DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendments received on 01/21/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 7, line 4, “a sub-GHz frequency band” should be replaced by the sub-GHz frequency band. Appropriate correction is required. Claims 9-11 depend on claim 7, therefore they have been objected to as well.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 7, lines 9-10, “first signal data representing to obtain the first signal” should be replaced by first signal data used to obtain the first signal. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 7, line 13, “second signal data representing to obtain the second signal” should be replaced by second signal data used to obtain the second signal;. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 11, line 2, “the first protocol” should be replaced by a first protocol. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 11, line 3, “the second protocol” should be replaced by a second protocol. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: as to claim 22, line 1, “wherein front end circuitry” should be replaced by wherein the front end circuitry. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “first module”, “second module”, and “third module” in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32, 33, 35, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sinha et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Sinha) (US 2004/0152418).
As to claim 32, Sinha discloses a method (see the abstract and Fig. 2) comprising: receiving, from a first module (see Fig. 2, block 225 is interpreted as the “first module” and block 235 is interpreted as a “second module” and see paragraphs 0002, 0032-0033, and 0051) of a sub-GHz radio (see paragraphs 0014 and 0039-0040), first data indicating that the first module has successfully detected a preamble for a first modulation scheme (see Fig. 2, blocks 225 and 235 and paragraphs 0002, 0013, 0033, and 0051-0052), wherein the first module is associated with the first modulation scheme (see Fig. 2, block 225 and paragraphs 0002 and 0032-0033), wherein the sub-GHz radio comprises front end circuitry (see Fig. 2, block 210), and an analog to digital converter (see Fig. 2, the combination of ADCs 215’ and ADC 215”); and based on the receiving of the first data, sending, to a second module of the sub-GHz radio, second data (see Fig. 2 and paragraphs 0051 and 0057, receiver 260 can provide a signal useful for disabling the demodulator 235 in response to the control signal that indicates an OFDM packet is received) causing the second module to cease attempting to detect a preamble for a second modulation scheme, wherein the second module is associated with the second modulation scheme (see paragraphs 0013, 0051-0052, and 0057).
As to claims 33 and 35, Sinha discloses sending third data adjusting a gain level for the sub-GHz radio (see paragraphs 0014, 0039-0040, 0045 and Fig. 2, the inputs of AGC 240).
As to claim 37, Sinha discloses that the first module is configured to perform a first set of one or more preamble detection operations to attempt to detect a preamble for a first modulation scheme, and wherein the second module is configured to perform a second set of one or more preamble detection operations to attempt to detect a preamble for a second modulation scheme (see Fig. 2, blocks 225 and 235 and paragraphs 0003, 0013, 0051-0053, and 0057).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha, in view of Yanagisawa et al. (hereinafter, referred to as Yanagisawa) (US 2014/0241456).
As to claim 34, Sinha discloses all the subject matters claimed in claim 34, except that the front-end circuitry comprises a variable gain amplifier and sending a third signal indicating to adjust a gain level associated with the variable gain amplifier. Yanagisawa, in the same field of endeavor, discloses an electrical device comprising a variable gain amplifier in a front-end circuit (see Fig. 6, PGA 22 in AFE 20 and paragraph 0044), a first preamble detection unit (see Fig. 6, block 25), a first demodulator (see Fig. 6, block 27), a second preamble detection unit (see Fig. 6, block 26), and a second demodulator (see Fig. 6, block 28). Yanagisawa further discloses that a gain controller is arranged to adjust a gain of the PGA using the AGC when the first preamble detection unit outputs a preamble detection signal to the AGC (see paragraph 0081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the teachings of Sinha, as suggested by Yanagisawa, in order to increase the performance of the electrical device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18, 21, and 23-25 are allowed.
Claims 7, 9-11, and 22 would be allowable if rewritten in a way that overcomes the objections cited above.
Claim 36 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LEILA . MALEK
Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/LEILA MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2632