DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-35,38-41,43-45 and 47-52 are pending
Claims 33-35 are withdrawn
Claims 36-37, 42 and 46 have been canceled
Claims 1, 7-8, 11, 26, 38, 40 and 47 have been amended
Claims 49-52 are new
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12, 22-23, 49-50 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKenna WO 2020/254002 (WO’002) (cited in IDS filed 11-20-23).
Regarding claim 1, a flow mixer comprising:
a. a first flow passageway (a second flow passageway 12 for a main flow of air supply, see fig. 4-6 and pages 4-5);
b. a second flow passageway which receives a flow of entrained particles comprising a transport fluid and a plurality of particles entrained within the transport fluid, wherein the second flow passageway intersects with the first flow passageway at an intersection (nozzle inlet 24 for a first flow passageway 8 for a mix of air and abrasive medial, which intersects with flow passageway 12, see fig. 4-6, page 4-5);
c. a combined flow passageway in fluid communication with the first flow passageway and the second flow passageway at the intersection (outlet nozzle 10 meets a mixing section where flow from passage ways 8 and 12 converge, see fig. 4-6 and pages 4-5); and
d. one or more second flow passageway vents in direct fluid communication with the second flow passageway (vent 28 relieves excess pressure build up, page 9, the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section).
Regarding claim 2, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents are disposed adjacent to the intersection (the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section).
Regarding claim 3, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents extend in an upstream direction (the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section and the claim does not limit what the vent is upstream to).
Regarding claim 4, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents extend from the intersection in an upstream direction (the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section).
Regarding claim 5, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches one or more combined flow passageway vents in direct fluid communication with the combined flow passageway (the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section, applicants fig. 5 depicts vents 60 and 62 converging as two side of the same opening, therefore the vent of WO’002 which overlaps multiple sections reads on the recited combined flow vent and second flow passageway vent).
Regarding claim 6, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 5. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more combined flow passageway vents are disposed adjacent to the intersection (see fig. 5-6).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 5. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more combined flow passageway vents extend in a downstream direction, with regard to claim 7 and wherein the one or more combined flow passageway vents extend from the intersection in a downstream direction, with regard to claim 8 (see fig. 5 the vent extend downward).
Regarding claim 9, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 5. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents are in direct fluid communication with the one or more combined flow passageway vents (vent of WO’002 which overlaps multiple sections reads on the recited combined flow vent and second flow passageway vent, as discussed above).
Regarding claims 10-12, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 5. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents are in fluid communication with a vent passageway, with regard to claim 10, further comprising one or more combined flow passageway vents in direct fluid communication with the combined flow passageway, wherein the combined flow passageway vents are in fluid communication with the vent passageway, with regard to claim 11, wherein the vent passageway comprises a vent exit and the vent exit is defined by an external surface of the flow mixer, with regard to claim 12 (vent 28 may be provided in the walls of the outlet nozzle 10, see fig. 5-6).
Regarding claims 22-23, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein the combined flow passageway comprises a combined flow passageway exit and a combined flow passageway cross- sectional area, wherein the combined flow passageway cross-sectional area increases as the combined flow passageway extends from the intersection toward the combined flow passageway exit, with regard to claim 22 and wherein the combined flow passageway cross-sectional area increases continuously as the combined flow passageway extends from the intersection toward the combined flow passageway exit (nozzle 10 include an expanding outlet part 26 that expands continuously till the exit, see fig. 5-6, page 9).
Regarding claim 49, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents are disposed in the second flow passageway upstream from the intersection (the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section, therefore a portion of the vent is upstream of the intersection).
Regarding claim 50, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein a vented flow comprising at least a portion of the transport fluid of the flow of entrained particles that is separated from the plurality of particles of the flow of entrained particles, flows through the one or more second flow passageway vents (air vent 28 may be provided to relieve excess air pressure existing from the abrasive eductor line feed. Such excess pressure may be relieved via such air vent 28 and preferably reintroduced at a downstream point of the outlet nozzle with the purpose of preventing back pressure at the eductor 6 (page. 9). Therefore, the air vented is at least a portion of the transport fluid of the flow of entrained particles to relieve excess air pressure).
