Response to Amendment
2. Claims 1 and 9-20 are amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 2/5/2026 with respect to claims 1-20, have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3-4, 9-11 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2015/0245235 A1) in view of Dalsgaard et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0396704 A1) and further in view of Meylan (US. Pub. No. 2010/0034158 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tang discloses a method comprising:
obtaining a measurement of a signal received by the a user equipment (UE) (See Abstract and Fig. 2; UE 210) from a serving cell (See Par. [20], [29], [32], [38] and Fig. 2 of Tang for a reference to the UE is configured with multiple measurement gap patterns from which the UE can select a pattern to perform inter-frequency channel measurements (RSRP or RSRQ) for signals received from the serving cell);
calculating a measurement gap based on the measurement (See Par. [27]-[28], [37]-[38], [41], [47] and Fig. 2 of Tang for a reference to the UE is configured with multiple measurement gap patterns. The UE determines the measurement gap repetition period (MGRP) on which the inter-frequency channel measurements are performed based on the performed RSRP and RSRQ measurements);
determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap (See Par. [27]-[28], [44], [46] of Tang for a reference to that for each measurement gap and based on the used subframes of each (MGRP), the UE determines whether to perform inter-frequency measurements on available resources [Subframes] during the measurement gap),
Tang does not explicitly disclose calculating a measurement gap usage ratio that is based on the measurement, wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is a rate at which measurements are to be scheduled; the determination of whether to perform a measurement during the a measurement gap is based on the measurement gap usage ratio; based on a result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, performing at least one of: causing at least part of the UE to be in a low-power mode during at least part of the measurement gap; causing a radio-frequency (RF) receiver of the UE to be powered down during at least part of the measurement gap; or causing an RF transmitter of the UE to transmit a signal during at least part of the measurement gap.
However, Dalsgaard discloses calculating a measurement gap usage ratio that is based on the measurement, wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is a rate at which measurements are to be scheduled (See Par. [51], [126], [136] of Dalsgaard for a reference to calculating the percentage [rate] of measurement gaps that should be used actually for performing measurements [scheduled measurement gaps] for each carrier); the determination of whether to perform a measurement during the a measurement gap is based on the measurement gap usage ratio (See Par. [51], [62], [80], [126] of Dalsgaard for a reference to that based on the calculated scheduled measurement gaps percentage, it is determined whether to perform measurements during each measurement gap or not for each carrier ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dalsgaard to Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving latency, and/or throughput of networks and network nodes through providing the UE a relaxation on each carrier according to the number of gaps and the gap distribution. (Dalsgaard; Par. [140]-[141])
The combination of Tang and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose based on a result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, performing at least one of: causing at least part of the UE to be in a low-power mode during at least part of the measurement gap; causing a radio-frequency (RF) receiver of the UE to be powered down during at least part of the measurement gap; or causing an RF transmitter of the UE to transmit a signal during at least part of the measurement gap.
However, Meylan discloses based on a result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, causing an RF transmitter of the UE to transmit a signal during at least part of the measurement gap (See Par. [34], [47]-[50], [89] of Meylan for a reference to the UE determines whether to perform the measurements during the measurement gap. based on the determination, the UE skips (Ignores) measurements and transmits a signal on a physical random access channel (PRACH) during one or more measurement gap [Option 3 is cited]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Meylan to the combination of Tang and Dalsgaard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing higher throughput, greater reliability and improved efficiency when the UE does not perform measurements during measurement gaps. (Meylan; Par. [37])
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan, specifically Tang discloses wherein the measurement is a serving cell quality measurement that indicates at least one of a reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) of the signal received by the UE from the serving cell (See Par. [20], [22], [38], [50] of Tang for a reference to the inter-frequency measurements for the serving cell can be either a reference signal received power (RSRP), or reference signal received quality (RSRQ) measurements).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan, specifically Tang discloses wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is inversely related to the serving cell quality measurement (See Par. [38], [44]-[48], [50] of Tang for a reference to reducing measurement frequency/skipping gap under strong serving conditions (quality), which implies an inverse relationship between serving quality and measurement activity).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan, specifically Tang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising selecting a pattern based on the measurement gap usage ratio (See Par. [25], [28]-[30] and fig. 2 of Tang for a reference to the base station determines, for the UE, an effective measurement gap pattern [EMGP] based on the measurement gap pattern and the DRS measurement timing configuration);
and for the individual measurement gaps of the plurality of measurement gaps, the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap is based on the pattern (See Par. [25], [28]-[30], [41]-[45] and fig. 2 of Tang for a reference to the selected effective measurement gap pattern [EMGP] determines whether to perform measurements during the measurement gap or not based on measurement derived metrics).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan, specifically Tang discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising for the individual measurement gaps of the plurality of measurement gaps:
generating a random number (See Par. [55] of Tang for a reference to defining [generating] a random number of subframes to monitor Frequency 1 (corresponding to the first [serving] cell)); and
the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap includes comparing the random number to a threshold that is based on the measurement gap usage ratio (See Par. [21]-[22], [55] of Tang for a reference to determining whether to perform measurements during the measurement gap based on comparing the defined number of subframes with a threshold of 40 or 80 subframes).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Tang and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose wherein the method of claim 1, further comprising: for at least one of the plurality of measurement gaps, and based on the result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, causing the UE to transmit a signal on a physical random access channel (PRACH) during at least part of the measurement gap.
