DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 is unclear for a number of reasons. First, the use of “is selected from A or B” is ambiguous and should be corrected to, for example, “is A or B” or “is selected from A and B”. Second, the phrase “‘*’ in the structures of Formula 2, Formula 3, and Formula 4 represents a position where the benzene ring with the substituent R in Formula 1, Formula 2, Formula 3, or Formula 4 is joined” is confusing because it does not make it clear which two or more moieties are being joined. Perhaps the phrase should be amended to “‘*’ in the structures of Formula 2, Formula 3, and Formula 4 represents a position where Formula 2, Formula 3, or Formula 4 is connected to the benzene ring with the substituent R in Formula 1”. The same should be done for “*” and “#” in connection with Formulae 5-10. The other claims are indefinite for the same reasons and/or by dependency. In addition, claim 13 depends in claim 9 and recites that the light-emitting layer further comprises a second host compound, implying that the light-emitting layer has at least two host compounds. However, according to claim 9, the compound of claim 1 is not necessarily included, and functioning as a host compound, in the light-emitting layer. The scope of claim 13 is therefore unclear. Also, as a consequence, claim 18 depends on claim 13 and recites the metal complex and “the compound” in the light-emitting layer wherein the metal complex does not have an antecedent basis and “the compound” is not necessarily present in the light-emitting layer per claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/046523 A1 to Cho et al.
Regarding claim 1, Cho et al. discloses an OLED comprising the following compound as TADF emitter in the EML,
,
which is exemplified by the following compound
(see compound 4903 on page 27). This compound is representative of the claimed compound wherein one of Rx is cyano group, and claim 1 is therefore unpatentable. See MPEP § 2131.02(II). So are claims 2-4, 6 and 8. The features of claims 17 and 19 are disclosed at pages 30 and 32, respectively.
Claims 1-8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3787056 A1 to Jeon et al.
Jeon et al. discloses an OLED wherein the EML comprises compound Y as an emitter,
(see comparative example 4 on page 300). This compound is representative of the claimed compound. In fact, it is identical to the first compound in claim 7. Claims 1-8 are therefore anticipated. Since the compound is included in the EML that has two host materials, it is in the form of a composition and reads on claim 19.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-11, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020/262861 A1 to Han et al. (see attached machine-generated English-language translation).
Han et al. discloses an OLED wherein the EML comprises a phosphorescent metal complex and the following host material:
,
which is exemplified by such species as
.
This compound is representative of the claimed compound wherein one Rz is a heterocyclic group. Claim 1 is therefore anticipated. So are claims 2-4, 6, 8-9 and 19. An example of the phosphorescent metal complex is the following green light emitter
(p. 47). Claim 10 is therefore unpatentable. So are claim 11 (m = 0) and claim 17.
Claims 1-5 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3862351 A1 to Korai et al.
Regarding claim 1, Korai et al. discloses an OLED wherein the EML, fabricated from a solution, comprises 3 host compounds and a dopant, wherein the 3 host compounds are W1, 2H-34 and compound 3, in a weight ratio of 3:3:7, and the dopant is D114 (dopant:host = 9:91) (see example 3 on page 103),
.
The host compound 3 is representative of the claimed compound wherein t = 0 and R = substituted heterocyclic group. Claim 1 is therefore anticipated. So are claims 2-5 and 8-11, 13-16 and 18-19. The features of claim 12 are disclosed on pages 41+. The features of claim 17 are anticipated because Korai et al. discloses iridium complexes that are similar to the green light-emitting dopant disclosed by Han et al. (see the complexes on page 42).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/262861 A1 to Han et al.
Regarding claim 13, the device of claim 9 is disclosed by Han et al. as explained above. In the prior art device, the light-emitting layer can also include other host materials selected from a group that includes derivatives of naphthalene, phenanthrene, pyrimidine, carbazole and dibenzofuran (p. 57 of the translation). While an example of a device comprising a light-emitting layer comprising, as the host materials, a combination of the feature compound and one of the additional host materials is not given, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to make and use such device without expecting any difficulty or negative consequences. See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).-- Claim 18 is obvious because Han et al. discloses a dopant-to-host weight ratio of 15:85 in example 1.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/262861 A1 to Han et al. in view of US 2019/0280213 A1 to Adamovich et al.
Regarding claim 12, the device of claim 10 is disclosed by Han et al. as explained above. The reference fails to teach the metal complexes of claim 12. Nevertheless, as Adamovich et al discloses that the following two iridium complexes are functionally equivalent as green light emitters,
and
(p. 21), it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the instant invention was filed to modify the device disclosed by Han et al. by using the green light-emitting iridium complexes disclosed by Adamovich et al. and expect a favorable outcome. See MPEP § 2143(I)(B). Note that the second compound cited above is identical to compound GD40 of claim 12.
Contact Information
/VU A NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762