DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CRF 1.114
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 07/06/2026, claims 11, 18, 20, and 25 have been amended, and claims 16 and 17 are cancelled. Claims 1-10 and 12 were previously cancelled. Claims 11, 13-15, and 18-25 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 20, lines 7-8, the term may be amended as “[[a]]the magnet” because amended claim 18 introduces the term “a magnet”.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first positioning member … configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot” in claims 11, and 18, and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 18, line 36-38, the phrase “wherein the cleaning robot is configured to interact with the water storage device through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device” renders the claim vague and indefinite because the water storage device is not defined. In addition, the term “the water storage device” in line 36 lacks antecedent basis. The device base, not the water storage device, comprises the water passage opening. For examination purposes the examiner has interpreted the cleaning robot is configured to interact with the device base and water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the device base.
Claims 19 and 20 inherit the above deficiency by nature of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, 14, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2023284238A1, cited on 10/31/2024 IDS, hereinafter Li), in view of Hara (JP 2007213395A), Hoffman et al. (JP 2022505532A, cited on 10/314/2024 IDS, hereinafter Hoffman), Vorwerk & Co Intreholding GmbH (DE 202016104006U1, hereinafter Vorwerk), Park et al. (CN 112789783A, hereinafter Park), and Gu et al. (CN 114468895A, hereinafter Gu).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses a water storage device comprising:
a device base (fig. 11, base station body 20), wherein the device base comprises:
a first water tank (fig. 14, a liquid supply part 70);
a water pump within the housing (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50);
a water passage opening on the housing (fig. 18, joint part 53);
a first water pipe connecting the water passage opening with the water pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, the first pump body delivers the cleaning liquid to the water supply joint 50 which is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the joint part 53 and the first pump body);
a second water pipe connecting the water pump with the first water tank (Li English translation, p. 29:14-19, the first pump body is used for sending cleaning water from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the liquid supply part 70 and the first pump body); and
a first positioning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post 71 as shown in fig. 2 and described in ¶ 0032 of the instant application) on the housing, the first positioning member being configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, and make a water injection port of the cleaning robot keep docked with the water passage opening (fig. 18 and Li English translation, p. 29:1-8, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] allows the water supply connector 50 is reliably connected to a water supply port 16 of a cleaning robot 10 when the robot is docked to the base station body 20. The first positioning portion 60 is a tapered post),
wherein the first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post or a tapered positioning hole, and the tapered positioning post or the tapered positioning hole is connected to the cleaning robot and limits the position of the cleaning robot (Li English translation, p. 29:1-8 and fig. 18, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] is a tapered post. The first positioning portion 60 of the base is inserted into a second positioning portion 14 of the robot, thus is aligns a position of the robot), but does not disclose the first positioning member further comprises a magnet; and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot.
Hara teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the first positioning member further comprises a magnet (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-28 and fig. 2, a robot A is connected to a docking station B at a connection terminal of a feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member]. The feeding unit 10 is equipped with a magnet 10a used for receiving a receiving unit 9 of the robot A. By combining with Li, the magnet of Hara can be disposed at the first positioning portion 60 of Li); and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot (the triggering of a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot is an intended use. The metal elastic sheet and the cleaning robot are not positively recited. Hara discloses the magnet at the positioning post, and any magnet, as arranged by Hara, can be configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet if a cleaning robot had a metal elastic sheet for connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first positioning member of Li to provide the magnet as taught by Hara in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently.
Li as modified by Hara does not disclose explicitly the magnet is at an end of the tapered positioning post away from a surface of the housing or at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole.
However, Li discloses the tapered first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member/post] projecting away from a surface of the housing and Hara teaches the magnet disposed at the feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member]. The magnet used for coupling a docking station and a robot cleaner can be disposed at various surfaces as long as the magnet on the docking station attracts a metal on the cleaning robot. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positioning post of Li to provide the magnet at the end of the positioning post in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Li as modified by Hara also does not disclose a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction; and a first infrared transceiver within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared transceiver facing the first opening, and the first infrared transceiver being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot.
