Response to Arguments
The previous claim objection(s) has/have been addressed and is/are withdrawn.
Applicant s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination/interpretation of references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka US20170149209 in view of Gao US20240063606 and Lin US20230308206.
Regarding independent claim 1, Uesaka discloses, in Figures 10-11,
A wavelength control system (Uesaka; Fig. 10-11; optical transmitter 100H) comprising: a wavelength tunable laser diode (Uesaka; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) comprising at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C); and a processor (Uesaka; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode by adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”).
While Uesaka also discloses a ring resonator (Uesaka; Fig. 10; ring resonator 73) and a heater (Uesaka; Fig. 10; heater 74), Uesaka does not disclose a plurality of ring resonators; and a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively.
Gao teaches a plurality of ring resonators; and a plurality of heaters at an outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively; and wherein lengths of the plurality of ring resonators are different from each other (Gao; Fig. 2; first ring resonator 122 and second ring resonator 126 with different physical sizes that depend on their corresponding free-spectral range FSR, each ring resonator comprises a corresponding heater which are first heater 130 and second heater 132, respectively; [0118] “The two rings can have a nominal free-spectral range (FSR) of 300 GHz and 310 GHz respectively. The thermal tuning deliberately adjusts each of those independently over a range of several tenths of a percent. The FSR and operating wavelength determine the physical size of the ring, and for the prototype SiPho chip the rings had roughly 120-130 micron diameters.”; [0060] “Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings.”; [0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laser diode as taught by Uesaka to comprise a plurality of ring resonators with different lengths and a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively, as taught by Gao for the purpose of allowing “for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings” (Gao; [0060] “Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings.”) and for providing “frequency tuning” ([0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
Modified Uesaka does not teach a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively.
Lin teaches a heater at an entire outer circumference of a ring resonator (Lin; Fig. 3; [0029] heater 130 surrounds the entire outer circumference of the ring resonator RM 106 for the purpose of tuning the resonance wavelength).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heater configuration as taught by Modified Uesaka so that is applied at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively, as taught by Lin for the purpose of tuning the resonance wavelength (Lin; [0029] heater 130 surrounds the entire outer circumference of the ring resonator RM 106 for the purpose of tuning the resonance wavelength).
Regarding claim 3, Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein the at least one optical amplifier is a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) (Uesaka; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C).
Regarding claim 4, Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein a center wavelength of a gain band of the at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) increases based on the bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier increasing (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”).
Regarding claim 5, Uesaka discloses The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein a center wavelength of a gain band of the at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) decreases based on the bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier decreasing (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”).
Regarding claim 6, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and wherein lengths of the plurality of ring resonators are different from each other (Gao; Fig. 2; first ring resonator 122 and second ring resonator 126 with different physical sizes that depend on their corresponding free-spectral range FSR, each ring resonator comprises a corresponding heater which are first heater 130 and second heater 132, respectively; [0118] “The two rings can have a nominal free-spectral range (FSR) of 300 GHz and 310 GHz respectively. The thermal tuning deliberately adjusts each of those independently over a range of several tenths of a percent. The FSR and operating wavelength determine the physical size of the ring, and for the prototype SiPho chip the rings had roughly 120-130 micron diameters.”; [0060] “Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings.”; [0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
Regarding claim 7, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The wavelength control system of claim 6, wherein the processor is further configured to control the tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode by adjusting a voltage input to the plurality of heaters (Gao; Fig. 2; first heater 130 and second heater 132; [0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The wavelength control system of claim 6, further comprising a monitor configured to detect an output wavelength of light output from the wavelength tunable laser diode, wherein the processor is further configured to control the bias current and a voltage input to the at least on heater by comparing a target wavelength, which is a wavelength of light targeted by the wavelength tunable laser diode, with the output wavelength (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”; [0070] controller 78 controls the temperature of the ring resonator 73; [0071] “the PROF loop shows wavelength dependence in the feedback amount thereof”).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka in view of Gao and Lin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shim US20190243000.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka in view of Gao and Hoefler as applied to claim 9 below, and further in view of Shim US20190243000.
