DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 13-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 9-12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 9, Applicant specifically argues that the combination of Dan and Sun does not teach the newly amended limitations of “wherein nodes of the acyclic action graph represent affordances generated from the set of possible actions and directed edges of the acyclic action graph represent possible transitions between affordances” and “wherein generating the suggested action includes generating, from the acyclic action graph, one or more action chains from a current node to a goal node as candidate autocomplete suggestions for the task” because Sun’s FOON task tree is built backwards and the nodes does not represent objection-affordance action pairs. Sun’s nodes, however, represent affordances as object nodes and motion nodes are only associated if a function unit exists or a relationship between the object and motion (at least as in col. 5, ln. 15-20). Furthermore, Sun generates a task sequence that achieves the desired goal from a set of objects that it is determined to be available (at least as in col. 11, ln. 16-20). Therefore, as currently claimed, Sun teaches “wherein nodes of the acyclic action graph represent affordances generated from the set of possible actions and directed edges of the acyclic action graph represent possible transitions between affordances” and “wherein generating the suggested action includes generating, from the acyclic action graph, one or more action chains from a current node to a goal node as candidate autocomplete suggestions for the task.” Thus the rejection of claims 9-12 is maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan et al. (US 20230373098 A1, hereinafter Dan) in view of Sun (US 10789543 B1).
Regarding claim 9, Dan discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium, including instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations to:
generate a basic skill library of primitives performable by a robotic device (at least as in paragraph 0017, “The set of operator commands that are recognized by the controller module 16 may be called a skill set and may be dynamically extended over the robot's lifetime”; at least as in paragraph 0022, “It may be desirable to store the operator inputs, additional operator inputs and/or translated software commands in a library storage with data links therebetween so that future operator inputs may be able to be autonomously linked to such additional operator inputs and/or software commands (28). The library storage may be included as part of the actuation module 14 and may be a skill set library that recognizes operator inputs”; at least as in paragraph 0020, “The controller module 16 registers the additional operator inputs in an appropriate form for future use... Importantly, the format allows learned skills to be transferrable between robots 18”);
automatically extract, from the basic skill library of primitives, a set of possible actions for at least one object from video data of the at least one object being manipulated (at least as in paragraph 0022, “The operator inputs (and additional operator inputs) are then translated into software commands that will direct the robot 18 to perform the desired robot movement (26), for example, by an actuation module 10”);
identify a task to be completed by the robotic device, including the at least one object involved in the task (at least as in paragraph 0016, “the actuation module 14 translates task requests into software commands that are understandable by the robot 18”; at least as in paragraph 0021, “Information about one or more objects in the workspace of the robot 18, such as identification and/or location information, may also be received from one or more environmental sensors 12, such as a robot vision system 12 (22), or captured by an environmental sensor module 12… The method may then determine whether the operator input is sufficient to translate the operator input into software commands that will direct the robot 10 to perform the desired robot movement (24)”; at least as in paragraph 0015, “the environment sensor module 12 may utilize different sensors including a camera for object identification”; at least as in paragraph 0012, “several choices may be offered (e.g., by showing the objects that are visible to the robot's camera)”)…
But, Dan does not explicitly teach:
generate an acyclic action graph for the task based on the set of possible actions for the at least one object, wherein nodes of the acyclic action graph represent affordances generated from the set of possible actions and directed edges of the acyclic action graph represent possible transitions between affordances; and
output the acyclic action graph to generate a suggested action for the robotic device in completing the task, wherein generating the suggested action includes generating, from the acyclic action graph, one or more action chains from a current node to a goal node as candidate autocomplete suggestions for the task.
