Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to the communication filed on 02/01/2026. Claims 1 and 8 have been amended. Claims 1-13 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks filed on 02/01/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the specification.
Applicant’s amendments overcome the objections to the 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection of claim 8.
Applicant’s arguments provided for the U.S.C. §102 and §103 rejections of claims 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Several issues render claim 1 indefinite:
In lines 9-10, claim 1 recites “wherein the guide bracket includes a first segment having a shape surrounding the first moving unit and a second segment, and the first segment and second segment are coupled to each other…”. This phrase as written appears to say that the first segment surrounds the second segment (as well as the first moving unit). However, applicant’s Remarks dated 02/01/2026 link the recited first and second segments to first and second segments 142 and 144 of the instant specification, and as shown in Fig. 6A, first segment 142 does not surround second segment 144. Therefore the meaning of the claim language is unclear. Furthermore, although the phrase “a first segment having a shape surrounding the first moving unit” is understood in light of the instant specification paragraph [0112], Examiner believes the meaning would be clearer if phrased as “a first segment shaped to surround the first moving unit.” For purposes of examination, lines 9-10 will be read as “wherein the guide bracket includes a first segment and a second segment, the first segment shaped to surround the first moving unit, and the first segment and second segment are coupled to each other…”
In lines 11-12, claim 1 recites “wherein the guide bracket is continuously formed along the outer periphery of the fixed unit…”. The precise meaning of the phrase “continuously formed” is unclear, and the specification does not appear to define or clarify this language. A “continuously formed” bracket could mean a bracket formed of one integral piece of material; however, this interpretation contradicts the previous line, which states that that the bracket is formed of separate coupled segments. For purposes of examination, “wherein the guide bracket is continuously formed along an outer periphery of the fixed unit and the first moving unit to enclose the fixed unit and first moving unit” will be read as “wherein the guide bracket fully encloses the fixed unit and the first moving unit”, phrasing which borrows language from the instant specification paragraph [0113].
Claims 2-13 are rejected because they are dependent on a previously-rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being unpatentable over So et al. (US-20180337438-A1; hereinafter, So) in view of Davies (GB-2426635-A; hereinafter, Davies).
Regarding claim 1, So discloses:
A phase shifter (see at least Fig. 6, phase shifter 1) comprising:
a fixed unit including a base (see at least Fig. 6, body 34) and a first fixed board (see at least Fig. 6, fixed board 2) disposed on one surface of the base (see at least [0048]; “The body 34 is planar which provides space enough to accommodate the first fixed board 2 and the second fixed board 3.”);
a first moving unit (see at least Fig. 6, first moving board 4) movable along a first direction on one surface of the first fixed board, the first moving unit including a first moving board facing the first fixed board (see at least [0058]; “When the drive motor M rotates in one direction, the first moving board 4 and the second moving board 5 installed respectively in the first shifting unit 10 and the second shifting unit 20 of each of four phase shifter 1 are respectively brought into contact with or coupled to their first fixed board 2 and second fixed board 3 electrically, while the moving boards are slidably guided by the guide unit 100, whereby the phase-shifted signal is transmitted to the output ports.”); and
a guide bracket fixed to one side of the fixed unit (see at least Figs. 6 and 8, guide unit 100 including horizontal bracket 106), the guide bracket configured to guide movement of the first moving unit along a first direction (see at least [0066]; “…the guide unit 100 smoothly guides the first moving board 4 when the latter starts to be retracted or pulled by the drive motor M.”),
wherein the first moving board includes a plurality of first moving strips (see at least Fig. 4, conductive strips 12a are part of moving board 4) disposed side by side along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (referring to Fig. 4, moving board 4 is able to move parallel to protrusive rib 60, and conductive strips 12a on each side of the protrusive rib are thus side by side in a direction perpendicular to the direction of motion),
wherein the guide bracket includes a first segment (see at least Fig. 8, horizontal bracket 106) and a second segment (see at least [0064], “opposite horizontal bracket 106”, visible but unlabeled in Fig. 8), (see at least [0063] and Fig. 8; opposite horizontal brackets are couple to each other via the fixed boards),
However, So does not teach a guide bracket with a first segment shaped to surround the first moving unit, nor does So teach that the guide bracket fully encloses the fixed unit and the first moving unit.
