DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06/28/2023 and 12/19/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouquet et al. (US PGPub 2013/0215707, hereinafter Fouquet) in view of Wu (US 8403556, hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 1, Fouquet discloses a blender jar for operable connection to a blender for comminuting foodstuffs comprising:
a base (figure 2, bottom wall 10) configured to be mounted to a blender (paragraph 0001), the base comprising a rotatable blade (knife 16) mounted thereto for operable interconnection to a blender (via mechanism 14), the rotatable blade defining a blade radius and a blade path, the blade path determined by a vertical gap between upper and lower portions of the rotatable blade (see figure 2);
a wall (side wall 12) extending upwardly from the base having an interior surface defining an internal blending chamber with an interior surface of the base, the wall having a terminal edge (at upper end 12A) for receipt of a lid (lid 3) for containing foodstuffs within the blending chamber; and
at least one protrusion (figure 6, baffle elements 20, 22 and 24) integrally formed with at least one of the interior surface of the base and the interior surface of the wall (see figure 4), the protrusion extending into the internal blending chamber without extending to the blade radius of the rotatable blade (see figure 6), the protrusion having at least one surface that extends from a lower portion adjacent the base and an upper portion above the blade path of the rotatable blade (see figure 2).
Fouquet does not explicitly disclose a blade with upper and lower tips to form a blade path. Wu teaches a blender jar having a blade including upper and lower tips forming a vertical gap therebetween (see figure 2, blade unlabeled). To one of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have substituted the blades of Wu for that of Fouquet because such a simple substitution of one known blade for another would have provided only the predictable result of allowing for the mixing of material within the blender, as evidenced by the references. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 2, Fouquet discloses the interior surface of the wall defines a polygonal surface having at least three vertices (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 3, Fouquet discloses protrusions disposed adjacent the vertices (see figure 6), but not explicitly within them. Wu teaches a blender jar having protrusions (figures 1 and 3) that are disposed within vertices of the blender jar (see annotated figure 1 below, also clearly seen in figure 3). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the protrusions of Fouquet within the vertices, as in Wu, because both designs are known in the art and such a modification would provide only the expected result of altering flow of material being mixed within the jar.
Regarding claim 4, Fouquet discloses a plurality of protrusions (figure 6, baffles 20, 22, and 24) disposed with a vertex between adjacent protrusions (see figure 6). Fouquet does not explicitly disclose protrusions within vertices. Wu is relied upon, as above, to teach protrusions within vertices. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the protrusions of Fouquet within the vertices, as in Wu, because both designs are known in the art and such a modification would provide only the expected result of altering flow of material being mixed within the jar. Further, it is noted that, with five vertices in Fouquet, at least two of the protrusions would have a vertex therebetween if places in the vertices of the jar.
Regarding claim 5, Fouquet discloses three protrusions (figure 6, baffles 20, 22, and 24) disposed with a vertex between adjacent protrusions (see figure 6). Fouquet does not explicitly disclose protrusions within vertices. Wu is relied upon, as above, to teach protrusions within vertices. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the protrusions of Fouquet within the vertices, as in Wu, because both designs are known in the art and such a modification would provide only the expected result of altering flow of material being mixed within the jar. Further, it is noted that, with five vertices in Fouquet and three protrusions, two of the protrusions would have to be within adjacent vertices.
Regarding claim 9, Fouquet discloses the at least one protrusion (figure 3, baffles 20 and 22) comprises a generally planar surface (see figures 3-6) having a perimeter integrally formed with a portion of the base and a portion of the wall above the blade path (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Fouquet discloses the at least one protrusion comprises a first generally planar surface having a perimeter integrally formed with a portion of the base and a portion of the wall above the blade path and a second generally planar surface having a perimeter integrally formed with a portion of the base and a portion of the wall above the blade path (figure 6, baffles 20, 22, and 24), but it silent to the first generally planar surface intersecting the second generally planar surface along a midline of the at least one protrusion. Wu teaches protrusions having generally planar surfaces with the first generally planar surface intersecting the second generally planar surface along a midline of the at least one protrusion (see figure 3). To one of ordinary skill it the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the protrusions of Fouquet with the shape of those in Wu because such a change in shape would have provided only the predictable result of altering the flow of material being mixed in the jar, as evidenced by the references. See In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 11, Fouquet is silent to the generally planar surface as recited. Wu teaches protrusions having generally planar surfaces with an upper portion comprising a generally planar surface that has an edge formed with an upper edge of the first generally planar surface and an upper edge of the second generally planar surface (see figure 3). To one of ordinary skill it the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the protrusions of Fouquet with the shape of those in Wu because such a change in shape would have provided only the predictable result of altering the flow of material being mixed in the jar, as evidenced by the references. See In re Dailey, supra.
Regarding claim 17, Fouquet discloses the upper portion of the at least one protrusion comprises a third generally planar surface and a fourth generally planar surface that are disposed angularly with respect to one another (surfaces can be seen in figure 4, on baffle 22).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouquet et al. (US PGPub 2013/0215707, hereinafter Fouquet) in view of Wu (US 8403556, hereinafter Wu), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Dickson, Jr. et al. (US 9420915, hereinafter Dickson).
Regarding claim 6, Fouquet is silent to a generally rectangular cross section as recited. Dickson teaches a blender jar wherein a wall defines a generally rectangular cross section having four vertices (see figure 1C). The obviousness of placing protrusions in vertices is established above in view of Wu. Further, with the three protrusions of Fouquet placed in vertices of a rectangular cross section, at least two of the vertices would be in opposite vertices. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the jar of Fouquet with the cross-sectional shape of Dickson because the change in shape would have provided only the expected result of allowing the jar to contain ingredients for mixing, as evidenced by the references. See In re Dailey, supra.
