Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after 16 Mar 2013 , is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. DETAILED ACTION Applicant presents Claims 1-20 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-20 as detailed below. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. +_+_+ Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baier (Baier et al.; "MEMS-Scanner Testbench for High Field of View LiDAR Applications"; Sensors (Basel); 2021) +_+_+ [ **Examiner’s Note: Although Applicant is claiming an apparatus and method for extrinsically measuring a LiDAR emission FOV, the Office notes that this process is nearly identical to well-known methods for extrinsically measuring the FOV (i.e. light reception ) of a lens. See Jongerius PTO-892 reference.] As for Claim 1 , Baier teaches a first reflector having a first reflective surface formed on one side of the first reflector (P3/13, Fig. 1(b) screen movable in z direction, away from or towards LiDAR scanner) ; a cradle capable of fixing the LiDAR so that a projection area is formed on the first reflective surface by light irradiated by the light source and adjusting a distance between the first reflective surface and the light source (Fig. 2, P5/13, showing LiDAR scanning mirror, in 2D adjustable fixture, with screen movable in the Z direction.) ; a camera for photographing the first reflective surface where the projection area is formed; and a calculator to determine the field of view of the light source from photographing information collected by the camera (P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen. This enables the measurement of large steering angles, high dynamic bandwidth, and small measurement uncertainties thanks to the quality of the PSD as a detector. A schematic of the setup for characterizing MEMS-based LiDAR scanners is depicted in Figure 1.”) As for Claim 2 , which depends on Claim 1, Baier teaches further comprising: a first rail extending in a direction perpendicular to the first reflective surface; wherein the cradle is coupled to the first rail to reciprocate along the first rail (Fig. 2, P5/13, showing LiDAR scanning mirror, in 2D adjustable fixture, with screen movable in Z direction.) As for Claim 3 , which depends on Claim 1, Baier teaches wherein when opposite ends of the projection area located on a first axis are included in the first reflective surface, the calculator determines the field of view of the light source on the first axis (P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen. This enables the measurement of large steering angles, high dynamic bandwidth, and small measurement uncertainties thanks to the quality of the PSD as a detector. A schematic of the setup for characterizing MEMS-based LiDAR scanners is depicted in Figure 1.”) As for Claim 4 , which depends on Claim 3, Baier teaches wherein when opposite ends of the projection area located on a second axis is further included in the first reflective surface, the calculator determines the field of view of the light source on the second axis (P7/13 Fig. 4, showing FOV calculated using multiple screen distances.) As for Claim 5 , which depends on Claim 3, Baier teaches wherein the calculator determines the field of view of the light source by comparing photographing information taken by the camera while the cradle is located at a first position and photographing information taken by the camera while the cradle is located at a second position (P7/13 Fig. 4, showing FOV calculated using multiple screen distances.) As for Claim 6 , which depends on Claim 5, Baier teaches wherein the calculator determines the field of view of the light source using Equation 1: [Equation 1] (where, θ is a field of view of the light source on the first axis, D1 is a distance from the first reflective surface to the first position, D2 is a distance from the first reflective surface to the second position, W1 is a distance between opposite ends of the projection area located on the first axis while the cradle is located at the first position, and W2 is a distance between opposite ends of the projection area located on the first axis while the cradle is located at the second position . ) (P7/14, Formula 4) As for Claim 7 , Baier teaches a first reflector having a first reflective surface formed on one side of the first reflector (P3/13, Fig. 1(b) screen movable in z direction, away from or towards LiDAR scanner) ; a cradle capable of fixing the LiDAR so that a projection area formed by light irradiated by the light source is included in the first reflective surface; a second reflector that is movable between the cradle and the first reflector in a direction horizontal to the first reflector and has a second reflective surface formed on one side of the second reflector ( P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) ; a camera for photographing the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface on which the projection area is formed; and a calculator to determine the field of view of the light source from photographing information collected by the camera (P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen. This enables the measurement of large steering angles, high dynamic bandwidth, and small measurement uncertainties thanks to the quality of the PSD as a detector. A schematic of the setup for characterizing MEMS-based LiDAR scanners is depicted in Figure 1.” Further, (P7/13 Fig. 4, showing FOV calculated using multiple screen distances.)) As for Claim 8 , which depends on Claim 7, Baier teaches further comprising: a second rail extending in a direction horizontal to the first reflective surface; wherein the second reflector is coupled to the second rail to reciprocate along the second rail (Fig. 2, P5/13, showing LiDAR scanning mirror, in 2D adjustable fixture, with screen movable in the Z direction.) As for Claim 9 , which depends on Claim 7, Baier teaches wherein when one end of the projection area located on a first axis is included in the first reflective surface and one end of the second reflective surface starts to block light irradiated from the light source to one end of the projection area, the calculator determines the field of view of the light source on the first axis ( P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) As for Claim 10 , which depends on Claim 9, Baier teaches wherein the calculator determines the field of view of the light source using Equation 2: [Equation 2] (where, θ is a field of view of the light source on the first axis, D3 is a distance from the first reflective surface to one end of the second reflective surface, and W3 is a distance from one end of the projection area to one end of the second reflective surface along the first axis in a state in which one end of the second reflective surface starts to block light irradiated from the light source to one end of the projection area) (P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen.”) As for Claim 11 , which depends on Claim 7, Baier teaches further comprising: a third reflector that is movable between the cradle