Hoffman teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction (fig. 30 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing in an inner-outer direction); and
a first infrared transceiver within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared transceiver facing the first opening, and the first infrared transceiver being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot (figs. 30-32 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0054, the docking station has a docking signal 14 such as an infrared signal produced by a light emitting diode; ¶ 0112, signal ends of a light emitting diode 3206 [corresponds to the recited first infrared transceiver] are directed to the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening]; ¶ 0106, a transmitter shadow box 3002, which includes the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening], emits the light; ¶ 0058, optical signals guide the robot cleaner to charging contacts of the docking station).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li as modified by Hara to provide the first infrared transceiver as taught by Hoffman in order to guide the cleaning robot to the docking station accurately (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058).
Li as modified by Hara and Hoffman does not disclose the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine.
Vorwerk teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine (fig. 3, the cleaning device comprises the storage tank 3 [corresponds to the recited principal machine] and the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited device base]. A valve 6 and a piston 7 of the storage tank 3 [correspond to the recited water circuit of the principal machine] is connected to a dispensing nozzle 5 of the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited water circuit of the device base] for dispensing water to the wet cleaning device 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Li as modified by Hara and Hoffman to provide the principal machine which can be assembled with the device as taught by Vorwerk so that the water tank can be separated for easy cleaning and refilling water.
Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman and Vorwerk does not disclose the water storage device is a household appliance having a water storage function and configured to be used separately.
Park teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device is a household appliance having a water storage function and configured to be used separately (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10 and fig. 9A, a device 300 [corresponds to the recited water storage device] comprises a first housing 310 [corresponds to the recited principal machine] and a second housing 320 [corresponds to the recited device base]. The device 300 is used for docking a robot cleaner 150, and it can be a household appliance such as a humidifier or a dehumidifier. The humidifier would have a water storage for supplying water in a process of humidifying air and the dehumidifier would have a water storage to collect moisture removed from the air. Additionally, by combining with Vorwerk, the device 300 of Park can be modified to include the water storage tank 3 of Vorwerk. The device 300 of Park can be used solely as the humidifier or the dehumidifier without the robot cleaner 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman and Vorwerk to provide the household appliance as taught by Park so that one electric device can be used for multi purposes. It can save a space in a room.
Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park does not disclose the water storage device is configured to interact with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Gu teaches, in an analogous robot cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device is configured to interact with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device (fig. 3 and Gu English translation, p. 8:35-9:16, 16:7-18, and 17:11-16, when a cleaning robot docks to a working station, water is supplied to and drained from the cleaning robot. The water exchange is done by automatically extending and retracting a conveying pipe 3 of the working station. The conveying pump 60 not only pumps water but also sucks water. Thus, there should be one water flow path between the robot and the working station for conducting the water exchange. The teaching of Gu can be combined with Li to teach the water exchange is done through the water injection port and the water passage opening of Li).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park to provide the water exchange between the robot and the water storage device as taught by Gu so that the cleaning robot can perform cleaning continuously without human interruption for draining and supplying water (Gu English translation, p. 9:10-13).
Regarding claim 13, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the water passage opening is a second opening penetrating the housing (Li, fig. 18, joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] can be defined as a second opening. It penetrates the housing).
Regarding claim 14, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein: the housing comprises a third opening penetrating the housing; the device base further comprises a water passage member arranged in and passing through the third opening, the water passage member being connected with the first water pipe and partially located outside the housing, and the water passage opening being formed in the water passage member (Li English translation, p. 27:7-12, a main body 51 [corresponds to the recited water passage member] is disposed in an opening [corresponds to the recited third opening] passing through the housing of the base; p. 29:19-20, the water pipe connects the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] and the first pump body as discussed in claim 11 above; figs. 18-19, the main body 15 is located partially outside the housing).
Regarding claim 21, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the device base comprises an even number of first positioning members arranged symmetrically with respect to the water passage opening on the housing (Li fig. 18, there are two first positioning portions 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning members] arranged symmetrically with respect to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]).
