DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29, 49, 50 and all claims depending therefrom are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 29, 49 and 50 recite that the second clamping surface tapers upwardly from the second end to the first end.
But the specification or the drawings show that the second clamping surface tapers upwardly from the first end to the second end. Fig. 4 illustrates a slope upwardly from first end 27 to second end 29. Further, para [0058] of the specification, referring to Fig. 4, discloses that "second clamping surface tapers outwardly or upwardly from first end 27 to second end 29."
For the purpose of examination, and in the spirit of compact prosecution, the limitations in claims 29, 49 and 50 will be interpreted to cover a second clamping surface that tapers upwardly from the first end to the second end.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 and 44-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynn (U.S. Pub. 2006/0015074 A1, hereinafter “Lynn”), in view of Ballenger et al (U.S. Pat. 3,350,754, hereinafter “Ballenger”), further in view of Gauger et al (U.S. Pat. 8,636,260, hereinafter “Gauger”).
Regarding claim 29, Lynn discloses a pinch clamp device, comprising:
a first arm 120/124 (see Fig. 3) having a first end comprising a lip (forming a ledge125; see Fig. 3);
and a second end comprising a first planar clamping surface (see annotated Fig. 3, below), the first arm forming a first window 150 below the lip (see Figs. 1 and 4);
a second arm 114 (see Fig. 3) having a first end comprising a terminal end 128 (see Fig. 3) and a second end comprising a second clamping surface (see annotated Fig. 3, below) positioned opposite the first clamping surface,
wherein the first clamping surface comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the lip is closer to the second end of the first clamping surface than the first end of the first clamping surface, and wherein the first clamping surface is planar between the first and second ends (see annotated Fig. 3, below);
wherein the second clamping surface comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the terminal end is closer to the second end of the second clamping surface than the first end of the second clamping surface (see Fig. 3, annotated below), wherein the second clamping surface tapers upwardly from the first end to the second end such that when the pinch clamp device is in a disengaged configuration, the first end of the second clamping surface is spaced from the first clamping surface a first distance (labeled as “D1” in Fig. 3, annotated below) and the second end of the second clamping surface is spaced from the first clamping surface a second distance (labeled as “D2” in Fig. 3, annotated below), wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance;
wherein, when the pinch clamp device is in an engaged configuration in which the terminal end is held under the lip, the first and second clamping surfaces are parallel (as shown in Fig. 6 and para [0040] referring to a "flat" surface that compresses the IV tubing) and spaced apart by a third distance, the third distance being less than the second distance (see para [0040], disclosing that a uniform distance is provided between the two opposed clamping surfaces, matched to width of the tube when the tube has a completely compressed lumen; this width is considerably less than the second distance, since the second distance corresponds to a distance considerably larger than the tube in its uncompressed diameter),
a hinge 118 (see Fig. 3) interconnecting the second end of the first arm and the second end of the second arm, the hinge forming a second window 129 (see Fig. 2) that is aligned with the first window to thereby allow intravenous tubing 104 (see Fig. 1) to extend through the first and second windows and be positioned between the first and second clamping surfaces (see para [0039] disclosing the distance 260 over which the intravenous tubing is positioned), the first arm, second arm and hinge being formed of a rigid or semi-rigid plastic material (see para [0014] disclosing that the clamp can be made of polypropylene),
wherein, due to the second clamping surface being tapered upwardly from the first end to the second end, a distance between the second ends of the first and second clamping surfaces gradually reduces from the second distance to the third distance as the pinch clamp device transitions from the disengaged configuration (shown in Fig. 3) and into the engaged configuration (shown in Fig. 6).
Lynn, Fig. 3, annotated.
It is noted that Lynn does not appear to disclose a soft polymer material directly located on the first clamping surface and the second clamping surface, such that the intravenous tubing is clamped between the soft, polymer material located on the first planar clamping surface and the soft, polymer material located on the second clamping surface when the pinch clamp device is in an engaged configuration, the soft polymer material having a Shore A durometer hardness of from approximately 15 to approximately 100.
Lynn further does not disclose that the clamp transitioning from the disengaged configuration and into the engaged configuration to thereby cause the soft, polymer material located directly on the first and second planar clamping surfaces to apply a gradual and cushioning occlusion force on the intravenous tubing to positively displace fluid within the intravenous tubing without hard kinking the intravenous tubing.
Ballenger discloses a clamp device 10 (see Fig. 1) for clamping flexible material, in the analogous art to the claimed invention (i.e., Ballenger is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of unintentional disengagement of the clamp due to low friction between the engaged surfaces of the pinch clamp; see Applicant’s specification at paras [0004]-[0006]) in which the entire clamp is preferably coated with a rubber or similar material to further increase the effectiveness of the clamp in retaining objects clamped therein (see col. 3, lines 30-35).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the clamp of Lynn so that it is entirely coated with a rubber or similar material (thus per se coating the first and second clamping surfaces with the rubber or similar material), in order to increase the effectiveness of the clamp in retaining the tube clamped therein (see Ballenger at col. 3, lines 47-52), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Further, Gauger discloses a high-friction rubbery material, such as silicone or latex (col. which is used to prevent slipping of an object held by the material, the material having a durometer rating of 30-40, which falls within the claimed range of approximately 15 to approximately 100 (although Gauger does not specify whether the durometer rating is in the shore A scale or shore D scale, it is known that the hardness of soft materials is measured using the shore A scale; Gauger discloses that the material is soft TPE with a durometer of 30-40, or silicone with a durometer of 25-30, which, based on the softness of the materials, would be understood to be measured on the shore A scale; see Gauger at col. 3, lines 31-37 and col.5, lines 61-66).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious to modify the soft polymer disclosed in Ballenger (rubber) material to have a shore A hardness of approximately 15 to approximately 100, based on the teaching in Gauger that materials with this hardness were known to provide a sticky, high friction coating toa surface (Gauger at col. 5, lines 62-63) that may be easily molded into a variety of shapes (Gauger at col. 3, lines 34-35) is available in a variety of durometers for optimizing its intended use (Gauger at col. 3, lines 34-35).
