DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 12/16/2025, claims 11, 18, 20 have been amended, claims 1-10 and 12 are cancelled, and new claims 21-25 are added. Claims 11 and 13-25 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, lines 7-8, the term may be amended as “[[the]]a magnet”.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first infrared module … configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal” in claims 11, 18, and 25, “a first positioning member … configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot” in claims 11, and 18, and 25, and “a second infrared module configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal” in claims 18 and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 13-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 11, and 18, and 25 recite the term “first infrared module”, however, the term lacks written description requirement. Specification describes where the first infrared module is disposed of and what the first infrared module does, but no explanation is given as to what component(s) makes the first infrared module to transmit or receive an infrared signal. Therefore, the term lacks the written description.
Claims 13-17 and 21-24 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency from claim 11, and claims 19 and 20 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency from claim 18.
Claim 18 recites the term “second infrared module”, however, the term lacks written description requirement. Specification describes where the second infrared module is disposed of and what the second infrared module does, but no explanation is given as to what component(s) makes the second infrared module to transmit or receive an infrared signal. Therefore, the term lacks the written description.
Claims 19 and 20 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, 14, 16, 21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2023284238A1, cited on 10/31/2024 IDS, hereinafter Li), in view of Hoffman et al. (JP 2022505532A, cited on 10/314/2024 IDS, hereinafter Hoffman), Vorwerk & Co Intreholding GmbH (DE 202016104006U1, hereinafter Vorwerk), Park et al. (CN 112789783A, hereinafter Park), and Gu et al. (CN 114468895A, hereinafter Gu).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses a water storage device comprising:
a device base (fig. 11, base station body 20), wherein the device base comprises:
a first water tank (fig. 14, a liquid supply part 70);
a water pump within the housing (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50);
a water passage opening on the housing (fig. 18, joint part 53);
a first water pipe connecting the water passage opening with the water pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, the first pump body delivers the cleaning liquid to the water supply joint 50 which is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the joint part 53 and the first pump body);
a second water pipe connecting the water pump with the first water tank (Li English translation, p. 29:14-19, the first pump body is used for sending cleaning water from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the liquid supply part 70 and the first pump body); and
a first positioning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post 71 as shown in fig. 2 and described in ¶ 0032 of the instant application) on the housing, the first positioning member being configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, and make a water injection port of the cleaning robot keep docked with the water passage opening (fig. 18 and Li English translation, p. 29:1-8, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] allows the water supply connector 50 is reliably connected to a water supply port 16 of a cleaning robot 10 when the robot is docked to the base station body 20. The first positioning portion 60 is a tapered post), but does not disclose a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction; and a first infrared module within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared module facing the first opening, and the first infrared module being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot.
Hoffman teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction (fig. 30 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing); and
a first infrared module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but specification does not describe what components make the first infrared module) within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared module facing the first opening, and the first infrared module being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot (figs. 30-32 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0054, the docking station has a docking signal 14 such as an infrared signal produced by a light emitting diode; ¶ 0112, signal ends of a light emitting diode 3206 [corresponds to the recited first infrared module] are directed to the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening]; ¶ 0106, a transmitter shadow box 3002, which includes the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening], emits the light; ¶ 0058, optical signals guide the robot cleaner to charging contacts of the docking station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li to provide the first infrared module as taught by Hoffman in order to guide the cleaning robot to the docking station accurately (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058).
Li as modified by Hoffman does not disclose the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine.
Vorwerk teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine (fig. 3, the cleaning device comprises the storage tank 3 [corresponds to the recited principal machine] and the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited device base]. A valve 6 and a piston 7 of the storage tank 3 [correspond to the recited water circuit of the principal machine] is connected to a dispensing nozzle 5 of the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited water circuit of the device base] for dispensing water to the wet cleaning device 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Li as modified by Hoffman to provide the principal machine which can be assembled with the device as taught by Vorwerk so that the water tank can be separated for easy cleaning and refilling water.
Li as modified by Hoffman and Vorwerk does not disclose the water storage device is configured as at least one of an air humidifier or a dehumidifier.
Park teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device is configured as at least one of an air humidifier or a dehumidifier (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10, a device 30 used for docking a robot cleaner 150 can be a humidifier or a dehumidifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman and Vorwerk to provide the air humidifier as taught by Park for that one electric device can be used for multi purposes. It can save a space in a room.
Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park does not disclose the water storage device is configured to interact with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Gu teaches, in an analogous robot cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device is configured to interact with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device (fig. 3 and Gu English translation, p. 8:35-9:16, 16:7-18, and 17:11-16, when a cleaning robot docks to a working station, water is supplied to and drained from the cleaning robot. The water exchange is done by automatically extending and retracting a conveying pipe 3 of the working station. The conveying pump 60 not only pumps water but also sucks water. Thus, there should be one water flow path between the robot and the working station for conducting the water exchange. The teaching of Gu can be combined with Li to teach the water exchange is done through the water injection port and the water passage opening of Li).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park to provide the water exchange between the robot and the water storage device as taught by Gu so that the cleaning robot can perform cleaning continuously without human interruption for draining and supplying water (Gu English translation, p. 9:10-13).
Regarding claim 13, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the water passage opening is a second opening penetrating the housing (Li, fig. 18, joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] can be defined as a second opening. It penetrates the housing).
Regarding claim 14, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein: the housing comprises a third opening penetrating the housing; the device base further comprises a water passage member arranged in and passing through the third opening, the water passage member being connected with the first water pipe and partially located outside the housing, and the water passage opening being formed in the water passage member (Li English translation, p. 27:7-12, a main body 51 [corresponds to the recited water passage member] is disposed in an opening [corresponds to the recited third opening] passing through the housing of the base; p. 29:19-20, the water pipe connects the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] and the first pump body as discussed in claim 1 above; figs. 18-19, the main body 15 is located partially outside the housing).
Regarding claim 16, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post or a tapered positioning hole, and the tapered positioning post or the tapered positioning hole is connected to the cleaning robot and limits the position of the cleaning robot (Li English translation, p. 29:1-8 and fig. 18, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] is a tapered post. The first positioning portion 60 of the base is inserted into a second positioning portion 14 of the robot, thus is aligns a position of the robot).
Regarding claim 21, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the device base comprises an even number of first positioning members arranged symmetrically with respect to the water passage opening on the housing (Li fig. 18, there are two first positioning portions 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning members] arranged symmetrically with respect to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]).
Regarding claim 23, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the water pump comprises a water inlet pump and a water outlet pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body is used for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50 so that it works as a water outlet pump; Gu English translation, p. 16:7-18 and 17:11-16, the conveying pump 60 sends cleaning liquid and draws dirty water by suction force. The conveying pump 60 can work as a water inlet pump).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide the water inlet pump as taught by Gu in order to automatically draw dirty water from the cleaning robot.
Regarding claim 24, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the first opening is on a peripheral surface of the housing (Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106 and fig. 30, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide the first opening on the peripheral surface of the housing as taught by Hoffman so that electric signal transmission is not blocked for accurate communication between the cleaning robot and the docking station.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Wang et al. (CN 114699027A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 15, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 14, but does not disclose the water passage member comprises a plastic water passage member.
Wang teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water passage member comprises a plastic water passage member (Wang English translation, p. 13:16-19, a base station for a cleaning robot comprises water tanks and liquid supply lines. A communication tube 5 used for connecting liquid pipes can be made of plastic. Wang teaches a water passage line in a docking station can be made of plastic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water passage member of Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide it as the plastic member as taught by Wang. A water pipe can be made of plastic due to corrosion resistivity and water proof capability.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu, as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Hara (JP 2007213395A).
Regarding claim 17, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein an end of the positioning post is tapered (Li, fig. 18, an end of the first positioning part 60 is tapered), but does not disclose the first positioning member further comprises a magnet; the magnet is at an end of the positioning post away from a surface of the housing or at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole; and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot.
Hara teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the first positioning member further comprises a magnet; the magnet is at an end of the positioning post away from a surface of the housing (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-28 and fig. 2, a robot A is connected to a docking station B at a connection terminal of a feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member]. The feeding unit 10 is equipped with a magnet 10a used for receiving a receiving unit 9 of the robot A); and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot (the triggering of a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot is an intended use. The metal elastic sheet and the cleaning robot are not positively recited. Hara discloses the magnet at the end of the positioning post, and any magnet, as arranged by Hara, can be configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet if a cleaning robot had a metal elastic sheet for connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first positioning member of Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide the magnet as taught by Hara in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Qi (US 2021/0190347).
