DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim status in the amendment received on 8/14/2026:
Claims 1, 9 and 17 have been amended.
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-22 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Please see the mappings and analysis of the new limitations in the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feyzibehnagh et al. (Pub. No.: US 20190215308 A1) in view of May et al. (Patent. No.: US 9503477 B2) and further in view of Andrews et al. (Pub. No.: US 20220200989 A1).
As to claim 1, Feyzibehnagh teaches receiving, from a client device, traffic that is to be sent over the network to an application (fig. 8, 801);
determining, at least partially using an identity provider service, a security score associated with the traffic (fig. 8, 811, and fig. 9, “entropy score” teaches security score, and paragraph [0107], “security device” teaches an identity provider service);
determining, based at least in part on the security score and based at least in part on an application-aware routing policy, a path for sending the traffic to the application (fig. 8, 813, “encrypted VPN” teaches a path, selecting between VPNs teaches an application-aware routing policy), the path being selected from an application-aware path or an alternative path that includes a security service (fig. 8, 813, “encrypted VPN” teaches alternative path that includes a security service); and
causing the traffic to be sent to the application via the path (fig. 8, 813).
Feyzibehnagh does not explicitly teach receiving the policy, determining security score based on identifier associated with the user, performing security posture analysis and indicating security posture of the client device as trusted or untrusted device in the network.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computer networks) May teaches receiving an application-aware routing policy associated with a network (col. 13, lines 14-16, i.e. from a policy database 226);
determining, at least partially using an identity provider service (col. 15, lines 4-9, “Controller 306 can, in turn, be operatively coupled with a client reputation database (CRDB) 308 that stores CR scores for one or more users along with other information such as user profile, designation, work responsibilities and roles, past history, change in pattern of CR scores, category/grade, among other like information.”, i.e. CRDB teaches identity provider service), a security score associated with the traffic, the security score being based in part on an identifier associated with a user profile of a user of the client device (fig. 5, i.e. CR Score), the security score indicating a security posture of the client device (col. 2, lines 39-45, “…CR scores, also interchangeably referred to as reputation scores hereinafter, indicate a quantitative and/or qualitative measure of level of network activity that a resource, say an internal resource, does with external resources. Such activity can relate to requests that internal resource sends out to network (traffic generated) …”).
Based on Feyzibehnagh in view of May, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate receiving the policy and determining, using an identity provider service, security score based on identifier associated with the user and indicating security posture of the client device (taught by May) with routing network traffic based on associated score (taught by Feyzibehnagh) in order to allow network administrators to configure network traffic as needed and to keep track of network users and their associated scores.
Feyzibehnagh in view of May does not explicitly teach performing security posture analysis and security score indicating security posture of the client device as trusted or untrusted device in the network.
However, in the same field of endeavor (computer networks) Andrews teaches
determining, at least partially using an identity provider service that performs a security posture analysis of the client device when the client device authenticates or gains access to the network (paragraph [0086], “a given user may request access to a protected data source on the enterprise's premise using a corporate-owned and imaged notebook, such configured as described with regard to IHS 100 of FIG. 1 and client IHS 300B of FIG. 3B” and paragraph [0087]), a security score, the security score indicating a security posture of the client device as a trusted device in the network or an untrusted device in the network (paragraph [0089], “…device risk: 1 (high level of control because of corporate owned/managed platform, known versions, security features enabled, etc.)…”).
Based on Feyzibehnagh in view of May and further in view of Andrews, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate performing security posture analysis and security score indicating security posture of the client device as trusted or untrusted device in the network (taught by Andrews) with receiving the policy and determining, using an identity provider service, security score based on identifier associated with the user and indicating security posture of the client device (taught by May) with routing network traffic based on associated score (taught by Feyzibehnagh) in order to allow network administrators to configure network traffic as needed and to keep track of network users and their associated scores and in order to increase the security by considering the trust status of the client device.
As to claim 2, May further teaches wherein the security score is further based at least in part on an internet protocol (IP) address associated with the client device or access policies associated with the user profile (col. 11, lines 6-13, “(49) According to one embodiment, reputation score retrieval module 214 can be configured to retrieve client reputation (CR) score associated with a given user, wherein the client reputation (CR) score can be generated based on one or more of network level activities, interactions of users, user profiles, all or part of which can be stored in a client reputation database (CRDB) 224, which can be directly or indirectly coupled with network controller 210.”). The limitations of claim 2 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 3, Andrews further teaches security score is based at least in part on a security level of a connectivity network of the client device (paragraph [0089], “…network risk: 1 (low risk because of on premise, wired connection detected) …”). The limitations of claim 3 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 4, Feyzibehnagh teaches further comprising determining a traffic signature associated with the traffic, the traffic signature indicating one or more of a type of the client device or a traffic type, wherein determining the path for sending the traffic to the application is further based at least in part on the traffic signature associated with the traffic (paragraph [0076], “…In some embodiments, the security parameters and/or network path are selected based on characteristics of the traffic flows determined by the security device…”).
As to claim 5, Andrews further teaches a value of the security score is based at least in part on whether the client device is utilizing a private network or a public network (paragraph [0089], “…network risk: 1 (low risk because of on premise, wired connection detected) …”). The limitations of claim 5 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 1 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 1, applies here as well.
As to claim 6, Feyzibehnagh teaches determining that a value of the security score meets or exceeds a threshold value, wherein the path is a direct path for sending the traffic to the application (fig. 8, 813, and paragraph [0133]).
As to claim 7, Feyzibehnagh teaches determining that a value of the security score is less than a threshold value, wherein the path for sending the traffic to the application includes a cloud-delivered security service (fig. 8, 819).
As to claim 9, Feyzibehnagh further teaches a system comprising:
one or more processors (fig. 15); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (fig. 15). Therefore, the limitations of claim 9 are substantially similar or broader in scope to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
As to claim 10, Andrews further teaches security score is based at least in part on a security posture of the client device (paragraph [0089], “…device risk: 1 (high level of control because of corporate owned/managed platform, known versions, security features enabled, etc.)…”). The limitations of claim 10 are rejected in view of the analysis of claim 9 above, and the rationale to combine, as discussed in claim 9, applies here as well.
As to claims 11 and 13, the limitations of the claims are substantially similar to claims 3 and 5, respectively. Please refer to each respective claim above.
As to claims 12 and 14-15, the limitations of the claims are substantially similar or broader in scope to claims 4 and 6-7, respectively. Please refer to each respective claim above.
As to claim 17, Feyzibehnagh further teaches One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations (fig. 15). Therefore, the limitations of claim 17 are substantially similar or broader in scope to claim 1. Please refer to claim 1 above.
As to claim 18, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 10. Please refer to claim 10 above.
As to claim 19, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 3. Please refer to claim 3 above.
As to claim 20, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar or broader in scope to claim 4. Please refer to claim 4 above.
As to claim 21, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar to claim 5. Please refer to claim 5 above.
As to claim 22, the limitations of the claim are substantially similar or broader in scope to claim 6. Please refer to claim 6 above.
Conclusion
/Abdulkader M Alriyashi/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447 8/20/2026