Regarding claim 23, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the water pump comprises a water inlet pump and a water outlet pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body is used for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50 so that it works as a water outlet pump; Gu English translation, p. 16:7-18 and 17:11-16, the conveying pump 60 sends cleaning liquid and draws dirty water by suction force. The conveying pump 60 can work as a water inlet pump).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide the water inlet pump as taught by Gu in order to automatically draw dirty water from the cleaning robot.
Regarding claim 24, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, wherein the first opening is on a peripheral surface of the housing (Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106 and fig. 30, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide the first opening on the peripheral surface of the housing as taught by Hoffman so that electric signal transmission is not blocked for accurate communication between the cleaning robot and the docking station.
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses a water system, comprising a water storage device and a cleaning robot (fig. 9, cleaning robot 10);
a device base (fig. 11, base station body 20), wherein the device base comprises:
a first water tank (fig. 14, a liquid supply part 70);
a water pump within the housing (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50);
a water passage opening on the housing (fig. 18, joint part 53);
a first water pipe connecting the water passage opening with the water pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, the first pump body delivers the cleaning liquid to the water supply joint 50 which is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the joint part 53 and the first pump body);
a second water pipe connecting the water pump with the first water tank (Li English translation, p. 29:14-19, the first pump body is used for sending cleaning water from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the liquid supply part 70 and the first pump body); and
a first positioning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post 71 as shown in fig. 2 and described in ¶ 0032 of the instant application) on the housing, the first positioning member being configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, and make a water injection port of the cleaning robot keep docked with the water passage opening (fig. 18 and Li English translation, p. 29:1-8, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] allows the water supply connector 50 is reliably connected to a water supply port 16 of a cleaning robot 10 when the robot is docked to the base station body 20. The first positioning portion 60 is a tapered post);
wherein the first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post or a tapered positioning hole, and the tapered positioning post or the tapered positioning hole is connected to the cleaning robot and limits the position of the cleaning robot (Li English translation, p. 29:1-8 and fig. 18, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] is a tapered post. The first positioning portion 60 of the base is inserted into a second positioning portion 14 of the robot, thus is aligns a position of the robot);
wherein the cleaning robot comprises:
a panel comprising a panel body, a water injection port, and a second positioning member, wherein the water injection port is on the panel body and is configured to cooperate with the water passage opening, and the second positioning member is connected with the panel and configured to cooperate with the first positioning member to realize position limitation; and a second water tank connected with the water injection port (fig. 7, the cleaning robot 10 comprises a panel wherein a water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] and a second positioning port 14 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] are disposed on the panel; fig. 17 and Li English translation, p. 27:18-33, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] of the cleaning robot cooperates with the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] which is connected with the water supply joint 50 of the docking station; p. 28:26-29, the second position portion 14 of the cleaning robot cooperates with the first positioning part 60 of the docking station; p. 14:17-19, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] is connected with a liquid storage tank 13 [corresponds to the recited second water tank] of the cleaning robot).
But Li does not disclose the first positioning member further comprises a magnet; and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot.
Hara teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the first positioning member further comprises a magnet (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-28 and fig. 2, a robot A is connected to a docking station B at a connection terminal of a feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member]. The feeding unit 10 is equipped with a magnet 10a used for receiving a receiving unit 9 of the robot A. By combining with Li, the magnet of Hara can be disposed at the first positioning portion 60 of Li); and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot (the triggering of a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot is an intended use. The metal elastic sheet and the cleaning robot are not positively recited. Hara discloses the magnet at the positioning post, and any magnet, as arranged by Hara, can be configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet if a cleaning robot had a metal elastic sheet for connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first positioning member of Li to provide the magnet as taught by Hara in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently.
Li as modified by Hara does not disclose explicitly the magnet is at an end of the tapered positioning post away from a surface of the housing or at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole.