and the first reflector in a direction horizontal to the first reflective surface and has a third reflective surface formed on one side of the third reflector; wherein the camera further photographs the third reflective surface where the projection area is formed ( P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) As for Claim 12 , which depends on Claim 11, Baier teaches wherein when one end of the projection area and another other end of the projection area located on a first axis are included in the first reflective surface, one end of the second reflective surface starts to block light irradiated from the light source to one end of the projection area and one end of the third reflective surface starts to block light irradiated from the light source to the other end of the projection area, the calculator determines the field of view of the light source on the first axis ( P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) As for Claim 13 , which depends on Claim 12, Baier teaches wherein the calculator determines the field of view of the light source using Equation 3: [Equation 3] (where, θ is a field of view of the light source on the first axis, D3 is a distance from the first reflective surface to one end of the second reflector, W3 is a distance from one end of the projection area to one end of the second reflective surface along the first axis in a state in which one end of the second reflective surface starts to block light irradiated from the light source to one end of the projection area, D4 is a distance from the first reflective surface to one end of the third reflective surface, and W4 is a distance from the other end of the projection area to one end of the third reflective surface along the first axis in a state in which one end of the third reflective surface starts to block light irradiated from the light source to the other end of the projection area) (P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen.”) As for Claim 14 , which depends on Claim 11, Baier teaches wherein one end of the second reflective surface and one end of the third reflective surface are disposed parallel to each other in a direction parallel to a first axis (P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) As for Claim 15 , Baier teaches fixing a LiDAR of coupling the LiDAR to a cradle so that a projection area i s formed on a first reflective surface of a first reflector by light irradiated from a light source of the LiDAR (P3/13, Fig. 1(b) screen movable in z direction, away from or towards LiDAR scanner) ; first adjusting a position of a cradle of adjusting the cradle to a first position so that opposite ends of the projection area located on a first axis are included i n the first reflective surface (Fig. 2, P5/13, showing LiDAR scanning mirror, in 2D adjustable fixture, with screen movable in the Z direction.) ; first photographing of photographing the first reflective surface with a camera while the cradle i s located at the first position P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen.”) ; second adjusting a position of a cradle of adjusting the cradle to a second position while opposite ends of the projection area located on the first axis are included i n the first reflective surface; second photographing of photographing the first reflective surface while the cradle is located at the second position (P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) ; and determining a field of view of determining a field of view of the light source by comparing photographing information taken while the cradle i s located at the first position and photographing information taken while the cradle is located at the second position (P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen.”) Claim 1 6 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 6 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly. As for Claim 17 , Baier teaches comprising: fixing a LiDAR of coupling the LiDAR to a cradle so that a projection area is formed on a first reflective surface of a first reflector by light irradiated from a light source of the LiDAR (P3/13, Fig. 1(b) screen movable in z direction, away from or towards LiDAR scanner) ; first adjusting a position of a reflector of moving a second reflector until one end of a second reflective surface of the second reflector starts to block light irradiated from the light source to one end of the projection area located on a first axis (P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) ; first photographing of generating first photographing information by photographing the first reflective surface and the second reflective surface; and determining a field of view of determining a field of view of the light source from the first photographing information (P3/13: “The proposed setup captures a projected laser spot on an optical diffuser screen with a calibrated imaging system consisting of a PSD lens combination. The steering angle of the MEMS scanner [i.e., LiDAR FOV] can be derived from the knowledge of the imaging system and the distance between the scanner and the diffuser screen.”) Claim 18 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 10 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly. As for Claim 19 , which depends on Claim 17, Baier teaches further comprising: prior to the determining a field of view, second adjusting a position of a reflector of moving a third reflector until one end of a third reflective surface of the third reflector starts to block light irradiated from the light source to the another end of the projection area located on a first axis; and second photographing of generating second photographing information by photographing the first reflective surface and the third reflective surface; wherein in the step of determining a field of view, the field of view of the light source is determined by further including the second photographing information (P7/13, Fig. 4 and P5/13, Fig. 2A, showing a 2D fixture which can move the LiDAR scanner and subsequent FOV angles to numerous XY positions and a screen that can move to numerous Z positions and a camera that can capture data from any of the desired positions including ones that would block the FOV angle from other positions.) Claim 20 recites substantially the same subject matter as Claim 1 3 and stands rejected on the same basis accordingly. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT CLINT THATCHER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3588 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Mon-Fri 9am-5:30pm ET and generally keeps a daily 2:30pm timeslot open for interviews. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant may call the examiner to set up a time or use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) system at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yuqing Xiao, can be reached at (571) 270-3603. Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Clint Thatcher/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /YUQING XIAO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645