DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 3/9/2026, with respect to amended independent claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Konsek et al. and Cho, and response to the arguments have been fully incorporated into the claim rejection set forth below in this office action.
Konsek034 teaches a transparent conductive buffer layer (120 (120 is conductive as it provides current to p-i-n junction 160 and also transparent as light emitted through 120), [0025], fig. 1) and Cho156 teaches a buffer layer (151, fig. 1) comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide ([0042]) and thus Konsek034 in view of Cho156 teach amended limitations (wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 2-5, 12-14, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konsek et al. (US publication 2011/0254034 A1), hereinafter referred to as Konsek034, in view of Cho (US publication 2010/0207156 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cho156.
Regarding claim 1, Konsek034 teaches a light-emitting device (fig. 1-8 and related text) comprising: a plurality of light-emitting rods (a plurality of p-i-n junction 160 and nanowire 110, [0025], fig. 1), each of the plurality of light-emitting rods comprising: a first semiconductor layer (nanowire 110 and p (bottom layer) of p-i-n junction 160) having a rod shape (fig. 1), an active layer (i (middle layer) of p-i-n junction 160) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the first semiconductor layer (fig. 1), and a second semiconductor layer (n (top layer) of p-i-n junction 160) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the active layer (fig. 1); an insulating layer (250, [0035]) disposed in spaces between the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 4); a transparent electrode (120 (120 provides current to p-i-n junction 160 and also transparent as light emitted through 120), [0025], fig. 3) electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 1); and a reflective electrode (130, [0026]) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 1).
Konsek034 does not explicitly teach wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide.
Cho156 teaches wherein the transparent electrode (151, fig. 1) comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konsek034 with that of Cho156 so that wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide in which heat generated from a light emitting device is emitted through a package body ([0007]).
Regarding claim 2, Konsek034 teaches wherein a thickness of the reflective electrode is greater than a thickness of the transparent electrode (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Konsek034 and Cho156 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Konsek034 and Cho156 do not explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the reflective electrode is greater than or equal to 100 nm, and wherein a thickness of the transparent electrode is greater than or equal to 10 nm and less than 100 nm. However, it is well-known in the art that a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer depends on a process technology, overall size of the device, and is a result-effective variable as electrical properties (conductivity, current, resistance, doping, insulation, withstanding breakdown, etc.) depend on the width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer. So, a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Konsek034 with that of Cho156 so that wherein a thickness of the reflective electrode is greater than or equal to 100 nm, and wherein a thickness of the transparent electrode is greater than or equal to 10 nm and less than 100 nm for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 4, Konsek034 teaches wherein the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods coplanarly contacts the transparent electrode, and wherein a portion of the second semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods is embedded in the reflective electrode (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Konsek034 teaches wherein the first semiconductor layer comprises a portion protruding from the active layer and the second semiconductor layer (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Konsek034 teaches a display apparatus (fig. 1-8 and related text) comprising: a substrate (280, [0030], fig. 6); and a display device layer arranged on the substrate and comprising a plurality of light-emitting devices (a plurality of p-i-n junction 160 and nanowire 110, [0025], fig. 1 & fig. 6), wherein at least one of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprises: a reflective electrode (130, [0026]) arranged on the substrate (fig. 6); a transparent electrode (120 (120 provides current to p-i-n junction 160 and also transparent as light emitted through 120), [0025], fig. 1, fig. 3. & fig. 6) arranged to be apart from the reflective electrode in a thickness direction of the substrate (fig. 6); and a plurality of light-emitting rods arranged between the reflective electrode and the transparent electrode ( fig. 1 & fig. 6) and each comprising: a first semiconductor layer (nanowire 110 and p (bottom layer) of p-i-n junction 160, fig. 1) having a rod shape, an active layer (i (middle layer) of p-i-n junction 160) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the first semiconductor layer, and a second semiconductor layer (n (top layer) of p-i-n junction 160) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the active layer (fig. 1).
Konsek034 does not explicitly teach wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide.
Cho156 teaches wherein the transparent electrode (151, fig. 1) comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konsek034 with that of Cho156 so that wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide in which heat generated from a light emitting device is emitted through a package body ([0007]).
Regarding claim 13, Konsek034 teaches wherein a thickness of the reflective electrode is greater than a thickness of the transparent electrode (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Konsek034 teaches wherein the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods coplanarly contacts the transparent electrode, and wherein a portion of the second semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods is embedded in the reflective electrode (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Konsek034 teaches wherein the substrate comprises a driving layer comprising a transistor configured to drive the plurality of light-emitting devices ([0009 and 0043], fig. 6-8]).