However, Meylan discloses wherein the method comprises, for at least one of the plurality of measurement gaps, and based on the result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, causing the UE to transmit a signal on a physical random access channel (PRACH) during at least part of the measurement gap (See Par. [34], [47]-[50], [89] of Meylan for a reference to the UE determines whether to perform the measurements during the measurement gap. based on the determination, the UE skips (Ignores) measurements and transmits a signal on a physical random access channel (PRACH) during one or more measurement gap).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Meylan to the combination of Tang and Dalsgaard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing higher throughput, greater reliability and improved efficiency when the UE does not perform measurements during measurement gaps. (Meylan; Par. [37])
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1, including a user equipment (UE) (See Tang; Fig. 9; UE 910) comprising: processing circuitry (See Tang; Fig. 9; Measurements Module 914).
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 10.
6. Claims 2, 5-8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. in view of Dalsgaard et al. in view of Meylan and further in view of Cui et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0182900 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is based on a fluctuation of the measurement.
However, Cui discloses wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is based on a fluctuation of the measurement (See Par. [28]-[30] of Cui for a reference to adaptive allocation/sharing of measurements gaps depends on the variation of measurements [difference between measured qualities compared to a threshold [using fluctuation as input to usage metric]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the efficiency of the handover decision based on comparing quality received of multiple cells. (Cui; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan does not explicitly disclose wherein: the measurement gap usage ratio is based on a neighbor cell quality measurement that is based on a plurality of neighbor cell measurements, and each of the neighbor cell measurements is a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a respective one of a plurality of neighbor cells.
However, Cui discloses the measurement gap usage ratio is based on a neighbor cell quality measurement that is based on a plurality of neighbor cell measurements (See Par. [26]-[27] of Cui for a reference to the UE performs inter-frequency measurements on signals received from neighboring cell [Target Cell]. A UE perform measurements on signals received from one or mor [A plurality] of neighboring cells), and each of the neighbor cell measurements is a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a respective one of a plurality of neighbor cells (See Par. [26]-[26] of Cui for a reference to each neighboring cell’s measurement is a measurement a signal received from that particular neighboring cell. Aggregated neighboring cells’ measurement are considered in making measurement decision).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the efficiency of the handover decision based on comparing quality received of multiple cells. (Cui; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan, specifically Tang discloses wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is inversely related to a difference between the serving cell quality measurement and the neighbor cell quality measurement (See Par. [38], [44]-[48], [50] of Tang for a reference to the density of the measurements gap is adjusted based on the measured quality of the Macro [Serving] cell and the Micro/Pico [Another] cells. [More measurements when the quality of the neighbor cells is less than the quality of the macro cell).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is inversely related to a difference between the neighbor cell quality measurement and a threshold value received by the UE from a base station.
However, Cui discloses wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is inversely related to a difference between the neighbor cell quality measurement and a threshold value received by the UE from a base station (See Par. [28]-[29] of Cui for a reference to the measurement gap pattern decision is based on the difference between the signal power of the signal received from a neighbor cell and signal power of the signal received from a serving cell is greater than a threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the efficiency of the handover decision based on comparing quality received of multiple cells. (Cui; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is based on a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a neighbor cell that is different than the serving cell.
However, Cui discloses wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is based on a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a neighbor cell that is different than the serving cell (See Par. [28]-[29] of Cui for a reference to the measurement gap pattern decision is based on the signal power of the signal received from a neighbor cell being greater than signal power of the signal received from a serving cell).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the efficiency of the handover decision based on comparing quality received of multiple cells. (Cui; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 12, Tang discloses a method comprising:
obtaining a first measurement of a signal received by a user equipment (UE) (See Fig. 2; UE 210) from a serving cell (See Par. [20], [29], [32], [38] and Fig. 2 of Tang for a reference to the UE is configured with multiple measurement gap patterns from which the UE can select a pattern to perform inter-frequency channel measurements (RSRP or RSRQ) for signals received from the serving cell);
calculating a measurement gap usage ratio that is based on the first measurement and the second measurement (See Par. [27]-[28], [37]-[38], [41], [47] and Fig. 2 of Tang for a reference to the UE is configured with multiple measurement gap patterns. The UE determines the measurement gap repetition period (MGRP) on which the inter-frequency channel measurements are performed based on the performed RSRP and RSRQ measurements); and
determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap (See Par. [27]-[28], [44], [46] of Tang for a reference to that for each measurement gap and based on the used subframes of each (MGRP), the UE determines whether to perform inter-frequency measurements on available resources [Subframes] during the measurement gap).
