Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 5, the limitation “the at least on heater” appears to have a typographical error for the word “on”. It is suggested to replace “on” with --one-- to improve clarity by fixing a spelling error. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 and 3 - 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Uesaka et al. US20170149209 . Regarding independent claim 1 , Uesaka discloses, in Figure s 10 -11 , A wavelength control system ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10 -11 ; optical transmitter 100H) comprising: a wavelength tunable laser diode ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10 ; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) comprising at least one optical amplifier ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) ; and a processor ( Uesaka ; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode by adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier ( Uesaka ; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”) . Regarding claim 3 , Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein the at least one optical amplifier is a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) . Regarding claim 4 , Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein a center wavelength of a gain band of the at least one optical amplifier ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) increases based on the bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier increasing ( Uesaka ; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”) . Regarding claim 5 , Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein a center wavelength of a gain band of the at least one optical amplifier ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) decreases based on the bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier decreasing ( Uesaka ; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al. US20170149209 in view of Shim US 20190243000 . Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al. US20170149209 in view of Hoefler et al. US 20220057641 as applied to claim 9, and further in view of Shim US 20190243000. Regarding claim 2 , Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein the processor ( Uesaka ; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) . Uesaka is silent regarding wherein the processor comprises a micro-processor . Shim teaches a micro-processor (Shim; [0081] “ Those skilled in the art will appreciate that these blocks, units and/or modules are physically implemented by electronic (or optical) circuits such as logic circuits, discrete components, microprocessors, hard-wired circuits, memory elements, wiring connections, and the like, which may be formed using semiconductor-based fabrication techniques or other manufacturing technologies. In the case of the blocks, units and/or modules being implemented by microprocessors or similar, they may be programmed using software (e.g., microcode) to perform various functions discussed herein and may optionally be driven by firmware and/or software. ”) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the processor as taught by Uesaka to comprise a micro-processor as taught by Shim for the purpose of performing functions using familiar and reliable manufacturing techniques ( Shim; [0081] “ Those skilled in the art will appreciate … microprocessors … which may be formed using semiconductor-based fabrication techniques or other manufacturing technologies ”). Regarding claim 10 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 2. Claim(s) 6- 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al. US20170149209 in view of Gao et al. US20240063606. Regarding claim 6, Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein the wavelength tunable laser diode comprises a ring resonator ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; ring resonator 73 ) and a heater ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; heater 74) . Uesaka does not disclose wherein the wavelength tunable laser diode comprises a plurality of ring resonators, and wherein lengths of the plurality of ring resonators are different from each other . Gao teaches a plurality of ring resonators, and wherein lengths of the plurality of ring resonators are different from each other (Gao; Fig. 2; first ring resonator 122 and second ring resonator 126 with different physical sizes that depend on their corresponding free-spectral range FSR , each ring resonator comprises a corresponding heater which are first heater 130 and second heater 132, respectively; [0118] “ The two rings can have a nominal free-spectral range (FSR) of 300 GHz and 310 GHz respectively. The thermal tuning deliberately adjusts each of those independently over a range of several tenths of a percent. The FSR and operating wavelength determine the physical size of the ring, and for the prototype SiPho chip the rings had roughly 120-130 micron diameters. ”; [0060] “ Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings. ”; [0060] “ Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning ” ) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laser diode as taught by Uesaka to comprise a plurality of ring resonators with different lengths and a plurality of heaters as taught by Gao for the purpose of allowing “ for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings ” (Gao; [0060] “ Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings. ” ) and for providing “frequency tuning” ( [0060] “ Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning ” ). Regarding claim 7 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The wavelength control system of claim 6, further comprising at least one heater spaced apart from each of the plurality of ring resonators, wherein the processor is further configured to control the tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode by adjusting a voltage input to the at least one heater (Gao; Fig. 2; first heater 130 and second heater 132; [0060] “ Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning ”) . Regarding claim 8 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The wavelength control system of claim 6, further comprising a monitor