DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“functional element” in claims 10 and 11. Defined in [0044] of Specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “at least one functional element arranged in the base body” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “at least one functional element is arranged in the base body” which renders the claim indefinite. In view of the specification and drawings, it is unclear how a “functional element” can be arranged in the base body of the claimed invention. Fig. 3 shows a functional element 9 surrounding the base body 2, but none of the figures show a functional element arranged in the base body.
Claims 11-13 are rejected for the same reasons as claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,124,018 A (herein “Murray”) in view of US 2005/0051313 A1 (herein “Grosser”).
Regarding claims 1, 9, and 14, Murray discloses an arrangement for transporting media (Fig. 4) comprising: at least one base body (20), the base body forming at least one wall (walls between flow channels), the wall delimits two flow channels formed in the base body (seen in Fig. 4), and that the flow channels are separated from one another by at least one separating body (24) arranged in the base body as a heat transmitter.
Murray does not disclose that base body is formed of thermoplastic polymers.
Grosser discloses a media transporting heat exchanger and states that the use of thermoplastic materials instead of metals for construction of heat exchangers provides both enormous flexibility with regard to forming and shaping, and also improved resistance to corrosion ([0003]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the metal heat exchanger of Murray with the thermoplastic construction taught by Grosser.
Regarding claim 2, Murray discloses that the separating body is formed separately from the base body (seen in Fig. 4).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, these claims are directed to product by process limitations and Murray discloses every structural feature of the claimed invention. It is noted that a product by process limitation does not limit the claim to recite the step, just the structure obtained by performing the step. Further, in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 4, Murray discloses that the separating body is substantially plane (seen in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings of Murray and Grosser discloses that the separating body is a polymeric material (Grosser: thermoplastic material).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the drawing objection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Fig. 3 does show functional element 9, but Fig. 3 does not show at least one functional element arranged in the base body 2 as required by claim 10.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 5 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112(b) rejection of claim 5 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claims 10-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Fig. 3 does show functional element 9, but Fig. 3 does not show at least one functional element arranged in the base body 2 as required by claim 10.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-5, 7, 9, and 14 have been considered, however, they are made with respect to new limitations added by amendment which were not previously considered/rejected. In response, Applicant is directed to the rejection above which addresses these new limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JON T. SCHERMERHORN JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763