DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (USPUB 2022/0224135).
As to claim 1, Matsumura discloses an apparatus comprising: a memory to store data associated with a rechargeable battery; and logic circuitry to control a State Of Charge (SOC) for the rechargeable battery based on a plurality of limited charging modes (Figure 6, Element 5501), the logic circuitry to prevent the rechargeable battery from discharging below a low threshold level during a first limited charging mode of the plurality of charging modes (Figure 4, Element 405), and the logic circuitry to allow the rechargeable battery to discharge below the low threshold level during a second limited charging mode of the plurality of charging modes, wherein the logic circuitry is to adaptively adjust a usage window of the rechargeable battery based at least in part on the first limited charging mode and the second limited charging mode (Figure 3, SOC-2, SOC-1, SOC-min).
As to Claim 2, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the logic circuitry is to adaptively switch between the first limited charging mode and the second limited charging mode based at least in part on a state of a selection signal (Figure 4, Elements 405 and 406).
As to Claim 3, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the selection signal is to be generated in response to at least one of a user input, a remote system input, an information technology department input, or machine-learning algorithm input (Paragraph 51).
As to Claim 4, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 3, wherein the machine-learning algorithm input is to be generated based at least in part on monitoring of usage patterns for the rechargeable battery (Paragraph 121).
As to Claim 5, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the logic circuity is to prevent the rechargeable battery from charging above a high threshold level during the first limited charging mode or the second limited charging mode (Figure 4, Element 405).
As to Claim 6, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the stored data comprises at least one of data associated with the plurality of limited charging modes, historical data, or data generated by a machine-learning algorithm (Paragraph 51).
As to Claim 7, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the historical data comprises data corresponding to at least one of operation, usage, timestamp, state of charge, charging, or discharging of the rechargeable battery (Paragraph 51).
As to Claim 8, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the logic circuity is to prevent the rechargeable battery from charging above a high threshold level, wherein the low threshold level and the high threshold level are to be determined based at least in part on at least one of a SOC of the rechargeable battery, a voltage level of the rechargeable battery, or the age of the rechargeable battery (Figure 4, Element 405 and 406).
As to Claim 10, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the logic circuity is to prevent the rechargeable battery from charging above a high threshold level, wherein a battery indicator is to indicate a charge level compared to the capacity of the adjusted usage window for the rechargeable battery (Figure 3).
As to Claim 11, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein a priority or an amount of avoidance in high or low SOC regions are to be determined based at least in part on degradation rates of the high or low SOC regions (Paragraph 31-32).
As to Claim 12, Matsumura discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising one or more instructions that when executed on a processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to: store data associated with a rechargeable battery; and control a State Of Charge (SOC) for the rechargeable battery based on a plurality of limited charging modes, wherein the rechargeable battery is to be prevented from discharging below a low threshold level during a first limited charging mode of the plurality of charging modes, wherein the rechargeable battery is to be allowed to discharge below the low threshold level during a second limited charging mode of the plurality of charging modes, wherein the processor is to adaptively adjust a usage window of the rechargeable battery based at least in part on the first limited charging mode and the second limited charging mode (Figure 3, SOC-2, SOC-1, SOC-min, Figure 4, Elements 405 and 406, and Figure 6).
As to Claim 13, Matsumura discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 12, further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to cause adaptive switching between the first limited charging mode and the second limited charging mode based at least in part on a state of a selection signal (Figure 4, Elements 405 and 406).
As to Claim 14, Matsumura discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 13, further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to cause generation of the selection signal in response to at least one of a user input, a remote system input, an information technology department input, or machine-learning algorithm input (Paragraph 51).
As to Claim 15, Matsumura discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 14, further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to cause the machine-learning algorithm input to be generated based at least in part on monitoring of usage patterns for the rechargeable battery (Paragraph 121).
As to Claim 16, Matsumura discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 12, further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to prevent the rechargeable battery from charging above a high threshold level during the first limited charging mode or the second limited charging mode (Figure 4, Element 405).
As to Claim 17, Matsumura discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 12, wherein the stored data comprises at least one of data associated with the plurality of limited charging modes, historical data, or data generated by a machine-learning algorithm (Paragraph 51).
As to Claim 18, Matsumura discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 17, wherein the historical data comprises data corresponding to at least one of operation, usage, timestamp, state of charge, charging, or discharging of the rechargeable battery (Paragraph 51).
As to Claim 19, Matsumura discloses the one or more computer-readable media of claim 12, further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to prevent the rechargeable battery from charging above a high threshold level, wherein the low threshold level and the high threshold level are to be determined based at least in part on at least one of a SOC of the rechargeable battery, a voltage level of the rechargeable battery, or the age of the rechargeable battery (Figure 4, Element 405 and 406).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumura et al (USPUB 2022/0224135) in view of Matsumura et al (US 10,985,587) (Herein ‘587).
As to Claim 9, Matsumura discloses the apparatus of claim 8, but does not expressly disclose wherein the age of the rechargeable battery is to be determined based on at least one of a number of charge/discharge cycles performed by the rechargeable battery, a state of health of the rechargeable battery, or full charge capacity of the rechargeable battery. ‘587 discloses the age of the rechargeable battery is to be determined based on at least one of a number of charge/discharge cycles performed by the rechargeable battery, a state of health of the rechargeable battery, or full charge capacity of the rechargeable battery (Column 11, lines 6-8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to take the teaching of ‘587’s battery age determination, and add it to the device of Matsumura, in order to improve the prediction model by accounting for the age of the battery.
As to Claim 20, Matsumura discloses one or more computer-readable media of claim 12, but does not expressly disclose further comprising one or more instructions that when executed on the processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to determine the age of the rechargeable battery based on at least one of a number of charge/discharge cycles performed by the rechargeable battery, a state of health of the rechargeable battery, or full charge capacity of the rechargeable battery. ‘587 discloses one or more instructions that when executed on the processor configure the processor to perform one or more operations to determine the age of the rechargeable battery based on at least one of a number of charge/discharge cycles performed by the rechargeable battery, a state of health of the rechargeable battery, or full charge capacity of the rechargeable battery (Column 11, lines 6-8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to take the teaching of ‘587’s battery age determination, and add it to the device of Matsumura, in order to improve the prediction model by accounting for the age of the battery.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859