DETAILED ACTION
The instant application having application No 18/215379 filed on 11/28/2025 is presented for examination by the examiner.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, 8-13 and 15-19 have been considered. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments and would like to provide a further clarification regarding the interpretation of the cited references.
In response to the argument on page 7 of Applicant’s Remark, “based on a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundle is enabled for the first cell”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “the frame splitting determination engine configured to provide the segment splitting scheme to the peripheral device on the UWB channel or link between the devices in which the frames are sent to the peripheral device, the frame splitting determination engine configured to provide the segment splitting scheme to the peripheral device on a non-UWB channel, such as on a BLUETOOTH channel, a Wi-Fi channel, or other out-of-band (OOB) channel”. according to Ly’s disclosure.
As stated in Ly’s – page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI.
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Ly’s is directed to “page 12, par (0106), line 1-10, the UE 115-a may determine that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by the UE (wherein DMRS bundle enabled the first cell).
Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
In response to the argument on page 6-7 of Applicant’s Remark, “receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces (wherein gNBs is a first cell and the ng-eNB is a second cell))”. according to Park’s disclosure.
As stated in Park’s – page 3, par (0046), line 1-10, user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces (wherein gNBs is a first cell and the ng-eNB is a second cell)).
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Park’s is directed to “page 7, par (0103-0104), line 1-20, UE in a serving cell; one or more UE-specific bandwidth parts configured for each UE through dedicated RRC signaling (wherein RRC message), and a default bandwidth part for a operation defined for each UE. It is possible to define simultaneously activating (wherein simultaneously activating serving cell which is first cell and destination cell which is second cell) and using a plurality of downlink and uplink bandwidth parts according to the capability of the UE and the configuration of the bandwidth parts in a serving cell. However, NR rel-15 defined activating and using only one downlink (DL) bandwidth part and one uplink (UL) bandwidth part at a time, UE and a BS set by activating a DL BWP for transmitting and receiving a PDCCH/PDSCH between the BS and the UE and activating a UL BWP for transmitting and receiving a PUCCH/PUSCH among the configured BWPs”.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
In response to the argument on page 8-9 of Applicant’s Remark, “skip monitoring, during a time duration corresponding to the DM-RS bundle, downlink signals via the first cell of the cell group and the second cell of the cell group”. In fact, Examiner interprets the “mobile device ignores (skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix”. according to Ly’s disclosure.
As stated in Ly’s – page 19, par (0163), line 1-20, mobile device ignores (skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix.
whereas the Examiner wants to provide further clarification of the cited claim limitation, whereas the Park’s is directed to “page 13, par (0116), line 1-20, the UE ignore(skipping) the TPC command and maintain one or more of the phase continuity or other coherence properties, the UE maintain the phase continuity or other coherence properties associated with transmitting the PUSCH in one or more symbols, including symbols carrying the DMRSs across multiple slots(during the time duration), the UE continue bundling the DMRSs”.
Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
Thus, Ly’s and Park’s disclosure still covers the limitations of claims 1-7, 8-13 and 15-19. Therefore, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant's arguments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-6, 8-13 and 15-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ly et al. (US 20210014095, Jan. 14, 2021) in view of Park (U.S 20220029859, Jan. 27, 2022).
Regarding Claim 1, Ly discloses transmission based on a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundle is enabled for the first cell and receive a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling, for the first cell, transmission of one or more repetitions of an uplink signal within the DM-RS bundle (page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling));
transmit the one or more repetitions within the DM-RS bundle (page 16, par (0135), line 10-20, the base station transmit an indication of the DMRS bundling configuration based on MCS, a timing gap between the physical shared channel symbols, a quantity of repetitions of physical shared channels);
and skip monitoring, during a time duration corresponding to the DM-RS bundle, downlink signals via the first cell of the cell group and the second cell of the cell group (page 19, par (0163), line 1-20, mobile device ignores(skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix).
Ly discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except wireless device comprising one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell.
Park is the same field of invention teaches wireless device comprising one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell (page 3, par (0046), line 1-10, user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces (wherein gNBs is a first cell and the ng-eNB is a a second cell)).
Ly and Park analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wireless device to receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell teaching of Ly to include the user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces teaching of Park because it is providing improving the uplink coverage of the UE in the NR system, in particular, the transmission coverage of PUSCH and PUCCH, which are uplink radio data channels and radio control channels.
Regarding Claim 2, Bedekar discloses the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit at least two DM-RSs via the one or more repetitions(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI).
Regarding Claim 3, Bedekar discloses the instructions further cause the wireless device to use a same DM-RS sequence for the one or more repetitions in the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling)).
Regarding Claim 4, Bedekar discloses the one or more RRC messages further indicate a number of repetitions in the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled).
Regarding Claim 5, Bedekar discloses the DCI further indicates a number of repetitions of the uplink signal across one or more DM-RS bundles(page 16, par (0135), line 10-20, the base station transmit an indication of the DMRS bundling configuration based on MCS, a timing gap between the physical shared channel symbols, a quantity of repetitions of physical shared channels).
