DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are now pending and will be examined on the merits herein.
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 02/23/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19 are now pending. Claims 5 and 18 are canceled; claims 1, 3, and 6 are amended; claim 19 is new.
Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19 will be examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. As benign prostate hyperplasia and prostatitis were listed as equivalent alternatives in claim 6 originally and with the amendment of 02/23/2026, benign prostate hyperplasia now a required limitation of claim 1, prostatitis is not further limiting the claim limitations. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishra (2013) in view of TW 202102245 A (Chi, 2021; machine translation provided by PE2E via FIT) and Tan (2017) as evidenced by Srivastava (2019).
In regards to claims 1-4, 8, 15, and 19, Mishra teaches a composition for treating bacteria that cause urinary tract infections comprising the extract of Artocarpus heterophyllus leaves (see Mishra, abstract; 2.1. collection of plants and preparation of extracts). As the composition is used for treating bacterial infections that cause urinary tract infections, the composition is understood as promoting urinary tract health using the broadest reasonable interpretation. The extract comprises dimethyl sulfoxide (i.e. an excipient) (see Mishra, 2.1. collection of plants and preparation of extracts). It is taught that the Artocarpus heterophyllus plant comprises artocarpin, artocapanone, and cycloartocarpanone as well as lupeol (see Srivastava, abstract; introduction; discussion, paragraph 1). It would be expected that the extract of the plant would comprise these components as well by one with ordinary skill in the art.
In regards to claims 6-7, it is taught that urinary tract infections lead to prostatitis (i.e., prostate inflammation) (see Mishra, page 348, column 2, paragraph 3). As such, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to treat a condition in a patient exhibiting prostatitis caused by a urinary tract infection by using the composition of Mishra.
The teachings of Mishra are silent on the composition being administered systemically or orally to a subject having benign prostate hyperplasia, the composition being combined with a food supplement or nutritional supplement, the excipient being artificial, and the subject of the administration being human. Mishra is also silent on the method of treating benign prostate hyperplasia wherein administering an extract of Artocarpus heterophyllus reduces one or more symptoms of benign prostate hyperplasia.
In regards to claims 1 and 14, Chi teaches a method of using Artocarpus heterophyllus extract in a food product for humans, specifically being combined with any edible material (see Chi, page 6, paragraphs 1-3).
In regards to claims 11-12, the composition is administered orally, which is understood to be a systemic method of administration of a drug (see Chi, page 5, paragraphs 1-2).
In regards to claim 16, it is taught that the extract is combined with various additives, such as Carbopol® (i.e., an artificial excipient).
In regards to claims 1 and 19, Tan teaches that it is plausible that benign prostate hyperplasia (BPH) causes urinary tract infections (UTIs) (i.e., UTIs are a symptom of BPH) (see Tan, page 2, Can BPH cause bladder infections in men).
In regards to claims 1-4, 6-8, 11-12, 14-17, and 19, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Mishra with Chi and Tan to yield the method of the instant claims as both Mishra and Chi are drawn to methods of using an extract of Artocarpus heterophyllus. Further, as the teachings of Chi teach an edible or orally administered composition comprising the extract, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chi and Mishra to formulate an edible or orally administered composition for treating urinary tract infections using the extract of Mishra. Further, as Tan teaches that BPH causes UTIs, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of Mishra and Chi to treat subjects with BPH exhibiting the symptom of a UTI (in order to reduce the symptom). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mishra, Chi, and Tan according to the known method of creating an orally administered extract of Artocarpus heterophyllus (see Chi, page 6, final paragraph) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
In regard to claims 9-10, as the combination of teachings of Mishra, Chi, and Tan would yield an identical composition as instantly claimed, the properties of the composition would be the same, such as the reduction of serum testosterone by the composition. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658. As the prior art teaches an identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
In regards to claim 13, it is further noted that the amount of drug is clearly a result effective variable that must be determined based on a variety of factors including the age, body weight, and health of the patient, the condition(s) to be treated and their severity, the route(s) of administration, the particular drug(s) used, adverse drug effects or toxicity, clinical response to treatment, etc., and is routinely optimized by the skilled artisan. Applicant is advised that recitation of dosages, without more, is generally insufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the modified grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
In regards to applicant’s argument that Mishra and Chi do not teach that the subject has benign prostate hyperplasia, however the rejection has been modified as necessitated by amendment to be over Mishra in view of Chi and Tan. The teachings of Tan have been described supra. As such, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of Mishra with Chi and Tan to yield the method of the instant claims as both Mishra and Chi are drawn to methods of using an extract of Artocarpus heterophyllus. Further, as the teachings of Chi teach an edible or orally administered composition comprising the extract, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Chi and Mishra to formulate an edible or orally administered composition for treating urinary tract infections using the extract of Mishra. Further, as Tan teaches that BPH causes UTIs, it would be within the purview of one with ordinary skill in the art to use the composition of Mishra and Chi to treat subjects with BPH exhibiting the symptom of a UTI (in order to reduce the symptom). It would be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Mishra, Chi, and Tan according to the known method of creating an orally administered extract of Artocarpus heterophyllus (see Chi, page 6, final paragraph) to yield predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success. One with ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIS A GHALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611
/A.A.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 1611