DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 12/8/25.
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/29/25, 6/13/25, 3/19/25, 12/17/24 and 6/28/23 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-14, 16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chan (U.S. Pub. No. 20170301109 A1), further in view of Wang (U.S. Pub. No. 9056676 B1).
Regarding to claim 1:
1. Chan teach a flight control method for a movable platform with a photographing device, comprising: (Chan [0046] autonomous surveillance by UAVs and is illustrated in FIG. 2. For example, a typical scenario might include conducting a surveillance mission searching for objects of interest. Once an object of interest is detected based on visual cues of the tracked object in a sequence of images, the system can self-direct itself to follow the object and can improve the observation distance and viewing angles with respect to the object of interest if there are insufficient image details to identify the object of interest) obtaining target information, (Chan [0038] In some embodiments, systems and methods described herein address the general problem of automated surveillance of objects of interest, which involves multiple phases of a response chain including object detection, tracking, identification, and engagement. Automating surveillance of objects of interest is challenging for a number of reasons. First, the object of interest can be uncooperative and potentially evasive, so following one requires dynamic replanning in a continuous manner. In contested environments with limited communications, the sUAV are not able to rely on a sustained video downlink to perform the necessary replanning from a remote ground station. [0039] As used herein, “autonomous” refers to a system or module that is self-directing or self-determining without intervention from external persons or systems. For example, autonomous systems and methods described herein can perform one or more of image analysis, trajectory planning, object tracking, object reacquisition, and navigation without input from an independent operator) wherein the target information comprises at least one of a type of a target object to be photographed by the photographing device (Chan Fig. 8 [0046] a typical scenario might include conducting a surveillance mission searching for objects of interest. Once an object of interest is detected [type of a target object] based on visual cues of the tracked object in a sequence of images, the system can self-direct itself to follow the object and can improve the observation distance and viewing angles with respect to the object of interest if there are insufficient image details to identify the object of interest. [0072] In some embodiments, the processor 157 can adjust the images to compensate for motion [target information] of the chassis 105, imaging system 120, or both. Any motion of the object of interest [type of a target object is moving object] observed in a sequence of images is a combination of motions of the chassis and imaging system with respect to the object of interest. Chassis or imaging system motion can be intentional (such as when the chassis is moving to follow an object of interest) or unintentional (such as when the chassis is moved by external forces such as wind).) or a distance between the target object and the movable platform; (Chan Fig. 12 [0059] The long-term planning module 152, short-term planning module 156, and low-level controller module 158 can cooperate to plan and control the motion of the system 100. The long-term planning module 152 can produce a trajectory that includes desired altitudes, desired distances from the object of interest, and desired viewing angles with consideration of the current tracking mode (i.e., whether a detected object is being tracked or not) to improve the diversity of observations of the object of interest. The long-term planning module 152 is described below in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 13-23.)
wherein the target flight trajectory corresponds to at least one preset style of video editing template; (Chan [0084] The spiral function can control the motion of the system 100 to spiral [video editing template] around the object of interest at a desired distance and circling speed but at a changing altitude. There are two ways to think of how this controller works. First, a spiral is just a circle with a varying altitude. Thus, the spiral controller design is similar to that of the orbit controller but with changing altitude and a decrease in the radius of the circle as the system ascends such that the system 100 maintains the same distance from the object of interest. Second, a spiral (in the sense of the spiral controller) is a path along the surface of a hemisphere. Thus, the motion commands from this controller are analogous to starting on the equator and walking north while circling the hemisphere. In some embodiments, the spiral controller can achieve essentially every possible view of the object of interest in a discrete sense. Chan [0077] To control the motion of the chassis 105 in an object-relative mode using vision-based guidance, the short-term planning module 156 can implement one or more relative navigation modes that are chosen based upon what information is to be gathered about the object of interest. Relative navigation modes are distinguishable from absolute navigation modes [plurality of flight trajectories] that rely upon information provided by a global positioning system (GPS). Object-relative navigation modes implement motion relative to an origin centered on the object, which can be moving. In some embodiments, each relative navigation mode can be supported by a corresponding controller implemented as software or code in the short-term planning module 156. Each controller can act as a building block for a more complex control scheme implemented by the short-term planning module 156. Controllers supporting relative navigation modes can include a hover controller, a flyover controller, an orbit controller, a spiral controller, or a view-angle controller. In some embodiments, the vision-based navigation system 150 can autonomously control motion of the system 100 to track the object of interest using relative navigation modes implemented by controllers to obviate the need for external control by a remote operator.) controlling the movable platform to fly according to the target flight; (Chan [0066] The method includes determining a trajectory relative to the object of interest (step 506). For example, the trajectory can be determined using the long-term planning module 152 of the vision-based navigation system 150 described above with reference to FIGS. 1 and 4. The method also includes controlling the one or more motors to move the chassis along the trajectory while keeping the object of interest in view of the imaging system (step 508). For example, the short-term planning module 156 and low-level controller module 158 of the vision-based navigation system 150 can control the motors 110 to move the chassis 105 as described above with reference to FIGS. 1 and 4.)