Regarding claim 52, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. The modified flow mixer of US’478 further teaches wherein the first flow passageway receives a flow of blast fluid (main air flow passageway 12 flows air which reads on blast fluid, as discussed above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-15 and 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’002 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shank US 6,626,738 (US’738).
Regarding claims 13-15, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein the first flow passageway comprises a first flow passageway entrance and a first flow passageway cross-sectional area (see fig. 4-6).
The modified apparatus of WO’002 does not teach wherein the first flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward a first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 13, wherein the first flow passageway transition stopping point is the intersection, with regard to claim 14 and wherein the first flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases continuously as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward the first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 15.
US’738 teaches a blast nozzle is provided with a converging inlet portion, a venturi orifice and a diverging fan-shaped outlet portion (abstract). A standard round nozzle comprises a converging hollow conical inlet section, a circular venturi throat and a contiguous diverging hollow conical outlet section. The standard round nozzle is highly productive inasmuch as it provides for the maximum acceleration. (col. 3-5 see fig. 3-5). Therefore US’738 teaches configuring a converging/diverging nozzle to control fluid flow pressure and velocity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified flow mixer of WO’002 to include wherein the first flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward a first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 13, wherein the first flow passageway transition stopping point is the intersection, with regard to claim 14 and wherein the first flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases continuously as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward the first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 15 because US’738 teaches it controls the pressure and velocity of the fluid exiting the passageway and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claim 21, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1. WO’002 further teaches wherein the second flow passageway comprises a second flow passageway entrance and a second flow passageway lateral dimension (see fig. 4-6).
WO’002 does not teach wherein the second flow passageway lateral dimension increases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward a second flow passageway transition stopping point.
US’738 teaches a blast nozzle is provided with a converging inlet portion, a venturi orifice and a diverging fan-shaped outlet portion (abstract). The lateral dimension of the nozzle passageway is dimensionally controlled for turning the velocity and pressure conversion of the fluid traveling through the passageway. The fan nozzle of the present invention and, in particular, the fan nozzle outlet section 18, is designed herein to control the expansion of compressed air as it converts from pressure to velocity (col. 3-5 and 7, see fig. 3-5). Therefore US’738 teaches configuring a converging/diverging nozzle to include lateral dimension control, such that lateral dimension increases as the flow passageway extends from the entrance toward the stopping point, controls media pressure and velocity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow mixer of WO’002 to include wherein the second flow passageway comprises a second flow passageway entrance and a second flow passageway lateral dimension, wherein the second flow passageway lateral dimension increases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward a second flow passageway transition stopping point because US’738 teaches it controls media pressure and velocity exiting the passageway and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim(s) 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’002 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mesher US 5,601,478 (US’478) (cited in IDS filed 8-16-24).
Regarding claims 16-20, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1.
WO’002 does not teach wherein the second flow passageway comprises a second flow passageway entrance and a second flowpassageway cross-sectional area, wherein the second flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward a second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 16, wherein the second flow passageway transition stopping point is the intersection, with regard to claim 17, wherein the second flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases continuously as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward the second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 18, with regard to claim 19 wherein the first flow passageway comprises a first flow passageway entrance and a first flow passageway vertical dimension, wherein the first flow passageway vertical dimension decreases as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward a first flow passageway transition stopping point and wherein the second flow passageway comprises a second flow passageway entrance and a second flow passageway vertical dimension, wherein the second flow passageway vertical dimension decreases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward a second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 20.
