DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim 12 is cancelled.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 13-14, 17, 20, are amended.
Claims 1-11, 13-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application filed in CN 202210775584.4 on 07/01/2022 under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 3, 6-10, 14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3, 6-10, 14, 17-19 recite “peak value”. It is unclear what this value may be and this value is relied upon by limitations that may use these values in different ways. Quadradic curve fitting is typically done to an analog signal but the instant specification seems to indicate that these values are digital (instant specification [S441] It should be noted that, a value of Δ ranges from -1/2 to 1/2.) or values that are not clear. The examiner has interpreted these values and the associated equations as typical steps associated with range-Doppler processing when constructing range bins without an unclear peak value.
Claims 6, 17 recite “performing an inverse FFT on the first data to obtain a digital signal”. It is unclear how an analog to digital converter performs an inverse FFT that converts data to a digital signal. The examiner has interpreted this conversion to be done by an analog to digital converter only.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Arkind (US 11808881).
Regarding Claims 1, 13, Arkind discloses the following limitations:
A radar ranging method, applied to a millimeter wave radar, the method comprising: (Arkind – [col. 1 ln. 62 – col. 2 ln. 4] Millimeter wave automotive radar is suitable for use in the prevention of car collisions and for autonomous driving. Millimeter wave frequencies from 77 to 81 GHz are less susceptible to the interference of rain, fog, snow and other weather factors, dust and noise than ultrasonic radars and laser radars. These automotive radar systems typically comprise a high frequency radar transmitter which transmits a radar signal in a known direction. The transmitter may transmit the radar signal in either a continuous or pulse mode.)
A ranging radar, comprising: a synthesizer, configured to generate a continuous modulation wave signal, wherein the continuous modulation wave signal comprises a long-range modulation wave signal and a short-range modulation wave signal; (Arkind – [col. 1 ln. 62 – col. 2 ln. 4], [Claim 17] perform processing of received radar return signals using two different frames, including a short low resolution coarse frame and a high resolution fine frame that are transmitted consecutively; transmit short low resolution coarse frames, performing range processing on each coarse frame on the fly while each coarse frame is transmitted, and process radar return data received therein at a low resolution to generate one or more targets of interest (TOIs) having energy above a threshold; and transmit a high resolution fine frame, performing range processing on each fine frame on the fly while each fine frame is transmitted, and processing said fine radar return at high resolution only for said plurality of TOIs and not for the entire full fine frame whereby all non-TOI radar return data is ignored, in order to determine Doppler, azimuth, and elevation information for generating 4D radar output image data, thereby reducing processing time to generate said 4D radar output image data. [col. 1 ln. 55-56] The relevant radar signals are frequency modulated and can be analyzed with spectrum analyzers. [col. 8 ln. 9-11] A diagram illustrating a time-frequency plot of a Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave (FMCW) signal is shown in FIG. 1.)
a transmitting antenna, configured to transmit the continuous modulation wave signal; a receive antenna, configured to receive an echo signal formed by the continuous modulation wave signal reflected by an obstacle; a frequency mixer, configured to obtain an intermediate frequency signal comprising a range according to the continuous modulation wave signal and the echo signal; an analog-to-digital converter, configured to convert the intermediate frequency signal into a digital signal; and a digital signal processor, configured to perform a plurality of operations according to the digital signal, the plurality of operations comprising: (Arkind – [col. 8 ln. 9-11], [col. 1 ln. 44-47] The processing system performs digital signal processing on the received signal to extract the useful information such as range and velocity of the surrounded objects. [col. 9 ln. 32-35] Each transmitter circuit 284 comprises a mixer, power amplifier, and antenna. Each receive block 286 comprises an antenna, low noise amplifier (LNA), mixer, intermediate frequency (IF) block, and analog to digital converter (ADC).)
Obtaining a first range to an obstacle using a first radar waveform; (Arkind – [Claim 17] perform processing of received radar return signals using two different frames, including a short low resolution coarse frame and a high resolution fine frame that are transmitted consecutively; transmit short low resolution coarse frames, performing range processing on each coarse frame on the fly while each coarse frame is transmitted, and process radar return data received therein at a low resolution to generate one or more targets of interest (TOIs) having energy above a threshold; and transmit a high resolution fine frame, performing range processing on each fine frame on the fly while each fine frame is transmitted, and processing said fine radar return at high resolution only for said plurality of TOIs and not for the entire full fine frame whereby all non-TOI radar return data is ignored, in order to determine Doppler, azimuth, and elevation information for generating 4D radar output image data, thereby reducing processing time to generate said 4D radar output image data.)
determining whether the first range is less than a preset switching threshold; (Arkind – [Claim 17])
in response to determining that the first range is no less than the preset switching threshold, continuing to use the first radar waveform; and (Arkind – [Claim 17])
in response to determining that the first range is less than the preset switching threshold, obtaining a second range to the obstacle using a second radar waveform, (Arkind – [Claim 17])
wherein a first maximum detection range of the first radar waveform is greater than a second maximum detection range of the second radar waveform; and (Arkind – [Claim 17])
a second detection range resolution of the second radar waveform is higher than a first detection range resolution of the first radar waveform, and (Arkind – [Claim 17])
the preset switching threshold is the second maximum detection range of the second radar waveform. (Arkind – [Claim 17])
Regarding Claim 2, Arkind further discloses:
further comprising: correcting the second range. (Arkind – [Claim 17], [col. 15 ln. 45-47] Once samples for a complete chirp are received, the range FFT is performed.)