Chan do not explicitly teach based on the target information, determining, among a plurality of flight trajectories, a target flight trajectory with respect to the target object, and obtaining a video of the target object, by the photographing device, while flying according to the target flight trajectory.
However Wang teach based on the target information, determining, among a plurality of flight trajectories, a target flight trajectory with respect to the target object, (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance [based on the target information] and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move [plurality of flight trajectories] with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectory) and obtaining a video of the target object, by the photographing device, while flying according to the target flight trajectory. (Wang col. 52 line 23-30 a user on-board the vehicle may be able to see the images displayed on the monitor. The user on-board the vehicle may advantageously be able to see images captured by the UAV, which may show images of objects or locations that may otherwise not be viewable from the user while on-board the vehicle. The user may have a bird's eye view of the user's surrounding environment on the monitor. Wang col. 51 line 17-24 The UAV may send data to the companion vehicle. The data may include data from a payload of the vehicle and/or one or more sensors of the vehicle. In one example, the payload may be a camera or other type of image capturing device. The camera may capture static images (e.g., stills) and/or dynamic images (e.g., video). The images captured by the camera may be streamed to the companion vehicle.)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chan, further incorporating Wang in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate based on the target information, determining, among a plurality of flight trajectories, a target flight trajectory with respect to the target object, and obtaining a video of the target object, by the photographing device, while flying according to the target flight trajectory. This functionality will improve efficiency with predictable results.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Chan teach the method according to claim 1, Chan do not explicitly teach wherein the determining of the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories based on the target information comprises: determining the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories according to at least one of: whether the type of the target object is a person type, or a result of comparing the distance with a preset distance threshold.
However Wang teach wherein the determining of the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories based on the target information comprises: determining the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories according to at least one of: whether the type of the target object is a person type, or a result of comparing the distance with a preset distance threshold. (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectory)
Regarding to claim 3:
3. Chan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of flight trajectories comprises at least one of: a first flight trajectory corresponding to a portrait mode, a second flight trajectory corresponding to a normal mode, (Chan [0059] The long-term planning module 152, short-term planning module 156, and low-level controller module 158 can cooperate to plan and control the motion of the system 100. The long-term planning module 152 can produce a trajectory that includes desired altitudes [normal mode], desired distances from the object of interest [long-distance mode], and desired viewing angles [portrait mode Fig. 18A] with consideration of the current tracking mode (i.e., whether a detected object is being tracked or not) to improve the diversity of observations of the object of interest. The long-term planning module 152 is described below in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 13-23.)
or a third flight trajectory corresponding to a long-distance mode; the at least one preset style of video editing template comprises at least one of a cheerful style, a sporty style, a scenery style, or an artistic style; (Part of OR condition, so rejection is not required)
and the method further comprising: editing, by a video editing device of the movable platform, the video of the target object according to a video editing template of the at least one preset style. (Chan [0084] The spiral function can control the motion of the system 100 to spiral [video editing template] around the object of interest at a desired distance and circling speed but at a changing altitude. There are two ways to think of how this controller works. First, a spiral is just a circle with a varying altitude. Thus, the spiral controller design is similar to that of the orbit controller but with changing altitude and a decrease in the radius of the circle [preset style of video editing template] as the system ascends such that the system 100 maintains the same distance from the object of interest. Second, a spiral (in the sense of the spiral controller) is a path along the surface of a hemisphere. Thus, the motion commands from this controller are analogous to starting on the equator and walking north while circling the hemisphere. In some embodiments, the spiral controller can achieve essentially every possible view of the object of interest in a discrete sense.)