However, Li discloses the tapered first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member/post] projecting away from a surface of the housing and Hara teaches the magnet disposed at the feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member]. The magnet used for coupling a docking station and a robot cleaner can be disposed at various surfaces as long as the magnet on the docking station attracts a metal on the cleaning robot. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positioning post of Li to provide the magnet at the end of the positioning post in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Li as modified by Hara also does not disclose a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction; and a first infrared transceiver within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared transceiver facing the first opening, and the first infrared transceiver being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot, and the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared transceiver configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base.
Hoffman teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction (fig. 30 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing in an inner-outer direction); and
a first infrared transceiver within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared transceiver facing the first opening, and the first infrared transceiver being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot (figs. 30-32 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0054, the docking station has a docking signal 14 such as an infrared signal produced by a light emitting diode; ¶ 0112, signal ends of a light emitting diode 3206 [corresponds to the recited first infrared transceiver] are directed to the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening]; ¶ 0106, a transmitter shadow box 3002, which includes the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening], emits the light; ¶ 0058, optical signals guide the robot cleaner to charging contacts of the docking station), and
the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared transceiver configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058, the robot cleaner 102 has a sensor 126 [corresponds to the recited second infrared transceiver] for detecting the optical signal. The signal guides the robot to the docking station 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li to provide the first infrared transceiver as taught by Hara and Hoffman in order to guide the cleaning robot to the docking station accurately (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058).
Li as modified by Hara and Hoffman does not disclose the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine.
Vorwerk teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device comprises a principal machine and the device base assembled with a principal machine, a water circuit of the device base being connected with a water circuit of the principal machine (fig. 3, the cleaning device comprises the storage tank 3 [corresponds to the recited principal machine] and the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited device base]. A valve 6 and a piston 7 of the storage tank 3 [correspond to the recited water circuit of the principal machine] is connected to a dispensing nozzle 5 of the base station 1 [corresponds to the recited water circuit of the device base] for dispensing water to the wet cleaning device 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Li as modified by Hara and Hoffman to provide the principal machine which can be assembled with the device as taught by Vorwerk so that the water tank can be separated for easy cleaning and refilling water.
Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, and Vorwerk does not disclose the water storage device is a household appliance having a water storage function and configured to be used separately.
Park teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water storage device is a household appliance having a water storage function and configured to be used separately (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10 and fig. 9A, a device 300 [corresponds to the recited water storage device] comprises a first housing 310 [corresponds to the recited principal machine] and a second housing 320 [corresponds to the recited device base]. The device 300 is used for docking a robot cleaner 150, and it can be a household appliance such as a humidifier or a dehumidifier. The humidifier would have a water storage for supplying water in a process of humidifying air and the dehumidifier would have a water storage to collect moisture removed from the air. Additionally, by combining with Vorwerk, the device 300 of Park can be modified to include the water storage tank 3 of Vorwerk. The device 300 of Park can be used solely as the humidifier or the dehumidifier without the robot cleaner 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, and Vorwerk to provide the household appliance as taught by Park so that one electric device can be used for multi purposes. It can save a space in a room.
Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park does not disclose the water system is a water-exchange system wherein when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, the water storage device interacts with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Gu teaches, in an analogous robot cleaning device field of endeavor, the water system is a water-exchange system wherein when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, the water storage device interacts with the cleaning robot through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device (fig. 3 and Gu English translation, p. 8:35-9:16, 16:7-18, and 17:11-16, when a cleaning robot docks to a working station, water is supplied to and drained from the cleaning robot. The water exchange is done by automatically extending and retracting a conveying pipe 3 of the working station. The conveying pump 60 not only pumps water but also sucks water. Thus, there should be one water flow path between the robot and the working station for conducting the water exchange. The teaching of Gu can be combined with Li to teach the water exchange is done through the water injection port and the water passage opening of Li).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, and Park to provide the water exchange between the robot and the water storage device as taught by Gu so that the cleaning robot can perform cleaning continuously without human interruption for draining and supplying water (Gu English translation, p. 9:10-13).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu, as applied to claim 14 above, and in further view of Wang et al. (CN 114699027A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 15, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 14, but does not disclose the water passage member comprises a plastic water passage member.