Regarding claim 2, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The wavelength control system of claim 1, wherein the processor (Uesaka; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78).
Modified Uesaka is silent regarding wherein the processor comprises a micro-processor.
Shim teaches a micro-processor (Shim; [0081] “Those skilled in the art will appreciate that these blocks, units and/or modules are physically implemented by electronic (or optical) circuits such as logic circuits, discrete components, microprocessors, hard-wired circuits, memory elements, wiring connections, and the like, which may be formed using semiconductor-based fabrication techniques or other manufacturing technologies. In the case of the blocks, units and/or modules being implemented by microprocessors or similar, they may be programmed using software (e.g., microcode) to perform various functions discussed herein and may optionally be driven by firmware and/or software.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the processor as taught by Modified Uesaka to comprise a micro-processor as taught by Shim for the purpose of performing functions using familiar and reliable manufacturing techniques (Shim; [0081] “Those skilled in the art will appreciate… microprocessors… which may be formed using semiconductor-based fabrication techniques or other manufacturing technologies”).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 2.
Claim(s) 9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka US20170149209 in view of Gao US20240063606 and Hoefler et al. US20220057641.
Claim(s) 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesaka US20170149209 in view of Gao US20240063606, Lin US20230308206, and Hoefler et al. US20220057641.
Regarding independent claim 9, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claim 1, and
Uesaka discloses, in Figures 10-11,
A wavelength control system (Uesaka; Fig. 10-11; optical transmitter 100H) comprising: a wavelength tunable laser diode (Uesaka; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) comprising at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C); and a processor (Uesaka; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode by adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”).
While Uesaka also discloses a ring resonator (Uesaka; Fig. 10; ring resonator 73) and a heater (Uesaka; Fig. 10; heater 74), Uesaka does not disclose a plurality of ring resonators; and a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively.
Gao teaches a plurality of ring resonators; and a plurality of heaters at an outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively; and wherein lengths of the plurality of ring resonators are different from each other (Gao; Fig. 2; first ring resonator 122 and second ring resonator 126 with different physical sizes that depend on their corresponding free-spectral range FSR, each ring resonator comprises a corresponding heater which are first heater 130 and second heater 132, respectively; [0118] “The two rings can have a nominal free-spectral range (FSR) of 300 GHz and 310 GHz respectively. The thermal tuning deliberately adjusts each of those independently over a range of several tenths of a percent. The FSR and operating wavelength determine the physical size of the ring, and for the prototype SiPho chip the rings had roughly 120-130 micron diameters.”; [0060] “Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings.”; [0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laser diode as taught by Uesaka to comprise a plurality of ring resonators with different lengths and a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively, as taught by Gao for the purpose of allowing “for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings” (Gao; [0060] “Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings.”) and for providing “frequency tuning” ([0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
a wavelength tunable laser diode (Uesaka; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) comprising at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C); a processor (Uesaka; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode based on adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”); light generated by the wavelength tunable laser diode (Uesaka; Fig. 10; the output light/laser from the wavelength tunable laser diode 30C).
Modified Uesaka is silent regarding A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device comprising: a wavelength tunable laser diode comprising at least one optical amplifier; a processor configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode based on adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier; an optical transmitter configured to emit light generated by the wavelength tunable laser diode to outside of the LiDAR device; an optical receiver configured to receive light externally; and an optical detector configured to detect light received by the optical receiver.