Regarding to claim 4:
4. Chan teach the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining of the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories based on the target information comprises: upon determining the type of the target object to be a person type, (Please see rejection of claim 1. Chan [0085] The view-angle controller can control the motion of the system 100 to move such that the gimbal 125 points at the object of interest at specific desired pitch and yaw angles. In some embodiments, this controller can be useful if getting a particular view of the object of interest is informative. For example, it might be useful to photograph a vehicle from behind in order to see its license plate. Similarly, it might be useful to photograph a human from the front and side to get views of the face and the side profile, respectively)
determining the target photographing trajectory to be the first flight trajectory. (Chan [0047] FIG. 3 If an object is being successfully tracked, but could not be confirmed as a valid object of interest or positively identified 384, the system can use a replanning [plurality of flight trajectories] scheme to replan the trajectory 374. Replanning can work to reduce the standoff distance from the object of interest or to improve viewing-angle diversity to improve the confidence and enhance the identification quality of the observation)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Chan teach the method according to claim 3, Chan do not explicitly teach wherein the determining of the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories based on the target information comprises: upon determining that the distance is greater than the preset distance threshold, determining the target flight trajectory to be the third flight trajectory.
However Wang teach wherein the determining of the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories based on the target information comprises: upon determining that the distance is greater than the preset distance threshold, determining the target flight trajectory to be the third flight trajectory. (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectories)
Regarding to claim 7:
7. Chan teach the method according to claim 3, wherein a relative positional relationship between a target starting point of the first flight trajectory corresponding to the portrait mode (Chan [0059] The long-term planning module 152, short-term planning module 156, and low-level controller module 158 can cooperate to plan and control the motion of the system 100. The long-term planning module 152 can produce a trajectory that includes desired altitudes [normal mode], desired distances from the object of interest [long-distance mode], and desired viewing angles [portrait mode Fig. 18A] with consideration of the current tracking mode (i.e., whether a detected object is being tracked or not) to improve the diversity of observations of the object of interest. The long-term planning module 152 is described below in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 13-23.) and the target object satisfies a preset condition. (Chan [0085] The view-angle controller can control the motion of the system 100 to move such that the gimbal 125 points at the object of interest at specific desired pitch and yaw angles. In some embodiments, this controller can be useful if getting a particular view of the object of interest is informative. For example, it might be useful to photograph a vehicle from behind in order to see its license plate. Similarly, it might be useful to photograph a human from the front and side to get views of the face and the side profile, respectively)
Regarding to claim 8:
8. Chan teach the method according to claim 7, wherein when the
photographing device photographs the target object at the target starting point, the target photographing object at least is at a preset position in a photographing frame or has a preset size. (Chan [0085] The view-angle controller can control the motion of the system 100 to move such that the gimbal 125 points at the object of interest at specific desired pitch and yaw angles. In some embodiments, this controller can be useful if getting a particular view [preset position] of the object of interest is informative. For example, it might be useful to photograph a vehicle from behind [preset position] in order to see its license plate. Similarly, it might be useful to photograph a human from the front and side to get views of the face [preset position] and the side profile, respectively)
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Chan teach the method according to claim 7, wherein the preset
condition includes at least one of the following: a height difference between the target starting point and the target photographing object is a preset height; or a horizontal distance between the target starting point and the target photographing object is a preset horizontal distance. (Chan [0059] The long-term planning module 152, short-term planning module 156, and low-level controller module 158 can cooperate to plan and control the motion of the system 100. The long-term planning module 152 can produce a trajectory that includes desired altitudes [normal mode], desired distances from the object of interest [long-distance mode], and desired viewing angles [portrait mode Fig. 18A] with consideration of the current tracking mode (i.e., whether a detected object is being tracked or not) to improve the diversity of observations of the object of interest. The long-term planning module 152 is described below in greater detail with reference to FIGS. 13-23.)