Wang teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the water passage member comprises a plastic water passage member (Wang English translation, p. 13:16-19, a base station for a cleaning robot comprises water tanks and liquid supply lines. A communication tube 5 used for connecting liquid pipes can be made of plastic. Wang teaches a water passage line in a docking station can be made of plastic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water passage member of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide it as the plastic member as taught by Wang. A water pipe can be made of plastic due to corrosion resistivity and water proof capability.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Qi (US 2021/0190347).
Regarding claim 22, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu teaches the water storage device as in the rejection of claim 11, further comprising: a switch valve in a water circuit connected with the first water tank, the switch valve being configured to control connection or disconnection of a water circuit between the device base and the principal machine (Vorwerk English translation, p. 9:12-24, a valve 6 of the storage tank 3 controls water flow from the storage tank 3 to the wet cleaning device 2 through the dispensing nozzle 5; Li English translation, p. 29:21-30, a three-way valve such as a solenoid valve controls water flow from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, the valve of Li can be used for communication of water circuit between the device base and the principal machine), but does not disclose a connector configured to be connected with a corresponding connector of the principal machine, to control conduction or disconnection of an electric circuit between the device base and the principal machine.
Qi teaches, in an analogous water storage device field of endeavor, a connector configured to be connected with a corresponding connector of the principal machine, to control conduction or disconnection of an electric circuit between the device base and the principal machine (¶ 0065-66, Qi discloses a water storage device comprising two bodies assembled together. A main circuit board [corresponds to the recited connector] of a water control arrangement 40 controls sensor circuitries and a central processing unit for operational control of a base 2 [corresponds to the recited device base] and a water tank 1 [corresponds to the recited principal machine]. Qi teaches electric circuits of two bodies can be engaged together through an electric connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Vorwerk, Park, and Gu to provide the connector as taught by Qi in order to facilitate the electrical operation of the docking station automatically.
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO 2023284238A1, cited on 10/31/2024 IDS, hereinafter Li), in view of Hara (JP 2007213395A), Hoffman et al. (JP 2022505532A, cited on 10/314/2024 IDS, hereinafter Hoffman), Park et al. (CN 112789783A, hereinafter Park), and Gu et al. (CN 114468895A, hereinafter Gu).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a cleaning robot, configured to interact with a device base (fig. 21, a cleaning robot 10 interacts with the base station body 20 [corresponds to the recited device base]), wherein the device base comprises:
a first water tank (fig. 14, a liquid supply part 70);
a water pump within the housing (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, a first pump body for delivering cleaning liquid in the liquid supply part 70 to a water supply joint 50);
a water passage opening on the housing (fig. 18, joint part 53);
a first water pipe connecting the water passage opening with the water pump (Li English translation, p. 29:19-20, the first pump body delivers the cleaning liquid to the water supply joint 50 which is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening]. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the joint part 53 and the first pump body);
a second water pipe connecting the water pump with the first water tank (Li English translation, p. 29:14-19, the first pump body is used for sending cleaning water from the liquid supply part 70 [corresponds to the recited first water tank] to the water supply joint 50. Thus, there is a water pipe connecting the liquid supply part 70 and the first pump body); and
a first positioning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post 71 as shown in fig. 2 and described in ¶ 0032 of the instant application) on the housing, the first positioning member being configured to limit the position of the cleaning robot when the device base is docked with the cleaning robot, and make a water injection port of the cleaning robot keep docked with the water passage opening (fig. 18 and Li English translation, p. 29:1-8, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] allows the water supply connector 50 is reliably connected to a water supply port 16 of a cleaning robot 10 when the robot is docked to the base station body 20. The first positioning portion 60 is a tapered post);
wherein the first positioning member comprises a tapered positioning post or a tapered positioning hole, and the tapered positioning post or the tapered positioning hole is connected to the cleaning robot and limits the position of the cleaning robot (Li English translation, p. 29:1-8 and fig. 18, a first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] is a tapered post. The first positioning portion 60 of the base is inserted into a second positioning portion 14 of the robot, thus is aligns a position of the robot);
wherein the cleaning robot comprises:
a panel comprising a panel body, a water injection port, and a second positioning member, wherein the water injection port is on the panel body and is configured to cooperate with the water passage opening, and the second positioning member is connected with the panel and configured to cooperate with the first positioning member to realize position limitation; and a second water tank connected with the water injection port (fig. 7, the cleaning robot 10 comprises a panel wherein a water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] and a second positioning port 14 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] are disposed on the panel; fig. 17 and Li English translation, p. 27:18-33, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] of the cleaning robot cooperates with the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] which is connected with the water supply joint 50 of the docking station; p. 28:26-29, the second position portion 14 of the cleaning robot cooperates with the first positioning part 60 of the docking station; p. 14:17-19, the water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] is connected with a liquid storage tank 13 [corresponds to the recited second water tank] of the cleaning robot).
