Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on 11/11/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the explanation if the search and examination of all the claims in an application can be made without serious burden. This is found persuasive. The restriction requirement mailed 9/11/2025 has been withdrawn and all claims 1-20 are examined in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0331613 A1 to Wieslander et al. (hereinafter “Wieslander”).
Regarding claim 1, Wieslander teaches a peritoneal dialysis (“PD”) system (see Fig. 1, 4, 6; paragraphs 42-49, 55, 58-59, 79, 81-110) comprising:
a PD machine (cycler 20) including
a housing (24)(paragraphs 42-43),
a PD fluid pump (5) housed by the housing (paragraph 43),
a plurality of PD fluid lines (50, 56, 60) (paragraphs 47-48) and
a plurality of PD fluid line connectors (52, 58, 74, 76, 78, 80a, 82a, 68) positioned and arranged at the housing to accept distal ends of the PD fluid lines to perform a disinfection sequence (paragraphs 47-48, 55); and
a disinfection unit (paragraphs 92-93:110: water purification apparatus with disinfection fluid inlet 392a) including
a disinfection unit housing (110a)(paragraph 95),
a PD fluid line connector (118, 128) positioned and arranged at the disinfection unit housing for receiving one of the PD fluid lines of the PD machine for the disinfection sequence (paragraph 99),
a line extending (56, 64a) from the disinfection unit housing for connecting to one of the PD fluid line connectors of the PD machine for the disinfection sequence (paragraph 96), and
a disinfection fluid pump (316) housed by the disinfection unit for pumping disinfection fluid during the disinfection sequence (paragraph 93).
Regarding claims 2-3, Wieslander teaches that the PD fluid pump is set to a free-flow position and operated at a slow speed during the disinfection sequence (paragraph 103).
Regarding claim 4, Wieslander teaches that the disinfection unit includes a control unit (112) configured to cause the disinfection fluid pump to pump the disinfection fluid during the disinfection sequence (paragraphs 93, 100-101) and capable of pumping 200 ml/min to 500 ml/min.
Regarding claims 5-6, Wieslander teaches that the disinfection unit includes at least one pressure sensor (308) positioned and arranged to sense a pressure of the disinfection fluid during the disinfection sequence, the at least one pressure sensor having a pressure sensor output to the disinfection unit control unit (112), and wherein the disinfection unit control unit is configured to use the at least one pressure sensor output as feedback for operating the disinfection fluid pump so that the disinfection fluid is at a desired pressure or within a desired pressure range during the disinfection sequence (paragraphs 89, 92, 94). Wieslander teaches that the control unit (112) of the disinfection unit (110) may initiate the heat disinfection automatically or by instructions/commands from the cycler (20) i.e. PD machine control unit (22) (paragraphs 42-43, 100). Furthermore evidenced by US 2023/0256150 A1 (see Fig. 1-2, 5; paragraphs 50-53, 60-63).
Regarding claim 7, Wieslander teaches that the disinfection unit includes a control unit (112) and a heater (302) under control of the disinfection unit control unit to cause the disinfection fluid heater to heat the disinfection fluid during the disinfection sequence to 85°C to 95°C within claimed 70°C to 110°C. ( (paragraphs 99-101).
Regarding claims 8-9, Wieslander teaches that the disinfection unit includes at least one temperature sensor (303) positioned and arranged to sense a temperature of the disinfection fluid during the disinfection sequence, the at least one temperature sensor having a temperature sensor output to the disinfection unit control unit (112), and wherein the disinfection unit control unit is configured to use the at least one temperature sensor output as feedback for operating the disinfection fluid pump so that the disinfection fluid is at a desired temperature or within a desired temperature range during the disinfection sequence (paragraphs 89, 99-101). Wieslander further teaches that the control unit (112) of the disinfection unit (110) may initiate the heat disinfection automatically or by instructions/commands from the cycler (20) i.e. PD machine control unit (22) (paragraphs 42-43, 100). Furthermore evidenced by US 2023/0256150 A1 (see Fig. 1-2, 5; paragraphs 50-53, 60-63).