Both So and Davies disclose phase shifters. Davies teaches:
A phase shifter (see at least Fig. 4, phase shifting arrangement 5) comprising:
a fixed unit (see at least page 6, lines 1-4; “In an alternative embodiment of the invention, the first body 42 can be adapted to move relative to the second body 43. In this case, the second body 43 can be provided with the bracket 48 or other attachment means for allowing the block 40, 41 to be attached to the antenna housing or mast 1.”) including a first fixed board (see at least Fig. 5, first circuit component 53 connected to the inner side 46 of the first slider frame 51 in block 40, 41);
a first moving unit (see at least page 6, lines 1-4; “In an alternative embodiment of the invention, the first body 42 can be adapted to move relative to the second body 43…”) movable along a first direction on one surface of the first fixed board (see at least Fig. 4, where double-headed arrows indicate the moveable direction), the first moving unit including a first moving board facing the first fixed board (see at least Fig. 5 and page 8, lines 13-16; “When the first and second bodies 42 and 43 are connected as described above, the first circuit component 53 is in contact with printed circuit 55. Therefore, antenna feed lines 65 and 66 contact the conductive strips 61, 62 respectively, closing the circuit of the antenna feed lines.”); and
a guide bracket fixed to one side of the fixed unit (see at Fig. 5, first slider frame 51 is attached to circuit components 53), the guide bracket configured to guide movement of the first moving unit along a first direction (see at least double-headed movement arrows in Fig. 4 and page 7, lines 20-28; “The casing formed by the first slider frame 51 and the second slider frame 52 is located around the first body 42. When the bracket 48 holds the first body 42 of the block 40 stationary, the slider frames 51, 52, with the attached circuit components 53, 54, are able to move lengthways relative to the first body 42. As mentioned above, it should be appreciated that the apparatus could be arranged so that the second body is held fixed and the first body 42 is able to move relative to the second body.”),
wherein the first moving board includes a plurality of first strips (Figs. 5 and 6, printed circuit 55 comprises feed lines 65, 66) disposed side by side along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction (examination of Figs. 4 and 6 shows that a portion of feed lines 65, 66 is perpendicular to the direction of motion),
wherein the guide bracket includes a first segment (see at least Fig. 5, first slider frame 51) and a second segment (see at least Fig. 5, second slider frame 52), the first segment shaped to surround the first moving unit (see at least Figs. 4 and 5; the U-shape of first slider frame 51 surrounds printed circuit 55), and the first segment and second segment are coupled to each other (see at least page 6, lines 23-25; “The first slider frame 51 and second slider frame 52 are connected to each other such that they form a casing with a space for receiving the first body 42.”), and
wherein the guide bracket fully encloses the fixed unit and the first moving unit (see at least Figs. 4 and 5, where second body 43 comprising the slider frames 51 and 52 fully encloses first body 42 and circuit board 53).
Both So and Davies teach phase shifters comprising circuits printed on a fixed unit and a moving unit, where the phase is adjusted by displacing the moving unit in order to change the signal path length. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase shifter used in So to use the guiding mechanism taught by Davies, which incorporates a guiding device that fully encloses the movable unit along with the fixed circuitry. Such a change would represent simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, So in view of Davies discloses the phase shifter of claim 1. So further teaches:
wherein the first moving board (see at least Fig. 4, moving board 4) further includes a plurality of second moving strips disposed side by side along the second direction, and
the plurality of first moving strips and the plurality of second moving strips are disposed side by side along the first direction (see at least Fig. 4, reproduced and labelled below to show conductive strips 12a in the described configuration).
Regarding claim 5, So in view of Davies discloses the phase shifter of claim 2. So further teaches:
wherein the first moving board includes a plurality of sub-boards (see at least [0043]; “Sub-boards 12 are installed at predetermined positions on the upper surface of the first moving board 4.”), and
each moving strip of the plurality of first moving strips and the plurality of second moving strips is formed on each sub-board of the plurality of sub-boards (see at least [0043]; “Each sub-board 12 has a conductive strip 12a of a predetermined shape such as a U-shape, which is inserted therein and is exposed through the undersurface of the sub-board 12, so as to contact the first circuit pattern 6 of the first fixed board 2.”).