US’478 teaches a method of and apparatus for accelerating and pressurizing a fluidized stream of particulate material, e.g. for blast cleaning by ice particles (abstract). The apparatus includes multiple fluid flow sources each including constrictions and exploding sections to carefully control the pressure and velocity of the flowing fluid to achieve a combined flow which achieves maximize the increase pressure and velocity without costly equipment (col. 1-6 see fig. 2-5). Therefore, US’478 teaches to configure the flow paths of WO’002 to include multiple cross-sectional areas that continuously decrease to achieve maximize the increase pressure and velocity without costly equipment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow mixer of WO’002 to include wherein the second flow passageway comprises a second flow passageway entrance and a second flow passageway cross-sectional area, wherein the second flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward a second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 16, wherein the second flow passageway transition stopping point is the intersection, with regard to claim 17, wherein the second flow passageway cross-sectional area decreases continuously as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward the second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 18, with regard to claim 19 wherein the first flow passageway comprises a first flow passageway entrance and a first flow passageway vertical dimension, wherein the first flow passageway vertical dimension decreases as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward a first flow passageway transition stopping point and wherein the second flow passageway comprises a second flow passageway entrance and a second flow passageway vertical dimension, wherein the second flow passageway vertical dimension decreases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward a second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 20 because US’478 teaches it maximizes the pressure and velocity without costly equipment and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Claim 51 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO’002 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of TW I683704 B (TW’704) (machine translation used for citations).
Regarding claim 51, WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 1.
W’002 does not teach wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents comprise a plurality of second flow passageway vents, wherein each of the plurality of second flow passageway vents comprises a width and each of the plurality of particles comprises a size, wherein the width of each of the plurality of second flow passageway vents is smaller than the smallest size of the plurality of particles.
TW’704 teaches a nozzle including a gas inlet portion (2) in which the passage path of the carrier gas is reduced along the flow of the carrier gas; a passage expansion portion (3) in which the passage path of the carrier gas is along the carrier gas The flow expands; the opening forming portion (4), which is formed with one or a plurality of openings (4a) connecting the passage path of the carrier gas to the external space (abstract). three or more openings may be formed in the opening forming portion 4. In addition, the opening 4a and the opening 4b need not be formed at positions facing each other, but may be formed at positions close to each other (page 5). the opening 4a and the opening 4b are formed in the opening forming portion 4. Therefore, part of the carrier gas is released to the outside of the nozzle 1 through the openings 4a and 4b. As a result, in the nozzle 1, the backflow of the carrier gas in the nozzle 1 is reduced, and the coating material is sprayed to the base material 20 without being hindered by acceleration (page 6). In the nozzle 1 of this embodiment, the amount of the coating material leaking to the outside of the nozzle 1 through the openings 4a and 4b is an amount that does not need to consider the degree of influence on the film formation. In this way, the nozzle 1 of this embodiment can achieve a narrower film formation area than the previous nozzle, and can reduce the amount of film material used (page 8). Therefore, TW’704 teaches to provide a plurality of venting outlets sized to minimize the leakage of the material being carried by the transport fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of WO’002 to include wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents comprise a plurality of second flow passageway vents, wherein each of the plurality of second flow passageway vents comprises a width and each of the plurality of particles comprises a size, wherein the width of each of the plurality of second flow passageway vents is smaller than the smallest size of the plurality of particles because TW’704 teaches to provide a plurality of venting outlets sized to minimize the leakage of the material being carried by the transport fluid and use of known technique to improve similar methods in the same way is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McKenna WO 2020/254002 (WO’002) (cited in IDS filed 11-20-23).
Regarding claim 24, an assembly comprising a. the flow mixer of claim 1 (as discussed above with regard to claim 1) and
b. a blast nozzle (outlet part 26, page 9),
wherein the blast nozzle is in fluid communication with the combined flow passageway (see fig. 4-6).
Regarding claim 25, WO'002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 24. WO'002 further teaches (wherein the blast nozzle is integral with the flow mixer the outlet part 29 includes converging mixing section, see fig. 5-6, the examiner notes that applicants' specification para. 58-59 describe an integral nozzle and include separate distinct parts).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKenna WO 2020/254002 (WO’002) (cited in IDS filed 11-20-23).