However, Sun, in the same field of endeavor of controlling robots to perform on objects to complete a desired task based on functional relationships between objects, specifically teaches:
generate an acyclic action graph for the task based on the set of possible actions for the at least one object, wherein nodes of the acyclic action graph represent affordances generated from the set of possible actions and directed edges of the acyclic action graph represent possible transitions between affordances (at least as in col. 13-14, ln. 62-40, wherein after receiving a command to perform a given task, “the robot can search the FOON for the object node associated with the goal of the task and add it to a task tree, as indicated in block 32… Referring next to block 34, the child motion node associated with the goal object node is identified and added to the task tree… Next, as indicated in block 36, the one or more child object nodes associated with the motion node is/are identified and added to the task tree… Flow from this point depends upon whether or not each of the child objects associated with the motion node are available or not, as indicated in decision block 38… flow can continue from decision block 38 to block 40 at which each manipulation motion of the task tree can be performed in reverse order using the various required objects” thus the robot continues to add nodes to the task tree until all objects associated with the node are available in the environment; see also Fig. 10 and 13; at least as in col. 5, ln. 9-14, “A FOON may be a directed semi-acyclic graph as there may be some instances of loops when an object does not change states from taking part in some action”; at least as in col. 10, ln. 1-5, “Each edge can be color-coded to reflect the object-motion description assigned to an object node. For example, if the motion description is in-motion, the edge can be red. If the motion description is not in-motion, the edge can be green”); and
output the acyclic action graph to generate a suggested action for the robotic device in completing the task, wherein generating the suggested action includes generating, from the acyclic action graph, one or more action chains from a current node to a goal node as candidate autocomplete suggestions for the task (at least as in col. 11, ln. 16-20, “Given a desired goal and a set of available objects (such as ingredients and tools), formally, there are two steps in generating manipulations from the FOON: generating a task tree and generating a task sequence”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 28-31, “Once the task tree has been generated, it can then be used to generate a task sequence that contains a series of motions, objects, and their states, which provides step-by-step commands for a robot to execute”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 3-27, wherein multiple task trees can be generated and the cost of each tree can be compared to determine the most efficient tree; at least as in col. 12, ln. 45-52, “A task sequence contained data from a FOON in the form of a graph node, where each node contained a label for a motion, labels for objects and their states, and an indicator for whether or not the object is in motion. The objects in the simulation were linked to the object's labels in the FOON, while predefined motion functions were associated to the motion labels”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Sun's teaching of a robot system generating a task sequence utilizing a task tree and FOON, since Sun teaches wherein the system can provide robots with the ability to understand a task in the format of object states and object-related functional motions and generate motions based on the learning motions to manipulate the objects properly for a desired task thus improving object and action recognition.
Regarding claim 10, in view of the above combination of Dan and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the set of possible actions are specific to a position or an orientation of the at least one object (at least as in paragraph 0017, “The operator may also describe a sequence of robot movements and/or conditions for that robot movement to be executed. For example, the operator may desire the robot to “pick the tube and place it in the red bin” or “after a tube is available in the blue bin, pick it and shake it”.”).
Regarding claim 11, in view of the above combination of Dan and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the acyclic action graph includes at least one action that is only available after at least one other action has been completed (at least as in paragraph 0018, “The operator may also describe a sequence of robot movements and/or conditions for that robot movement to be executed. For example, the operator may desire the robot to “pick the tube and place it in the red bin” or “after a tube is available in the blue bin, pick it and shake it””).
Regarding claim 12, in view of the above combination of Dan and Sun, Sun further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 9, wherein the acyclic action graph includes weights assigned to respective possible actions of the acyclic action graph (at least as in col. 12, ln. 3-27, wherein multiple task trees can be generated and the cost of each tree can be compared to determine the most efficient tree).
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 13-16, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan et al. (US 20230373098 A1, hereinafter Dan) in view of Sun (US 10789543 B1), and further in view of Chi et al. (US 20220051061 A1, hereinafter Chi).
Regarding claim 1, Dan discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium including instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations to:
identify a current context of a robotic device, the current context including identification of at least one object present in a field of view (at least as in paragraph 0021, “Information about one or more objects in the workspace of the robot 18, such as identification and/or location information, may also be received from one or more environmental sensors 12, such as a robot vision system 12 (22), or captured by an environmental sensor module 12… The method may then determine whether the operator input is sufficient to translate the operator input into software commands that will direct the robot 10 to perform the desired robot movement (24)”; at least as in paragraph 0015, “the environment sensor module 12 may utilize different sensors including a camera for object identification”; at least as in paragraph 0012, “several choices may be offered (e.g., by showing the objects that are visible to the robot's camera)”);
receive a user input comprising user motion corresponding to the robotic device or the current context (at least as in paragraph 0021, “In the method, and operator input which represents a desired robot movement is received (20), for example, from an operator communication module 10”; at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc.”);
automatically extract, from a basic skills library, one or more possible actions for the at least one object from video data of the at least one object being manipulated (at least as in paragraph 0022, “The operator inputs (and additional operator inputs) are then translated into software commands that will direct the robot 18 to perform the desired robot movement (26), for example, by an actuation module 10… It may be desirable to store the operator inputs, additional operator inputs and/or translated software commands in a library storage with data links therebetween so that future operator inputs may be able to be autonomously linked to such additional operator inputs and/or software commands (28). The library storage may be included as part of the actuation module 14 and may be a skill set library that recognizes operator inputs”; at least as in paragraph 0017, “The set of operator commands that are recognized by the controller module 16 may be called a skill set and may be dynamically extended over the robot's lifetime”; at least as in paragraph 0020, “The controller module 16 registers the additional operator inputs in an appropriate form for future use... Importantly, the format allows learned skills to be transferrable between robots 18”);
determine from the current context and the user input, a set of actions performable by the robotic device corresponding to the at least one object and predicted to correspond to the user input based on a trajectory of the user motion, the set of actions including the one or more possible actions, (at least as in paragraph 0018, “If the skill (i.e., pick) and object (i.e., tube) are known to the controller module 16, the controller module 16 may proceed to request a task (or set of tasks) execution(s) to the actuation module 14 which will translate the tasks into low-level robot software commands for the robot 18 controller”; at least as in paragraph 0021, “The method may then determine whether the operator input is sufficient to translate the operator input into software commands that will direct the robot 10 to perform the desired robot movement (24)”);
output control signals that cause the robotic device to perform the action to interact with the at least one object (at least as in paragraph 0023, “Once the operator inputs have been translated into software commands understandable to the robot 18, the robot 18 may be programmed with such software instructions (30). Subsequent to such programming, the robot 18 may be operated using the software commands in order to perform the desired robot movement (32)”).