Claims 3-4, 7 and 9-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So in view of Davies, further in view of Bu et al. (CN-102231451-A; hereinafter Bu).
Regarding claim 3, So in view of Davies discloses the phase shifter of claim 2. So further teaches [Note: what So fails to disclose is strike-through]
each second moving strip of the plurality of second moving strips has a convex shape toward a neighboring first moving strip (referring to Fig. 4, reproduced and annotated above regarding the discussion of claim 2, the second moving strips have a convex shape toward the neighboring first moving strips).
However, the first moving strips of So, as shown in Fig. 4, have a concave shape toward a neighboring second moving strip.
Both So and Bu disclose phase shifters. Bu teaches:
wherein each first moving strip of the plurality of first moving strips has a convex shape toward a neighboring second moving strip, and
each second moving strip of the plurality of second moving strips has a convex shape toward a neighboring first moving strip (see at least Fig. 3, reproduced below, where U-shaped circuits 3-1 and 3-2 are mapped to the plurality of first moving strips, 3-3 and 3-4 to the plurality of second moving strips, and the first and second moving strips have a convex shape towards each other).
Both So and Bu teach phase shifters comprising circuits printed on a fixed unit and a moving unit, where the phase is adjusted by displacing the moving unit in order to change the signal path length. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase shifter used in So to include patterns of the form taught by Bu. Such a modification would amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, So in view of Davies and Bu teaches the phase shifter of claim 3. Bu further teaches:
wherein the first moving board does not include different moving strips other than the plurality of first moving strips and the plurality of second moving strips (see at least Fig. 3, reproduced above in the discussion of claim 3, where U-shaped circuits 3-1 and 3-2 are mapped to the plurality of first moving strips, 3-3 and 3-4 to the plurality of second moving strips, and no other strips are present).
It would have been obvious to combine So and Bu for the reasons given regarding claim 3.
Regarding claim 7, So in view of Davies teaches the phase shifter of claim 2. However, So does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first moving board includes a third sub-board, and
the plurality of first moving strips and the plurality of second moving strips are formed on the third sub-board
Bu teaches:
wherein the first moving board (see at least Fig. 6, pull plate 4) includes a third sub-board (see at least Fig. 6, phase shifter slide 3), and
the plurality of first moving strips and the plurality of second moving strips are formed on the third sub-board (see at least Fig. 3, where phase shifter slide comprises the plurality of moving strips 3-1, 3-2, 3-3 and 3-4).
Both So and Bu teach conductive strips on a sub-board coupled to a moving board. So shows each conductive strip on an individual sub-board, while Bu shows four conductive strips on the same sub-board. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase shifter used in So to include multiple conductive strips on the same sub-board, as taught by Bu. Such a modification would amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, So in view of Davies teaches the phase shifter of claim 2. So further teaches:
further comprising a leaf spring disposed on one side of the first moving unit,
wherein the first moving board includes a sub-board,
the leaf spring is configured to press the sub-board toward the first fixed board (see at least [0043]; “Each sub-board 12 has a conductive strip 12a of a predetermined shape such as a U-shape, which is inserted therein and is exposed through the undersurface of the sub-board 12, so as to contact the first circuit pattern 6 of the first fixed board 2. The sub-boards 12 have a leaf spring structure with elastic force, and they are arranged symmetrically about the rib 60 so that an array of four sub-boards 12 lies on each side of the rib 60 to match the first circuit pattern 6, although this illustrative arrangement shown is duly modified in concert with modifications of the first circuit pattern 6.”),
However, So does not teach at least two moving strips among the plurality of first moving strips and the plurality of second moving strips are formed on the sub-board.
Bu teaches:
further comprising a spring (see at least Fig. 6, elastic medium 5) disposed on one side of the first moving unit (see at least Fig. 6, pull board 4),
wherein the first moving board includes a sub-board (see at least Fig. 6, phase shifter slide 3),
the spring is configured to press the sub-board toward the first fixed board (see translation at least [0031]; “As shown in FIG5 , an elastic medium 5 is filled between the pull plate 4 and the phase shifter slide 3 in an X shape. The pull plate 4 presses the phase shifter slide 3 through the elastic medium 5 so that the phase shifter slide 3 is always in close contact with the substrate 2 during movement, thereby ensuring the stability of signal transmission.”), and
at least two moving strips among the plurality of first moving strips and the plurality of second moving strips are formed on the sub-board (see at least Fig. 3, where phase shifter slide 3 comprises the plurality of moving strips 3-1, 3-2, 3-3 and 3-4).
