Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species B: Figs. 8-11D, in the reply filed on 03/13/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-9 and 12-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species A: Fig. 1-7B, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/13/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on 07/15/2026 has been entered into record. Claims 1, 10, 11, 15, and 17 are amended. Claims 1-4, 10-11, and 14-20 are pending and treated as below.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
On page 3, line 23 through 4 line 3, Claim 10 recites the second drive mechanism is attached to a first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles such that the second drive mechanism moves the first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles back and forth along the threaded rod; and wherein when the first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles moves back and forth along the threaded rod, a second shuttle of the plurality of shuttles moves from above the support structure out over a mounting tub.
Claim 10 recites two different shuttles associated with the second drive mechanism in above set forth limitations.
According to shown configuration of instant application in fig. 8, shuttles 126a and 126b are associated with a first drive mechanism 124a which can be moved on track 132a and 132b upon actuation of motor 125a, and a shuttle 126c shown in fig. 10 is associated with the second drive mechanism 124b. In specification ¶0045 to ¶0048, specially in ¶0047 mentions “As the drive motor 125b of the second mechanism 124b rotates clockwise or anticlockwise, it moves the shuttle 126b back-and-forth along the threaded rod 128b.” this provided arrangement of the shuttles lacks clarity in view of claimed limitations and fig. 8-10.
Furthermore, the shuttle 126c is the only one shuttle attached to the second drive mechanism 124b as per fig. 8-10, It is unclear how the second drive mechanism 124b can move the first (126b) and second (126c) shuttle? As set forth in the above-identified limitations of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-11, and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, it recites two different shuttles associated with the second drive mechanism in above set forth limitations (see the objection of the specification set forth above). It is unclear how the second drive mechanism 124b can move the first (126b) and second (126c) shuttle?
Since claims 11 and 14 depend on rejected claim 10, claims 11 and 14 are also rejected.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the single paver” in line 3 of page 2 and claim 10 recites the “the single paver” in line 16 on page 3. Suggested correction is to write “a single paver” in both claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9081057 B2 (Kim et al., hereinafter: Kim) in view of US 20180297193 A1 (Garfield et al., hereinafter: Garfield).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a paver feeder assembly (Examiner’s note: A paver is an article, and for examination purposes it has been considered as an article being handled: See MPEP section 2115), comprising:
a support structure configured to support a plurality of pavers arranged in a stack (see attached annotated fig. 3); being
and an elevator configured to move the single paver from the support structure (see attached annotated fig. 3) and to release the single paver into a mounting tub (Note: Mobile unit 1, is capable to release the article at the desired place, which is not an innovative concept)
and a cable (see attached annotated fig. 3)
wherein the cable (see attached annotated fig. 1) is fed via one of the plurality of shuttles (see annotated fig. 3) to a gripper attachment configured to lift and move individual pavers of the plurality of pavers (it can be seen in fig. 3).
Kim does not explicitly teach the elevator comprising a first drive mechanism including a first drive motor, a second drive mechanism including a second drive motor and a threaded rod, and a plurality of shuttles (Kim discloses only one shuttle see attached annotated fig. 3).
Garfield teaches the elevator (1126 in fig. 15 and 17) comprising a first drive mechanism (1108 in ¶0111) including a first drive motor (1108b in fig. 16), a second drive mechanism (1118 in fig. 16) including a second drive motor (1118b in fig. 16) and a threaded rod (1108a and 1118a in fig. 16), and a plurality of shuttles (see attached annotated fig.16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Kim by incorporating the elevator comprising a first drive mechanism including a first drive motor, a second drive mechanism including a second drive motor and a threaded rod, and a plurality of shuttles in view of Garfield in order to achieve translation movement of the shuttles in X and Y directions (¶0010).
Regarding claim 2, combination of Kim and Garfield teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Kim also teaches the support structure is a flat bed (see attached annotated fig. 3), and the elevator is a moveable crane gantry (see attached annotated fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, combination of Kim and Garfield teaches all the limitations of claim 2, Kim also teaches wherein the moveable crane gantry is configured to move in three axes (it can be seen in Fig. 1-3), See column 4, lines 38-41 and column 5, lines from 4-10).
Regarding claim 4, combination of Kim and Garfield teaches all the limitations of claim 2, Kim also teaches wherein the flat bed, and the moveable crane gantry are mounted on a mobile unit (it can be seen in Fig. 1-3).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Kim and Garfield teaches a method of dispensing pavers (considered as an article being handled: see rejection of claim1) in mounting tubs (see rejection of claim 1), comprising:
loading a stack of pavers onto a support structure (it can be seen in fig. 1-3 of Kim article can be loaded on support structure);
separating a first paver of the stack of pavers via a moveable crane gantry comprising a first drive mechanism including a first drive motor, a second drive mechanism including a second drive motor and a threaded rod, and a plurality of shuttles, wherein the first drive mechanism drives the second drive mechanism and the second drive mechanism drives one of the plurality of shuttles (see rejection of claim 1);
lowering the first paver into a mounting tub via a cable fed to a gripper attachment configured to move the first paver of the stack of pavers (see above attached annotated fig.3, it can be seen in fig. 3, that cable is attached to the gripper);
separating a second paver of the stack of pavers; and lowering the second paver into the mounting tub on top of the first paver (Modified Mobile unit 1 of Kim in view of Garfield can perform listed step, which is not an innovative concept. Furthermore).
