DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 12, 2026 in response to the Office Action of November 14, 2025 has been acknowledged and entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 14: Claim limitation “a catheter strain relief feature formed around” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112 sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “feature” coupled with functional language “strain relief” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Claim 14: “a catheter strain relief feature” refers to the Specification as filed, Paragraph [0057], catheter strain relief feature 602 may be a rubberized or otherwise flexible material that is molded or otherwise secured around catheter 313 to reinforce the portion of catheter 313 immediately distal to catheter adapter 311.
See MPEP 2181.II.A. The disclosure of the structure (or material or acts) may be implicit or inherent in the specification if it would have been clear to those skilled in the art what structure (or material or acts) corresponds to the means- (or step-) plus-function claim limitation. See id. at 1380, 53 USPQ2d at 1229; In re Dossel, 115 F.3d 942, 946-47, 42 USPQ2d 1881, 1885 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
For more information, see MPEP 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 10-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lew (WO 2022073987) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Lew illustrates a ported catheter (Fig. 1A, device 100) comprising: a catheter adapter (101) having a proximal opening (See Fig. 1A); a catheter (needle 110) extending distally from the catheter adapter (101);; and a bushing (50) having an inside surface that is configured to facilitate insertion of a tube (140) of a blood draw device or other vascular probe or instrument into the catheter. (See Fig. 7).
Lew illustrates wherein the inside surface of the bushing (50) includes a curved section (i.e., curved section formed at the distal end 57 and the conical or funnel shaped tapered seat 55), wherein the curved section (55) the curved section having a convex cross-sectional shape relative to a center longitudinal axis of the catheter adapter. (See Fig. 4, cylindrical bushing comprises a circular cross-sectional shape, which is convex).
In one embodiment Lew teaches a port (184) (See Fig. 8, showing an embodiment of the catheter assembly further comprising a side fluid port 184).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lew to include “a port”. Doing so provides an additional lumen for fluid inflow.
Regarding claim 4, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) wherein the inside surface of the bushing (50) also includes a proximal section (56) positioned at a proximal opening of the bushing (Paragraph [0099] opening of 56), the curved section (55) extending distally from the proximal section. (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Lew teaches wherein the inside surface of the bushing (50) also includes a sloped section (57) that extends proximally from the curved section (55). (See Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 6, Lew illustrates (Fig. 8) wherein the port (184) is angled towards the bushing (50).
Regarding claim 7, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) wherein the inside surface of the bushing (50) includes a sloped section (57) that extends between a distal end (68) of the bushing (50) and a proximal opening (Paragraph [0099] opening of 56) of the bushing (50).
Regarding claim 8, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) wherein the sloped section (57) intersects with an outer surface of the bushing (50) at the proximal opening (Paragraph [0099] opening of 56). (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) wherein the inside surface includes a proximal section (proximal end 56) positioned at a proximal opening (Paragraph [0099] opening of 56) of the bushing (50) and a sloped section (57) that extends between the proximal section and a distal end (68) of the bushing (50). (See Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) wherein a proximal end of the proximal section is curved (i.e., curved section formed at the distal end 57 between the elongated distal seat 70 and the conical or funnel shaped tapered seat 55).
Regarding claim 12, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) wherein the inside surface includes a proximal section (56) positioned at a proximal opening of the bushing (50), a rounded section within the proximal section (i.e., cross-section of conical or funnel shaped tapered seat is round), a curved section (i.e., curved section formed at the distal end 57 and the conical or funnel shaped tapered seat 55) that extends distally from the proximal section (56) (Fig. 4), and a sloped section (57) that extends between the curved section (55) and a distal end (68) of the bushing (50). (See Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 13, Lew teaches wherein the bushing is formed of plastic, metal, or rubber. (Paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 14, Lew teaches a catheter strain relief feature (nose section 118) disposed around the catheter distal to the catheter adapter. (See Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 15, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) a bushing (50) for a ported catheter (Fig. 8, port 184) comprising: a distal end (68) that is configured to secure a catheter within a catheter adapter (101) of the ported catheter; a proximal opening (Paragraph [0099] opening of 56); and an inside surface including a curved section extending distally from the proximate opening that is configured to facilitate insertion of a tube (140) of a blood draw device or other vascular probe or instrument into the catheter, wherein a diameter of the curved section decreases distally from the proximal opening. (See Fig. 7).