The phase shifter of So comprises a leaf spring structure applying elastic force to a sub-plate comprising a single moving strip, and the phase shifter of Bu comprises an elastic medium applying force to a sub-plate comprising a plurality of moving strips. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase shifter used in So to include multiple conductive strips on the same sub-board, as taught by Bu. The modification would have a reasonable expectation of success because both designs already employ an elastic member to exert force on the sub-plate. Such a modification would amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, So in view of Davies and Bu teaches the phase shifter of claim 4. So further teaches:
further comprising a second moving unit movable along the first direction on one surface of a second fixed board (see at least [0046]; “One of the features of the present disclosure is that the phase shifter 1 is provided, on its top and bottom sides respectively, with the first shifting unit 10 formed of the first fixed board 2 and the first moving board 4, and a second shifting unit 20 formed of a second fixed board 3 and a second moving board 5 having substantially the same or similar structures as the counterparts of the first shifting unit 10. Therefore, the housing 30 is shown vertically symmetrical with respect to the center line in the thickness direction.”), the second moving unit including a second moving board facing the second fixed board (see at least [0051]; “FIG. 6 is a top perspective view of the phase shifter 1 according to the embodiment described above, wherein the housing 30 has the first fixed board 2 and the first moving board 4 attached to the top surface 32 thereof, and the second fixed board 3 and the second moving board 5 attached to the bottom surface 32a thereof.”),
wherein the second moving board includes a plurality of third moving strips disposed side by side along the second direction and a plurality of fourth moving strips disposed side by side along the second direction, and
the plurality of third moving strips and the plurality of fourth moving strips are disposed side by side along the first direction (see at least [0051]; “In at least some embodiments of the present disclosure, the configuration and structure of the second shifting unit 20 is substantially the same as that of the first shifting unit 10. In the following description, a repeated description of the bottom structure of the phase shifter 1 will be omitted to avoid redundancy.” The positioning of the moving strips on the second moving board is analogous to limitations in claims 1 and 2 regarding the first moving board, and thus claim 10 is rejected for similar reasons.).
Regarding claim 11, So in view of Davies and Bu teaches the phase shifter of claim 10. So further teaches:
each fourth moving strip of the plurality of fourth moving strips has a convex shape toward a neighboring third moving strip (referring to Fig. 4, reproduced and annotated above regarding the discussion of claim 2, the second moving strips have a convex shape toward the neighboring first moving strips. The second moving board is taught in [0051] to have substantially same configuration).
Bu teaches:
wherein each third moving strip of the plurality of third moving strips has a convex shape toward a neighboring fourth moving strip, and
each fourth moving strip of the plurality of fourth moving strips has a convex shape toward a neighboring third moving strip (see at least Fig. 3, reproduced in the discussion regarding claim 3, where U-shaped circuits 3-1 and 3-2 are mapped to the plurality of first moving strips, 3-3 and 3-4 to the plurality of second moving strips, and the first and second moving strips have a convex shape towards each other).
Both So and Bu teach phase shifters comprising circuits printed on a fixed unit and a moving unit, where the phase is adjusted by displacing the moving unit in order to change the signal path length. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase shifter used in So to include on either of the moving boards the patterns of the form taught by Bu. Such a modification would amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, So in view of Davies and Bu teaches the phase shifter of claim 11. So further teaches the second moving board (see at least Fig. 6, second moving board 3). However, So does not explicitly teach:
wherein the second moving board does not include different moving strips other than the plurality of third moving strips and the plurality of fourth moving strips.
Bu teaches:
wherein the moving board does not include different moving strips other than the plurality of third moving strips and the plurality of fourth moving strips (see at least Fig. 3, reproduced above in the discussion of claim 3, where U-shaped circuits 3-1 and 3-2 are mapped to the plurality of first moving strips, 3-3 and 3-4 to the plurality of second moving strips, and no other strips are present).