Regarding claim 26, WO’002 teaches a flow mixer comprising:
a. an upper insert comprising an upper insert channel (air flow passage 12 located below part 24 supplies a main flow of air and converge with the abrasive flow, pages 4-5 see fig. 4-6, see further annotated fig 5 below);
b. a central insert comprising a first central insert channel and a second central insert channel, wherein the first central insert channel and the upper insert channel define a first fluid flow passageway (center section of nozzle 10 between outlet part 26 and 24 defined the flow path for the abrasive media to directed to the outlet nozzle, see fig. 4-6 pages 4-5 see further annotated fig 5 below);
c. a lower insert comprising a lower insert channel, wherein the second central insert channel and the lower insert channel define a second flow passageway which receives a flow of entrained particles comprising a transport fluid and a plurality of particles entrained within the transport fluid, wherein the second flow passageway intersects with the first flow passageway at an intersection (part 24 is a discrete interchangeable nozzle inlet for first flow of air and the abrasive media entrained, see fig. 4-6 and pages 5-6 and 9, see further annotated fig 5 below); and
d. one or more second flow passageway vents in direct fluid communication with the second flow passageway (vent 28 relieve excess pressure build up, page 9, the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section, see further annotated fig 5 below).
WO’002 does not teach the second flow passageway vents formed in the lower insert.
However, WO’002 further teaches air vent 28 may be provided to relieve excess air pressure existing from the abrasive eductor line feed. Such excess pressure may be relieved via such air vent 28 and preferably reintroduced at a downstream point of the outlet nozzle with the purpose of preventing back pressure at the eductor 6 (page. 9). Therefore, locating the vent in the lower insert would not have modified the function since its main purpose is the relieve excess pressure from the flow of fluid and particles moving through the lower insert.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of WO’002 to include the second flow passageway vents formed in the lower insert, because WO’002 teaches that the vents main purpose is the relieve excess pressure from the flow of fluid and particles moving through the lower insert and a claim which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of particular devices, were held unpatentable because shifting the position of equipment which would not have modified the operation of the device is held to be obvious, see MPEP 2144.04 VI.C.
Regarding claim 27, the modified apparatus of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 26. WO’002 further teaches a combined flow passageway in fluid communication with the first flow passageway and the second flow passageway at the intersection (outlet nozzle 10 meets a mixing section where flow from passage ways 8 and 12 converge, see fig. 4-6 and pages 4-5).
Regarding claim 28, the modified apparatus of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 27. WO’002 further teaches one or more combined flow passageway vents in direct fluid communication with the combined flow passageway (the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section, applicants fig. 5 depicts vents 60 and 62 converging as two side of the same opening, therefore the vent of WO’002 which overlaps multiple sections reads on the recited combined flow vent and second flow passageway vent).
Regarding claim 29, the modified apparatus of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 26. WO’002 further teaches a central nozzle insert and lower nozzle insert, wherein the central nozzle insert comprises a central nozzle insert channel and the lower nozzle insert comprises a lower nozzle insert channel, wherein a combined flow passageway is defined by the central nozzle insert channel and the lower nozzle insert channel (WO’002 includes interchangeable outlets and inlets parts that overlap to form channels including channels, page 9, see fig. 4-6).
Regarding claim 30, the modified apparatus of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 29. WO’002 further teaches wherein the combined flow passageway comprises a throat, wherein the combined flow passageway comprises a converging portion upstream of the throat and a diverging portion downstream of the throat (outlet parts 26 include converging and diverging parts separated by a throat, page 9, see fig. 5-6).
Regarding claims 31-32, the modified apparatus of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 26. WO’002 further teaches wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents are in fluid communication with a vent passageway, with regard to claim 31 and wherein the vent passageway comprises a vent exit and the vent exit is defined by an external surface of the flow mixer, with regard to claim 32 (vent 28 may be provided in the walls of the outlet nozzle 10, see fig. 5-6).
Claim(s) 38-41, 43-45 and 47-48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKenna WO 2020/254002 (WO’002) in view of Shank US 6,626,738 (US’738).