Regarding claim 21, Konsek034 teaches wherein the first semiconductor layer comprises a nitride semiconductor ([0025]).
Claim 1, 6-7, 12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. (US publication 2016/0155897 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yoo897, in view of Konsek et al. (US publication 2011/0254034 A1), hereinafter referred to as Konsek034, and further in view of Cho (US publication 2010/0207156 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cho156.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo897 teaches a light-emitting device (fig. 13-14 and related text) comprising: a plurality of light-emitting rods (a plurality 95, [0182], fig. 14), each of the plurality of light-emitting rods comprising: a first semiconductor layer (95a, [0182-0184]) having a rod shape (fig. 14), an active layer (95b) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the first semiconductor layer (fig. 14), and a second semiconductor layer (95c) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the active layer (fig. 14); an insulating layer (93/97, [0183-0184], fig. 13-14) disposed in spaces between the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 14); a first electrode (116, [0188]) electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 14); and a second electrode (96, [0184]) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 14).
Yoo897 does not explicitly teach a transparent electrode electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods; and a reflective electrode electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods.
Konsek034 teaches a transparent electrode (120 (120 provides current to p-i-n junction 160 and also transparent as light emitted through 120), [0025], fig. 3) electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 1); and a reflective electrode (130, [0026]) electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo897 with that of Konsek034 so that a transparent electrode electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods; and a reflective electrode electrically connected to the second semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods to increase efficiency, and to exhibit low energy consumption ([0010]).
Yoo897 and Konsek034 do not explicitly teach wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide.
Cho156 teaches wherein the transparent electrode (151, fig. 1) comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo897 and Konsek034 with that of Cho156 so that wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide in which heat generated from a light emitting device is emitted through a package body ([0007]).
Regarding claim 6, Yoo897 teaches wherein the insulating layer comprises: a first insulating layer (93) in contact with a side surface of the first semiconductor layer; and a second insulating layer (97) in contact with a side surface of the second semiconductor layer (fig. 13-14).
Regarding claim 7, Yoo897 teaches further comprising a common semiconductor layer (92, [01888], fig. 14) in contact with the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods, wherein the transparent electrode is electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods, through the common semiconductor layer (fig. 14).
Regarding claim 12, Yoo897 teaches a display apparatus (fig. 13-14 and related text) comprising: a substrate (115, [0186], fig. 14); and a display device layer arranged on the substrate and comprising a plurality of light-emitting devices (a plurality 95, [0182], fig. 14), wherein at least one of the plurality of light-emitting devices comprises: a first electrode (96, [0184]) arranged on the substrate; a second electrode (116, [0188]) arranged to be apart from the reflective electrode in a thickness direction of the substrate (fig. 14); and a plurality of light-emitting rods arranged between the first electrode and the second electrode (fig. 14) and each comprising: a first semiconductor layer (95a, [0182-0184]) having a rod shape, an active layer (95b) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the first semiconductor layer (fig. 14), and a second semiconductor layer (95c) having a shell shape disposed about a plurality of surfaces of the active layer (fig. 14).
Yoo897 does not explicitly teach a transparent electrode arranged to be apart from a reflective electrode in a thickness direction of the substrate; and a plurality of light-emitting rods arranged between the reflective electrode and the transparent electrode.
Konsek034 teaches a transparent electrode (120 (120 provides current to p-i-n junction 160 and also transparent as light emitted through 120), [0025], fig. 3) arranged to be apart from a reflective electrode (130, [0026]) in a thickness direction of the substrate (fig. 6); and a plurality of light-emitting rods arranged between the reflective electrode and the transparent electrode (fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo897 with that of Konsek034 so that a reflective electrode arranged on the substrate; a transparent electrode arranged to be apart from the reflective electrode in a thickness direction of the substrate; and a plurality of light-emitting rods arranged between the reflective electrode and the transparent electrode to increase efficiency, and to exhibit low energy consumption ([0010]).
Yoo897 and Konsek034 do not explicitly teach wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide.
Cho156 teaches wherein the transparent electrode (151, fig. 1) comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide ([0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yoo897 and Konsek034 with that of Cho156 so that wherein the transparent electrode comprises a transparent conductive material comprising an oxide in which heat generated from a light emitting device is emitted through a package body ([0007]).