But, Dan does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining the set of actions includes generating, based on the trajectory of the user motion, a probability distribution over a plurality of object-affordance action pairs, each object-affordance action pair of the plurality being labeled with a probability of being a next action to be performed by the robotic device;
automatically select an action of the set of actions based on an acyclic graph describing action paths.
However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of a control system utilizing image processing and action recognition technology, specifically teaches:
wherein determining the set of actions includes generating, based on the trajectory of the user motion, a probability distribution over a plurality of object-affordance action pairs, each object-affordance action pair of the plurality being labeled with a probability of being a next action to be performed by the robotic device (at least as in paragraph 0042, “The server 100 obtains video data acquired by a video acquisition device 200, for example, a common camera, for an interactive object (a user is the interactive object in FIG. 1”; at least as in paragraph 0053, “The node sequence information may identify position information of nodes of the interactive object in the node sequence that are moved to implement an interactive action”; at least as in paragraph 0061, “S202. Determine, according to node sequence information corresponding to N consecutive video frames in the video data, action categories respectively corresponding to the N consecutive video frames”; at least as in paragraph 0063, “the action category may be in the form of a score or probability, and the score or probability is used to reflect a possibility that the action posture belongs to the action category”; at least as in paragraph 0065, “S203. Determine, according to action categories corresponding to the video frames in the video data, a target interactive action made by the interactive object”; at least as in paragraph 0119, “T represents a length of a sample sequence, CE represents a cross entropy loss function, and ŷ.sub.t and y.sub.t respectively represent probability distributions of the action category in supervision information and a prediction result of a t.sup.th frame”).
Sun, in the same field of endeavor of controlling robots to perform on objects to complete a desired task based on functional relationships between objects, specifically teaches:
automatically select an action of the set of actions based on an acyclic graph describing action paths (at least as in col. 13-14, ln. 62-40, wherein after receiving a command to perform a given task, “the robot can search the FOON for the object node associated with the goal of the task and add it to a task tree, as indicated in block 32… Referring next to block 34, the child motion node associated with the goal object node is identified and added to the task tree… Next, as indicated in block 36, the one or more child object nodes associated with the motion node is/are identified and added to the task tree… Flow from this point depends upon whether or not each of the child objects associated with the motion node are available or not, as indicated in decision block 38… flow can continue from decision block 38 to block 40 at which each manipulation motion of the task tree can be performed in reverse order using the various required objects” thus the robot continues to add nodes to the task tree until all objects associated with the node are available in the environment; see also Fig. 10 and 13; at least as in col. 5, ln. 9-14, “A FOON may be a directed semi-acyclic graph as there may be some instances of loops when an object does not change states from taking part in some action. A motion does not necessarily cause a change in an object, as certain objects will remain in the same state”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 28-31, “Once the task tree has been generated, it can then be used to generate a task sequence that contains a series of motions, objects, and their states, which provides step-by-step commands for a robot to execute”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 3-27, wherein multiple task trees can be generated and the cost of each tree can be compared to determine the most efficient tree).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Chi’s teaching of determining a target interactive action made by the interactive object and Sun's teaching of a robot system generating a task sequence utilizing a task tree and FOON, since Chi teaches wherein the action and object recognition system improves recognition accuracy while reducing the size and cost requirement of cameras and Sun teaches wherein the system can provide robots with the ability to understand a task in the format of object states and object-related functional motions and generate motions based on the learning motions to manipulate the objects properly for a desired task thus improving object and action recognition.