Regarding claim 22, Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, further comprising: a switch valve in a water circuit connected with the first water tank, the switch valve being configured to control connection or disconnection of a water circuit between the device base and the principal machine (Vorwerk English translation, p. 9:12-24, a valve 6 of the storage tank 3 controls water flow from the storage tank 3 to the wet cleaning device 2 through the dispensing nozzle 5; Li English translation, p. 29:21-30, a three-way valve such as a solenoid valve controls water flow from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, the valve of Li can be used for communication of water circuit between the device base and the principal machine), but does not disclose a connector configured to be connected with a corresponding connector of the principal machine, to control conduction or disconnection of an electric circuit between the device base and the principal machine.
Qi teaches, in an analogous water storage device field of endeavor, a connector configured to be connected with a corresponding connector of the principal machine, to control conduction or disconnection of an electric circuit between the device base and the principal machine (¶ 0065-66, Qi discloses a water storage device comprising two bodies assembled together. A main circuit board [corresponds to the recited connector] of a water control arrangement 40 controls sensor circuitries and a central processing unit for operational control of a base 2 [corresponds to the recited device base] and a water tank 1 [corresponds to the recited principal machine]. Qi teaches electric circuits of two bodies can be engaged together through an electric connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide the connector as taught by Qi in order to facilitate the electrical operation of the docking station automatically.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2023284238A1, cited on 10/31/2024 IDS, hereinafter Li), in view of Hoffman et al. (JP 2022505532A, cited on 10/314/2024 IDS, hereinafter Hoffman), Park et al. (CN 112789783A, hereinafter Park), and Gu et al. (CN 114468895A, hereinafter Gu).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a cleaning robot, configured to interact with a device base (fig. 21, a cleaning robot 10 interacts with the base station body 20 [corresponds to the recited device base]), wherein the device base comprises:
a first water tank (fig. 14, a liquid supply part 70);
a water pump within the housing (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50);
a water passage opening on the housing (fig. 18, joint part 53);
a first water pipe connecting the water passage opening with the water pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, the first pump body delivers the cleaning liquid to the water supply joint 50 which is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the joint part 53 and the first pump body);
a second water pipe connecting the water pump with the first water tank (Li English translation, p. 29:14-19, the first pump body is used for sending cleaning water from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the liquid supply part 70 and the first pump body); and
a first positioning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post 71 as shown in fig. 2 and described in ¶ 0032 of the instant application) on the housing, the first positioning member being configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, and make a water injection port of the cleaning robot keep docked with the water passage opening (fig. 18 and Li English translation, p. 29:1-8, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] allows the water supply connector 50 is reliably connected to a water supply port 16 of a cleaning robot 10 when the robot is docked to the base station body 20. The first positioning portion 60 is a tapered post); and the cleaning robot comprises:
a panel comprising a panel body, a water injection port, and a second positioning member, wherein the water injection port is on the panel body and is configured to cooperate with the water passage opening, and the second positioning member is connected with the panel and configured to cooperate with the first positioning member to realize position limitation; and a second water tank connected with the water injection port (fig. 7, the cleaning robot 10 comprises a panel wherein a water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] and a second positioning port 14 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] are disposed on the panel; fig. 17 and Li English translation, p. 27:18-33, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] of the cleaning robot cooperates with the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] which is connected with the water supply joint 50 of the docking station; p. 28:26-29, the second position portion 14 of the cleaning robot cooperates with the first positioning part 60 of the docking station; p. 14:17-19, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] is connected with a liquid storage tank 13 [corresponds to the recited second water tank] of the cleaning robot).
But Li does not disclose a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction; a first infrared module within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared module facing the first opening, and the first infrared module being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot, and the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared module configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base.
Hoffman teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction (fig. 30 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing);
a first infrared module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but specification does not describe what components make the first infrared module) within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared module facing the first opening, and the first infrared module being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot (figs. 30-32 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0054, the docking station has a docking signal 14 such as an infrared signal produced by a light emitting diode; ¶ 0112, signal ends of a light emitting diode 3206 [corresponds to the recited first infrared module] are directed to the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening]; ¶ 0106, a transmitter shadow box 3002, which includes the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening], emits the light; ¶ 0058, optical signals guide the robot cleaner to charging contacts of the docking station), and
the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but specification does not describe what components make the second infrared module) configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058, the robot cleaner 102 has a sensor 126 [corresponds to the recited second infrared module] for detecting the optical signal. The signal guides the robot to the docking station 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li to provide the first infrared modules as taught by Hoffman in order to guide the cleaning robot to the docking station accurately (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058).