Regarding Claim 6, Bedekar discloses the time duration comprises one or more slots (page 19, par (0163), line 1-20, mobile device ignores (skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix).
Regarding Claim 8, Ly discloses transmission based on a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundle is enabled for the first cell and transmit, to the wireless device, a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling, for the first cell, transmission of one or more repetitions of an uplink signal within the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling));
receive, from the wireless device, the one or more repetitions within the DM-RS bundle(page 16, par (0135), line 10-20, the base station transmit an indication of the DMRS bundling configuration based on MCS, a timing gap between the physical shared channel symbols, a quantity of repetitions of physical shared channels);
and skip transmitting, to the wireless device and during a time duration corresponding to the DM-RS bundle, downlink signals via the first cell of the cell group and the second cell of the cell group(page 19, par (0163), line 1-20, mobile device ignores(skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix).
Ly discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except a base station comprising one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to transmit, to a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell.
Park is the same field of invention teaches a base station comprising one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the base station to transmit, to a wireless device, one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell (page 3, par (0046), line 1-10, user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces (wherein gNBs is a first cell and the ng-eNB is a a second cell)).
Ly and Park analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wireless device to receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell teaching of Ly to include the user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces teaching of Park because it is providing improving the uplink coverage of the UE in the NR system, in particular, the transmission coverage of PUSCH and PUCCH, which are uplink radio data channels and radio control channels.
Regarding Claim 9, Ly discloses the instructions further cause the base station to receive the one or more repetitions of the uplink signal within the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling)).
Regarding Claim 10, Ly discloses the instructions further cause the base station to receive at least two DM-RSs via the one or more repetitions (page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI).
Regarding Claim 11, Ly discloses the one or more RRC messages further indicate a number of repetitions in the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling)).
Regarding Claim 12, Ly discloses the DCI further indicates a number of repetitions of the uplink signal across one or more DM-RS bundles(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling)).
Regarding Claim 13, Ly discloses the time duration comprises one or more slots(page 19, par (0163), line 1-20, mobile device ignores (skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix).
Regarding Claim 15, Ly discloses transmission based on a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) bundle is enabled for the first cell and receive a downlink control information (DCI) scheduling, for the first cell, transmission of one or more repetitions of an uplink signal within the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling));
transmit the one or more repetitions within the DM-RS bundle (page 16, par (0135), line 10-20, the base station transmit an indication of the DMRS bundling configuration based on MCS, a timing gap between the physical shared channel symbols, a quantity of repetitions of physical shared channels);
and skip monitoring, during a time duration corresponding to the DM-RS bundle, downlink signals via the first cell of the cell group and the second cell of the cell group(page 19, par (0163), line 1-20, mobile device ignores(skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix).
Ly discloses all aspects of the claimed invention, except instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell.
Park is the same field of invention teaches instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a wireless device, cause the wireless device to receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell (page 3, par (0046), line 1-10, user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces (wherein gNBs is a first cell and the ng-eNB is a a second cell)).
Ly and Park analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of access to a service device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the wireless device to receive one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages indicating that a cell group comprises a first cell and a second cell teaching of Ly to include the user equipment (UE) control plane (RRC) protocol, the gNBs and the ng-eNB are connected to each other through Xn interfaces teaching of Park because it is providing improving the uplink coverage of the UE in the NR system, in particular, the transmission coverage of PUSCH and PUCCH, which are uplink radio data channels and radio control channels.
Regarding Claim 16, Bedekar discloses the instructions further cause the wireless device to transmit at least tvo DM-RSs via the one or more repetitions (page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI).
Regarding Claim 17, Bedekar discloses the instructions further cause the wireless device to use a same DM-RS sequence for the one or more repetitions in the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled when the bit has a same value as the uplink DMRS bundling bit within a most recently received DCI(DCI scheduling)).
Regarding Claim 18, Bedekar discloses the one or more RRC messages further indicate a number of repetitions in the DM-RS bundle(page 12, par (0103), line 1-10, the uplink DMRS bundling bit indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled, such that uplink DMRS bundling performed by UE, when the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the DCI is not toggled across multiple consecutive transmissions of DCI, the uplink DMRS bundling bit within the currently-received DCI indicate that uplink DMRS bundling is enabled).
Regarding Claim 19, Bedekar discloses the time duration comprises one or more slots (page 19, par (0163), line 1-20, mobile device ignores (skip monitoring) a received indication to adjust transmit power when the indication received during a duration in which uplink DMRS bundling has been scheduled, during a duration in which DMRSs have been scheduled to be transmitted using the same precoding matrix).
Examiner Notice
Claim 1 would be allowable if (i) claim 7 is incorporated into the independent claim 1.
Claim 8 would be allowable if (i) claim 14 is incorporated into the independent claim 8.
Claim 15 would be allowable if (i) claim 20 is incorporated into the independent claim 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464