Regarding claims 10-11, Wieslander teaches that the PD machine includes a heater (paragraph 44), and wherein the PD machine heater is not powered during the disinfection sequence (paragraph 103: heat disinfection is accomplished by heating water by a heating device 302 in the disinfection unit 100 alone).
Regarding claim 12, Wieslander teaches an implicit switch for the disinfection fluid pump (316) (paragraph 93).
Regarding claims 13-14, Wieslander teaches that the control unit (112) of the disinfection unit (110) may initiate the heat disinfection automatically or by instructions/commands from the cycler (20) i.e. PD machine with PD machine control unit (22) (paragraphs 42-43, 100).
Regarding claim 15, Wieslander teaches a peritoneal dialysis (“PD”) system (see Fig. 1, 4, 6; paragraphs 42-49, 55, 58-59, 79, 81-110) comprising:
a PD machine (cycler 20) including
a housing (24)(paragraphs 42-43),
a PD fluid pump (5) housed by the housing (paragraph 43),
a patient line (50) in fluid communication with the PD fluid pump (5) (paragraph 47),
a patient line connector (52) positioned and arranged at the housing to accept a distal end of the patient line to perform a disinfection sequence (paragraph 47),
a plurality of PD fluid lines (50, 56, 60) (paragraphs 47-48) and
a plurality of PD fluid line connectors (52, 58, 74, 76, 78, 80a, 82a, 68) positioned and arranged at the housing to accept distal ends of the PD fluid lines to perform a disinfection sequence (paragraphs 47-48, 55); and
a disinfection unit (paragraphs 92-93:110: water purification apparatus with disinfection fluid inlet 392a) including
a disinfection unit housing (110a)(paragraph 95),
a PD fluid line connector (118, 128) positioned and arranged at the disinfection unit housing for receiving one of the PD fluid lines of the PD machine for the disinfection sequence (paragraph 99),
a line extending (56, 64a) from the disinfection unit housing for connecting to one of the PD fluid line connectors of the PD machine for the disinfection sequence (paragraph 96), and
a disinfection fluid pump (316) housed by the disinfection unit for pumping disinfection fluid during the disinfection sequence (paragraph 93).
Regarding claim 16, Wieslander teaches that the patient line is a dual lumen patient line including a fresh PD fluid lumen and a used PD fluid lumen which are common in PD fluid lines (paragraphs 47, 96).
Regarding claim 17, Wieslander teaches that at least one of the patient line, the plurality of PD fluid lines or the line extending from the disinfection unit housing is a flexible line (paragraph 96: flexible drain line 56).
Regarding claim 18, Wieslander teaches a peritoneal dialysis (“PD”) system (see Fig. 1, 4, 6; paragraphs 42-49, 55, 58-59, 79, 81-110) comprising:
a PD machine (cycler 20) including
a PD machine control unit (22) (paragraph 42),
a PD fluid pump (5) under control of the PD machine control unit (22) (paragraph 43); and
a disinfection unit (paragraphs 92-93:110: water purification apparatus with disinfection fluid inlet 392a) configured to be placed in disinfection fluid communication with the PD machine, the disinfection unit (110) including
a disinfection unit control unit (112) configured to be placed in data communication with the PD machine control unit (22) (paragraphs 42, 100), and
a disinfection fluid pump (316) under control of the disinfection unit control unit (112), wherein the PD machine control unit (22) is configured to automatically command the disinfection unit control unit (112) to cause the disinfection fluid pump to begin pumping disinfection fluid in a disinfection sequence (paragraph 100).
Regarding claim 19, Wieslander teaches that the control unit (112) of the disinfection unit (110) may initiate the heat disinfection automatically or by instructions/commands from the cycler (20) i.e. PD machine with PD machine control unit (22) (paragraphs 42-43, 100).
Regarding claim 20, Wieslander teaches an implicit switch for the disinfection fluid pump (316) (paragraph 93).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2018/0021500 A1 teaches peritoneal dialysis system comprising peritoneal dialysate temperature regulation system (see Figures 1, 5-6, 9).
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
JK
12/4/25