Regarding claim 7, Fouquet is silent to a generally rectangular cross section as recited. Dickson teaches a blender jar wherein a wall defines a generally rectangular cross section having four vertices (see figure 1C). The obviousness of placing protrusions in vertices is established above in view of Wu. Further, with the three protrusions of Fouquet placed in vertices of a rectangular cross section, at least two of the vertices would be in adjacent vertices. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the jar of Fouquet with the cross-sectional shape of Dickson because the change in shape would have provided only the expected result of allowing the jar to contain ingredients for mixing, as evidenced by the references. See In re Dailey, supra.
Regarding claim 8, Fouquet is silent to a generally rectangular cross section as recited. Dickson teaches a blender jar wherein a wall defines a generally rectangular cross section having four vertices (see figure 1C). The obviousness of placing protrusions in vertices is established above in view of Wu. Further, with the three protrusions of Fouquet placed in vertices of a rectangular cross section, all of the vertices would be filled but one, meeting the claim. To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the jar of Fouquet with the cross-sectional shape of Dickson because the change in shape would have provided only the expected result of allowing the jar to contain ingredients for mixing, as evidenced by the references. See In re Dailey, supra.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fouquet et al. (US PGPub 2013/0215707, hereinafter Fouquet) in view of Wu (US 8403556, hereinafter Wu) and Conti (US PGPub 2013/0033959, hereinafter Conti).
Regarding claim 13, Fouquet discloses a blender for comminuting foodstuffs comprising:
a housing comprising a motor (paragraph 0002, “a motor-driven driving base”), a seat defined on an upper portion of the housing, the seat comprising a bearing having a keyed portion configured to be rotatably driven by the motor;
a blender jar comprising a base (figure 2, bottom wall 10) configured to be mounted to the seat (paragraph 0001), the base comprising a rotatable blade (knife 16) mounted thereto for operable interconnection to a blender (via mechanism 14), the rotatable blade defining a blade radius and a blade path, the blade path determined by a vertical gap between upper and lower portions of the rotatable blade (see figure 2);
a wall (side wall 12) extending upwardly from the base having an interior surface defining an internal blending chamber with an interior surface of the base, the wall having a terminal edge (at upper end 12A) for receipt of a lid (lid 3) for containing foodstuffs within the blending chamber; and
at least one protrusion (figure 6, baffle elements 20, 22 and 24) integrally formed with at least one of the interior surface of the base and the interior surface of the wall (see figure 4), the protrusion extending into the internal blending chamber without extending to the blade radius of the rotatable blade (see figure 6), the protrusion having at least one surface that extends from a lower portion adjacent the base and an upper portion above the blade path of the rotatable blade (see figure 2).
Fouquet does not explicitly disclose a blade with upper and lower tips to form a blade path. Wu teaches a blender jar having a blade including upper and lower tips forming a vertical gap therebetween (see figure 2, blade unlabeled). To one of ordinary sill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have substituted the blades of Wu for that of Fouquet because such a simple substitution of one known blade for another would have provided only the predictable result of allowing for the mixing of material within the blender, as evidenced by the references. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Fouquet does not explicitly disclose a controller operably connected to the motor for operating the motor through a plurality of blending modes, although it is noted that this is a well-known feature of blenders. Further, Conti teaches a blender having a controller operably connected to the motor for operating the motor through a plurality of blending modes (paragraphs 0017 and 0022). To one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the device of Fouquet with the controller of Conti for the purpose of allowing a user to control the operation of the blender to achieve a desired mixing result.
Regarding claim 14, Fouquet discloses the at least one protrusion (figure 3, baffles 20 and 22) comprises a generally planar surface (see figures 3-6) having a perimeter integrally formed with a portion of the base and a portion of the wall above the blade path (see figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Fouquet discloses the at least one protrusion comprises a first generally planar surface having a perimeter integrally formed with a portion of the base and a portion of the wall above the blade path and a second generally planar surface having a perimeter integrally formed with a portion of the base and a portion of the wall above the blade path (figure 6, baffles 20, 22, and 24), but it silent to the first generally planar surface intersecting the second generally planar surface along a midline of the at least one protrusion. Wu teaches protrusions having generally planar surfaces with the first generally planar surface intersecting the second generally planar surface along a midline of the at least one protrusion (see figure 3). To one of ordinary skill it the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the protrusions of Fouquet with the shape of those in Wu because such a change in shape would have provided only the predictable result of altering the flow of material being mixed in the jar, as evidenced by the references. See In re Dailey, supra.
Regarding claim 16, Fouquet is silent to the generally planar surface as recited. Wu teaches protrusions having generally planar surfaces with an upper portion comprising a generally planar surface that has an edge formed with an upper edge of the first generally planar surface and an upper edge of the second generally planar surface (see figure 3). To one of ordinary skill it the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to have provided the protrusions of Fouquet with the shape of those in Wu because such a change in shape would have provided only the predictable result of altering the flow of material being mixed in the jar, as evidenced by the references. See In re Dailey, supra.
Regarding claim 17, Fouquet discloses the upper portion of the at least one protrusion comprises a third generally planar surface and a fourth generally planar surface that are disposed angularly with respect to one another (surfaces can be seen in figure 4, on baffle 22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited art generally discloses blender jars having protrusions or baffles therein.
/MARC C HOWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774