Regarding claim 2, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the basic skills library includes one or more dynamic movement actions including at least one of grasping an object, moving an object, or releasing an object (at least as in paragraph 0018, “the operator may desire the robot to “pick the tube and place it in the red bin” or “after a tube is available in the blue bin, pick it and shake it”… If the skill (i.e., pick) and object (i.e., tube) are known to the controller module 16, the controller module 16 may proceed to request a task (or set of tasks) execution(s) to the actuation module 14 which will translate the tasks into low-level robot software commands for the robot 18 controller”; at least as in paragraph 0012, “A first step of the interaction involves the operator instructing the robot to perform a sequence of operations by providing high level concepts (e.g., pick, move, place)”).
Regarding claim 3, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the current context includes identification of all objects that are in a field of view, a trajectory of the robotic device, and a task to be completed (at least as in paragraph 0021, “operator input which represents a desired robot movement is received (20), for example, from an operator communication module 10. As described above, the operator input may be received as a voice input 10A that is transcribed to text or may be received from a display screen 10B, such as a touchscreen, or any other possible user interface. Information about one or more objects in the workspace of the robot 18, such as identification and/or location information, may also be received from one or more environmental sensors 12, such as a robot vision system 12 (22), or captured by an environmental sensor module 12”; at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc. Likewise, the environment sensor module 12 may utilize different sensors including a camera for object identification, robotic skin or force sensors for contact, gripping or collision detection, lidar/radar for distance estimation, thermal sensors to identify possible operating hazards or process steps, etc. Each channel and sensor may be handled by a specific module 10, 12.”).
Regarding claim 4, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the operations further include operations to receive user confirmation of the action before outputting the control signals (at least as in paragraph 0018, “If a command is insufficient, e.g., the action is not understood or any information is missing, e.g. the object is unknown to the system, the controller module 16 may prompt one or more additional operator inputs to provide complementary input”; at least as in paragraph 0019, “Feedback requests and operator input may be provided by any of the operator communication and sensing modules 10, 12 best suited for a natural and intuitive information flow”).
Regarding claim 5, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the set of actions are generated by automatically extracting tasks from videos captured of the robotic device (at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc.”).
Regarding claim 6, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the robotic device is controlled using a gesture via an augmented reality interface, and wherein the current context includes identification of the gesture (at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc.”).
Regarding claim 8, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the action is a contingent action based on a previously performed action by the robotic device (at least as in paragraph 0018, “The operator may also describe a sequence of robot movements and/or conditions for that robot movement to be executed. For example, the operator may desire the robot to “pick the tube and place it in the red bin” or “after a tube is available in the blue bin, pick it and shake it”).
Regarding claim 13, Dan discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
means for identifying a current context of a robotic device, the current context including identification of at least one object present in a field of view (at least as in paragraph 0021, “Information about one or more objects in the workspace of the robot 18, such as identification and/or location information, may also be received from one or more environmental sensors 12, such as a robot vision system 12 (22), or captured by an environmental sensor module 12… The method may then determine whether the operator input is sufficient to translate the operator input into software commands that will direct the robot 10 to perform the desired robot movement (24)”; at least as in paragraph 0015, “the environment sensor module 12 may utilize different sensors including a camera for object identification”; at least as in paragraph 0012, “several choices may be offered (e.g., by showing the objects that are visible to the robot's camera)”);
means for receiving a user input comprising a user motion corresponding to the robotic device or the current context (at least as in paragraph 0021, “In the method, and operator input which represents a desired robot movement is received (20), for example, from an operator communication module 10”; at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc.”);
means for automatically extracting, from a basic skills library, one or more possible actions for the at least one object from video data of the at least one object being manipulated (at least as in paragraph 0022, “The operator inputs (and additional operator inputs) are then translated into software commands that will direct the robot 18 to perform the desired robot movement (26), for example, by an actuation module 10… It may be desirable to store the operator inputs, additional operator inputs and/or translated software commands in a library storage with data links therebetween so that future operator inputs may be able to be autonomously linked to such additional operator inputs and/or software commands (28). The library storage may be included as part of the actuation module 14 and may be a skill set library that recognizes operator inputs”; at least as in paragraph 0017, “The set of operator commands that are recognized by the controller module 16 may be called a skill set and may be dynamically extended over the robot's lifetime”; at least as in paragraph 0020, “The controller module 16 registers the additional operator inputs in an appropriate form for future use... Importantly, the format allows learned skills to be transferrable between robots 18”);
means for determining, using processing circuitry, from the current context and the user input, a set of actions performable by the robotic device corresponding to the at least one object and predicted to correspond to the user input based on a trajectory of the user motion, the set of actions including the one or more possible actions, (at least as in paragraph 0018, “If the skill (i.e., pick) and object (i.e., tube) are known to the controller module 16, the controller module 16 may proceed to request a task (or set of tasks) execution(s) to the actuation module 14 which will translate the tasks into low-level robot software commands for the robot 18 controller”; at least as in paragraph 0021, “The method may then determine whether the operator input is sufficient to translate the operator input into software commands that will direct the robot 10 to perform the desired robot movement (24)”);
means for outputting control signals that cause the robotic device to perform the action to interact with the at least one object (at least as in paragraph 0023, “Once the operator inputs have been translated into software commands understandable to the robot 18, the robot 18 may be programmed with such software instructions (30). Subsequent to such programming, the robot 18 may be operated using the software commands in order to perform the desired robot movement (32)”).