It would have been obvious to combine So and Bu for the reasons given regarding claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, So in view of Davies and Bu teaches the phase shifter of claim 10. So further teaches:
wherein the guide bracket is configured to guide movement of the first moving unit along a first direction and movement of the second moving unit along the first direction, respectively (see at least [0054]; “The guide unit 100 has the similar guide roller 104 installed at its underside, and therefore when the pair of guide rollers 104 rotates, the upper first moving board 4 and the lower second moving board 5 slidably moves on the corresponding first fixed board 2 and the second fixed board 3 so as to establish a variable capacitive coupling relationship with the first circuit pattern 6 and a second circuit pattern so that the phase-shifted signal is simultaneously transmitted to the output ports of the first circuit pattern 6 and the second circuit pattern.” The symmetry apparent in the guide unit as shown in Fig. 8 shows that the first and second moving units are guided along the same direction.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So in view of Davies, further in view of Heyde et al. (CH-694950-A5; hereinafter Heyde).
Regarding claim 6, So in view of Davies teaches the phase shifter of claim 2. So further teaches:
wherein the first moving board includes a first sub-board and a second sub-board separated from the first sub-board in a first direction (see at least Fig. 4, which shows sub-boards 12 separated in the direction of motion, which is along the rib),
the
the (see again Fig. 4, where each sub-board 12 contains a single conductive strip 12a).
However, So does not teach a plurality of moving strips formed on a sub-board.
Both So and Heyde disclose phase shifters. Heyde teaches:
wherein the first moving unit includes a first sub-board and a second sub-board separated from the first sub-board in a first direction (see translation at least page 4, paragraph 13; “The movable elements 2 can be moved relative to the fixed element 1 by means of drives. It is possible to provide this drive on one side and to connect the two movable elements 2 via a web.” Refer also to Fig. 4, where the two movable elements 2 are shown separated in the direction of motion),
the plurality of first moving strips are formed on the first sub-board, and
the plurality of second moving strips are formed on the second sub-board (see at least Fig. 5, where conductor tracks 81, 82 are carried on the movable elements 2, with tracks arranged side-by-side in the second direction).
Both So and Heyde teach phase shifters comprising circuits printed on a fixed unit and a moving unit, where the phase is adjusted by displacing the moving unit in order to change the signal path length. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase shifter used in So to include a plurality of conducting strips on each sub-board, as taught by Heyde. Such a modification would amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over So in view of Davies, further in view of Park (KR-101472422-B1; hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 8, So in view of Davies teaches the phase shifter of claim 2. So further teaches:
wherein the first moving board includes a fourth sub-board and a fifth sub-board separated from the fourth sub-board in a second direction (see at least Fig. 4, where some of the sub-boards 12 are separated in the second direction orthogonal to the direction of motion),
one first moving strip among the plurality of first moving strips
another first moving strip among the plurality of first moving strips (see at least Fig. 4, where each sub-board 12 has a single conductive strip 12a).
However, So does not teach a sub-board containing a moving strip from the plurality of first moving strips and another moving strip from among the plurality of second moving strips, where the first and second plurality are disposed side-by-side in the direction of motion (the “first” direction).
Both So and Park disclose phase shifters. Park teaches:
wherein the first moving unit (see at least Fig. 10, where moving unit includes variable substrates 70 and moving bar 85) includes a fourth sub-board and a fifth sub-board separated from the fourth sub-board in a second direction (see at least Fig. 12, where variable substrates 70a and 70b are separated in the second direction orthogonal to motion),
one first moving strip among the plurality of first moving strips and one second moving strip among the plurality of second moving strips are formed on the fourth sub-board (see at least Fig. 12, transmission lines TL1 and TL2 are formed on variable substrate 70a), and
another first moving strip among the plurality of first moving strips and another second moving strip among the plurality of second moving strips are formed on the fifth sub-board (see at least Fig. 12, transmission lines TL3 and TL4 are formed on variable substrate 70b).
Both So and Park teach phase shifters comprising circuits printed on a fixed unit and a moving unit, where the phase is adjusted by displacing the moving unit in order to change the signal path length. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the phase shifter used in So to include a plurality of conducting strips on each sub-board in the configuration taught by Park. Such a modification would amount to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHLEY BROWN RAYNAL/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648