Li as modified by Hoffman does not disclose the device base is at least one of an air humidifier or a dehumidifier.
Park teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the device base is at least one of an air humidifier or a dehumidifier (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10, a device 30 used for docking a robot cleaner 150 can be a humidifier or a dehumidifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman to provide the air humidifier as taught by Park for that one electric device can be used for multi purposes. It can save a space in a room.
Li as modified by Hoffman and Park does not disclose the cleaning robot is configured to interact with the water storage device through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Gu teaches, in an analogous robot cleaning device field of endeavor, the cleaning robot is configured to interact with the water storage device through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device (fig. 3 and Gu English translation, p. 8:35-9:16, 16:7-18, and 17:11-16, when a cleaning robot docks to a working station, water is supplied to and drained from the cleaning robot. The water exchange is done by automatically extending and retracting a conveying pipe 3 of the working station. The conveying pump 60 not only pumps water but also sucks water. Thus, there should be one water flow path between the robot and the working station for conducting the water exchange. The teaching of Gu can be combined with Li to teach the water exchange is done through the water injection port and the water passage opening of Li).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman and Park to provide the water exchange between the robot and the water storage device as taught by Gu so that the cleaning robot can perform cleaning continuously without human interruption for draining and supplying water (Gu English translation, p. 9:10-13).
Regarding claim 19, Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, and Gu teaches the cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the water injection port comprises: an accommodating groove recessed inwards from a surface of the panel body; and a water injection hole penetrating the panel body and connected with the accommodating groove, the water injection hole being configured to be connected with the water passage opening (Li, figs. 7-8, the second positioning part 14 is a groove recessed inward from a surface of the panel body. The water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] has a hole penetrating the panel body and is connected with the second positioning part 14; fig. 17, the hole of the water supply port 16 is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] of the docking station) when the cleaning robot is coupled to the docking station).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hoffman and Park, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 114983280A, hereinafter Liu ‘280), Liu (CN 214260658U, hereinafter Liu ‘658), and Hara.
Regarding claim 20, Li as modified by Hoffman and Park teaches the cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the second positioning member comprises: a tapered positioning post or a tapered positioning hole, wherein the tapered positioning post or the tapered positioning hole is connected with the device base and limits the position of the device base (Li, fig. 7, the second positioning part 14 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] is a tapered positioning hole; fig. 17, when the cleaning robot is coupled to the docking station, the second positioning part 14 aligns a position of the robot); but does not disclose a metal elastic sheet at an end of the positioning post away from a surface of the panel or at a bottom of the positioning hole.
Liu ‘280 teaches, in an analogous cleaning robot field of endeavor, a cleaning device comprising a robot 4 and a docking station as shown in fig. 9. The docking station comprises a trigger member 71 so that when the robot stops at a parking position of the docking station, it contacts the trigger member 71, and it generates a trigger signal to activate valve 72 of a water tank in the docking station (Liu ‘280 English translation, p. 8:21-26 and 9:5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base and the cleaning robot of Li as modified by Hoffman and Park to provide the triggering device as taught by Liu ‘280 in order to activate the fluid transfer between the device base and the robot automatically.
Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, and Liu ‘280 does not disclose the signal triggering is accomplished by an interaction between a magnet and a metal elastic sheet.
Liu ‘658 teaches, in a utility device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, an interaction between a magnet and a metal elastic sheet generates the trigger signal (figs. 1-3 and Liu ‘658 English translation p. 6:20-7:5, Liu discloses a toy train comprising a magnetic trigger device 1022. When a head 1 and a carriage 2 are connected, a magnet 10221 is moved to contact a metal elastic sheet 10222. This contact triggers an electric circuit to make a sound. Liu teaches when two devices are properly positioned, the metal elastic sheet and the magnet combination works as a sensor to trigger an electrical device to perform a function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning robot of Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, and Liu ‘280 to provide the metal elastic sheet as taught by Liu ‘658. The elastic metal sheet would provide better contact with the magnet compared with a rigid metal sheet because it can achieve greater contact area. In addition, the magnet and metal sheet interaction may provide a sensor function with a low number of moving mechanical components.
Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, Liu ‘280, and Liu ‘658 does not disclose the magnet and metal elastic sheet interaction is provided between the docking station and the robot.
Hara teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] of the docking station B is equipped with the magnet 10a and it makes connection with a receiving unit 9 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] of the robot A wherein the receiving unit is a magnetic material/metal (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base and the cleaning robot of Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, Liu ‘280, and Liu ‘658 to provide the magnetic connection as taught by Hara in order to ensure that the cleaning robot makes the secure connection with the docking station.
Finally, Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, Liu ‘280, Liu ‘658, and Hara does not disclose explicitly the metal elastic sheet is disposed at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole.
However, Li discloses the tapered positioning hole as the second positioning member and Hara as modified by Liu ‘658 teaches the second positioning member comprises the metal elastic sheet as discussed above. Thus, the metal elastic sheet can be disposed at the bottom of the tapered positioning hole to be fitted with the opposing magnet. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, Liu ‘280, Liu ‘658, and Hara teaches the metal elastic sheet is configured to be triggered by the magnet at an end of the tapered positioning post away from a surface of the housing or at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole.
Although the triggering of a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot is an intended use, Hara teaches the magnet at the end of the positioning post, and any magnet, as arranged by Hara, can be configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet if a cleaning robot had a metal elastic sheet for connection (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-28 and fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first positioning member of Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, Liu ‘280, Liu ‘658, and Hara to provide the magnet as taught by Hara in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2023284238A1, cited on 10/31/2024 IDS, hereinafter Li), in view of Hoffman et al. (JP 2022505532A, cited on 10/314/2024 IDS, hereinafter Hoffman), Vorwerk & Co Intreholding GmbH (DE 202016104006U1, hereinafter Vorwerk), Park et al. (CN 112789783A, hereinafter Park), and Gu et al. (CN 114468895A, hereinafter Gu).
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses a water system, comprising a water storage device and a cleaning robot (fig. 9, cleaning robot 10);
a device base (fig. 11, base station body 20), wherein the device base comprises:
a first water tank (fig. 14, a liquid supply part 70);
a water pump within the housing (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50);
a water passage opening on the housing (fig. 18, joint part 53);
a first water pipe connecting the water passage opening with the water pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, the first pump body delivers the cleaning liquid to the water supply joint 50 which is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the joint part 53 and the first pump body);
a second water pipe connecting the water pump with the first water tank (Li English translation, p. 29:14-19, the first pump body is used for sending cleaning water from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the liquid supply part 70 and the first pump body); and
a first positioning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post 71 as shown in fig. 2 and described in ¶ 0032 of the instant application) on the housing, the first positioning member being configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, and make a water injection port of the cleaning robot keep docked with the water passage opening (fig. 18 and Li English translation, p. 29:1-8, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] allows the water supply connector 50 is reliably connected to a water supply port 16 of a cleaning robot 10 when the robot is docked to the base station body 20. The first positioning portion 60 is a tapered post); and the cleaning robot comprises:
a panel comprising a panel body, a water injection port, and a second positioning member, wherein the water injection port is on the panel body and is configured to cooperate with the water passage opening, and the second positioning member is connected with the panel and configured to cooperate with the first positioning member to realize position limitation; and a second water tank connected with the water injection port (fig. 7, the cleaning robot 10 comprises a panel wherein a water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] and a second positioning port 14 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] are disposed on the panel; fig. 17 and Li English translation, p. 27:18-33, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] of the cleaning robot cooperates with the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] which is connected with the water supply joint 50 of the docking station; p. 28:26-29, the second position portion 14 of the cleaning robot cooperates with the first positioning part 60 of the docking station; p. 14:17-19, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] is connected with a liquid storage tank 13 [corresponds to the recited second water tank] of the cleaning robot).
But Li does not disclose a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction; and a first infrared module within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared module facing the first opening, and the first infrared module being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot, and the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared module configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base.