Tang does not explicitly disclose calculating a measurement gap usage ratio that is based on the measurement, wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is a rate at which measurements are to be scheduled; the determination of whether to perform a measurement during the a measurement gap is based on the measurement gap usage ratio; obtaining a second measurement that is based on a plurality of neighbor cell measurements, each of the neighbor cell measurements being a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a respective one of a plurality of neighbor cells; wherein the method further comprises based on a result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, performing at least one of: causing at least part of the UE to be in a low-power mode during at least part of the measurement gap; causing a radio-frequency (RF) receiver of the UE to be powered down during at least part of the measurement gap; or causing an RF transmitter of the UE to transmit a signal during at least part of the measurement gap.
However, Dalsgaard discloses calculating a measurement gap usage ratio that is based on the measurement, wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is a rate at which measurements are to be scheduled (See Par. [51], [126], [136] of Dalsgaard for a reference to calculating the percentage [rate] of measurement gaps that should be used actually for performing measurements [scheduled measurement gaps] for each carrier); the determination of whether to perform a measurement during the a measurement gap is based on the measurement gap usage ratio (See Par. [51], [62], [80], [126] of Dalsgaard for a reference to that based on the calculated scheduled measurement gaps percentage, it is determined whether to perform measurements during each measurement gap or not for each carrier ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Dalsgaard to Tang. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving latency, and/or throughput of networks and network nodes through providing the UE a relaxation on each carrier according to the number of gaps and the gap distribution. (Dalsgaard; Par. [140]-[141])
The combination of Tang and Dalsgaard does not explicitly disclose obtaining a second measurement that is based on a plurality of neighbor cell measurements, each of the neighbor cell measurements being a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a respective one of a plurality of neighbor cells; wherein the method further comprises based on a result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, performing at least one of: causing at least part of the UE to be in a low-power mode during at least part of the measurement gap; causing a radio-frequency (RF) receiver of the UE to be powered down during at least part of the measurement gap; or causing an RF transmitter of the UE to transmit a signal during at least part of the measurement gap.
However, Meylan discloses based on a result of the determining whether to perform a measurement during the measurement gap, causing an RF transmitter of the UE to transmit a signal during at least part of the measurement gap (See Par. [34], [47]-[50], [89] of Meylan for a reference to the UE determines whether to perform the measurements during the measurement gap. based on the determination, the UE skips (Ignores) measurements and transmits a signal on a physical random access channel (PRACH) during one or more measurement gap [Option 3 is cited]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Meylan to the combination of Tang and Dalsgaard. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing higher throughput, greater reliability and improved efficiency when the UE does not perform measurements during measurement gaps. (Meylan; Par. [37])
The combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan does not explicitly disclose obtain a second measurement that is based on a plurality of neighbor cell measurements, each of the neighbor cell measurements being a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a respective one of a plurality of neighbor cells.
However, Cui discloses obtaining a second measurement that is based on a plurality of neighbor cell measurements, each of the neighbor cell measurements being a measurement of a signal received by the UE from a respective one of a plurality of neighbor cells (See Par. [26]-[28] of Cui for a reference to the UE performs inter-frequency measurements on signals received from neighboring cell [Target Cell]. A UE perform measurements on signals received from one or mor [A plurality] of neighboring cells. Aggregated neighboring cells’ measurement are considered in making measurement decision).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the efficiency of the handover decision based on comparing quality received of multiple cells. (Cui; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is inversely related to a difference between the first measurement and the second measurement.
However, Cui discloses wherein the measurement gap usage ratio is inversely related to a difference between the first measurement and the second measurement (See Par. [28]-[29] of Cui for a reference to the measurement gap pattern decision is based on the difference between the signal power of the signal received from a neighbor cell and signal power of the signal received from a serving cell is greater than a threshold).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Cui to the combination of Tang, Dalsgaard and Meylan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving the efficiency of the handover decision based on comparing quality received of multiple cells. (Cui; Par. [4])
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 9.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 10.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 11.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Harada et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0258812 A1) discloses a method for measurement gap sharing for measurement of the signal quality of different cells.
Chinchole et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0174341 A1) discloses a method for measurement gap enhancements for BL (bandwidth reduced low complexity)/CE (coverage enhancement) UEs (user equipments).
Gopal et al. (US. Pub. No. 2015/0215802 A1) discloses a method for controlling a rate of forced measurement gaps usage in a wireless network.
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413