Regarding claims 44-49, Lynn discloses:
the first and second arms have opposing side surfaces (outward facing surfaces) (as per claim 44);
the second arm includes a grip feature 115 (see Fig. 3) (as per claim 47);
the second clamping surface tapers upwardly from the first end to the second end (see Fig. 3) (as per claim 49).
Since a skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the clamp of Lynn so that it is entirely coated with the claimed soft polymer material, then it would have been per se obvious to coat the various surfaces identified in claims 44-48 as well (i.e., the opposing side surfaces in claim 44; the lip and terminal end in claim 45 to form an interlocking groove; the grip feature in claim 47; and all exterior surfaces of the first arm, second arm and hinge in claim 48), since those surfaces are part of the clamp.
Claim 50 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lynn in view of Ballenger.
Regarding claim 50, , Lynn discloses a pinch clamp device, comprising:
a first arm 120/124 (see Fig. 3) having a first end comprising a lip (forming a ledge125; see Fig. 3);
and a second end comprising a first planar clamping surface (see annotated Fig. 3, below), the first arm forming a first window 150 below the lip (see Figs. 1 and 4);
a second arm 114 (see Fig. 3) having a first end comprising a terminal end 128 (see Fig. 3) and a second end comprising a second clamping surface (see annotated Fig. 3, below) positioned opposite the first clamping surface,
wherein the first clamping surface comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the lip is closer to the second end of the first clamping surface than the first end of the first clamping surface, and wherein the first clamping surface is planar between the first and second ends (see annotated Fig. 3, below);
wherein the second clamping surface comprises a first end and a second end, wherein the terminal end is closer to the second end of the second clamping surface than the first end of the second clamping surface (see Fig. 3, annotated below), wherein the second clamping surface tapers upwardly from the first end to the second end such that when the pinch clamp device is in a disengaged configuration, the first end of the second clamping surface is spaced from the first clamping surface a first distance (labeled as “D1” in Fig. 3, annotated below) and the second end of the second clamping surface is spaced from the first clamping surface a second distance (labeled as “D2” in Fig. 3, annotated below), wherein the second distance is greater than the first distance;
wherein, when the pinch clamp device is in an engaged configuration in which the terminal end is held under the lip, the first and second clamping surfaces are parallel (as shown in Fig. 6 and para [0040] referring to a "flat" surface that compresses the IV tubing) and spaced apart by a third distance, the third distance being less than the second distance (see para [0040], disclosing that a uniform distance is provided between the two opposed clamping surfaces, matched to width of the tube when the tube has a completely compressed lumen; this width is considerably less than the second distance, since the second distance corresponds to a distance considerably larger than the tube in its uncompressed diameter),
a hinge 118 (see Fig. 3) interconnecting the second end of the first arm and the second end of the second arm, the hinge forming a second window 129 (see Fig. 2) that is aligned with the first window to thereby allow intravenous tubing 104 (see Fig. 1) to extend through the first and second windows and be positioned between the first and second clamping surfaces (see para [0039] disclosing the distance 260 over which the intravenous tubing is positioned), the first arm, second arm and hinge being formed of a rigid or semi-rigid plastic material (see para [0014] disclosing that the clamp can be made of polypropylene),
wherein, due to the second clamping surface being tapered upwardly from the first end to the second end, a distance between the second ends of the first and second clamping surfaces gradually reduces from the second distance to the third distance as the pinch clamp device transitions from the disengaged configuration (shown in Fig. 3) and into the engaged configuration (shown in Fig. 6).
Lynn, Fig. 3, annotated.
It is noted that Lynn does not appear to disclose a soft, polymer material directly located on the first planar clamping surface and the second clamping surface such that the intravenous tubing is clamped between the soft, polymer material located on the first planar clamping surface and the soft, polymer material located on the second clamping surface when the pinch clamp device is in an engaged configuration, the soft, polymer material also being directly located on the opposing side surfaces of the first and second arms and on the lip and terminal end.
Ballenger discloses a clamp device 10 (see Fig. 1) for clamping flexible material, in the analogous art to the claimed invention (i.e., Ballenger is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor of unintentional disengagement of the clamp due to low friction between the engaged surfaces of the pinch clamp; see Applicant’s specification at paras [0004]-[0006]) in which the entire clamp is preferably coated with a rubber or similar material to further increase the effectiveness of the clamp in retaining objects clamped therein (see col. 3, lines 30-35).
A skilled artisan would have found it obvious at the time of the invention to modify the clamp of Lynn so that it is entirely coated with a rubber or similar material (thus per se coating, with the rubber or similar material, the first and second clamping surfaces, the opposing side surfaces, the lip and the terminal end), in order to increase the effectiveness of the clamp in retaining the tube clamped therein (see Ballenger at col. 3, lines 47-52), with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the claim amendments.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J MEDWAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 04/22/2026