Regarding to claim 10:
10. Chan teach the method according to claim 1, Chan do not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of flight trajectories includes a plurality of sub-trajectories.
However Wang teach wherein each of the plurality of flight trajectories includes a plurality of sub-trajectories. (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectories)
Regarding to claim 11:
11. Chan teach the method according to claim 10, Chan do not explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of flight trajectories corresponds to a different combination of the sub- trajectories.
However Wang teach wherein each of the plurality of flight trajectories corresponds to a different combination of the sub- trajectories. (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectories)
Regarding to claim 12:
12. Chan teach the method according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of sub-trajectories comprises a first sub-trajectory; and the method further comprising: during a flight process of the movable platform according to the first sub-trajectory, (Please see the rejection of claim 1)
adjusting a pitch angle of the photographing device from a first pitch angle to a second pitch angle, wherein when the pitch angle of the photographing device is the first pitch angle, (Chan [0075] In some embodiments, the imaging system 120 is attached to a gimbal 125 of the chassis 105. The gimbal controller module 155 can accept object data in camera view coordinates from the vision processing module 154 and output velocity commands to the gimbal 125 to control the pitch and yaw angles of the gimbal 125 to keep the object of interest in view)
the target object is outside the a photographing frame of the photographing device, and when the pitch angle of the photographing device is the second elevation angle, the target object is within the photographing frame of the photographing device. (Chan [0046] FIG. 2. For example, a typical scenario might include conducting a surveillance mission searching for objects of interest. Once an object of interest is detected based on visual cues of the tracked object in a sequence of images, the system can self-direct itself to follow the object and can improve the observation distance and viewing angles with respect to the object of interest if there are insufficient image details to identify the object of interest. [0070] In some embodiments, features of the images that are important to the object model
for reacquisition can be normalized based on changes in an expected observation
distance and a field of view of the imaging system 120. Normalization can take on
particular importance when the object of interest is lost for longer durations. In some
embodiments, systems and methods described herein can exploit an estimate of the last-known object location with respect to the system 100 when the track is lost by
bounding the search space to improve reacquisition success. For example, the system
can enter a modified search mode where priority is assigned to certain views and
angles near the estimated last-known location)
Regarding to claim 13:
13. Chan teach the method according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of sub-trajectories comprises a second sub-trajectory; and the method further comprising: during a flight process of the movable platform according to the second sub-trajectory, (Please see the rejection of claim 1)
controlling the movable platform to rotate a yaw angle (Chan [0075] In some embodiments, the imaging system 120 is attached to a gimbal 125 of the chassis 105. The gimbal controller module 155 can accept object data in camera view coordinates from the vision processing module 154 and output velocity commands to the gimbal 125 to control the pitch and yaw angles of the gimbal 125 to keep the object of interest in view) and the photographing device to face vertically downward. (Chan [0085] The view-angle controller can control the motion of the system 100 to move such that the gimbal 125 points at the object of interest at specific desired pitch and yaw angles. This includes facing downward as well)
Regarding to claim 14:
14. Chan teach the method according to claim 10, controlling the movable platform to fly toward the target object or to fly away from the target object, (Chan [0080] The orbit controller can control the motion of the system 100 to orbit the object of interest at a desired radial distance, circling speed, or cruising altitude) and controlling the photographing device to rotate a roll angle. (Chan [0085] The view-angle controller can control the motion of the system 100 to move such that the gimbal 125 points at the object of interest at specific desired pitch and yaw angles. Same algorithm can control roll angle)
Chan do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of sub-trajectories comprises a third sub-trajectory; and the method further comprising: during a flight process of the movable platform according to the third sub-trajectory.