configured to detect an output wavelength of light output from the wavelength tunable laser diode, wherein the processor is further configured to control the bias current and a voltage input to the at least on heater by comparing a target wavelength, which is a wavelength of light targeted by the wavelength tunable laser diode, with the output wavelength ( Uesaka ; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)” ; [0070] controller 78 controls the temperature of the ring resonator 73; [0071] “the PROF loop shows wavelength dependence in the feedback amount thereof”) . Claim(s) 9 and 11 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka et al. US20170149209 in view of Hoefler et al. US 20220057641 . Regarding independent claim 9 , Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1 , and a wavelength tunable laser diode ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) comprising at least one optical amplifier ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) ; a processor ( Uesaka ; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode based on adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier ( Uesaka ; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”) ; light generated by the wavelength tunable laser diode ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; the output light/laser from the wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) . Uesaka is silent regarding A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device comprising: a wavelength tunable laser diode comprising at least one optical amplifier; a processor configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode based on adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier; an optical transmitter configured to emit light generated by the wavelength tunable laser diode to outside of the LiDAR device; an optical receiver configured to receive light externally; and an optical detector configured to detect light received by the optical receiver . Hoefler teaches A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device ( Hoefler ; Fig. 7; lidar system ; [0050] “ generate an image of object 718 or otherwise provide information related to the distance object 718 is from Lidar system 700 ” ) comprising an optical transmitter configured to emit light to outside of the LiDAR device ( Hoefler ; Fig. 7 ; transmitter optics 716 ) ; an optical receiver configured to receive light externally ( Hoefler ; Fig. 7 ; receiver optics 720 ) ; and an optical detector configured to detect light received by the optical receiver ( Hoefler ; Fig. 7 ; [0050] “ a photodetector, such as avalanche photodiode (APD) 722 ” ) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to combine and apply the wavelength tunable laser diode as taught by Uesaka with the lidar with corresponding transmitter , receiver , and detector as taught by Hoefler for the purpose for providing an image/information about an object ( Hoefler ; [0050] “ generate an image of object 718 or otherwise provide information related to the distance object 718 is from Lidar system 700 ”) . Regarding claim 1 1 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 3 . Regarding claim 1 2 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 4 . Regarding claim 1 3 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 5 . Regarding claim 14 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR device of claim 9, further comprising at least one heater ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; heater 74) , wherein the processor ( Uesaka ; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) is further configured to control the tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) by adjusting a voltage input to the at least one heater ( Uesaka ; [0070] controller 78 controls the temperature of the ring resonator 73) . Regarding claim 1 5 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR device of claim 14, further comprising a monitor configured to detect an output wavelength that is a wavelength of light output from the wavelength tunable laser diode, wherein the processor is further configured to control the bias current and the voltage input to the at least on heater by comparing a target wavelength, which is a wavelength of light targeted by the wavelength tunable laser diode, with the output wavelength ( Uesaka ; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”; [0070] controller 78 controls the temperature of the ring resonator 73; [0071] “the PROF loop shows wavelength dependence in the feedback amount thereof”) . Regarding independent claim 16 , Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim s 1 and 9 , and An electronic device ( Uesaka ; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C ) ( Hoefler ; Fig. 7; lidar system ). Regarding claim 1 7 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 3 . Regarding claim 1 8 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 4 . Regarding claim 1 9 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 5 . Regarding claim 20 , Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 14 . Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. US 20240192330 teaches a lidar with a tunable laser light source. Lee et al. US20200103679 teaches a variable wavelength light source. Kawakita et al. US20190363505 teaches a temperature adjusting device 2 for a wavelength-tunable laser device. Tanaka et al. US20210376569 teaches “ a wavelength-tunable part 42 including three microheaters 421 to 423, which generate heat in accordance with electric power supplied from the control device 3, to locally heat the light source part 41 to change a wavelength of the laser beam L1 output from the light source part 41. ” ([0036]). Sincore US20240030674 teaches a wavelength-tunable light source and a controller . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT JONATHAN MALIKASIM whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (313)446-6597 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F; 8 am - 5 pm (CST) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Yuqing Xiao can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-3603 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 3/23/26