Regarding claim 38, WO’002 teaches a flow mixer comprising:
a. a first flow passageway (air flow passage 12 located below part 24 supplies a main flow of air and converge with the abrasive flow, pages 4-5 see fig. 4-6);
b. a second flow passageway which receives a flow of entrained particles comprising a transport fluid and a plurality of particles entrained within the transport fluid, wherein the second flow passageway intersects with the first flow passageway at an intersection, wherein the second flow passageway comprises a second flow passageway entrance (part 24 includes an inlet for first flow of air and the abrasive media entrained and intersects with air flow 12 downstream before entering outlet parts 26, see fig. 4-6 and pages 5-6 and 9),
a second flow passageway vertical dimension, and a second flow passageway lateral dimension, wherein the second flow passageway vertical dimension decreases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward a second flow passageway transition stopping point (the second flow passageway is a opening necessary having a vertical and horizontal dimension and nozzle 24 converges in the direction of outlet parts 26); and
c. a combined flow passageway in fluid communication with the first flow passageway and the second flow passageway at the intersection (center section of nozzle 10 between outlet part 26 and 24 defined the flow path for the abrasive media to directed to the outlet nozzle, see fig. 4-6 pages 4-5)
d. one or more second flow passageway vents in direct fluid communication with the second flow passageway (vent 28 relieve excess pressure build up, page 9, the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section, see further annotated fig 5 below) and
d. one or more second flow passageway vents in direct fluid communication with the second flow passageway (vent 28 relieves excess pressure build up, page 9, the placement of the vent, shown in fig. 5 and 6 shows it overlapping with flow passageway 12, the second flow passageway of WO’002, and the mixing section)
WO’002 does not teach the second flow passageway lateral dimension increases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward the second flow passageway transition stopping point
US’738 teaches a blast nozzle is provided with a converging inlet portion, a venturi orifice and a diverging fan-shaped outlet portion (abstract). The lateral dimension of the nozzle passageway is dimensionally controlled for turning the velocity and pressure conversion of the fluid traveling through the passageway. The fan nozzle of the present invention and, in particular, the fan nozzle outlet section 18, is designed herein to control the expansion of compressed air as it converts from pressure to velocity (col. 3-5 and 7, see fig. 3-5). Therefore US’738 teaches configuring a converging/diverging nozzle, such as the Laval nozzle 45 of US’478, to include lateral dimension control, such that lateral dimension increases as the flow passageway extends from the entrance toward the stopping point, controls media pressure and velocity. Which is critical for the nozzle of US’478 which discussed velocity control necessary for preventing erosion of the nozzle wall surface and optimum work-effect (col. 6-7 of US’478).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flow mixer of WO’002 to include the second flow passageway lateral dimension increases as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward the second flow passageway transition stopping point because US’738 teaches it controls media pressure and velocity exiting the passageway and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claims 39-40, the modified flow mixer of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 38. The modified flow mixer of US’478 further teaches wherein the vertical dimension of the second flow passageway decreases continuously as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward the second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 39 and wherein the lateral dimension of the second flow passageway decreases continuously as the second flow passageway extends from the second flow passageway entrance toward the second flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 40 (as discussed above, see fig. 3-5 of US’738 and fig. 2-5 of US’478).
Regarding claim 41, the modified flow mixer of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 38. The modified flow mixer of WO’002 further teaches wherein the second flow passageway transition stopping point is the intersection (the second flow passageway can be considered to transition to the intersection at the vent).
Regarding claims 43-45, the modified apparatus of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim38. WO’002 further teaches wherein the first flow passageway comprises a first flow passageway entrance and a first flow passageway vertical dimension (see fig. 4-6).
The modified apparatus of WO’002 does not teach wherein the first flow passageway vertical dimension decreases as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward a first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 43, wherein the vertical dimension of the first flow passageway decreases continuously as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward the first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 44 and wherein the first flow passageway transition stopping point is the intersection with regard to claim 45.