But, Dan does not explicitly teach:
wherein determining the set of actions includes generating, based on the trajectory of the user motion, a probability distribution over a plurality of object-affordance action pairs, each object-affordance action pair of the plurality being labeled with a probability of being a next action to be performed by the robotic device;
means for automatically selecting, using the processing circuitry, an action of the set of actions based on an acyclic graph describing action paths.
However, Chi, in the same field of endeavor of a control system utilizing image processing and action recognition technology, specifically teaches:
wherein determining the set of actions includes generating, based on the trajectory of the user motion, a probability distribution over a plurality of object-affordance action pairs, each object-affordance action pair of the plurality being labeled with a probability of being a next action to be performed by the robotic device (at least as in paragraph 0042, “The server 100 obtains video data acquired by a video acquisition device 200, for example, a common camera, for an interactive object (a user is the interactive object in FIG. 1”; at least as in paragraph 0053, “The node sequence information may identify position information of nodes of the interactive object in the node sequence that are moved to implement an interactive action”; at least as in paragraph 0061, “S202. Determine, according to node sequence information corresponding to N consecutive video frames in the video data, action categories respectively corresponding to the N consecutive video frames”; at least as in paragraph 0063, “the action category may be in the form of a score or probability, and the score or probability is used to reflect a possibility that the action posture belongs to the action category”; at least as in paragraph 0065, “S203. Determine, according to action categories corresponding to the video frames in the video data, a target interactive action made by the interactive object”; at least as in paragraph 0119, “T represents a length of a sample sequence, CE represents a cross entropy loss function, and ŷ.sub.t and y.sub.t respectively represent probability distributions of the action category in supervision information and a prediction result of a t.sup.th frame”).
Sun, in the same field of endeavor of controlling robots to perform on objects to complete a desired task based on functional relationships between objects, specifically teaches:
means for automatically selecting, using the processing circuitry, an action of the set of actions based on an acyclic graph describing action paths (at least as in col. 13-14, ln. 62-40, wherein after receiving a command to perform a given task, “the robot can search the FOON for the object node associated with the goal of the task and add it to a task tree, as indicated in block 32… Referring next to block 34, the child motion node associated with the goal object node is identified and added to the task tree… Next, as indicated in block 36, the one or more child object nodes associated with the motion node is/are identified and added to the task tree… Flow from this point depends upon whether or not each of the child objects associated with the motion node are available or not, as indicated in decision block 38… flow can continue from decision block 38 to block 40 at which each manipulation motion of the task tree can be performed in reverse order using the various required objects” thus the robot continues to add nodes to the task tree until all objects associated with the node are available in the environment; see also Fig. 10 and 13; at least as in col. 5, ln. 9-14, “A FOON may be a directed semi-acyclic graph as there may be some instances of loops when an object does not change states from taking part in some action. A motion does not necessarily cause a change in an object, as certain objects will remain in the same state”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 28-31, “Once the task tree has been generated, it can then be used to generate a task sequence that contains a series of motions, objects, and their states, which provides step-by-step commands for a robot to execute”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 3-27, wherein multiple task trees can be generated and the cost of each tree can be compared to determine the most efficient tree).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Chi’s teaching of determining a target interactive action made by the interactive object and Sun's teaching of a robot system generating a task sequence utilizing a task tree and FOON, since Chi teaches wherein the action and object recognition system improves recognition accuracy while reducing the size and cost requirement of cameras and Sun teaches wherein the system can provide robots with the ability to understand a task in the format of object states and object-related functional motions and generate motions based on the learning motions to manipulate the objects properly for a desired task thus improving object and action recognition.
Regarding claim 14, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the basic skills library includes one or more dynamic movement actions associated with at least one of: grasping the at least one object, moving the at least one object, or releasing the at least one object (at least as in paragraph 0018, “the operator may desire the robot to “pick the tube and place it in the red bin” or “after a tube is available in the blue bin, pick it and shake it”… If the skill (i.e., pick) and object (i.e., tube) are known to the controller module 16, the controller module 16 may proceed to request a task (or set of tasks) execution(s) to the actuation module 14 which will translate the tasks into low-level robot software commands for the robot 18 controller”; at least as in paragraph 0012, “A first step of the interaction involves the operator instructing the robot to perform a sequence of operations by providing high level concepts (e.g., pick, move, place)”).