However Wang teach wherein the plurality of sub-trajectories comprises a third sub-trajectory; and the method further comprising: during a flight process of the movable platform according to the third sub-trajectory. (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectories)
Regarding to claim 16:
16. Chan teach the method according to claim 10, controlling the movable platform to encircle the target object based on an inner spiral route, and (Chan [0084] The spiral function can control the motion of the system 100 to spiral around the object of interest at a desired distance and circling speed but at a changing altitude. There are two ways to think of how this controller works. First, a spiral is just a circle with a varying altitude. Thus, the spiral controller design is similar to that of the orbit controller but with changing altitude and a decrease in the radius of the circle as the system ascends such that the system 100 maintains the same distance from the object of interest. Second, a spiral (in the sense of the spiral controller) is a path along the surface of a hemisphere. Thus, the motion commands from this controller are analogous to starting on the equator and walking north while circling the hemisphere. In some embodiments, the spiral controller can achieve essentially every possible view of the object of interest in a discrete sense)
controlling the photographing device to face the target object (Chan [0046] FIG. 2. For example, a typical scenario might include conducting a surveillance mission searching for objects of interest. Once an object of interest is detected based on visual cues of the tracked object in a sequence of images, the system can self-direct itself to follow the object and can improve the observation distance and viewing angles with respect to the object of interest if there are insufficient image details to identify the object of interest. [0070] In some embodiments, features of the images that are important to the object model for reacquisition can be normalized based on changes in an expected observation distance and a field of view of the imaging system 120. Normalization can take on particular importance when the object of interest is lost for longer durations. In some embodiments, systems and methods described herein can exploit an estimate of the last-known object location with respect to the system 100 when the track is lost by bounding the search space to improve reacquisition success. For example, the system can enter a modified search mode where priority is assigned to certain views and angles near the estimated last-known location) and form a preset angle with a nose direction of the movable platform. (Chan [0085] The view-angle controller can control the motion of the system 100 to move such that the gimbal 125 points at the object of interest at specific desired pitch and yaw angles. Same algorithm can control roll angle)
Chan do not explicitly teach further comprising: determining the plurality of sub-trajectories includes a fifth sub-trajectory; and during a flight process of the movable platform according to the fifth sub-trajectory.
However Wang teach further comprising: determining the plurality of sub-trajectories includes a fifth sub-trajectory; and during a flight process of the movable platform according to the fifth sub-trajectory. (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectories)
Regarding to claim 19:
19. Chan teach a flight control method for a movable platform with a photographing device, comprising: obtaining a type of a target object to be photographed by the photographing device; and upon determining that the type of the target object is a person type, (Chan [0085] The view-angle controller can control the motion of the system 100 to move such that the gimbal 125 points at the object of interest at specific desired pitch and yaw angles. In some embodiments, this controller can be useful if getting a particular view of the object of interest is informative. For example, it might be useful to photograph a vehicle from behind in order to see its license plate. Similarly, it might be useful to photograph a human [person type] from the front and side to get views of the face and the side profile, respectively)
wherein the target flight trajectory corresponds to at least one preset style of video editing template (Chan [0084] The spiral function can control the motion of the system 100 to spiral [video editing template] around the object of interest at a desired distance and circling speed but at a changing altitude. There are two ways to think of how this controller works. First, a spiral is just a circle with a varying altitude. Thus, the spiral controller design is similar to that of the orbit controller but with changing altitude and a decrease in the radius of the circle as the system ascends such that the system 100 maintains the same distance from the object of interest. Second, a spiral (in the sense of the spiral controller) is a path along the surface of a hemisphere. Thus, the motion commands from this controller are analogous to starting on the equator and walking north while circling the hemisphere. In some embodiments, the spiral controller can achieve essentially every possible view of the object of interest in a discrete sense. Chan [0118] the ten most informative views can be identified by observing the distribution of perspectives selected in a given dataset. Using these perspectives as waypoints, we can create a desired path to pass through the waypoints that can be used as a template maneuver to be applied to a control framework. The resulting trajectory and path shown in FIGS. 22B and 22C. Note that there is a slight distinction between waypoints and perspectives.)
Chan teach [0077] To control the motion of the chassis 105 in an object-relative mode using vision-based guidance, the short-term planning module 156 can implement one or more relative navigation modes that are chosen based upon what information is to be gathered about the object of interest. Relative navigation modes are distinguishable from absolute navigation modes that rely upon information provided by a global positioning system (GPS). Object-relative navigation modes implement motion relative to an origin centered on the object, which can be moving. Chan do not explicitly teach controlling the movable platform to fly to a preset target starting point with respect to the target object from a current position to take the target starting point as a starting point to photograph the target object along a target flight trajectory.