US’738 teaches a blast nozzle is provided with a converging inlet portion, a venturi orifice and a diverging fan-shaped outlet portion (abstract). A standard round nozzle comprises a converging hollow conical inlet section, a circular venturi throat and a contiguous diverging hollow conical outlet section. The standard round nozzle is highly productive inasmuch as it provides for the maximum acceleration. (col. 3-5 see fig. 3-5). Therefore US’738 teaches configuring a converging/diverging nozzle to control fluid flow pressure and velocity.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified flow mixer of WO’002 to include wherein the first flow passageway vertical dimension decreases as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward a first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 43, wherein the vertical dimension of the first flow passageway decreases continuously as the first flow passageway extends from the first flow passageway entrance toward the first flow passageway transition stopping point, with regard to claim 44 and wherein the first flow passageway transition stopping point is the intersection with regard to claim 45 because US’738 teaches it controls media pressure and velocity exiting the passageway and combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious, see MPEP 2141 III (A).
Regarding claims 47-48, the modified flow mixer of WO’002 teaches the flow mixer of claim 38. The modified flow mixer of US’478 further teaches wherein the first flow passageway is configured to be connected to a flow of blast fluid, with regard to claim 47 and wherein the blast fluid comprises heated fluid, with regard to claim 48 (main air flow passageway 12 flows air which reads on blast fluid, as discussed above, therefore it would be capable of flowing any fluid. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The flow passageways of the modified flow mixer of WO’002 would be capable of flowing any fluid of gas. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have known that the structural limitations of the passageways taught by the prior art and the passageways claimed would have been the same and since the claim is directed towards an apparatus, the apparatus is independent of the intended use).
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ amendments to independent claim 1, 26 and 38 to include subject matter regarding the second flow passageway receiving particles and a transport fluid has changed the scope of claim 1. However, upon further consideration, the teachings of WO’002 still appear to read on the claimed invention therefore a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 102 as anticipated by WO’002 which includes both the rejection of claims 1, 26 and 38 as stated in the non-final office action mailed 6-9-26 and additional discussion regarding the teachings of WO’002 relating to the features added to claims 1, 26 and 38.
Applicants amendments have overcome the 112 rejections and therefore the rejections are withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 6-9-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants’ arguments that air vent 28 is not in direct fluid communication (as defined in the current application) with first air flow passageway 8 has been considered but is not deemed persuasive. Applicants argues a distinct location for a boundary that neither the claim nor the specification distinctly recites. The passageways of claims 1, 26 and 38 do not have distinct structural boundaries, beginning and ends. This is further supported by applicants claims 13 an 16 which recites “flow passageway transition stopping point” which describes the ends of the flow a a transition rather than a distinct point. Since the claims do not restrict the end point of the flow passageway the prior art does not require a specific boundary to be disclosed and can be selected as any arbitrary point. Further, Applicants concedes that the boundary defined by the claims is arbitrary in that the comparison to the prior art of the claimed flow “it is unclear from the figures exactly how/where air vent 28 is connected” this in effect conceds that the claim language is vague with regard to the defined passageways. Since the claim does not make clear where the boundary ends, applicants cannot establish that the boundary of the prior art falls outside of the prior arts boundary. Further, as discussed above, WO’002 explicitly recites that air vent 28 may be provided to relieve excess air pressure existing from the abrasive eductor line feed. Such excess pressure may be relieved via such air vent 28 and preferably reintroduced at a downstream point of the outlet nozzle with the purpose of preventing back pressure at the eductor 6. For WO’002 to relieve the pressure, it must be in fluid communication with the fluid path. If an intermediate component were inbetween the flow passageway and the vent it could not perform its function. Applicants new claim 49 recites “wherein the one or more second flow passageway vents are disposed in the second flow passageway upstream from the intersection” which further supports that the vent placement and end point of the flow passageway are not defined in the independent claims 1, 26 and 38, but must be further clarified in relation to other claimed features. Additionally, the phrase “there are no intermediate components through which fluid may flow” is vague as to what is encompassed by “component”. Applicants definition excludes “intermediate components” which under its broadest reasonable interpretation would only exclude physical parts, which as values, fitting, etc., it does not however limit the location of the start and end points of the claimed flow passageways or prevent other flows from further intersecting the vent. Vent 28 is an angles hole formed directly through the wall bounding the abrasive flow path, there are no other components interrupting the flow of entrained particles before the vent relieves the pressure of the entrained air flow.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713