Hoefler teaches A light detection and ranging (LiDAR) device (Hoefler; Fig. 7; lidar system; [0050] “generate an image of object 718 or otherwise provide information related to the distance object 718 is from Lidar system 700”) comprising an optical transmitter configured to emit light to outside of the LiDAR device (Hoefler; Fig. 7; transmitter optics 716); an optical receiver configured to receive light externally (Hoefler; Fig. 7; receiver optics 720); and an optical detector configured to detect light received by the optical receiver (Hoefler; Fig. 7; [0050] “a photodetector, such as avalanche photodiode (APD) 722”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to combine and apply the wavelength tunable laser diode as taught by Modified Uesaka with the lidar with corresponding transmitter, receiver, and detector as taught by Hoefler for the purpose for providing an image/information about an object (Hoefler; [0050] “generate an image of object 718 or otherwise provide information related to the distance object 718 is from Lidar system 700”).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR device of claim 9, further comprising at least one heater (Uesaka; Fig. 10; heater 74), wherein the processor (Uesaka; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) is further configured to control the tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode (Uesaka; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) by adjusting a voltage input to the at least one heater (Uesaka; [0070] controller 78 controls the temperature of the ring resonator 73).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The LiDAR device of claim 14, further comprising a monitor configured to detect an output wavelength that is a wavelength of light output from the wavelength tunable laser diode, wherein the processor is further configured to control the bias current and the voltage input to the at least on heater by comparing a target wavelength, which is a wavelength of light targeted by the wavelength tunable laser diode, with the output wavelength (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”; [0070] controller 78 controls the temperature of the ring resonator 73; [0071] “the PROF loop shows wavelength dependence in the feedback amount thereof”).
Regarding independent claim 16, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to independent claims 1 and 9, and
An electronic device (Uesaka; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) (Hoefler; Fig. 7; lidar system);
Uesaka discloses, in Figures 10-11,
A wavelength control system (Uesaka; Fig. 10-11; optical transmitter 100H) comprising: a wavelength tunable laser diode (Uesaka; Fig. 10; wavelength tunable laser diode 30C) comprising at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; Fig. 10; semiconductor optical amplifier SOA of wavelength tunable laser diode 30C); and a processor (Uesaka; the assembly of power controller 77 and power controller 78) configured to control a tunable wavelength range of the wavelength tunable laser diode by adjusting a bias current applied to the at least one optical amplifier (Uesaka; [0068] “varying a bias current supplied to the SOA region D in the wavelength tunable LD 30C, which is the auto-power control (APC)”).
While Uesaka also discloses a ring resonator (Uesaka; Fig. 10; ring resonator 73) and a heater (Uesaka; Fig. 10; heater 74), Uesaka does not disclose a plurality of ring resonators; and a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively.
Gao teaches a plurality of ring resonators; and a plurality of heaters at an outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively; and wherein lengths of the plurality of ring resonators are different from each other (Gao; Fig. 2; first ring resonator 122 and second ring resonator 126 with different physical sizes that depend on their corresponding free-spectral range FSR, each ring resonator comprises a corresponding heater which are first heater 130 and second heater 132, respectively; [0118] “The two rings can have a nominal free-spectral range (FSR) of 300 GHz and 310 GHz respectively. The thermal tuning deliberately adjusts each of those independently over a range of several tenths of a percent. The FSR and operating wavelength determine the physical size of the ring, and for the prototype SiPho chip the rings had roughly 120-130 micron diameters.”; [0060] “Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings.”; [0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the laser diode as taught by Uesaka to comprise a plurality of ring resonators with different lengths and a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively, as taught by Gao for the purpose of allowing “for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings” (Gao; [0060] “Using a plurality of ring resonators with slightly different spectral ranges allows for selection of selecting the harmonic which provides the common frequency for the plurality of rings.”) and for providing “frequency tuning” ([0060] “Each ring is associated with a heater to provide both for frequency tuning”).
Modified Uesaka does not teach a plurality of heaters at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively.
Lin teaches a heater at an entire outer circumference of a ring resonator (Lin; Fig. 3; [0029] heater 130 surrounds the entire outer circumference of the ring resonator RM 106 for the purpose of tuning the resonance wavelength).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the heater configuration as taught by Modified Uesaka so that is applied at an entire outer circumference of the plurality of ring resonators, respectively, as taught by Lin for the purpose of tuning the resonance wavelength (Lin; [0029] heater 130 surrounds the entire outer circumference of the ring resonator RM 106 for the purpose of tuning the resonance wavelength).
Regarding claim 17, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, Modified Uesaka teaches the invention substantially the same as described in reference to claim 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 8/25/26