DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: paragraph [0056] should be amended to “a projection of the first groove 13 overlaps a projection of the third grove”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujikawa et al. (US 2007/0172736).
Regarding claim 1, Fujikawa discloses a battery comprising an electrode group comprising a positive electrode 10,10’ and a negative electrode 20,20’ ([0007], [0062], [0068], Fig 6). The positive electrode 10 includes a positive electrode current collector 12 and positive electrode active material layers 13 ([0064]). The negative electrode 20 includes a negative electrode current collector 22 and a negative electrode active material 23 ([0066]). A separator is disposed between the positive electrode and negative electrode ([0021], [0068]).
A positive electrode current collecting lead 14 [tab] is electrically connected to the positive current collector 12 ([0065], [0096], Fig 6).
The positive electrode active material 13 is provided with a center exposed portion 12a [first groove], and one end of the positive electrode current collecting lead 14 [tab] is disposed in the exposed portion 12a [first groove] and is electrically connected to the positive electrode current collector 12 ([0065], Fig 6).
The negative electrode active material 23 is provided with a center exposed portion 22a [second groove] ([0066], [0096], Fig 6), wherein the center exposed portion 22a [second groove] extends along a thickness direction of the electrode assembly to the negative electrode current collector 22 ([0096], Fig 6). A first heat resistant layer 30 [first protective adhesive] is disposed inside the center exposed portion 22a [second groove] ([0089]-[0090], [0096], Fig 6). The first heat resistant layer 30 can be a tape ([0031]) or includes a binder to make a paste or slurry ([0041], [0049]), and therefore it is considered the first heat resistant layer 30 is adhesive; in addition, the heat resistant layer can prevent short circuits and provides excellent safety ([0012]), and is therefore considered protective, and therefore is a protective adhesive layer.
Regarding claim 2, Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As seen in Figure 6, the thickness of the first heat resistant layer 30 (first protective adhesive) is less than or equal to a depth of the second groove [exposed portion 22a].
Regarding claim 3, Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As seen in Figure 6, the positive electrode 10 comprises a first end and a second end disposed opposite to each other, and in a direction from the first end to the second end, a width of the positive electrode tab 14 is less than width of the second groove [exposed portion 22a of negative electrode].
Regarding claim 4, Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As seen in Figure 6, the first heat resistant layer 30 (first protective adhesive) has peripheries that are in contact with the negative electrode active material.
Regarding claim 5, Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujikawa teaches the positive electrode and negative electrode are spirally wound with a separator interposed therebetween ([0021], [0068]).
Regarding claim 13, Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Fujikawa teaches a battery having a cylindrical battery case [packaging case] with the electrode group [electrode assembly] according to claim 1, wherein the electrode group [electrode assembly] is accommodated in the battery case [packaging case] ([0068]-[0069]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-12 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujikawa et al. (US 2007/0172736), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Qu et al. (CN 110729447, see machine translation).
Regarding claims 6-7, Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Fujikawa does not explicitly disclose (claim 6) wherein the positive electrode plate is provided with a first insulator, and the first insulator covers the first groove; or (claim 7) wherein the first insulator covers a part of the positive electrode active substance layer.
Qu discloses a battery comprising an anode plate [negative electrode], a cathode plate [positive electrode], and a separation membrane disposed therebetween (page 4 of translation). The anode plate 6 and cathode plate 7 each include a pole piece with [active material] coated areas 1 and a hollow foil areas 2 [grooves], wherein the hollow foil areas have an electrode tab 8,9 which are covered by a first insulating glue 3 and a second insulating glue 5 (pages 6-7 and 9-10, Figs 3-4). Qu teaches the first and second insulating glues can avoid generating lithium precipitation and thereby reduces the potential safety hazard problem (pages 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first 3 or second 5 insulating glue over the cathode [positive electrode] tab as taught by Qu with the positive electrode current collecting lead [tab] of Fujikawa for the purpose of avoiding generating lithium precipitation and thereby reducing the potential safety hazard problem.
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Fujikawa does not explicitly disclose (claim 8) wherein the negative electrode plate is provided with a second insulator, and the second insulator covers the second groove; or (claim 9) wherein the second insulator covers a part of the negative electrode active substance layer.
Qu discloses a battery comprising an anode plate [negative electrode], a cathode plate [positive electrode], and a separation membrane disposed therebetween (page 4 of translation). The anode plate 6 and cathode plate 7 each include a pole piece with [active material] coated areas 1 and a hollow foil areas 2 [grooves], wherein the hollow foil areas have an electrode tab 8,9 which are covered by a first insulating glue 3 and a second insulating glue 5 (pages 6-7 and 9-10, Figs 3-4). Qu teaches the first and second insulating glues can avoid generating lithium precipitation and thereby reduces the potential safety hazard problem (pages 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the second 5 insulating glue over the first 3 insulating glue and the anode [negative electrode] hollow foil area [second groove] as taught by Qu with the first heat resistant layer and negative electrode current collecting lead [tab] of Fujikawa for the purpose of avoiding generating lithium precipitation and thereby reducing the potential safety hazard problem.
Regarding claim 10, modified Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, modified Fujikawa does not explicitly disclose wherein along the thickness direction of the electrode assembly, a projection area of the first insulator [of the positive electrode] is greater than a projection area of the second insulator [of the second groove of the negative electrode].
However, Qu teaches that the length of the first 3 and second 5 insulating adhesives can be greater or less than the other (page 8), and that the length of the first insulating adhesive 3 affects the lithium precipitation generation and thereby affects the potential safety (page 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first 3 insulating adhesive [first insulator] on the positive electrode be longer or greater in length than a first 3 or second 5 insulating adhesive [second insulator] of the negative electrode for the purpose of avoiding generating lithium precipitation problems on the positive electrode.
Regarding claims 11-12, Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Fujikawa does not explicitly disclose (claim 11) wherein a second protective adhesive is provided inside the first groove; or (claim 12) wherein a periphery of the second protective adhesive is in contact with the positive electrode active substance layer.
Qu discloses a battery comprising an anode plate [negative electrode], a cathode plate [positive electrode], and a separation membrane disposed therebetween (page 4 of translation). The anode plate 6 and cathode plate 7 each include a pole piece with [active material] coated areas 1 and a hollow foil areas 2 [grooves], wherein the hollow foil areas have an electrode tab 8,9 which are covered by a first insulating glue 3 and a second insulating glue 5 (pages 6-7 and 9-10, Figs 3-4). As seen in Figure 4, the first 3 and second 5 insulating glue 5 are provided within the area of the hollow foil areas 2 and contact the positive electrode active material. Qu teaches the first and second insulating glues can avoid generating lithium precipitation and thereby reduces the potential safety hazard problem (pages 3 and 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the first 3 or second 5 insulating glue over the cathode [positive electrode] tab as taught by Qu with the positive electrode current collecting lead [tab] of Fujikawa for the purpose of avoiding generating lithium precipitation and thereby reducing the potential safety hazard problem.
Regarding claim 14, modified Fujikawa discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Fujikawa teaches a battery having a cylindrical battery case [packaging case] with the electrode group [electrode assembly] according to claim 7, wherein the electrode group [electrode assembly] is accommodated in the battery case [packaging case] ([0068]-[0069]).
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725