Regarding claim 15, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the current context includes information corresponding to an identification of all objects that are in the field of view, a trajectory of the robotic device, and a task to be completed (at least as in paragraph 0021, “operator input which represents a desired robot movement is received (20), for example, from an operator communication module 10. As described above, the operator input may be received as a voice input 10A that is transcribed to text or may be received from a display screen 10B, such as a touchscreen, or any other possible user interface. Information about one or more objects in the workspace of the robot 18, such as identification and/or location information, may also be received from one or more environmental sensors 12, such as a robot vision system 12 (22), or captured by an environmental sensor module 12”; at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc. Likewise, the environment sensor module 12 may utilize different sensors including a camera for object identification, robotic skin or force sensors for contact, gripping or collision detection, lidar/radar for distance estimation, thermal sensors to identify possible operating hazards or process steps, etc. Each channel and sensor may be handled by a specific module 10, 12.”).
Regarding claim 16, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, further comprising means for receiving user confirmation of the action before outputting the control signals (at least as in paragraph 0018, “If a command is insufficient, e.g., the action is not understood or any information is missing, e.g. the object is unknown to the system, the controller module 16 may prompt one or more additional operator inputs to provide complementary input”; at least as in paragraph 0019, “Feedback requests and operator input may be provided by any of the operator communication and sensing modules 10, 12 best suited for a natural and intuitive information flow”).
Regarding claim 17, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the set of actions are generated by automatically extracting tasks from video or image data captured of the robotic device (at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc.”).
Regarding claim 18, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the robotic device is controlled using a gesture via an augmented reality interface, and wherein the current context includes identification of the gesture (at least as in paragraph 0015, “It is understood that the list of operator communication channels (i.e., inputs to the operator module 10) is not limited to the examples in FIG. 1, but depending on the preferred means of operator input and feedback, may include a microphone and speakers for audio, cameras (either stand-alone or integrated into augmented-/virtual reality glasses) for gesture recognition or superposition of robotic tasks in space (without the robot being present or having been programmed), haptic gloves for tactile feedback of manipulation of robotic tasks, monitors for the implementation of user interfaces (UI), touch screens or a tablet for touch selection, etc.”).
Regarding claim 20, in view of the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun, Dan further discloses:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the action is a contingent action based on a previously performed action by the robotic device (at least as in paragraph 0018, “The operator may also describe a sequence of robot movements and/or conditions for that robot movement to be executed. For example, the operator may desire the robot to “pick the tube and place it in the red bin” or “after a tube is available in the blue bin, pick it and shake it”).
Claim(s) 7, 19, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan et al. (US 20230373098 A1, hereinafter Dan) in view of Sun (US 10789543 B1), and further in view of Gienger (US 20220314446 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the operations to automatically select the action of the set of actions include operations to determine that two or more actions of the acyclic graph are selectable based on the current context, and select the action based on a probability of each of the two or more actions.
However, Gienger, in the same field of endeavor of motion planning in robotics, in particular multi-contact motion planning methods and corresponding motion planning systems, specifically teaches:
wherein the operations to automatically select the action of the set of actions include operations to determine that two or more actions of the acyclic graph are selectable based on the current context, and select the action based on a probability of each of the two or more actions (at least as in paragraph 0048, wherein “Provided that some measure describing which one of the alternate options is more likely is known, the options may be weighted according to their respective likelihood”; at least as in paragraph 0050, wherein “In case there exists a large number of possible alternate options, a weighting of the alternate options can be included into an optimization problem, providing solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising”; at least as in paragraph 0063, wherein “The method for controlling at least one effector trajectory of an embodiment generates the at least one effector trajectory by applying a trajectory generation algorithm on the generated task description, including applying weights to the cost function for the at least one first posture and the at least one second posture”; at least as in paragraph 0231, “The method determines optimized solutions for problems, in which exact coordinates of end-effectors 9 and objects 3 involved in the task are unknown, or the coordinates vary to certain degree”; at least as in paragraph 0234, “Provided that some measure describing which one of the alternate options is more likely is known, the options may be weighted according to their respective likelihood”; at least as in paragraph 0236, wherein “In case there exists a large number of possible alternate options, a weighting of the alternate options can be included into an optimization problem, providing solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Gienger’s teaching of determining an optimized solution based on options being weighted according to their respective likelihood, since Gienger teaches wherein the weighting provides solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising.
Regarding claim 19, the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 13, but does not explicitly teach wherein automatically selecting the action of the set of actions includes determining that two or more actions of the acyclic graph are selectable based on the current context, and selecting the action based on a probability of each of the two or more actions.