and an inside surface including a curved section extending distally from the proximate opening (See annotated Fig. 4) that is configured to facilitate insertion of a tube of a blood draw device or other vascular probe or instrument into the catheter, wherein a diameter of the curved section decreases distally from the proximal opening. (See annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Lew illustrates (Fig. 4) wherein the inside surface also includes a sloped section (57) and a proximal section (56), and wherein the curved section (i.e., curved section formed at the distal end 57 and the conical or funnel shaped tapered seat 55) is positioned between the sloped section (57) and the proximal section (56).
Regarding claim 18, Lew illustrates wherein the curved section (i.e., curved section formed at the distal end 57 and the conical or funnel shaped tapered seat 55) extends between the proximal opening (Paragraph [0099] opening of 56) and the distal end (68). (See Fig. 4)
Regarding claim 19, Lew illustrates wherein the inside surface includes a slanted section (55). (See Fig. 4).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lew in view of Licata (ES 2242304) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 9, Lew teaches wherein the inside surface of the bushing (50) includes a curved section (55) that extends between a distal end (68) of the bushing (50) and a proximal opening (56) of the bushing (50); however, Lew does not teach “the curved section having a convex cross-sectional shape.”
Licata, in a related field of endeavor, illustrates (Fig. 2) a medical introduction device comprising a bushing (17) wherein the curved section (34) has a convex cross-sectional shape. (See Fig. 2; Page 6, lines 11-12 of Machine Translation).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lew such that the curved section of the bushing has “a convex cross-sectional shape” as taught by Licata. Doing so may facilitate insertion of the catheter. (Page 6, lines 10-11).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lew in view of Chong (US 20210138200).
Regarding claim 20, Lew illustrates a system for collecting a blood sample (Fig. 1A) comprising: a ported catheter (device 100); and a blood draw device having a tube (140) that is configured to extend through the ported catheter (See Fig. 7); wherein the ported catheter includes a bushing (50) having an inside surface that is configured to facilitate inserting the tube (140) through the ported catheter (100).
However, Lew does not teach “wherein the ported catheter includes an inner surface defining a protrusion extending towards a center longitudinal axis of the ported catheter, a proximal end of the bushing spaced apart distally along a longitudinal axis of the ported catheter from the protrusion”.
Chong, in a related field of endeavor, illustrates (Fig. 3) wherein the ported catheter (100) includes an inner surface defining a protrusion (retainer 95) extending towards a center longitudinal axis of the ported catheter, a proximal end of the bushing (50) spaced apart distally along a longitudinal axis of the ported catheter from the protrusion. (Paragraphs [0230]-[0231]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Lew to teach “wherein the ported catheter includes an inner surface defining a protrusion extending towards a center longitudinal axis of the ported catheter, a proximal end of the bushing spaced apart distally along a longitudinal axis of the ported catheter from the protrusion” as taught by Chong. Doing so may prevent the tapered seat of the bushing from sliding proximally out after snapping into position. (Paragraph [0231]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 with respect to claims 1, 4-15 and 17-19 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As discussed above, while Lew does not specifically teach “the curved section having a convex cross-sectional shape relative to a center longitudinal axis of the catheter adapter”, the purported advantage of this feature is not sufficiently disclosed nor is the criticality of the purported advantage evident anywhere in the Specification. Hence, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to modify the inside of the bushing to have a curved section with a convex cross-sectional shape relative to a center longitudinal axis of the catheter adapter, in accordance with the design of the Applicant’s invention.
With respect to the rejection of claim 20, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 103. In the new ground of rejection, Chong is relied upon for the amended feature.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OM PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791