However Wang teach controlling the movable platform to fly to a preset target starting point with respect to the target object from a current position to take the target starting point as a starting point to photograph the target object along a target flight trajectory. (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance [based on the target information] and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move [plurality of flight trajectories] with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectory. As vehicle moves starting point of each sub-trajectory is changing)
Regarding to claim 20:
20. Chan teach a flight control method for a movable platform with a photographing device, comprising: (Chan [0037] Furthermore, the tempo at which sUAVs operate at low altitudes for a variety of missions can be demanding, and human response time may be insufficient to react to dynamic events. Systems and methods taught herein improve the autonomy onboard sUAVs so as to reduce the workload on operators and improve the mission success probability. In some embodiments taught herein, UAV autonomy can be improved by exploiting the video streams collected by the camera onboard to autonomously perform navigation and geolocation, dynamic collision avoidance, and dynamic feature following and identification. Navigation and geolocation can be used to control the system to traverse between points but generally assume that the current location is known based on GPS. Examples of dynamic feature following include ship landing, road following, aerial refueling and object following.)
a receding sub-trajectory, (Chan [0080] The orbit controller can control the motion of the system 100 to orbit the object of interest at a desired radial distance, circling speed, or cruising altitude [receding sub-trajectory]. ) wherein the encircling sub-trajectory comprises encircling the target object based on an inner spiral route with a gradually shrinking radius, (Chan [0084] The spiral function can control the motion of the system 100 to spiral around the object of interest at a desired distance and circling speed but at a changing altitude. There are two ways to think of how this controller works. First, a spiral is just a circle with a varying altitude. Thus, the spiral controller design is similar to that of the orbit controller but with changing altitude and a decrease in the radius of the circle as the system ascends such that the system 100 maintains the same distance from the object of interest. Second, a spiral (in the sense of the spiral controller) is a path along the surface of a hemisphere. Thus, the motion commands from this controller are analogous to starting on the equator and walking north while circling the hemisphere. In some embodiments, the spiral controller can achieve essentially every possible view of the object of interest in a discrete sense)
wherein the target flight trajectory corresponds to at least one preset style of video editing template. (Chan [0084] The spiral function can control the motion of the system 100 to spiral [video editing template] around the object of interest at a desired distance and circling speed but at a changing altitude. There are two ways to think of how this controller works. First, a spiral is just a circle with a varying altitude. Thus, the spiral controller design is similar to that of the orbit controller but with changing altitude and a decrease in the radius of the circle [preset style of video editing template] as the system ascends such that the system 100 maintains the same distance from the object of interest. Second, a spiral (in the sense of the spiral controller) is a path along the surface of a hemisphere. Thus, the motion commands from this controller are analogous to starting on the equator and walking north while circling the hemisphere. In some embodiments, the spiral controller can achieve essentially every possible view of the object of interest in a discrete sense.)
Chan do not explicitly teach obtaining a distance between a target object to be photographed by the photographing device and the movable platform; and upon determining that the distance is greater than a preset threshold, determining a target flight trajectory that at least comprises an approaching sub-trajectory, and encircling sub-trajectory.
However Wang teach obtaining a distance between a target object to be photographed by the photographing device and the movable platform; and (Wang col. 35 line 55 - col 36 line 2: the marker may include an asymmetric image or code that may be discernible by the UAV. The fiducial may be indicative of the orientation of the vehicle relative to the UAV. Thus, the UAV may be able to orient itself properly when landing on the vehicle. The marker may also be indicative of the distance of the vehicle relative to the UAV. This may be used separate from or in combination with one or more other sensors of the UAV to determine the altitude of the UAV. For example, if the size of the fiducial marker is known, the distance from the UAV to the marker may be gauged depending on the size of the marker showing up in the sensors of the UAV. The marker may also aid with determining speed and/or motion of the vehicle. For example, if the UAV is collecting images at a particular frequency, the location of the marker in one frame to the next may help determine the motion of the vehicle relative to the UAV.) upon determining that the distance is greater than a preset threshold, determining a target flight trajectory that at least comprises an approaching sub-trajectory, and encircling sub-trajectory and (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectory)
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 6, 15 and 17-18:
Claims 6 and 12-18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account.
