DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 07/23/26. Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 14-15, and 17 have been amended, new claim 21 has been added, and claim 16 has been cancelled. Thus, claims 1-15 and 17-20 are presently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 15 and 21, lines 11-14 and 9-12, respectively, the limitation “information that indicates one or more device parameters selected from (i) a first group of parameters consisting of heater plate temperature, pressure of the breathable gas, and flow rate of the breathable gas, and (ii) a second group of parameters that comprise an ambient temperature, a relative humidity, and ambient pressure” is unclear. The limitation is unclear whether the parameters is selected from one of the first group and one of the second group or one from only the first group or one from only the second group. It can not be determined what parameters Applicant is attempting to claim.
All remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency of a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-10, 14-15, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bath (2020/0114098) in view of Bowman (2015/0165146).
With respect to claim 1, Bath discloses a humidifier of a heated pass-over type (5000, fig 1) for use in a sleep or respiratory therapy device (see [0003] and 4000, (fig 1) that includes a blower section having a blower (4142, fig 4A) for supplying a pressurized flow of breathable gas ([0140]), comprising a heater plate (5240, fig 5B); a water reservoir (5110, fig 5B) structured to house a volume of water ([0284]), the water reservoir having a breathable gas inlet (5002, fig 5A) and a humidified breathable gas outlet (5004, fig 5A), wherein the water reservoir includes at least one surface for contacting the heater plate (5120, fig 5B; [0289]); and one or more sensors (5210, fig 5C) configured to generate output signals conveying information about an operating status of the humidifier and ambient conditions ([0292]); a controller (5250, fig 5C) configured to control an evaporation rate of the volume of water housed in the water reservoir (see [0300]) for humidifying the flow of breathable gas received at the breathable gas inlet of the water reservoir into a flow of humidified breathable gas at the humidified breathable gas outlet of the water reservoir ([0296]) with a power control according to a power control algorithm for humidifying ([0330-331]), but is silent regarding the power control algorithm includes a transfer function in which a required power input to the heater plate is a function of a desired evaporation rate based upon generated sensor output signals from the one or more sensors.
However, Bowman teaches a humidification system (100, fig 6) comprising a controller (200/303, fig 6) configured to control an evaporation rate of the volume of water housed in the water reservoir with a power control according to a power control algorithm for humidifying (see 636-642, fig 16) the flow of breathable gas received at a breathable gas inlet of the water reservoir (416, fig 12) into a flow of humidified breathable gas at a humidified breathable gas outlet of the water reservoir (408, fig 12 and [0084]), wherein the power control algorithm includes a transfer function in which a required power input to the heater plate is a function of a desired evaporation rate (see [0081 and 135]) based upon generated sensor output signals (see ‘based on one or more of:” in [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power control of Bath to include the transfer function requiring power input to the heater plate as a function of a desired evaporation rate based upon generated sensor output signals as taught by Bowman so as to provide a modulated control to ensure delivery of a generally continuous level of humidity (see [0080] of Bowman).
With respect to claim 2, the modified Bath shows the generated sensor output signal is heater plate temperature (see [0295] of Bath) and an ambient parameter is ambient temperature (see [0295] of Bath).
With respect to claim 3, the modified Bath shows the transfer function is specific to a given humidifier design and where the required power input to the heater plate during a quasi- steady state can be described as a function of (i) a desired quasi-steady state evaporation rate and (ii) generated output signals from the one or more sensors (note the continuous monitoring of the power and additional parameters will allow for specific transfer functions and therefore during a quasi-steady state).
With respect to claim 4, the modified Bath shows the generated sensor output signal is heater plate temperature (see [0295] of Bath) and an ambient parameter is ambient temperature (see [0295] of Bath).
With respect to claim 7, the modified Bath shows the water reservoir includes a plate (conductive portion; 5120, fig 5B of Bath) disposed on or integral with the at least one surface of the water reservoir and configured for being placed in contact with the heater plate (see [0289] of Bath).
With respect to claim 8, the modified Bath shows the required power input comprises an electric power input to the heater plate that is operable as a control parameter to regulate the evaporation rate (see figs 5D-5E of Bath where the power supply provides power to control the controller and the heater plate thus the evaporation/humidification of the humidifier).
With respect to claim 9, the modified Bath shows the required electrical power input to the heater plate comprises an electrical power controlled by pulse width modulation (see [0324] of Bath).
With respect to claim 10, the modified Bath shows the evaporation rate is continuously adapted to changes in the operating status of the humidifier and the ambient conditions (note the continual sensing and feedback to the humidifier controller of Bath provides changes to the heating power based on the sensing; see fig 5M and adaptive power management [0340] of Bath).
With respect to claim 14, the modified Bath shows a gas delivery system (3000/4000/5000, fig 1 of Bath) for delivering a pressurized flow of humidified breathable gas to a patient (see [0090] of Bath) via a patient circuit (3000, fig 1 of Bath), comprising a blower assembly having a blower assembly corresponding to the blower section recited in claim 1 (4142, fig 4A of Bath) the blower assembly adapted to generate the pressurized flow of breathable gas ([0140] of Bath), and a gas flow path including an inlet (5002, fig 5A of Bath) and an outlet (5004, fig 5A of Bath); and a humidifier according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein there is a fluidic coupling between the blower, the humidifier, and the patient circuit (see connections in fig 4B of Bath).
