DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tokuda et al. (US 6,190,801).
Regarding claim 1, Tokuda et al. discloses in Fig 1, a cathode-active material (C6/L7) for a proton-conducting secondary battery (Fig 1, Abstract), the cathode-active material (C6/L7) being for use in a proton-conducting secondary battery (Fig 1, Abstract), the cathode-active material (C6/L7) comprising a compound (C6/L19-21) that is a solid solution (C6/L19-21) that has a composition containing Mn (C6/L19-21, Ni(OH)2 + Mn solid solution explicitly disclosed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuda et al. (US 6,190,801) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matsumoto et al. (US 5,455,125).
Regarding claims 2-7, Tokuda et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the cathode-active material is a compound having a composition represented by Ni(OH)2 + Mn (C6/L19-21). The reference does not explicitly disclose the amount of Mn, 0 < Mn ≤ 1, as stated in the claims (claims 2, 4-7, various amounts up to 0.95).
Matsumoto et al. discloses in Figs 1-7, a secondary battery (Abstract) including a positive electrode comprising a Ni(OH)2 material with a Mn additive (C9/L52-63, C10/L54-59). The Mn additive suppresses electrode oxygen gas evolution and temperature increase, thereby enhancing overall battery capacity and performance (C9/L53-63). As the electrode gas suppression and capacity are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting said amount of Mn additive (see Matsumoto et al, C9/L53-63), with said electrode gas suppression and capacity both varying as the amount of Mn additive is varied, the precise amount of Mn additive would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount of Mn additive cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amount of Mn additive in the active material of Tokuda et al. as taught by Matsumoto et al. to obtain the desired balance between the electrode gas suppression and capacity (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuda et al. (US 6,190,801) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nanamoto et al. (US 2003/0044684).
Regarding claim 8, Tokuda et al. discloses in Fig 1, a proton-conducting secondary battery (Fig 1, Abstract) comprising: a cathode (C6/L25-26) with a cathode-active material (C6/L7) as set forth above; an anode (C6/L32-42) with an anode active material (C6/L21) capable of storing and releasing hydrogen (C6/L32-42); and an aqueous electrolyte (C6/L51-53) interposing between the cathode (C6/L25-26) and the anode (C6/L32-42).
Tokuda et al. does not explicitly disclose a non-aqueous electrolyte.
Nanamoto et al. discloses a secondary battery (Abstract) including a nonaqueous electrolyte ([0003]). Nonaqueous electrolytes afford batteries higher energy densities than aqueous electrolytes ([0003]).
Nanamoto et al. and Tokuda et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the nonaqueous electrolyte disclosed by Nanamoto et al. as the electrolyte of Tokuda et al. to enhance battery energy density.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Christian et al. (US 2011/0223493) discloses a battery (Abstract) including a positive active material comprising a metal additive in a solid solution ([0014]).
Akagawa et al. (US 2016/0099481) discloses in Figs 1-2, a battery (ref 1) including a positive electrode (ref 2) comprising manganese dioxide with a metal therein forming a solid solution ([0032]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725