But Li does not disclose the first positioning member further comprises a magnet; and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot.
Hara teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the first positioning member further comprises a magnet (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-28 and fig. 2, a robot A is connected to a docking station B at a connection terminal of a feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member]. The feeding unit 10 is equipped with a magnet 10a used for receiving a receiving unit 9 of the robot A. By combining with Li, the magnet of Hara can be disposed at the first positioning portion 60 of Li); and the magnet is configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot (the triggering of a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot is an intended use. The metal elastic sheet and the cleaning robot are not positively recited. Hara discloses the magnet at the positioning post, and any magnet, as arranged by Hara, can be configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet if a cleaning robot had a metal elastic sheet for connection).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first positioning member of Li to provide the magnet as taught by Hara in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently.
Li as modified by Hara does not disclose explicitly the magnet is at an end of the tapered positioning post away from a surface of the housing or at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole.
However, Li discloses the first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member/post] projecting away from a surface of the housing and Hara teaches the magnet disposed at the feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member]. The magnet used for coupling a docking station and a robot cleaner can be disposed at various surfaces as long as the magnet on the docking station attracts a metal on the cleaning robot. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the positioning post of Li to provide the magnet at the end of the positioning post in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Li as modified by Hara does not disclose a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction; a first infrared transceiver within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared transceiver facing the first opening, and the first infrared transceiver being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot, and the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared transceiver configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base.
Hoffman teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, a housing having a first opening penetrating the housing in an inner-outer direction (fig. 30 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0106, docking station of a cleaning apparatus comprises an output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening] on a housing in an inner-outer direction);
a first infrared transceiver within the housing, a signal terminal of the first infrared transceiver facing the first opening, and the first infrared transceiver being configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the device base or a position of a cleaning robot connected with the device base, to assist the device base in docking with the cleaning robot (figs. 30-32 and Hoffman English translation ¶ 0054, the docking station has a docking signal 14 such as an infrared signal produced by a light emitting diode; ¶ 0112, signal ends of a light emitting diode 3206 [corresponds to the recited first infrared transceiver] are directed to the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening]; ¶ 0106, a transmitter shadow box 3002, which includes the output opening 3014 [corresponds to the recited first opening], emits the light; ¶ 0058, optical signals guide the robot cleaner to charging contacts of the docking station), and
the cleaning robot comprises: a second infrared transceiver configured to transmit or receive an infrared signal that indicates a position of the cleaning robot or a position of the device base connected with the cleaning robot, to assist the cleaning robot in docking with the device base (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058, the robot cleaner 102 has a sensor 126 [corresponds to the recited second infrared transceiver] for detecting the optical signal. The signal guides the robot to the docking station 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li as modified by Hara to provide the first infrared transceiver as taught by Hoffman in order to guide the cleaning robot to the docking station accurately (Hoffman English translation, ¶ 0058).
Li as modified by Hara and Hoffman does not disclose the device base is a household appliance having a water storage function and configured to be used separately.
