DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The use of the term ‘Wi-Fi’, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Any other instances of trade names appearing improperly in the Specification should also be corrected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chun (US 20220070815 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chun discloses
A network-changing method, performed by a terminal, comprising ([0007] UE switches from first PLMN (network-changing) to a second PLMN):
during reception of services from a first network, determining that access to a second network is necessary ([0007] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message and selects a second PLMN to connect to (determines access to a second network is necessary));
starting a first timer, wherein duration of the first timer is not identical for the terminal compared to other terminals that need to access the second network ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] access check for national roaming process includes starting Tbarring timer, where the Tbarring timer is a duration of a randomly drawn number (not identical duration)); and
attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer ([0007] UE sends a registration request to the second PLMN based on the disaster related message; [0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the second PLMN is not barred, and the UE can then gain access to the second PLMN (attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer)).
Regarding claim 2, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 1, wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises ([0007] UE switches from first PLMN (network-changing) to a second PLMN):
finding that a disaster occurs in the first network and that the second network provides services normally ([0007]-[0008] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message (finding that a disaster occurs in the first network) and selects a second PLMN to connect to, sends registration request to the second PLMN, and receives a response from that second PLMN (second network provides services normally)).
Regarding claim 5, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 1, wherein before starting the first timer, the method further comprises ([0007] UE switches from first PLMN (network-changing) to a second PLMN):
determining the duration of the first timer based on the parameter information of the terminal ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred).
Regarding claim 6, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 5, wherein the parameter information comprises at least one of the following: a random value within a predetermined range, identification information of the terminal, priority information of the terminal, subscription information of the terminal, location information of the terminal, or a service type of the terminal ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] barring parameter is a random value with a predetermined range).
Regarding claim 7, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 1, wherein before starting the first timer, the method further comprises ([0007] UE switches from first PLMN (network-changing) to a second PLMN):
receiving a signaling message sent by the first network, wherein the signaling message carries parameter information ([0445]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] SIB2 contains barring parameter for PLMNs (signaling message carrying parameter information)); and
determining the duration of the first timer based on the parameter information ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred).
Regarding claim 8, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 1, wherein before starting the first timer, the method further comprises:
determining the duration of the first timer based on pre-configured parameter information ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred, where the barring parameter is a duration of a random value with a predetermined range (pre-configured)).
Regarding claim 9, Chun discloses
The network-changing method according to claim 8, wherein the parameter information is comprised in the subscription information of the terminal ([0468] the UE may also use subscription information instead to determine national roaming and disaster roaming (parameter information comprised in subscription information)).
Regarding claim 10, Chun discloses
A terminal, comprising ([0012] UE):
A memory storing a computer program ([0012] UE comprises memory that stores instructions); and
a processor coupled to the memory and configured to execute the computer program to perform operations comprising ([0012] UE comprises processor connected to the memory configured to execute instructions):
during reception of services from a first network, determining that access to a second network is necessary ([0007] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message and selects a second PLMN to connect to (determines access to a second network is necessary));
starting a first timer, wherein duration of the first timer is not identical for the terminal compared to other terminals that need to access the second network ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] access check for national roaming process includes starting Tbarring timer, where the Tbarring timer is a duration of a randomly drawn number (not identical duration)); and
attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer ([0007] UE sends a registration request to the second PLMN based on the disaster related message; [0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the second PLMN is not barred, and the UE can then gain access to the second PLMN (attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer)).
Regarding claim 11, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises ([0012] UE):
finding that a disaster occurs in the first network and that the second network provides services normally ([0007]-[0008] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message (finding that a disaster occurs in the first network) and selects a second PLMN to connect to, sends registration request to the second PLMN, and receives a response from that second PLMN (second network provides services normally)).
Regarding claim 14, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein before starting the first timer, the operations further comprise ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] barring parameters are applied to control the timer (before the timer starts)):
determining the duration of the first timer based on the parameter information of the terminal ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred).
Regarding claim 15, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 14, wherein the parameter information comprises at least one of the following: a random value within a predetermined range, identification information of the terminal, priority information of the terminal, subscription information of the terminal, location information of the terminal, or a service type of the terminal ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] barring parameter is a random value with a predetermined range).
Regarding claim 16, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein before starting the first timer, the operations further comprise ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] SIB2 is received and barring parameters are applied to control the timer (before the timer starts)):
receiving a signaling message sent by the first network, wherein the signaling message carries parameter information ([0445]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] SIB2 contains barring parameter for PLMNs (signaling message carrying parameter information)); and
determining the duration of the first timer based on the parameter information ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred).