Regarding claim 15, Yoo897 teaches further comprising: a first insulating layer (93, [0183-0184]) in contact with a side surface of the first semiconductor layer; and a second insulating layer (97) in contact with a side surface of the second semiconductor layer (fig. 13-14).
Regarding claim 16, Yoo897 teaches further comprising a common semiconductor layer (92, [01888], fig. 14) in contact with the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods, wherein the transparent electrode is electrically connected to the first semiconductor layer of each of the plurality of light-emitting rods through the common semiconductor layer (fig. 14).
Claim 8-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konsek034 in view of Cho156, as applied to claim 1 or 12 above, and further in view of Heo et al. (US publication 2016/0013362 A1), hereinafter referred to as Heo362.
Regarding claim 8, Konsek034 and Cho156 disclose all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Konsek034 and Cho156 do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of light-emitting rods comprise a first light-emitting rod and a second light-emitting rod, wherein the first light-emitting rod and the second light-emitting rod are configured to emit light at different wavelengths from each other.
Heo362 teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting rods comprise a first light-emitting rod and a second light-emitting rod, wherein the first light-emitting rod and the second light-emitting rod are configured to emit light at different wavelengths from each other ([0066-0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konsek034 and Cho156 with that of Heo362 so that wherein the plurality of light-emitting rods comprise a first light-emitting rod and a second light-emitting rod, wherein the first light-emitting rod and the second light-emitting rod are configured to emit light at different wavelengths from each other for having a plurality of light-emitting nanostructures, which emit light having different wavelengths ([0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Heo362 teaches wherein the first light-emitting rod and the second light-emitting rod have different contents of indium from each other ([0075-0076]).
Regarding claim 10, Heo362 teaches wherein a width of the first light-emitting rod is greater than a width of the second light-emitting rod ([0101-0112], fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konsek034 and Cho156 with that of Heo362 so that wherein a width of the first light-emitting rod is greater than a width of the second light-emitting rod in order to emit light having different wavelengths ([0106]).
Regarding claim 11, Heo362 teaches wherein the first light-emitting rod is configured to emit light at a greater wavelength than the second light-emitting rod ([0110]).
Regarding claim 18, Konsek034 and Cho156 disclose all the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Konsek034 and Cho156 do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of light-emitting rods comprise a first light-emitting rod and a second light-emitting rod, wherein the first light-emitting rod and the second light-emitting rod are configured to emit light at different wavelengths from each other.
Heo362 teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting rods comprise a first light-emitting rod and a second light-emitting rod, wherein the first light-emitting rod and the second light-emitting rod are configured to emit light at different wavelengths from each other ([0066-0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konsek034 and Cho156 with that of Heo362 so that wherein the plurality of light-emitting rods comprise a first light-emitting rod and a second light-emitting rod, wherein the first light-emitting rod and the second light-emitting rod are configured to emit light at different wavelengths from each other for having a plurality of light-emitting nanostructures, which emit light having different wavelengths ([0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Heo362 teaches wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices comprises: a first light-emitting device comprising a plurality of first light-emitting rods having a first width; a second light-emitting device comprising a plurality of second light-emitting rods having a second width that is less than the first width; and a third light-emitting device comprising a plurality of third light-emitting rods having a third width that is less than the second width ([0101-0112], fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konsek034 and Cho156 with that of Heo362 so that wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices comprises: a first light-emitting device comprising a plurality of first light-emitting rods having a first width; a second light-emitting device comprising a plurality of second light-emitting rods having a second width that is less than the first width; and a third light-emitting device comprising a plurality of third light-emitting rods having a third width that is less than the second width in order to emit light having different wavelengths ([0106]).
Regarding claim 20, Heo362 teaches wherein the plurality of first light-emitting rods, the plurality of second light-emitting rods, and the plurality of third light-emitting rods include indium contents that are different from each other ([0075-0076] and ([0101-0112]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Konsek034 in view of Cho156, as applied to claim 1 or 21, and further in view of Lai et al. (US publication 2011/0303937 A1), hereinafter referred to as Lai937.
Regarding claim 22, Konsek034 and Cho156 disclose all the limitations of claim 21 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Konsek034 and Cho156 do not explicitly teach wherein the transparent conductive material comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium zinc oxide (IZO).
Lai937 teaches wherein the transparent conductive material comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium zinc oxide (IZO) (15, [0014], fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konsek034 and Cho156 with that of Lai937 so that wherein the transparent conductive material comprises indium tin oxide (ITO) or indium zinc oxide (IZO) to further enhance luminous efficiency of the LED ([0003]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897