However, Gienger, in the same field of endeavor of motion planning in robotics, in particular multi-contact motion planning methods and corresponding motion planning systems, specifically teaches:
wherein automatically selecting the action of the set of actions includes determining that two or more actions of the acyclic graph are selectable based on the current context, and selecting the action based on a probability of each of the two or more actions (at least as in paragraph 0048, wherein “Provided that some measure describing which one of the alternate options is more likely is known, the options may be weighted according to their respective likelihood”; at least as in paragraph 0050, wherein “In case there exists a large number of possible alternate options, a weighting of the alternate options can be included into an optimization problem, providing solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising”; at least as in paragraph 0063, wherein “The method for controlling at least one effector trajectory of an embodiment generates the at least one effector trajectory by applying a trajectory generation algorithm on the generated task description, including applying weights to the cost function for the at least one first posture and the at least one second posture”; at least as in paragraph 0231, “The method determines optimized solutions for problems, in which exact coordinates of end-effectors 9 and objects 3 involved in the task are unknown, or the coordinates vary to certain degree”; at least as in paragraph 0234, “Provided that some measure describing which one of the alternate options is more likely is known, the options may be weighted according to their respective likelihood”; at least as in paragraph 0236, wherein “In case there exists a large number of possible alternate options, a weighting of the alternate options can be included into an optimization problem, providing solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Gienger’s teaching of determining an optimized solution based on options being weighted according to their respective likelihood, since Gienger teaches wherein the weighting provides solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising.
Regarding claim 22, the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the operations to determine the set of actions include operations to: generate a set of reaching-target hypotheses; generate possible trajectories that reach respective targets of the set of reaching-target hypotheses; and compare the possible trajectories with sensor data of the robotic device to rank the possible trajectories according to likelihood.
However, Sun, in the same field of endeavor of controlling robots to perform on objects to complete a desired task based on functional relationships between objects, specifically teaches:
generate a set of reaching-target hypotheses; generate possible trajectories that reach respective targets of the set of reaching-target hypotheses (at least as in col. 13-14, ln. 62-40, wherein after receiving a command to perform a given task, “the robot can search the FOON for the object node associated with the goal of the task and add it to a task tree, as indicated in block 32… Referring next to block 34, the child motion node associated with the goal object node is identified and added to the task tree… Next, as indicated in block 36, the one or more child object nodes associated with the motion node is/are identified and added to the task tree… Flow from this point depends upon whether or not each of the child objects associated with the motion node are available or not, as indicated in decision block 38… flow can continue from decision block 38 to block 40 at which each manipulation motion of the task tree can be performed in reverse order using the various required objects” thus the robot continues to add nodes to the task tree until all objects associated with the node are available in the environment; see also Fig. 10 and 13; at least as in col. 5, ln. 9-14, “A FOON may be a directed semi-acyclic graph as there may be some instances of loops when an object does not change states from taking part in some action”; at least as in col. 10, ln. 1-5, “Each edge can be color-coded to reflect the object-motion description assigned to an object node. For example, if the motion description is in-motion, the edge can be red. If the motion description is not in-motion, the edge can be green”; at least as in col. 11, ln. 16-20, “Given a desired goal and a set of available objects (such as ingredients and tools), formally, there are two steps in generating manipulations from the FOON: generating a task tree and generating a task sequence”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 28-31, “Once the task tree has been generated, it can then be used to generate a task sequence that contains a series of motions, objects, and their states, which provides step-by-step commands for a robot to execute”; at least as in col. 12, ln. 3-27, wherein multiple task trees can be generated and the cost of each tree can be compared to determine the most efficient tree; at least as in col. 12, ln. 45-52, “A task sequence contained data from a FOON in the form of a graph node, where each node contained a label for a motion, labels for objects and their states, and an indicator for whether or not the object is in motion. The objects in the simulation were linked to the object's labels in the FOON, while predefined motion functions were associated to the motion labels”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Sun's teaching of a robot system generating a task sequence utilizing a task tree and FOON, since Sun teaches wherein the system can provide robots with the ability to understand a task in the format of object states and object-related functional motions and generate motions based on the learning motions to manipulate the objects properly for a desired task thus improving object and action recognition.
