DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 10/12/2023, is acknowledged. Claims 1-3, 10, 13, 17, 20, 26-28, 39, 40, 42, 47, 115, 117, 138, 142, 145 and 174 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites Pullalun in parenthesis. It is not clear whether Pullulan is a trademark however, the use of parathesis raises the question of whether Pullulan is a limitation or not. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites "bismuth-231" not "bismuth-213". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 142 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 142 recites the limitation "the modified RNA". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13, 26-28, 39, 40, 42 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kübelbeck (WO 2021/229015A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kübelbeck “relates to a composition of nanoparticles as carrier for pharmaceutically acceptable compounds.” Abstract. The nanoparticle “has functionalities on its surface which function as recognition points for antigens ultimately to be bound or adsorbed. The surface here encompasses all areas, i.e. besides the outer surface, also the inner surface of cavities (pores) in the particle. The functionalities may be directly or indirectly bound to the surface.” Page 7, lines 16-19. The nanoparticles may also have a core-shell structure. See page 7, lines 37-40. “According to the invention pharmaceutically acceptable compounds are RIG-I agonists such as oligonucleotides bearing free, uncapped 5' phosphate.” Page 22, lines 38-39. “Other RIG-I agonists are 5' triphosphate oligonucleotides.” Page 23, lines 2-3.
Regarding claim 13, the nanoparticle may also comprise metals. See page 7, lines 32-35.
Regarding claim 26, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, the disclosed pharmaceutical composition “can be employed in the prophylaxis, therapy, control or post-treatment of patients” including cancer patients. Page 27, lines 38-41. As such, the composition would be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 27, the pharmaceutical composition may be in the form of solid or liquid compositions and comprise a carrier like water. See page 28, lines 5-8.
Regarding claim 28, the pharmaceutical composition may be injected. See page 28, line 21.
Regarding claims 39, 40 and 42, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Here, the disclosed pharmaceutical composition “can be employed in the prophylaxis, therapy, control or post-treatment of patients” including cancer patients. Page 27, lines 38-41. As such, the composition would be capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding claim 47, the composition may comprise an adjuvant. See page 28, line 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kübelbeck (WO 2021/229015A1) as applied to claims 1, 13, 26-28, 39, 40, 42 and 47 above, and further in view Aprikyan et al. (US 2021/0154323).
Teachings of Kübelbeck are discussed above.
Regarding claim 10, Kübelbeck does not teach “wherein the shell comprises an aminated polysaccharide coating.”
Aprikyan et al. teaches “functionalized nanoparticles for penetrating through a mammalian cell membrane and delivering intracellularly one or more biologically active molecules comprising a nanoparticle core, one or more cell membrane-penetrating molecule(s) and one or more biologically active molecules(s) for introducing or affecting one or more cellular functions(s).” Abstract. More particularly, Aprikyan et al. “provides functionalized nanoparticles having (a) a nanoparticle core; (b) a polymer coating or lipid bilayer that encapsulates the nanoparticle; (c) one or more functional group(s) that are associated with and/or attached directly to the nanoparticle and/or to the polymer coating.” Para. [0033]. The coatings “provide a surface that can be modified with one or more functional groups for attachment to one or more crosslinking agents, biologically active molecules, and/or cell membrane-penetrating molecules” Para. [0036]. Exemplary polymers include dextran and pullulan. See para. [0180].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention in view of the combination of Kübelbeck and Aprikyan et al. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would find motivation to combine the references and have a reasonable expectation of success in combination because both references teach using core-shell nanoparticles for delivery of pharmaceutically acceptable compounds. In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (“It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.”) Further, in this regard, it is prima facie obviousness to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). Here
Here, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate a polymer shell as taught by Aprikyan et al. to obtain the functionalities it is taught to provide.
Regarding claim 17, Aprikyan et al. also teaches that “[f]unctionalized nanoparticles of the present disclosure can also further include one or more chelators, radioisotopes, and/or contrast agents.” Para. [0168].
Regarding claim 20, Aprikyan et al. discloses representative radioisotopes such as bismuth-213 and copper-67. See para. [0169].
Double Patenting
Claims 2, 3, 115, 117, 138, 142, 145 and 174 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 52, 80-82, 101-105, 109, 119-121, and 135 of copending Application No. 18/270,361 (“the ‘361 reference application”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are an obvious modification of the claims of the ‘361 application as demonstrated below.
Claims 115 and 117 of the instant application require administering to a subject “a nanoparticle comprising a nanoparticle core; a radiolabel; and a single-stranded 5' uncapped triphosphate or biphosphate modified RNA oligonucleotide that is linked to the nanoparticle core, wherein said oligonucleotide is complementary to a miRNA which is highly expressed in a solid tumor or solid tumor microenvironment in comparison to a non-solid tumor or non-solid tumor microenvironment thereby generating a localized immune response.”
The ‘361 reference application claims “[a] method for treating cancer comprising administering to a subject a therapeutically effective amount of a single-stranded 5' uncapped triphosphate or biphosphate modified RNA oligonucleotide, wherein said oligonucleotide is complementary to a miRNA, which is highly expressed in a tumor or tumor microenvironment in comparison to a non-tumor or non-tumor microenvironment.” See claim 1. The modified oligonucleotide is further linked to a nanoparticle. See claim 101.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to arrive at the claimed invention, the instant claims being an obvious modification of the claims of the ‘361 application.
Regarding claims 2, 3 and 138 of the instant application, the ‘361 reference application claims that the nanoparticle may be have a polymer coating such as dextran functionalized with one or more amine groups. See claims 101-105. Further, the miRNA may be miR10b, for instance.
Regarding claim 142, the ‘361 reference application describes “wherein the modified RNA oligonucleotide is capable of forming a duplex with the said miRNA and the duplex activate RIG-I.”
Regarding claims 145 and 174, the wherein clauses are not considered limitations because they merely express the intended results of a process step positively recited. MPEP 2111.04 (“Claim scope is not limited by claim language that . . . does not limit a claim to a particular structure.”).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ROBERT S CABRAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614