Fig. 5.3.3-2] the UE returns to hPLMN by performing PLMN selection; [Page 15] Sections 5.8.1-5.8.3 UE returns to home network after disaster period).
Chun and 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE for disaster events. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to include the teachings of 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 where the UE returns to the home network when a disaster occurs. The rationale behind this would be to enhance user experience by minimizing the time gap between connection release and connection reestablishment ([Page 15] Section 5.8.1 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0).
Conclusion
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478