Furthermore, Gienger, in the same field of endeavor of motion planning in robotics, in particular multi-contact motion planning methods and corresponding motion planning systems, specifically teaches:
and compare the possible trajectories with sensor data of the robotic device to rank the possible trajectories according to likelihood (at least as in paragraph 0048, wherein “Provided that some measure describing which one of the alternate options is more likely is known, the options may be weighted according to their respective likelihood”; at least as in paragraph 0050, wherein “In case there exists a large number of possible alternate options, a weighting of the alternate options can be included into an optimization problem, providing solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising”; at least as in paragraph 0063, wherein “The method for controlling at least one effector trajectory of an embodiment generates the at least one effector trajectory by applying a trajectory generation algorithm on the generated task description, including applying weights to the cost function for the at least one first posture and the at least one second posture”; at least as in paragraph 0231, “The method determines optimized solutions for problems, in which exact coordinates of end-effectors 9 and objects 3 involved in the task are unknown, or the coordinates vary to certain degree”; at least as in paragraph 0234, “Provided that some measure describing which one of the alternate options is more likely is known, the options may be weighted according to their respective likelihood”; at least as in paragraph 0236, wherein “In case there exists a large number of possible alternate options, a weighting of the alternate options can be included into an optimization problem, providing solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Gienger’s teaching of determining an optimized solution based on options being weighted according to their respective likelihood, since Gienger teaches wherein the weighting provides solutions that are void of the options with the least quality, and maintain the options which are most promising.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan et al. (US 20230373098 A1, hereinafter Dan) in view of Sun (US 10789543 B1), and further in view of McDaniel (US 20220016780 A1).
Regarding claim 21, the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1, but does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further include operations to output, for display via an augmented reality interface, the set of actions as autocomplete candidates ranked according to the probability distribution; and wherein the operations to automatically select the action include operations to select the action in response to a user acceptance of one of the ranked autocomplete candidates.
However, McDaniel, in the same field of endeavor of engineering autonomous systems to data objects for implementing reusable skills in autonomous systems, specifically teaches:
wherein the operations further include operations to output, for display via an augmented reality interface, the set of actions as autocomplete candidates ranked according to the probability distribution; and wherein the operations to automatically select the action include operations to select the action in response to a user acceptance of one of the ranked autocomplete candidates (at least as in paragraph 0146, “The display 1766 may provide a touch screen interface which allows input to supplement or replace the communication of direction information and command selections by the pointing device 1761. In some embodiments, an augmented reality device 1767 that is wearable by a user, may provide input/output functionality allowing a user to interact with both a physical and virtual world. The augmented reality device 1767 is in communication with the display controller 1765 and the user input interface 1760 allowing a user to interact with virtual items generated in the augmented reality device 1767 by the display controller 1765. The user may also provide gestures that are detected by the augmented reality device 1767 and transmitted to the user input interface 1760 as input signals”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include McDaniel’s teaching of displaying in augmented reality, since McDaniel teaches wherein the system improves error recovery and allows for easy user interaction, input, or information access.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dan et al. (US 20230373098 A1, hereinafter Dan) in view of Sun (US 10789543 B1), and further in view Ebrahimi Afrouzi et al. (US 20240310851 A1, hereinafter Ebrahimi).
Regarding claim 23, the above combination of Dan, Chi, and Sun discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 1 but does not explicitly teach wherein the operations further include operations to, based on the selected action, snap the user motion to a pre-generated relative end-effector pose that is compatible with the selected action.
However, Ebrahimi, in the same field of endeavor of motion planning and operation for autonomous robotics, specifically teaches:
teach wherein the operations further include operations to, based on the selected action, snap the user motion to a pre-generated relative end-effector pose that is compatible with the selected action (at least as in paragraph 0374, “the user may use dragging and swiping gestures for translation of the virtual camera and rotation of the mobile phone to rotate the virtual camera. On a website (i.e., desktop mode), the user may use the keyboard arrows to navigate (i.e., translate) and the mouse to rotate the camera. In a VR, mixed reality (MR) model, the user wears a headset and as the user moves or turns their head, their movements are translated to movements of the camera”; at least as in paragraph 01413, “n map 22410, the user manually corrects perimeter line 22416 by drawing line 22418 and deleting perimeter line 22416 in the user interface. In some cases, user input to add a line may specify endpoints of the added line or a single point and a slope. Some embodiments may modify the line specified by inputs to “snap” to likely intended locations. For instance, inputs of line endpoints may be adjusted by the processor to equal a closest existing line of the map. Or a line specified by a slope and point may have endpoints added by determining a closest intersection relative to the point of the line with the existing map. In some cases, the user may also manually indicate with portion of the map to remove in place of the added line, e.g., separately specifying line 22418 and designating curvilinear segment 22416 for removal. Or some embodiments may programmatically select segment 22416 for removal in response to the user inputs designating line 22418, e.g., in response to determining that areas 22416 and 22418 bound areas of less than a threshold size, or by determining that line 22416 is bounded on both sides by areas of the map designated as part of the environment”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Dan, to include Ebrahimi’s teaching of user input and user interface adjustments, since Ebrahimi teaches wherein system improves ease of use for the user and responsiveness of the interface system.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICARDO I VISCARRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/ADAM R MOTT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3657