See rejection of claim 1 for citation, combination and motivation purpose. Regarding claim 16, combination of Kim and Garfield teaches all the limitations of claim 15, Kim also teaches wherein the support structure is mounted on a mobile unit (it can be seen in Fig.1- 3).
Regarding claim 17, combination of Kim and Garfield teaches all the limitations of claim 16, Kim also teaches wherein the loading step is performed at a staging area (Note: Prior art is silent about staging area; however, the staging area is required to load the articles which are being loaded on the support. Which is not an innovative concept).
Regarding claim 18-20, combination of Kim and Garfield disclosed mobile unit which can move from point A to B.
Claim(s) 10-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 9081057 B2 (Kim et al., hereinafter: Kim) in view of US 20180297193 A1 (Garfield et al., hereinafter: Garfield), and further in view of US 4297071 A (Dunbar).
Regarding claim 10 as best understood in view of 35 U.S.C. §112 rejection above, Kim teaches a paver feeder system (Considered as an article handling system: see rejection of claim 1) comprising:
A mobile unit (Fig. 3);
a paver feeder assembly (see rejection of claim 1) mounted on the mobile unit (It can be seen in Fig. 1-3), the paver feeder assembly comprising:
a support structure configured to support a plurality of pavers arranged in a stack (see attached annotated fig. 3); and
a movable crane gantry (it can be seen in fig. 1-3) configured to move the single paver from the support structure and to release the single paver into a mounting tub (for citation purpose see rejection of claim 1).
Kim does not explicitly teach the movable crane gantry comprising an x axis, a y axis, a first drive mechanism including a first drive motor, a second drive mechanism including a second drive motor and a threaded rod, and a plurality of shuttles; wherein the first drive mechanism is fixed to a frame mounted to the mobile unit such that the first drive mechanism drives the second drive mechanism back and forth along the x axis; wherein the second drive mechanism is attached to a first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles such that the second drive mechanism moves the first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles back and forth along the threaded rod.
Garfield teaches crane gantry (fig, 15-17) comprising an x axis (A-axis in fig. 16), a y axis (B-Axis in fig.16), a first drive mechanism (1108 in ¶0111) including a first drive motor (1108b in fig. 16), a second drive mechanism (1118 in fig. 16) including a second drive motor (1118b in fig. 16) and a threaded rod (1108a and 1118a in fig. 16), and a plurality of shuttles (see attached annotated fig.16);
wherein the first drive mechanism (1108 in ¶0111) is fixed to a frame (1100 in fig. 15, ¶0111) mounted to the mobile unit such that the first drive mechanism drives the second drive mechanism back and forth along the x axis (it can be seen in fig. 16); wherein the second drive mechanism (1118 in fig. 16) is attached to a first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles such that the second drive mechanism moves the first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles (see above attached annotated fig. 16) back and forth along the threaded rod (it can be seen in fig. 16)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified Kim by incorporating crane gantry comprising an x axis, a y axis, a first drive mechanism including a first drive motor, a second drive mechanism including a second drive motor and a threaded rod, and a plurality of shuttles; wherein the first drive mechanism is fixed to a frame mounted to the mobile unit such that the first drive mechanism drives the second drive mechanism back and forth along the x axis; wherein the second drive mechanism is attached to a first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles such that the second drive mechanism moves the first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles back and forth along the threaded rod in view of Garfield in order to achieve translation movement of the shuttles in X and Y directions (¶0010).
Combination of Kim and Garfield does not explicitly teach wherein when the first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles moves back and forth along the threaded rod, a second shuttle of the plurality of shuttles moves from above the support structure out over a mounting tub.
Dunbar teaches wherein when the first shuttle (48 in fig. 1) of the plurality of shuttles (48 on left side, 48 on right side, and 13 in fig. 1) moves back and forth along the threaded rod (43), a second shuttle (13) of the plurality of shuttles moves from above the support structure out over a mounting tub (it can be seen in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have modified combination of Kim and Garfield by incorporating when the first shuttle of the plurality of shuttles moves back and forth along the threaded rod, a second shuttle of the plurality of shuttles moves from above the support structure out over a mounting tub in view of Dunbar in order to achieve transfer of article like pavers or brick (column 1 lines 16-18) by providing access to the entire support bed (column 1, lines 47-49).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Kim, Garfield and Dunbar teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Kim also discloses wherein the support structure is a flat bed (see attached annotated fig.3), and the elevator is a moveable crane gantry (see attached annotated fig.3) comprising a gripper attachment (Fig. 10, 100) with grabber end attachments (Fig. 10, 123).
Regarding claim 14, Kim et al. discloses all the limitations of the claim 10, it also discloses wherein the paver feeder system (see rejection of claim 1) dispenses a pre-determined number of pavers (note: that mobile unit of the prior art is capable of dispensing the pre-determined number of the articles, it can be seen in Fig. 3 is carrying 3 articles which has to be transferred from point A to B.) into the mounting tubs (Note: Mobile unit 1, is capable to release the article at the desire place, which is not an innovative concept).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see on pages 6-7, filed 07/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 10-11, and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. §102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as explained in present Office Action above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other cited prior art also teaches first and second mechanisms and shuttles arrangement for pick and place article. Especially US 5172468 A (Tanaka et al.) and US 5694219 A (Kim, US’ 219) teach a first drive mechanism, a second drive mechanism, threaded rod and shuttles, threaded rod and its arrangements as claimed in claim 10 see fig. 9 of Tanaka et al. and Fig. 1 of Kim (US ’219).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAIMIN G PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/JONATHAN SNELTING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652