DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “resilient adjustment means” in claim(s) 1 and dependents. Here “resilient” is deemed to be a structural limitation for accomplishing the act of “compensating clearances between the plunger rod and the barrel”. As such, the limitation will be interpreted as permitting ANY resilient element which accomplishes the stated goal with no further inference as to materials or structures disclosed as being necessary for performing the claimed act as presented in the specification.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “friction element [being] distally located with regard to the fixed end” (see Clm. 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 4, Applicant recites the limitation “the friction element is distally located with regard to the fixed end”. While this limitation does appear verbatim in the specification (see Par. 17 and 77) it is recited only in the brief summary of the invention in a conclusory fashion without any further exposition or reference to the figures. This limitation appears to be contradictory with the illustrated invention as well as how the invention is described in the Detailed Disclosure (see Par. 48, 108) which recites “the fixed end 70 is distally located with regard to the free end”). Without further exposition it is unclear if Applicant is using a frame of reference for “distally” which is not the same frame of reference (re: “distal” meaning “remote” from the fixed end) of the medicament container (re: the needle end is “distal” and the opposed end is “proximal” for the medicament container), this limitation references an unillustrated and only nominally disclosed alternative embodiment, or this limitation is a typographical error.
Examiner notes that the term distal can be defined as:
“situated away from the point of attachment or origin or a central point especially of the body”, see Merriam-Webster’s Online Dictionary.
Here, it would not be unreasonable to say that the friction element/free end (71) is located away from the point of attachment or origin (re: the fixed end 70), but this is not necessarily consistent with how the phrase “distally located” is used elsewhere (Par. 48) where a consistent frame of reference appears to be used for all elements definable by remoteness from the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2017/0290981 (“Hoeholt”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hoeholt discloses an autoinjector (300) for automatic injection of a medical product into an injection site (Abstract), the autoinjector comprising:
A housing (316, 321) extending along a longitudinal axis and configured to receive a medical container (10) having a barrel defining a reservoir for containing a medical product, the barrel having a distal end provided with an injection needle (see Par. 27) and an opened proximal end (NOTICE: the barrel is not a positively recited part of the claimed workpiece, but is recited only functionally as it pertains to defining the utility and resultant necessary structure of the housing TO RECEIVE such a barrel);
A power pack arranged inside the housing for expelling the medical product from the medical container, the power pack including a plunger rod (430) configured to extend through the opened proximal end (see generally Fig. 5) of the barrel for pushing a stopper (11) arranged inside the barrel (Par. 34), the plunger rod being axially movable between an initial position (see generally Fig. 5) and an injection end position distally located with respect to the initial position (not shown – the position assumed after the piston 11 has been displaced to expel a medicament); and
resilient adjustment means (432, 435, 436, 437) arranged between the plunger rod and the barrel for compensating clearances between the plunger rod (5) and the barrel (Par. 34, 35 – see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Hoeholt discloses the resilient adjustment means include comprise a spring blade (435, 437) configured to deform in a radial inward direction so that the spring blade exerts a radial pushing force against the inner lateral wall of the barrel (see Par. 34, 35 – Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 3, Hoeholt discloses the spring blade has a fixed end (circa 435, 432) secured to the plunger rod and a friction element (437) configured to frictionally engage the inner lateral surface of the barrel (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 4, Hoeholt the friction element is distally located with regard to the fixed end (re: the friction element is located away from/remote from fixed end – see Fig. 5 in the same manner and consistent with the only explicitly depicted embodiment of the instant application).
Regarding Claim 5, Hoeholt discloses the friction element is arranged at a free end of the spring blade (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 6, Hoeholt discloses the spring blade comprises an inclined outer side arranged between the fixed end and the friction element for easing insertion of the plunger inside the opened proximal end of the barrel (see Fig. 5 – i.e. the geometry of the spring blade outer side creates a unidirectional barb shape).
Regarding Claim 7, Hoeholt discloses the outer side has a convex and curved shape (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 8, Hoeholt discloses the resilient adjustment means are located at the distal end of the plunger rod (see Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 9, Hoeholt discloses the resilient adjustment means comprises a distal pushing area (436) configured to push against the stopper (Par. 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0290981 (“Hoeholt”) as previously applied above.
Regarding Claim 10, Hoeholt discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that the resilient adjustment means and the plunger rod “form a single piece”. In the instant case Hoeholt does characterize the adjustment means as “a distal head” of the “piston tube 430”, but fails to further expand how such a structure is formed. However, it has been held that constructing in a single piece a component which was formerly constructed as a plurality of separate components which are later affixed together is an obvious design choice and requires only routine and customary skill in the art when only expected and predictable results are to be obtained, see In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). As such, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the plunger rod and adjustment means of the invention of Hoeholt to comprise a single piece in order to ensure that the adjustment means does not become accidentally separated from the piston rod.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0290981 (“Hoeholt”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 2023/0010593 (“Cammish”).
Regarding Claim 11, Hoeholt, as modified, discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that the adjustment means is “overmolded on the plunger rod”. However, overmolding is a well-known and obvious manufacturing technique known to the prior art for integrally forming a piston head and rod. For example, Cammish discloses that resilient piston heads can be integrally formed by processes such as overmolding (Par. 37). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the resilient adjustment means of Hoeholt to be overmolded on the plunger rod, as disclosed by Cammish, in order to allow the resilient means to be securely, integrally affixed to the piston rod to help ensure the two components do not become separated.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2017/0290981 (“Hoeholt”) as applied above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,675,412 (“Jones”)
Regarding Claims 12-14, Hoeholt discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the resilient adjustment means are arranged on a plug attached to a distal end of the plunger rod. Specifically, Hoeholt is silent as to how the structure of the adjustment means and plunger rod are united/connected. However, Jones discloses a related invention comprising a piston rod (21) and resilient piston head (10) which is formed as a plug on which resilient adjustment means (11) are affixed, with the plug being attached to a distal end of the plunger rod (see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the adjustment means of the invention of Hoeholt as a plug, as disclosed by Jones, in order to provide a suitable means of uniting the two components to allow for replacement of the adjustment means as necessary.
Regarding Claim 13, Hoeholt discloses a distal abutment surface (436) configured to distally push against the stopper when the plunger rod moves to the injection end position.
Regarding Claim 14, Hoeholt, as modified by Jones, discloses the invention substantially as claimed except that that the plug includes a “proximal shoulder configured to abut against a distal abutment surface of the plunger rod to stop insertion of the plug inside the plunger rod”. Rather Hoeholt discloses the plug comprises an abutment surface (17) on the proximal section of the plug with the plunger rod comprising a shoulder (not labeled – see Fig. 4 – at the distal end thereof). However, it is well-established that the mere reversal of parts of a connection is an obvious design choice when it confers only predicted and expected results, see In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the plug of modified Hoeholt to have a proximal shoulder and the piston rod to have a distal abutment surface, the reverse of the arrangement disclosed by Jones, merely satisfying an obvious design choice whereby the connection will be expected to work equally well irrespectively of which component carries the shoulder and which component carries the abutment surface.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783 01/12/2026