Regarding Claims 3, 14, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the correcting the second range comprises: obtaining first data corresponding to the second range; (Arkind – [Claim 17], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
performing N-fold up-sampling processing on the first data to obtain second data; (Arkind – [Fig. 12-13], [col. 13 ln. 61-63] Coarse frame processing only requires calculating 5×5=25 points, as opposed to the 225 points required for the high resolution fine frame.)
searching for a peak value in the second data; wherein the peak value is associated with range-Doppler processing; determining a fitting peak value position through quadratic curve fitting based on the peak value; and calculating the corrected second range based on the fitting peak value position. (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 15 ln. 45-47], [col. 13 ln. 30-34] A diagram illustrating an example resolution grid for range and velocity bins for processed radar data is shown in FIG. 10. The 15×15 grid comprises a plurality of bins 72. The target 70 is shown occupying several range-Doppler bins.)
Regarding Claims 4, 15, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the obtaining first data corresponding to the second range comprises: obtaining a range-Doppler spectrum through a Fast Fourier Transforn (FFT) according to the second range; (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 12 ln. 22-27] The processing of the 4D matrix is essentially a four dimensional FFT, which transforms the four dimensional input consisting of samples×chirps×number of array antenna rows×number of array antenna columns to four dimensional output consisting of range, Doppler, azimuth, and elevation.)
obtaining a first range index value according to point cloud data corresponding to the second range; and (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 12 ln. 22-27], [col. 13 ln. 30-34])
obtaining the first data from the range-Doppler spectrum according to the first range index value. (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 12 ln. 22-27], [col. 13 ln. 30-34])
Regarding Claims 5, 16, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the obtaining the first data from the range- Doppler spectrum according to the first range index value comprises: (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 12 ln. 22-27], [col. 13 ln. 30-34])
obtaining corresponding data of a single virtual antenna from the range-Doppler spectrum according to the first range index value; and (Arkind – [col. 12 ln. 4-14] Example results in range, azimuth, and elevation of the radar return data from the scene in FIG. 7 and received by the virtual antenna array and processed by the DRP of the present invention is shown in FIG. 8. The image data for the scene, generally referenced 20, comprises a plurality of targets including for example cars 25, pedestrians 24, a bus 28, and trees 12). Note that each ‘pixel’ shown represents a bin at a particular range, azimuth, and elevation. Note also that although not shown, velocity (i.e. Doppler) information is also provided thereby constituting an image of 4D ‘pixels’.)
obtaining the first data through superimposing the corresponding data of M virtual antennas, M being a number of the virtual antennas. (Arkind – [col. 11 ln. 32-37] A virtual array is created that contains information from each transmitting antenna to each receive antenna. Thus, providing M transmit antennas and K receive antennas results in MK independent transmit and receive antenna pairs in the virtual array by using only M+K number of physical antennas.)
Regarding Claims 6, 17, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the performing N-fold up-sampling processing on the first data to obtain second data comprises: (Arkind – [Fig. 12-13], [col. 13 ln. 61-63])
performing, by an analog-to-digital converter, an inverse FFT on the first data to obtain a digital signal; (Arkind – [col. 9 ln. 32-35])
expanding a length of the digital signal by N-fold; and performing the FFT on the digital signal expanded by N-fold to obtain the second data. (Arkind – [Fig. 12-13], [col. 13 ln. 61-63])
Regarding Claims 7, 18, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the searching for a peak value in the second data comprises: searching for a nearest peak value according to a second range index value in the second data; and (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
recording the peak value as the nearest peak value, and recording a peak left value and a peak right value, wherein the second range index value is N times the first range index value, the peak left value is a first value on the left of the peak value, and the peak right value is a first value on the right of the peak value. (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
Regarding Claims 8, 19, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the determining a fitting peak value position through quadratic curve fitting based on the peak value comprises: (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
calculating a position difference according to the peak value, the peak left value, and the peak right value; and calculating the fitting peak value position according to the position difference and a peak value position. (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
Regarding Claim 9, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the position difference is calculated according to the following formula:
,
wherein Δ is the position difference α is the peak right value, β is the peak value and γ is the peak left value. (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
Regarding Claim 10, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the fitting peak value position is calculated according to the following formula: kreal=k+Δ,
wherein k is the peak value position and kreal is the fitting peak value position. (Arkind – [Fig. 10], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
Regarding Claim 11, Arkind further discloses:
wherein the calculating the corrected second range through the fitting peak value position comprises: the corrected second range is calculated through the fitting peak value position according to the following formula:
Rreal=kreal/N* Rres, wherein Rreal is the corrected second range, Rres is a range resolution in a short-range waveform detection mode, and N is an up-sampling factor. (Arkind – [Fig. 10, 12-13], [Claim 17], [col. 13 ln. 30-34], [col. 13 ln. 61-63], [col. 15 ln. 45-47])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arkind (US 11808881) in view of Miller (US 20190061942).