Park teaches, in an analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the device base is a household appliance having a water storage function and configured to be used separately (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10 and fig. 9A, a device 300 [corresponds to the recited device base] is used for docking a robot cleaner 150, and it can be a household appliance such as a humidifier or a dehumidifier. The humidifier would have a water storage for supplying water in a process of humidifying air and the dehumidifier would have a water storage to collect moisture removed from the air. Additionally, by combining with Vorwerk, the device 300 of Park can be modified to include the water storage tank 3 of Vorwerk. The device 300 of Park can be used solely as the humidifier or the dehumidifier without the robot cleaner 150).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base of Li as modified by Hoffman to provide the household appliance as taught by Park for that one electric device can be used for multi purposes. It can save a space in a room.
Li as modified by Hoffman and Park does not disclose the cleaning robot is configured to interact with the water storage device through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device.
Gu teaches, in an analogous robot cleaning device field of endeavor, the cleaning robot is configured to interact with the water storage device through the water injection port and the water passage opening so that water is exchanged between the cleaning robot and the water storage device (fig. 3 and Gu English translation, p. 8:35-9:16, 16:7-18, and 17:11-16, when a cleaning robot docks to a working station, water is supplied to and drained from the cleaning robot. The water exchange is done by automatically extending and retracting a conveying pipe 3 of the working station. The conveying pump 60 not only pumps water but also sucks water. Thus, there should be one water flow path between the robot and the working station for conducting the water exchange. The teaching of Gu can be combined with Li to teach the water exchange is done through the water injection port and the water passage opening of Li. See 112(b) rejection above that the water storage device has been interpreted as the recited device base).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the water storage device of Li as modified by Hoffman and Park to provide the water exchange between the robot and the water storage device as taught by Gu so that the cleaning robot can perform cleaning continuously without human interruption for draining and supplying water (Gu English translation, p. 9:10-13).
Regarding claim 19, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, and Gu teaches the cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the water injection port comprises: an accommodating groove recessed inwards from a surface of the panel body; and a water injection hole penetrating the panel body and connected with the accommodating groove, the water injection hole being configured to be connected with the water passage opening (Li, figs. 7-8, the second positioning part 14 is a groove recessed inward from a surface of the panel body. The water supply port 16 [corresponds to the recited water injection port] has a hole penetrating the panel body and is connected with the second positioning part 14; fig. 17, the hole of the water supply port 16 is connected to the joint part 53 [corresponds to the recited water passage opening] of the docking station) when the cleaning robot is coupled to the docking station).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Hara, Hoffman, Park, and Gu, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 114983280A, hereinafter Liu ‘280) and Liu (CN 214260658U, hereinafter Liu ‘658).
Regarding claim 20, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, and Gu teaches the cleaning robot as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the second positioning member comprises: a tapered positioning post or a tapered positioning hole, wherein the tapered positioning post or the tapered positioning hole is connected with the device base and limits the position of the device base (Li, fig. 7, the second positioning part 14 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] is a tapered positioning hole; fig. 17, when the cleaning robot is coupled to the docking station, the second positioning part 14 aligns a position of the robot); but does not disclose a metal elastic sheet at an end of the positioning post away from a surface of the panel or at a bottom of the positioning hole.
Liu ‘280 teaches, in an analogous cleaning robot field of endeavor, a cleaning device comprising a robot 4 and a docking station as shown in fig. 9. The docking station comprises a trigger member 71 so that when the robot stops at a parking position of the docking station, it contacts the trigger member 71, and it generates a trigger signal to activate valve 72 of a water tank in the docking station (Liu ‘280 English translation, p. 8:21-26 and 9:5-10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base and the cleaning robot of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, and Gu to provide the triggering device as taught by Liu ‘280 in order to activate the fluid transfer between the device base and the robot automatically.
Li as modified by Hoffman, Park, and Liu ‘280 does not disclose the signal triggering is accomplished by an interaction between a magnet and a metal elastic sheet.