Hoffman teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction (fig. 30 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing); and
a first infrared module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but specification does not describe what components make the first infrared module) within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared module facing the first opening, and the first infrared module being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot (figs. 30-32 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0054, the docking station has a docking signal 14 such as an infrared signal produced by a light emitting diode; ¶ 0112, signal ends of a light emitting diode 3206 [corresponds to the recited first infrared module] are directed to the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening]; ¶ 0106, a transmitter shadow box 3002, which includes the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening], emits the light; ¶ 0058, optical signals guide the robot cleaner to charging contacts of the docking station), and
the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), but specification does not describe what components make the second infrared module) configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058, the robot cleaner 102 has a sensor 126 [corresponds to the recited second infrared module] for detecting the optical signal. The signal guides the robot to the docking station 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li to provide the first infrared module as taught by Hoffman in order to guide the cleaning robot to the docking station accurately (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058).
Li as modified by Hoffman does not disclose the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine.
Vorwerk teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine (fig. 3, the cleaning device comprises the storage tank 3 [corresponds to the recited principal machine] and the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited device base]. A valve 6 and a piston 7 of the storage tank 3 [correspond to the recited water circuit of the principal machine] is connected to a dispensing nozzle 5 of the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited water circuit of the device base] for dispensing water to the wet cleaning device 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Li as modified by Hoffman to provide the principal machine which can be assembled with the device as taught by Vorwerk so that the water tank can be separated for easy cleaning and refilling water.
Li as modified by Hoffman and Vorwerk does not disclose the water storage device is configured as at least one of an air humidifier or a dehumidifier.
Park teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device is configured as at least one of an air humidifier or a dehumidifier (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10, a device 30 used for docking a robot cleaner 150 can be a humidifier or a dehumidifier).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman and Vorwerk to provide the air humidifier as taught by Park for that one electric device can be used for multi purposes. It can save a space in a room.
Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park does not disclose the water system is a water-exchange system wherein when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, the water storage device interacts with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Gu teaches, in an analogous robot cleaning device field of endeavor, the water system is a water-exchange system wherein when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, the water storage device interacts with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device (fig. 3 and Gu English translation, p. 8:35-9:16, 16:7-18, and 17:11-16, when a cleaning robot docks to a working station, water is supplied to and drained from the cleaning robot. The water exchange is done by automatically extending and retracting a conveying pipe 3 of the working station. The conveying pump 60 not only pumps water but also sucks water. Thus, there should be one water flow path between the robot and the working station for conducting the water exchange. The teaching of Gu can be combined with Li to teach the water exchange is done through the water injection port and the water passage opening of Li).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park to provide the water exchange between the robot and the water storage device as taught by Gu so that the cleaning robot can perform cleaning continuously without human interruption for draining and supplying water (Gu English translation, p. 9:10-13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gu.
Applicant argues Li, Hoffman, and Vorwerk do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the water storage device is configured to interact with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device. Examiner acknowledges that the Li’s system comprises the water injection port and the water passage opening for supplying water to the cleaning robot, but does not necessarily exchange water between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Gu teaches the water adding and water changing station for a cleaning robot. A Gu’s system comprises the conveying pump 60 used for supplying water to the cleaning robot and draining water from the cleaning robot (Gu English translation, p. 16:7-18 and 17:11-16). The work station utilizes the conveying pipe 3 for coupling with the cleaning robot. Therefore, Gu teaches the water exchange between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Park does not teach or suggest the water storage device configured as at least one of a humidifier or a dehumidifier because Park does not disclose a water exchange or a water circuit. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While Li, Hoffman, and Vorwerk teach the recited water storage device except the humidifier or dehumidifier function, Park teaches an electronic device which receives a cleaning robot and which can be a humidifier or a dehumidifier (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10 and fig. 9). Thus, the combination of Park with Li, Hoffman, and Vorwerk would teach the cleaning robot 150 and a host device 300 can be modified to have the water exchange system.
Regarding 112(a) rejection of the terms “first infrared module” and “second infrared module” for lack of the written description, Applicant asserts the configurations of the infrared module are well-understood as conventional technical approaches within the industry. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Despite common knowledge and use of the infrared module, a particular infrared module may utilize particular components, and the recited first and second infrared modules in the instant application have no explanation what the modules are composed of. Therefore, 112(a) rejections due to the lack of written description remain.
However, 112(b) rejections made in the previous non-final rejection office action dated on 09/17/2025 have been withdrawn due to amendments and cancellation of the related claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723