Regarding Claim 20, Arkind teaches the following limitations:
the ranging radar comprises: a synthesizer, configured to generate a continuous modulation wave signal, wherein the continuous modulation wave signal comprises a long-range modulation wave signal and a short-range modulation wave signal; (Arkind – [col. 1 ln. 62 – col. 2 ln. 4], [Claim 17])
a transmitting antenna, configured to transmit the continuous modulation wave signal; a receive antenna, configured to receive an echo signal formed by the continuous modulation wave signal reflected by an obstacle; a frequency mixer, configured to obtain an intermediate frequency signal comprising a range according to the continuous modulation wave signal and the echo signal; an analog-to-digital converter, configured to convert the intermediate frequency signal into a digital signal; and a digital signal processor, configured to perform a plurality of operations according to the digital signal, the plurality of operations comprising: (Arkind – [col. 1 ln. 44-47], [col. 8 ln. 9-11], [col. 9 ln. 32-35])
Obtaining a first range to an obstacle using a first radar waveform; (Arkind – [Claim 17])
determining whether the first range is less than a preset switching threshold; (Arkind – [Claim 17])
in response to determining that the first range is no less than the preset switching threshold, continuing to use the first radar waveform; and (Arkind – [Claim 17])
in response to determining that the first range is less than the preset switching threshold, obtaining a second range to the obstacle using a second radar waveform, (Arkind – [Claim 17])
wherein a first maximum detection range of the first radar waveform is greater than a second maximum detection range of the second radar waveform; and (Arkind – [Claim 17])
a second detection range resolution of the second radar waveform is higher than a first detection range resolution of the first radar waveform, and (Arkind – [Claim 17])
the preset switching threshold is the second maximum detection range of the second radar waveform. (Arkind – [Claim 17])
Arkind does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however Miler, in the same field of endeavor, teaches:
An unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising: a fuselage, a power supply device, a flight control system, and a ranging radar, wherein a power system for driving an unmanned aerial vehicle to fly is arranged in the fuselage; (Miller – [0019] The UAV comprises: a lift body having: a plurality of arms; a plurality of motors,…wherein the power supply includes: a battery; and a power supply manager that is electrically coupled to the battery;… mmW radar transceiver to detect a location of a first object with the object detection processor during the autonomous mode,… position the UAV in response to a flight control command received via the cellular module.)
the power supply module is accommodated in the fuselage and is configured to provide power for the power system, the flight control system and the ranging radar; (Miller – [0019])
the flight control system is respectively in communication connection with the ranging radar and the power system, the ranging radar provides target range to the radar, and the flight control system controls the power system according to the target range; and (Miller – [0019])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the radar system of Arkind with the UAV systems of Miller in order to detect objects from a UAV (Miller – [0019]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9, filed 09/24/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the amendments clarify the limiting term “peak value”. The examiner disagrees, both range-Doppler processing and quadratic curve fitting do not inherently have peaks and simply adding that the values are associated with range-Doppler processing does not improve clarity. Applicant argues that the amendments clarify the limitation “performing an inverse FFT on the first data to obtain a digital signal”. The examiner disagrees, the claims now state that an analog-to-digital converter performs an inverse FFT. This is not the function of an analog-to-digital converter and causes new issues of clarity addressed in the 35 U.S.C. § 112 (b) section above.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 9-11, filed 09/24/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(2) and 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Arkind does not teach “the preset switching threshold is the second maximum detection range of the second radar waveform.” The examiner disagrees, as a non-TOI’s range decreases, the energy of a radar return increases, causing each non-TOI (associated with a first maximum detection range) to have a range threshold inherently due to this increase in energy. When said threshold is exceeded (preset switching threshold and second maximum detection range), the non-TOI will no longer meet the energy threshold and become a TOI (associated with a second maximum detection range) where further tracking is done by “processing said fine radar return at high resolution only for said plurality of TOIs”.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 11, filed 09/24/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102 (a)(2) have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the dependent claims are allowable due to the dependency on independent Claims 1, 13. The examiner disagrees due to the above-mentioned rejections.
Applicant's remaining arguments amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims is understandable and distinguishable from other inventions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure or directed to the state of art is listed on the enclosed PTO-892.
The following is a brief description for relevant prior art that was cited but not applied:
Fischer (US 11061112) describes a method for monitoring the performance range of a radar system that utilizes range resolution modes.
/BRANDON JAMES HENSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645