With respect to claim 15, the modified Bath shows a method of humidifying (see figs 5E and 5M) a flow of breathable gas in a sleep or respiratory therapy device (5000, fig 1) that includes a blower section having a blower (4142, fig 4A) for supplying a pressurized flow of breathable gas ([0140]) using a humidifier of a heated pass-over type (5000, fig 1), the method comprising providing a heater plate (5240, fig 5B); providing a water reservoir (5110, fig 5B) structured to house a volume of water ([0284]), the water reservoir having a breathable gas inlet (5002, fig 5A) and a humidified breathable gas outlet (5004, fig 5A), wherein the water reservoir includes at least one surface for contacting the heater plate (5120, fig 5B; [0289]); and providing one or more sensors (5210, fig 5C) configured to generate output signals conveying information that indicates one or more device parameter of heater plate temperature (5216; fig 5C and [0295]); controlling, via a controller (5250, fig 5C), an evaporation rate of the volume of water housed in the water reservoir (see [0300]) for humidifying the flow of breathable gas received at the breathable gas inlet of the water reservoir into a flow of humidified breathable gas at the humidified breathable gas outlet of the water reservoir ([0296]) with a power control according to a power control algorithm for humidifying ([0330-331]), but is silent regarding the power control algorithm includes a transfer function in which a required power input to the heater plate is a function of a desired evaporation rate based upon generated sensor output signals.
However, Bowman teaches a humidification system (100, fig 6) comprising a controller (200/303, fig 6) configured to control an evaporation rate of the volume of water housed in the water reservoir with a power control according to a power control algorithm for humidifying (see 636-642, fig 16) the flow of breathable gas received at a breathable gas inlet of the water reservoir (416, fig 12) into a flow of humidified breathable gas at a humidified breathable gas outlet of the water reservoir (408, fig 12 and [0084]), wherein the power control algorithm includes a transfer function in which a required power input to the heater plate is a function of a desired evaporation rate (see [0081 and 135]) based upon generated sensor output signals (see ‘based on one or more of:” in [0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the power control of Bath to include the transfer function requiring power input to the heater plate as a function of a desired evaporation rate based upon generated sensor output signals as taught by Bowman so as to provide a modulated control to ensure delivery of a generally continuous level of humidity (see [0080] of Bowman).
With respect to claim 17, the modified Bath shows the transfer function is specific to a given humidifier design and where the required power input to the heater plate during a quasi- steady state is described as a function of (i) a desired quasi-steady state evaporation rate and (ii) generated sensor output signals (note the continuous monitoring of the power and additional parameters will allow for specific transfer functions and therefore during a quasi-steady state).
With respect to claim 20, the modified Bath shows the water reservoir includes a heat conductive plate (conductive portion; 5120, fig 5B of Bath) disposed on or integral with the at least one surface of the water reservoir and configured for being placed in contact with the heater plate (see [0289] of Bath).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bath and Bowman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McRae (2003/0033055).
With respect to claim 11, the modified Bath shows all the elements as claimed above but lacks a shunt resistance in series with the heater plate, wherein the controller is further configured to obtain a measurement of electrical power delivered to the heater plate via measuring a voltage drop across the shunt resistance, determining electrical current to the heater plate using the measured voltage drop across the shunt resistance and voltage, Vhp, across the heater plate.
However, McRae teaches an aerosol generator (300, fig 3) comprising a shunt resistance (see [0053]) in series with a heater plate (310, fig 3), wherein a controller (350, fig 3) is configured to obtain a measurement of electrical power delivered to the heater plate via measuring a voltage drop across the shunt resistance (see [0053-54]), determining electrical current to the heater plate using the measured voltage drop across the shunt resistance and voltage across the heater plate (see [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the humidifier of the modified Bath to include a shunt resistance as taught by McRae so as to continuously regulate the temperature (see [0053] of McRae).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bath and Bowman as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Barker (2013/0104886).
With respect to claim 13, the modified Bath shows all the elements as claimed above but is silent regarding the controller is further configured, responsive to a detection of an increase in heater plate temperature above a threshold amount, to reduce the power input to the heater plate.
However, Barker teaches a humidifier (1, fig 2a) comprising a controller (8b, fig 2a) configured responsive to a detection of an increase in heater plate temperature above a threshold amount, to reduce the power input to the heater plate (see [0027] and [0091] and fig 1 and 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the controller of the modified Bath to control temperature based on feedback as taught by Barker so as to allow for continuous monitoring of an at home device (see [0012] of Barker).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is allowed.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claims 5-6 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 18-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on pgs. 12-13 that "Applicant respectfully submits that Examiner has not shown why a person of ordinary skill would have applied Bowman's CFV humidity-output control in Bath's blower-priority, power-budgeted heated pass-over system." This is not .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E BALLER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TU A VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785