Liu ‘658 teaches, in a utility device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, an interaction between a magnet and a metal elastic sheet generates the trigger signal (figs. 1-3 and Liu ‘658 English translation p. 6:20-7:5, Liu discloses a toy train comprising a magnetic trigger device 1022. When a head 1 and a carriage 2 are connected, a magnet 10221 is moved to contact a metal elastic sheet 10222. This contact triggers an electric circuit to make a sound. Liu teaches when two devices are properly positioned, the metal elastic sheet and the magnet combination works as a sensor to trigger an electrical device to perform a function).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning robot of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, Gu, and Liu ‘280 to provide the metal elastic sheet as taught by Liu ‘658. The elastic metal sheet would provide better contact with the magnet compared with a rigid metal sheet because it can achieve greater contact area. In addition, the magnet and metal sheet interaction may provide a sensor function with a low number of moving mechanical components.
Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, Gu, Liu ‘280, and Liu ‘658 teaches the magnet and metal elastic sheet interaction is provided between the docking station and the robot.
Hara teaches, in the analogous cleaning device field of endeavor, the feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] of the docking station B is equipped with the magnet 10a and it makes connection with a receiving unit 9 [corresponds to the recited second positioning member] of the robot A wherein the receiving unit is a magnetic material/metal (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device base and the cleaning robot of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, Gu, Liu ‘280, and Liu ‘658 to provide the magnetic connection as taught by Hara in order to ensure that the cleaning robot makes the secure connection with the docking station.
Finally, Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, Gu, Liu ‘280, and Liu ‘658 does not disclose explicitly the metal elastic sheet is disposed at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole.
However, Li discloses the tapered positioning hole as the second positioning member and Hara as modified by Liu ‘658 teaches the second positioning member comprises the metal elastic sheet as discussed above. Thus, the metal elastic sheet can be disposed at the bottom of the tapered positioning hole to be fitted with the opposing magnet. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, Gu, Liu ‘280, and Liu ‘658 teaches the metal elastic sheet is configured to be triggered by the magnet at an end of the tapered positioning post away from a surface of the housing or at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole.
Although the triggering of a metal elastic sheet of the cleaning robot is an intended use, Hara teaches the magnet at the end of the positioning post, and any magnet, as arranged by Hara, can be configured to trigger a metal elastic sheet if a cleaning robot had a metal elastic sheet for connection (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-28 and fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first positioning member of Li as modified by Hara, Hoffman, Park, Gu, Liu ‘280, and Liu ‘658 to provide the magnet as taught by Hara in order to connect the cleaning robot and the docking station fast and conveniently.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Li and Park do not teach or suggest the amended claim limitations that the water storage device is a household appliance having a water storage function and configured to be used separately. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Park teaches the device 300 and the robot cleaner 150 wherein the device 300 is a docking station for the robot cleaner 150 (see Park fig. 9). On the other hand, Park teaches the device 300 can be a household appliance such as a humidifier or a dehumidifier (Park English translation, p. 15:6-10). In order for the device 300 to be used as a humidifier or a dehumidifier, the device must have a water storage function so that it can provide water to work as the humidifier or it can collect water from air to work as the dehumidifier. In addition, the device 300 can be the stand-alone humidifier or dehumidifier without the robot cleaner 150.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 11, 18, and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues Li and Hara do not teach or suggest the magnet is at an end of the positioning post away from a surface of the housing or at a bottom of the tapered positioning hole. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Hara teaches a docking station and a robot cleaner are coupled by a magnetic interaction. The docking station includes a feeding unit 10 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member] comprising a magnet 10a used for receiving a receiving unit 9 of the robot (Hara English translation, p. 8:21-28). The magnet 10a would be disposed at a terminal end of the feeding unit 10 to interact with the robot. On the other hand, Li teaches the first positioning portion 60 [corresponds to the recited first positioning member/post] of the docking station is inserted into a second positioning portion 14 of the robot. Therefore, by combining Hara with Li, they teach the first positioning portion 60 of Li can include the magnet of Hara for coupling between the docking station and the robot cleaner.
Regarding a position of the magnet, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) states shifting/rearranging position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. Therefore, the magnet of Hara can be disposed at the end of the positioning post of Li away from a surface of a housing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Seo et al. (US 2025/0261817) discloses a robot cleaner and a docking station wherein the docking station supplies water to a water tank of the robot cleaner.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723