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Chan teach the method according to claim 3, wherein the determining, according to at least one of whether the type of the target object is the person type or the result of comparing the distance with a preset distance threshold, the target flight trajectory among the plurality of flight trajectories comprises: (Please see the rejection of claim 1)
upon determining that the type of the target object is a person type and that the distance is less than the preset distance threshold, determining the target flight trajectory to be the first flight trajectory; upon determining that the type of the target object is a person type and that the distance is greater than or equal to the preset distance threshold, determining the target flight trajectory to be the second flight trajectory; upon determining that the type of the target object is not a person type and that the distance is less than the preset distance threshold, determining the target photographing trajectory to be the second flight trajectory; and upon determining that the type of the target object is not a person type and that the distance is greater than or equal to the preset distance threshold, determining the target flight trajectory to be the third flight trajectory. (Flight trajectory based on object type combined with distance is not obvious)
Regarding to claim 15:
15. Chan teach the method according to claim 10, wherein the plurality of sub-trajectories comprises a fourth sub-trajectory; and the method further comprising, during a flight process of the movable platform according to the fourth sub-trajectory: (Wang col. 38 line 53-col 39 line 3: any description herein of the distance may also refer to any permissible zone relative to the companion vehicle. Any permissible zone may have any shape and/or may refer to boundaries within which the UAV will need to stay relative to the companion vehicle. The permissible zone may have different distance thresholds for different directions relative to the companion vehicle. For example, a UAV may need to remain within 4 km to the front of the companion vehicle, 1 km of a side of the companion vehicle and 2 km of the rear of the companion vehicle. (185) As the companion vehicle moves, the threshold distance and/or permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle. For example, if the permissible zone is a circle around the companion vehicle, as the companion vehicle moves, the permissible zone may move with the companion vehicle so that the center of the circle remains with the vehicle. Thus, the region within which UAV in flight may fly may change over time. As vehicle moves UAV keeps circling around vehicle makes many new UAV trajectories)
Prior art do not teach controlling the movable platform to fly toward the target object and adjusting a focal length of the photographing device from a longest focal length to a widest focal length; or controlling the movable platform to fly away from the target object and adjusting a focal length of the photographing device from a widest focal length to a longest focal length.
Regarding to claim 17:
17. Chan teach the method according to claim 10, Prior art do not teach further comprising: during a flight process of the movable platform according to the target flight trajectory, upon detecting an obstacle, controlling the movable platform to avoid the obstacle through a first detour trajectory or a second detour trajectory, wherein a starting point and an ending point of the first detour trajectory are within a sub- trajectory where the movable platform is currently located, a starting point of the second detour trajectory is within the sub-trajectory where the movable platform is currently located, and an ending point of the second detour trajectory is within a sub-trajectory following the sub-trajectory where the movable platform is currently located.
Regarding to claim 18:
18. Chan teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: establishing a communication between the movable platform and a terminal device; and (Wang col. 52 line 23-30 a user on-board the vehicle may be able to see the images displayed on the monitor. The user on-board the vehicle may advantageously be able to see images captured by the UAV, which may show images of objects or locations that may otherwise not be viewable from the user while on-board the vehicle. The user may have a bird's eye view of the user's surrounding environment on the monitor. Wang col. 51 line 17-24 The UAV may send data to the companion vehicle. The data may include data from a payload of the vehicle and/or one or more sensors of the vehicle. In one example, the payload may be a camera or other type of image capturing device. The camera may capture static images (e.g., stills) and/or dynamic images (e.g., video). The images captured by the camera may be streamed to the companion vehicle.)
Prior art do not teach sending the target flight trajectory to the terminal device to enable a display device of the terminal device to superimpose and display the target flight trajectory, a flight area corresponding to the target flight trajectory, and a map corresponding to the target flight trajectory.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of paragraph 15, 70, 72, 152 and 174-175 of U.S. Pub. No. 20210375147 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), however is not used because primary reference is more relevant.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896