Regarding claim 17, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 10, wherein before starting the first timer, the operations further comprise ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] barring parameters are applied to control the timer (before the timer starts)):
determining the duration of the first timer based on pre-configured parameter information ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred, where the barring parameter is a duration of a random value with a predetermined range (pre-configured)).
Regarding claim 18, Chun discloses
The terminal according to claim 17, wherein the parameter information is comprised in the subscription information of the terminal ([0468] the UE may also use subscription information instead to determine national roaming and disaster roaming (parameter information comprised in subscription information)).
Regarding claim 19, Chun discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor of a terminal, causes the processor to perform operations comprising ([0012] UE comprises memory that stores instructions to be executed by a processor):
during reception of services from a first network, determining that access to a second network is necessary ([0007] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message and selects a second PLMN to connect to (determines access to a second network is necessary));
starting a first timer, wherein duration of the first timer is not identical for the terminal compared to other terminals that need to access the second network ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] access check for national roaming process includes starting Tbarring timer, where the Tbarring timer is a duration of a randomly drawn number (not identical duration)); and
attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer ([0007] UE sends a registration request to the second PLMN based on the disaster related message; [0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the second PLMN is not barred, and the UE can then gain access to the second PLMN (attempting to access the second network upon expiration of the first timer)).
Regarding claim 20, Chun discloses
The non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises ([0012] UE comprises memory that stores instructions to be executed by a processor):
finding that a disaster occurs in the first network and that the second network provides services normally ([0007]-[0008] UE registers with a first PLMN, receives a disaster related message (finding that a disaster occurs in the first network) and selects a second PLMN to connect to, sends registration request to the second PLMN, and receives a response from that second PLMN (second network provides services normally)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chun (US 20220070815 A1), and further in view of 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0.
Regarding claim 3, Chun teaches The network-changing method according to claim 1, as is described above.
Chun does not explicitly teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network.
However, 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 does teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network ([Page 10] Section 5.3.3, [Fig. 5.3.3-1], and [Fig. 5.3.3-2] the UE returns to hPLMN by performing PLMN selection; [Page 15] Sections 5.8.1-5.8.3 UE returns to home network after disaster period).
Chun and 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE for disaster events. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to include the teachings of 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 where the UE returns to the home network when a disaster occurs. The rationale behind this would be to enhance user experience by minimizing the time gap between connection release and connection reestablishment ([Page 15] Section 5.8.1 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0).
Regarding claim 4, Chun modified by 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 teaches The network-changing method according to claim 3, as is described above.
Chun further teaches wherein before the disaster occurs in the second network, the method further comprises:
receiving a signaling message sent by the second network, wherein the signaling message carries parameter information ([0445]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] SIB2 contains barring parameter for PLMNs (signaling message carrying parameter information)); and
determining the duration of the first timer based on the parameter information ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred).
Regarding claim 12, Chun teaches The terminal according to claim 10, as is described above.
Chun does not explicitly teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network.
However, 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 does teach wherein determining that access to the second network is necessary comprises:
finding that the second network resumes to normal, wherein the terminal receives services from the second network before a disaster occurs in the second network, and accesses the first network after the disaster occurs in the second network ([Page 10] Section 5.3.3, [Fig. 5.3.3-1], and [Fig. 5.3.3-2] the UE returns to hPLMN by performing PLMN selection; [Page 15] Sections 5.8.1-5.8.3 UE returns to home network after disaster period).
Chun and 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, as they are both in the same field of configuring a UE for disaster events. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chun to include the teachings of 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 where the UE returns to the home network when a disaster occurs. The rationale behind this would be to enhance user experience by minimizing the time gap between connection release and connection reestablishment ([Page 15] Section 5.8.1 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0).
Regarding claim 13, Chun modified by 3GPP TR 22.831 V17.1.0 teaches The terminal according to claim 12, as is described above.
Chun further teaches wherein before the disaster occurs in the second network, the operations further comprise:
receiving a signaling message sent by the second network, wherein the signaling message carries parameter information ([0445]-[0446], [Table 19], [0447]-[0448], and [Table 21] SIB2 contains barring parameter for PLMNs (signaling message carrying parameter information)); and
determining the duration of the first timer based on the parameter information ([0447]-[0448] and [Table 21] during the access check for national roaming, the barring parameters are applied to control the timer to determine that the PLMN is not barred).
Conclusion
The prior art that is not relied upon but still considered relevant to Applicant’s disclosure is as follows:
US 20230133784 A1 to Wang et al teaches a method where a UE establishes a first wireless connection with a first subscription, and then establishes a second connection with a second subscription after identifying loss of the first wireless connection ([0006] Wang).
/A.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478